March 29, 2024, 01:48:55 AM

Author Topic: The Stoke City Forever Thread  (Read 127460 times)

Offline JRtheWriter

Re: The Stoke City Forever Thread
« Reply #810 on: January 02, 2014, 01:13:39 PM »
Looks like Jones will be leaving soon. Not a single game during the busy period. Pennant looked like he played a striker role when he came on today, based on the glimpse I saw. Stoke looked like they dropped 2 points today.

Pennant cost them two points with a forward's challenge in the box in the dregs.
The way he was playing, I wouldn't be surprised if he had pocketed a couple of dollars from a shady character in that game.

« Reply #811 on: January 04, 2014, 08:18:21 AM »
well well KJ getting ah start today in de FA  :applause:

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #812 on: January 04, 2014, 09:09:50 AM »
Bout time!

I dont think its on TV but does anyone have a radio link or something?

Offline JRtheWriter

« Reply #813 on: January 04, 2014, 09:18:25 AM »
Jones with the header!!!  :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #814 on: January 04, 2014, 09:19:16 AM »
Jones scores in 16' min... ah header Stoke 1 vs Leicester 0

« Reply #815 on: January 04, 2014, 09:23:46 AM »
Bout time!

I dont think its on TV but does anyone have a radio link or something?
I have a radio link, but it's only available in the UK. If you have ways of getting around that like I do then: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25578582

« Reply #816 on: January 04, 2014, 10:27:15 AM »
Scores??

« Reply #817 on: January 04, 2014, 10:52:25 AM »

« Reply #818 on: January 04, 2014, 11:27:34 AM »
Had 3 or 4 more chances. But is radio, so I doh know if they was throw way or not.

« Reply #819 on: January 04, 2014, 02:39:47 PM »
Jones open the scoring in the 13th and Adams scored on the 55th...good stuff

« Reply #820 on: January 04, 2014, 08:12:51 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Ivs39SOGtGs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Ivs39SOGtGs</a>

« Reply #821 on: January 04, 2014, 09:17:37 PM »
Excellent header, nice goal. I wish he did that every game.

« Reply #822 on: January 04, 2014, 09:25:16 PM »
Excellent header, nice goal. I wish he did that every game.

He does it every game. This is the only game he's played.

« Reply #823 on: January 05, 2014, 08:33:48 AM »
Man put he hand up and start tuh sing allejuah

« Reply #824 on: January 05, 2014, 08:36:43 AM »
Well he's cup tied now, less of a chance of him moving in the transfer window. Just hope he can continue taking his chances, this a good start, just have to keep at it.

« Reply #825 on: January 05, 2014, 09:48:40 PM »
Man put he hand up and start tuh sing allejuah

« Reply #826 on: January 06, 2014, 09:27:19 AM »
Stoke planning to keep Kenwyne Jones and Jermane Pennant
Skysports.com

Stoke City manager Mark Hughes has no intention of allowing Kenwyne Jones or Jermaine Pennant to leave in January.

Both men have found themselves on the fringes of the first team fold at the Britannia Stadium this season.

Their situation has not improved since Hughes succeeded Tony Pulis over the summer and speculation has suggested that they could soon be on their way to pastures new.

Hughes, though, believes that both have a role to play with the Potters - with Premier League competition demanding strength in depth.

He said in The Sentinel on Jones, who was among the goals in Saturday's 2-1 FA Cup third round victory over Leicester City: "Kenwyne has had to be patient and I haven't been able to give him too many opportunities.

"He lost his place to Peter (Crouch) and has had to bide his time, but when he plays like that he will always be a threat to teams."

Pressed on whether he may be allowed to move on, Hughes added: "That's not the intention. We've had problems scoring goals and so we've got to keep players who can get you a goal, and he showed he's an option for us."

On Pennant, who failed to make the match day squad against the Foxes, Hughes said: "He's here until the end of the season, at least."

Meanwhile, Hughes has also confirmed that he is to re-explore the option of bringing USA international Juan Agudelo on board, with it possible that a second work permit application could be lodged for the New England Revolution striker in March.

The Welshman said: "We are just keeping in touch and inviting him over when we can.

"He will have a few days with us again like he did before Christmas. We want to see if there's any potential to do anything with him."

« Reply #827 on: January 06, 2014, 09:31:53 AM »
Bad news!

« Reply #828 on: January 06, 2014, 01:35:46 PM »
Dang...at least they keeping him fit for we...that's their prerogative ..cause let's face it..even if he was moved to any top table league, in or out of the Premier..he will ride pine.. Hughes meanwhile choosing to look for more strikers...is his job on the line.

« Reply #829 on: January 06, 2014, 03:44:07 PM »
Dang...at least they keeping him fit for we...that's their prerogative ..cause let's face it..even if he was moved to any top table league, in or out of the Premier..he will ride pine.. Hughes meanwhile choosing to look for more strikers...is his job on the line.

What I don't get is why they keeping him to warm beanch when they cld sell him for a few mill...and maybe he cld rise to the occassion elsewhere...tbh..I think swansea wld be a great fit for him...they do pass the ball around..but kj cld hold up play very well..and obviously a great aerial threat as well...he neestuh get out of stoke...

« Reply #830 on: January 06, 2014, 06:21:33 PM »

What I don't get is why they keeping him to warm beanch when they cld sell him for a few mill...and maybe he cld rise to the occassion elsewhere...tbh..I think swansea wld be a great fit for him...they do pass the ball around..but kj cld hold up play very well..and obviously a great aerial threat as well...he neestuh get out of stoke...
Can't get rid of him if they have no replacement. Sell KJ and Crouch get injured, they in a mess. They pursuing a couple strikers hard, so they likely waiting to see if that work out before letting KJ go.

I still feel he on his way. Somebody on Twitter tell him please doh go and he respond 'the only constant in life is change'.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2014, 06:23:31 PM by Dinner Mints »

« Reply #831 on: January 06, 2014, 07:09:26 PM »

Can't get rid of him if they have no replacement. Sell KJ and Crouch get injured, they in a mess. They pursuing a couple strikers hard, so they likely waiting to see if that work out before letting KJ go.

I still feel he on his way. Somebody on Twitter tell him please doh go and he respond 'the only constant in life is change'.

I hope he ride out...for his career...what's left of it atleast!

« Reply #832 on: January 06, 2014, 07:47:47 PM »

I don't know them, but I see Swansea have 2 fellas Bony & Dyer, between them both have 10 goals. So KJ there would be an option,  not the truth, besides that already taken. The good is Bony plays for Ivory Coast , and therein KJ could be a decent replacement, but how much a club will pay for a backup..especially when Hughes announce no sale...meaning whatever yuh offering, we asking double, but may give yuh a discount.

« Reply #833 on: January 06, 2014, 07:54:46 PM »
how much a club will pay for a backup..especially when Hughes announce no sale...meaning whatever yuh offering, we asking double, but may give yuh a discount.
Doh study that. His contract done at the end of the season and then they'll make nothing. They'll be quick to sell him for a few bob, so they could make a lil something and get him off the wage bill to make room for whoever they bring in.

« Reply #834 on: January 07, 2014, 04:17:00 AM »
how much a club will pay for a backup..especially when Hughes announce no sale...meaning whatever yuh offering, we asking double, but may give yuh a discount.
Doh study that. His contract done at the end of the season and then they'll make nothing. They'll be quick to sell him for a few bob, so they could make a lil something and get him off the wage bill to make room for whoever they bring in.

Exactly...waitt I think he contract ending like this month sometime

« Reply #835 on: January 12, 2014, 07:04:52 AM »
Hughes won't sell strike duo

www.skysports.com

Stoke City manager Mark Hughes has no plans to sell strikers Peter Crouch and Kenwyne Jones during the January transfer window.

Crouch has been strongly linked with a move away from the Britannia Stadium this month, with Crystal Palace and Queens Park Rangers both reportedly interested.

Jones, meanwhile, has been linked with a switch to Cardiff City after also reportedly being wanted by the south Wales club last summer.

However, Hughes is in no position to weaken his striking options and has ruled out Crouch or Jones leaving Stoke this month.

"We have good attacking players like Jon Walters and Marko Arnautovic," said Hughes. "But for out-and-out strikers we only have two, Crouch and Kenwyne Jones.

"So for us to even contemplate them going out is not the way we are thinking at the moment.

"There is no way I will weaken the group by allowing players to go."

« Reply #836 on: January 12, 2014, 07:23:52 AM »
That man dotish

« Reply #837 on: January 12, 2014, 07:30:02 AM »
Let de man gooo somewhere he go get some playing time...and de money you get bring someone else in..KJ will always be second fiddle to crouch. ..btw they play liverpool today..it live on nbcsports...I think it starting at 11 eastern time

« Reply #838 on: January 12, 2014, 09:37:39 AM »
Let de man gooo somewhere he go get some playing time...and de money you get bring someone else in..KJ will always be second fiddle to crouch. ..btw they play liverpool today..it live on nbcsports...I think it starting at 11 eastern time
Not on the bench. Might be a wrap.

« Reply #839 on: January 12, 2014, 10:55:37 AM »
Liverpool 2 - Ex-Liverpool 2