March 28, 2024, 02:57:11 PM

Author Topic: CONCACAF Under-17 Championships  (Read 767 times)

Offline YoursTruly

CONCACAF Under-17 Championships
« on: August 05, 2010, 04:42:34 PM »
Men's U-17s opens CFU qualifiers vs St Kitts.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s National Under 17 footballers will contest the Caribbean Football Union leg of the World qualifiers for the 2011 FIFA Under  17 World Cup with a four-nation group in T&T from August 18.

T&T will open its Group E campaign at the Marvin Lee Stadium on August 18 against St Kitts/Nevis while the other two teams, Cuba and Bermuda will meet in the other match of the double header.

The top team from the group will advance to the Concacaf Final Round next year at a venue to be determined. The 2011 FIFA U-17 World Cup will be held in Mexico

The T&T Under 17 boys team have been in training  since January under coach Sean Cooper and according to team manager Christo Gouveia, are hoping to follow in the exploits of the under 17 team of 2007 which advanced  to the FIFA U-17 World Cup on South Korea.

“We have been working very hard since January, training three days a week preparing for this tournament,’ Gouveia told TTFF Media.

“We expect to advance to the Concacaf final round. I expect we will give a good account but we will take none of these teams for granted particularly Cuba who we know can be tricky opposition.”

“International exposure is always a key and while we have not had much of it, we have been playing against the Pro League teams and the team has handled these games well. We hope this can give us a bit of a cutting edge going into the tournament.

The squad comprises some very talented young players who are hungry for success. They have been hard at work and I expect them to give the kind of display which will put them up there with the best in the confederation,” Gouveia added.

Fixtures

NOTE: All matches will be held at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya, Trinidad.

Group    Date    Time    Venue    Team A    vs    Team B

STAGE II
E - 18/8/2010 - 9:00 - Trinidad/Tobago, Cuba  vs  Bermuda
E - 18/8/2010 - 11:00 - Trinidad/Tobago, Trinidad/Tobago  vs  St. Kitts/Nevis
E - 20/8/2010 - 15:00 - Trinidad/Tobago, Bermuda  vs  St. Kitts/Nevis
E - 20/8/2010 - 17:00 - Trinidad/Tobago, Trinidad/Tobago  vs  Cuba
E - 22/8/2010 - 15:00 - Trinidad/Tobago, St. Kitts/Nevis  vs  Cuba
E - 22/8/2010 - 17:00 - Trinidad/Tobago, Trinidad/Tobago  vs  Bermuda

Winners of Group E & F automatically qualify to the CONCACAF Finals in 2011. Group F fixtures of the CFU U-17 Qualifying event have not yet been released.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 05:40:29 AM by Flex »

Re: CONCACAF Under-17 Championships
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2010, 08:49:04 PM »
give us the squad nuh

Re: CONCACAF Under-17 Championships
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2010, 08:53:34 PM »
OK so at 11:00 am on wed 18th is the game. So I guess d games free because is only school chirren could go dem games at dat times.