April 18, 2024, 07:06:58 PM

Author Topic: Suruj say T&T is MODEL for Racial Harmony..  (Read 2069 times)

Suruj say T&T is MODEL for Racial Harmony..
« on: August 06, 2010, 03:42:09 PM »
Suruj: T&T a model of stability, racial harmony
By Ariti Jankie South Bureau

Trinidad and Tobago prides itself as a model of stability, harmony and social progress, Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Surujrattan Rambachan told a World Association for Vedic Studies (WAVES) conference during its inaugural ceremony, held at Divali Nagar, Chaguanas, on Wednesday night.

He said societies worldwide were continuously challenged by critical social issues from poverty to unemployment, crime to ethnic conflicts, hunger and diseases, and while Trinidad and Tobago faced a number of ills, it has emerged a proud nation.

He said the People's Partnership Government reflected a "oneness" taken from the Hindu scripture (Rig Veda), in its message, "Let your aims be one, your hearts and mind be one, and let your unity go from strength to strength."

Rambachan said issues of human ambition, a yearning for a voice and the need for ethnic groups to be treated equally may be the cause of internal conflicts in many countries.

"There is a need for mankind to learn to live with and value differences and diversity," he said.

He pointed to world leaders Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela, who provided lessons of the resilience and power of the people to engage and foster positive change.

WAVES' eighth international conference takes place this year at the University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine, from August 4-7, and is based on the theme "Vedic knowledge for Civilisational Harmony". It discusses various aspects of Hindu heritage...Continue..http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/100095354.html

Re: Suruj say T&T is MODEL for Racial Harmony..
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 03:50:14 PM »
not with that "Indian time" now bullshit

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2010, 04:11:54 PM »
The international press, well at least here in Dc , gone with this. The man is front  page on the Wash. Post morning express. Is good publicity. Will he make a good PM. I don't know. Haaiti has had some real bad men who kill lot's of people. He ain't a bad man. He might just kill them with music.

« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2010, 04:24:07 PM »
The international press, well at least here in Dc , gone with this. The man is front  page on the Wash. Post morning express. Is good publicity. Will he make a good PM. I don't know. Haaiti has had some real bad men who kill lot's of people. He ain't a bad man. He might just kill them with music.

???

wrong thread boo

« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2010, 04:24:50 PM »
...and him said this to the Global media not just local media

« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2010, 06:13:04 PM »

That is precisely why it is a model of racial harmony... doh play like yuh ent ketch de vibes.  In a very limited sense, he actually correct.

« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2010, 07:44:45 PM »
Yeh right suruj!! nice try.  like the kids of my day used tuh say, " words is wind and blows are unkind".

« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2010, 08:58:40 PM »
Is over a hundred yrs East ndians in this country. I am not saying everything is or was perfect between us. But there has not been bad blood(fingers crossed) between Africans and Indians in TT(YET). The only other place that can match TT is Suriname. And they have had their issues too.

« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2010, 06:36:45 AM »
live the life of a mixed chile, dem come back here with this fackery! You belong to none and treated like shit by all, conveniently!

« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2010, 06:52:43 AM »
live the life of a mixed chile, dem come back here with this fackery! You belong to none and treated like shit by all, conveniently!

Yeah all you have to take solace in is all the nookie you get . :'(

« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2010, 06:57:02 AM »

« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2010, 07:10:28 AM »

Yuh eh lie dey compre  ;D

« Reply #12 on: August 07, 2010, 07:13:40 AM »

I feel used now.

« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2015, 10:32:38 PM »
Which model he looking at?

« Reply #14 on: August 25, 2015, 11:06:49 AM »

whoever pushing that rubbish is a waste of time... as a people we need to get past this... too many people in TT is ethnocentric