March 19, 2024, 01:21:40 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T Men's U-17 Qualifier (Aug 2010).  (Read 25776 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T Men's U-17 Qualifier (Aug 2010).
« Reply #60 on: August 21, 2010, 11:05:52 AM »
Ian Prescott say we need to win by a big margin and de Guardian say al we need is a draw...

Some real top writers we have in T&T sah.

Is the top 2 from each group qualifing or just one ?

We need to win and scoring a couple goals will help as it can be argued that Cuba will beat St. Kitts by a favorable margin. If we draw then Cuba will go through with 2-0-1 leaving us 1-0-2. If we win and Cuba win it will come down to goal difference with us being +5 (I think) so if we could get about 3-5 goals we will be safe.

Offline 1st touch

• Without a good 1st touch yuh is a spectator
« Reply #61 on: August 21, 2010, 12:23:20 PM »
Check this out...Everybody wrong...lol   :devil:

"The top two finishers in each group along with the best third-place side will qualify for next year's 12-team CONCACAF Under-17 Championship."

http://www.concacaf.com/page/Under17s/NewsDetail/0,,12813~2097405,00.html

1st

If yuh looking, yuh sure to find it...

« Reply #62 on: August 21, 2010, 01:41:11 PM »
How come Matthew Woo Ling not on this team ?

he is to young i think.. 

i think he is 15 but allyuh watch some "selected" highlights including ah bunch of indoor small goal stuff and calling for him on de team...true the youth have some nice touches but dat don't mean he should be on the team....the one noticably thing i saw is the youth look real small, look like he in standard 5, i hope he is really 12 or 13 so his size would make sense.

« Reply #63 on: August 21, 2010, 06:05:57 PM »
How come Matthew Woo Ling not on this team ?

he is to young i think.. 

i think he is 15 but allyuh watch some "selected" highlights including ah bunch of indoor small goal stuff and calling for him on de team...true the youth have some nice touches but dat don't mean he should be on the team....the one noticably thing i saw is the youth look real small, look like he in standard 5, i hope he is really 12 or 13 so his size would make sense.

But wait, wasn't he selected by John Branes to go to Sunderland.

Come on man, get real, out of the whole of Concacaf he was one of the 8 selected.

Matthew Woo Ling from Trinidad & Tobago; Vidal Gonzalez and Fernando Meneses from Panama; Jose Villavicencio, Bryan Landaverde and Alvaro Lizama from El Salvador; and Julio Oliva and German Mejia from Honduras were the eight most talented footballers selected by John Barnes from the Digicel Kick Start Clinics. These took place in four countries in the Caribbean and Central America during the month of July and August.

Commenting on his selection, John Barnes said: “This has been another fantastic year for the Digicel Kick Start Clinics and I’ve seen some great potential in this year’s crop of footballers. It was a tough decision to choose just eight from the 150 players which took part in the Digicel Kick Start Clinics to train at Sunderland. That said, I believe the footballers I have selected have the right amount of talent, desire and determination to have a good career in football if they continue to apply themselves. I would like to wish them the best of luck and I really hope that I come across them again in the not too distant future playing for a leading football club.”

He received a pass from 12-year-old Fatima College player Matthew Woo Ling, who is certainly a player for the future, before blasting powerfully past the Hawks custodian.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=45642.msg600023#msg600023
« Last Edit: August 21, 2010, 06:06:27 PM by Flex »

« Reply #64 on: August 21, 2010, 06:38:24 PM »
so de fellah is 12 so his size makes sense, as for him being selected doh mean he will pan out to be a great player, many others have gone on these training stints and never became anything...however as ah 12 yr old, he ahead of de curve for all 12 yr old players in tnt and most of concacaf, hopefully he makes the most out of it....but we too quick to anoint players

as for john barnes comments..u expect him to say matthew is ah shitsnake and have no talent...any coach always thinks the players he selected are the best in his opinion so doh jump on me because i not calling de fellah the enxt latas or yorke...to be honest MWL eh play any serious competitive ball and the sunderland opportunity will be a great chance for him to experience a professional environment.

« Reply #65 on: August 22, 2010, 04:01:03 PM »
Half time - T&T leads 2-0 and look set to claim the three points to top the group.

39' Goal for T&T  Williams clinically heads into the right near corner from a well floated in delivery from the left by Noel. 2-0 T&T

37' Bermuda's Albuoy has a snap shot from the edge of the box, good effort, well saved low down by T&T goalkeeper Weston.

33' T&T's Williams tries an ambitious overhead kick just atop the six yard box to an incoming left side cross, but the ball goes wide of the  left post.

29' T&T's Henry swings  a right footer well wide of the left far post from deep inside the penalty box.

The CFU has confirmed that the top two teams from this group will advance to the Concacaf final round of qualifying. This means that Cuba (5 points) from three matches and T&T (4 points) from two games will advance.

23' Goal for T&T. Williams is on spot to tap home a rebound after Noel's low shot is partially blocked by goalkeeper Dale Eve. Noel did the hard work, positioning himself  well inside the area before getting off the initial shot. 1-0 T&T.

21' T&T's Jomal Williams sees his header go just wide of the right post from an incoming right side cross.

19 ' T&T's Kiel Pierre misses a glorious chance to put his team ahead, running goalwards on the right, he shoots to the near post and the goalkeeper pushes out for a corner.

15' T&T's Xavier Rajpaul is cautioned for dangerous play.

13' T&T's Adan Noel tries his luck and goes close with a right footer from 20 metres out which goes out off the top of the net.

12' Bermudas Zeiko Lewis tries to connect to a through ball but T&T custodian Quesi Watson advances off his line to avert danger.

11' Jomal Williams brings some excitement to the crowd but his effort goes wide.

7' Bermuda's Jevon Swan is sent through on a clear path to goal but the linesman raises his flag for offside.

T&T are in all white strips attacking the goal from north to south and Bermuda in all red from south to north. After 5 minutes there have been no openings on goal for either team under humid conditions here.

Welcome to the Marvin Lee Stadium for today's CFU U-17 qualifying match between Trinidad and Tobago and Bermuda.

Here are the starting line ups

T&T: 2. Tarik Nicholls,3. Nicholas Marcano.4,Dario Holmes,5. Damani Richards,8.Karl Muckette (capt),9. Shackiel Henry, 10. Jomal Williams, 14. Xavier Paul,17. Kiel Pierre, 19. Adan Noel, 21. Quesi Weston (gk).

Bermuda; 1. Dale Eve (gk),2.Shakhai Trott, 3. Mauriqu Hill, 6. Quintionio Lema, 7. Shachkeil Burrows, 8. Wendell Tre Ming (Capt), 9. Jair Minors, 10. Zeiko lewis 15. Zeon Robinson, 16. Shakeem Albouy,20. Demetre Mouchette.

The officials are as follows : Referee - Enrico Wijngaarde (Suriname), Assistant 1 - Adrian Goddard (Barbados), Assistant 2 - Mark Moses (Barbados), Fourth official  - Ignatius Baptiste (Dominica), Commissioner - Hubert Isenia (Netherlands Antilles).

Kick off is at 5pm.

« Reply #66 on: August 22, 2010, 04:20:29 PM »
Bermuda are trying desperately for an equalizer but are opening up at the back. Fortunately for them T&T cannot capitalize. Henry moves deep into the box, evading two challenges but over-pushes and the ball goes out for a goal kick on 60 minutes

56' Williams again misses a sitter. The number 10 somehow hits wide of the left post from point blank range. He's holding his head in disbelief

53' T&T's Richards drifts inside nicely from the right and puts a good ball into the area but Williams misses a wonderful opportunity to increase T&T's advantage, blasting way over bar from the six yard box.

51'  Bermuda's Juma Mouchette replaces Albouy

47' Bermuda's Lewis stuns the T&T backline with a shot that sneaks past goalie Weston from a right angle. It's now 2-1 .

46' T&T's Pierre has a terrible try at goal, on the run and with  clear sight of goal but fires high and wide.

« Reply #67 on: August 22, 2010, 04:54:11 PM »
LIVE UPDATES - T&T VS BERMUDA, CFU U-17 QUALIFIER       Print

Referee Wijngaarde blows the final whistle and T&T earns a hardfought 2-1 victory to finish top of the group with seven points. Both T&T and second place Cuba (5 points) will advance to the Concacaf Final round of qualifying towards the 2011 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in Mexico.

90' Bermuda goes close but Weston scrambles a save and Zeiko Lewis is cautioned for a rash challenge on the T&T custodian on the follow up.

The fourth official puts up three minutes additional time. Anxious moments for both teams.

86' Bermuda almost snatch the equalizer out of nothing as Basden swings a right footer and the ball flashes inches wide of the far left post. T&T were sluggish at the back on this occasion.
We are approaching 85 minutes play and both teams, especially Bermuda are pressing for the goal. The good thing for T&T is that they are not sitting back and trying to maintain the lead but are also pressing forward looking for a third item.
83' T&T receives a scare as Bermuda's Zair Minors has a crack across the face of the goal and the ball takes a deflection and spins back towards the far corner, forcing Weston to make a late save.

76' T&T's Neil Benjamin replaces Nicholls

75' T&T's Dwight Quintero replaces Williams. The fans applaud and one can only guess why.

73; The fans are off their chairs in disbelief as T&T goes close on goal and you guessed it. Yes it's Williams again, cutting in nicely but fires his shot onto the crossbar from the centre of the box. This player could easily have had a beavertrick this evening

71' Bermuda 's Chikosi Basden replaces Lema

71' Williams again goes close but seems to have left home his scoring boots, hitting wide of the mark from a good position inside the box. T&T are pressing forward in numbers but their finishing has been disappointing.

Bermuda are trying desperately for an equalizer but are opening up at the back. Fortunately for them T&T cannot capitalize. Henry moves deep into the box, evading two challenges but over-pushes and the ball goes out for a goal kick on 60 minutes

« Reply #68 on: August 22, 2010, 08:13:42 PM »
Dey does make it real difficult to support football in dis country. D put d game 5 o clock. U arrive at MLS d carpark lock. No announcer so u eh know d players being substituted. It eh even have a DJ. It is a wonder we eh have 2 sing d anthem like d last time we play Bermuda at d MLS.

As 4 game d new generation of Philbert Jones and Maurice Allibey was on display.

Offline mouie

« Reply #69 on: August 22, 2010, 08:52:40 PM »
so how the game end?

« Reply #70 on: August 22, 2010, 08:55:40 PM »

« Reply #71 on: August 22, 2010, 08:56:04 PM »
so how the game end?

T&T 2-1 Bermuda

Jomal Williams scored for T&T in the 22nd and 39th minutes. Bermuda pulled one back in the 48th.

« Reply #72 on: August 23, 2010, 08:01:33 AM »
Why do we always "ketch we arse" to beat noneties like Bermuda? ???

Offline teddy bear

« Reply #73 on: August 23, 2010, 08:05:16 AM »
Why do we always "ketch we arse" to beat noneties like Bermuda? ???
Because we go into those games with that mentallity. By now you'd think we'd learnt from past experiences

« Reply #74 on: August 23, 2010, 08:25:23 AM »
teddy bear,yuh know I think you are right about the mentality thing coz in the past we suffered badly to beat the likes of Grenada,St.Kitts etc and then somebody much worse than us come and beat the same people with ease.We must change that frighten mentality,maybe we should borrow some ah that Jamaican arrogance.

« Reply #75 on: August 23, 2010, 09:33:42 AM »
Dey does make it real difficult to support football in dis country. D put d game 5 o clock. U arrive at MLS d carpark lock. No announcer so u eh know d players being substituted. It eh even have a DJ. It is a wonder we eh have 2 sing d anthem like d last time we play Bermuda at d MLS.

As 4 game d new generation of Philbert Jones and Maurice Allibey was on display.

give we a run down nuh

« Reply #76 on: August 23, 2010, 12:14:44 PM »

give we a run down nuh

Well me eh know dem fellas name but once they stick around dem go b d fellas who go b distressin meh 4 d 2018 WC. Man in from d goal and kickin over once set ah 6 runs score dey yday.

« Reply #77 on: August 23, 2010, 12:36:43 PM »
I have some friends in West London who is the spittin image of that picture of the lil boy and the girl,in fact I thought it was them.The gyul look like Sylvester daughter and the lil boy look like Carl&Mandy son and I mean a carbon copy.Ah showed my wife and she wanted to know if it was them.I think there's a word to describe thatkind of exact resemblance...doppelganger.

« Reply #78 on: August 23, 2010, 01:39:11 PM »
Congrats to the young warriors for making the final stage BUT the REAL Test will come against central and north americans

« Reply #79 on: August 23, 2010, 09:15:23 PM »
Congrats to the young warriors for making the final stage BUT the REAL Test will come against central and north americans

Way before that. Without steady international games beforehand they dead in the water. Congrats to the coaching staff and team, but time to overs PFL and superleague competition. They should be facing teams at least as challenging as what they'll meet in the finals.  

« Reply #80 on: August 29, 2010, 08:25:53 PM »
Match Report from person present

Ferrieira did not dress yesterday as he's carrying a little bit of a groin strain and he's more or less day to day decision, so we'll see if he's fit enough for Friday's game.

Team played very well and it was a nice confidence boost which will hopefully take them comfortably through the tournament. Cuba is a big team and has a fair bit of speed, which will provide a stronger challenge. However the Cuban defense is a bit soft and they are not a strong passing team.

Bermuda is also a fast team, but their conditioning is very poor and they rely mostly on #10 and #8...Like Cuba they do not keep possession for a long time and lack patience.

Trinidad on their showing in training and the game should dominate. Coach Cooper is back so we'll see if there are different tactics. The weakest part of the T&T game is the goal, the defense is strong (right back is the weaker side), midfield is strong and the best players in the centre with 5 players competing for 2 positions. At this time Murkette (#8 solid passer) and Jomal (#10 talented but overplays like yesterday) are the main picks. Up front they forwards had a good game, but they can be streaky and may be tough for them against a good defense, as #9 (Henry) is more of a reactive forward and Samaroo plays with his head down.

so what about noreiga ...was he on the bench ?? up to now we have not gotten the full team along with the player clubs !!!!

He had a back injury