March 28, 2024, 12:44:33 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T Women's U-17 World Cup (Sept 2010).  (Read 128739 times)

Hosts out as last eight takes shape
« Reply #930 on: September 12, 2010, 07:31:39 PM »
Hosts out as last eight takes shape
FIFA.com

THE DAY REPLAYED – Group B of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup came to a close early on Monday. There was hardly anything save for pride and placement at stake as Germany and Korea Republic had already booked their places in the quarter-finals and South Africa and Mexico were eliminated days before kicking off. In the end, Mexico hammered Bantwana 4-0 for their first points and a bit of consolation, while Germany made sure of top spot in the section with a 3-0 win over the Asians.

The Germans will take on defending champions Korea DPR, who knocked out the hosts in Couva, in their last-eight contest. Korea Republic will have the unenviable task of playing high-flying Group A winners Nigeria. Chile, the Soca Princesses, Mexico and South Africa are all heading for home, the first victims of these finals and the football fates.

Results
Korea-Republic 0 -3 Germany
Mexico 4-0 South Africa
Chile 0-5 Nigeria
Korea DPR 1-0 Trinidad and Tobago

Goal of the day
Korea-Republic 0-3 Germany, Lena Lotzen (76’)
Germany’s tricky No11 terrorises defences. Taking up a position out left, the Bayern Munich star took on one defender, then another and finally a third, wriggling and cutting her way into the Korean penalty area. She lined up her shot beautifully and left keeper Kim Minah with no chance, bulging the top corner of the net for her fourth goal here in T&T. Germany finish the top of Group B with 22 goals scored and one conceded.

Memorable moments
A sea of white and a canine invader
Trinidadian radio DJs urged fans to come out in their numbers to cheer on the Soca Princesses in Couva. As the team were going to be donning white on the night, supporters were urged to skip their usual red and go white as well. Unfortunately for the nearly 10,000 home fans turned up, their presence, nor their white shirts, were enough to push the home side into the quarter-finals. They did, however, seem to get quite a collective giggle out of an energetic spotted dog who invaded the pitch, holding up play for a few funny minutes.

Flamingoes’ options abound
Nigeria’s attack is one of the most potent at these finals, and certainly among the most entertaining. Ordega in attack and Ngozi Okobi feeding her from midfield have an understanding bordering on the telepathic and they seem to find each other on the pitch with an ease and calm uncommon at this age level. They both scored in tonight’s hammering of Chile, while the star of the show was another striker with goals on the brain, Loveth Ayila, who bagged a hat-trick.

Stat
17- The number of goals conceded by South Africa and an unwanted record. It stands as the poorest defensive performance of any team in the history of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. Paraguay shipped 16 goals in the inaugural tournament in New Zealand two years ago, but Bantwana’s porous rearguard is now the worst of the worst. The two goals scored by Jermaine Seoposenwe in their three games will offer only scant consolation for the tournament debutants.

What they said
“We have to be proud. We never collapsed and we were competitive in every game. Now in Trinidad and Tobago there is a good foundation for the future of women’s football.” T&T head coach and director of women’s football Even Pellerud after his side bowed out.

Re: T&T U-17 Women vs North Korea U-17 Women (12-Sept-2010).
« Reply #931 on: September 12, 2010, 07:45:56 PM »
I just see de pothound dey. It look like de pothound from de trevor sayers video. I feel it came on to give de girls a bit more stamina.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #932 on: September 12, 2010, 08:00:37 PM »
That Greek ref was kinda sweet looking.

« Reply #933 on: September 12, 2010, 08:01:48 PM »
well done ladies  :applause: gosh d crying it make me feel sad  :( only tears i see after that game on everybody face. Remember that feeling, and use it when alyuh play. Is licks next time  :whip:

That Greek ref was kinda sweet looking.

u know how long i eying that  :drool: ::)
« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 08:08:52 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #934 on: September 12, 2010, 08:13:33 PM »
well done ladies  :applause: gosh d crying it make me feel sad  :( only tears i see after that game on everybody face. Remember that feeling, and use it when alyuh play. Is licks next time  :whip:

Six of these girls young enough to play in the next U17 WC. I hope that most of the team continue to play for the U20. Sad thing is every thing they learned under this coach may all be forgotten because there will be no continuity to build on.

« Reply #935 on: September 12, 2010, 08:18:47 PM »
E-MAN  ;D

Korea vs Germany it showing now
http://www.ctntworld.com/livestream/index.html

edit:
:o d larry gomes feild looking better/ kinda

i see larry gomes hosting a quarter final and a semi , yummy that right across the road from me  ;D have to get my tickets , hopefully they sort d field out more by then
« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 08:36:30 PM by D.H.W »

Re: Thread for the T&T Women's U-17 World Cup (Sept 2010).
« Reply #936 on: September 12, 2010, 08:58:10 PM »
you go girls mek TNT proud and play hard show dem shit hounds..
Well this was indeed a foreign coach with more than 2 years to train with players he had at his disposal for the most part. What went wrong? You mean dem girls was supposed to voom kick all de ball like dat? Was dat Pellerud's game plan because if not and they did it anyway then this lends to the testimony as to what our technical abilities are on dis side of de fence. In all fairness the defence was tight (to me) and shut down most things but going forward they looked lost and plan-less. THe coach's fault? We couldn't string 3 passes together. It wasn't for the lack of heart and soul (I think) but rather the girls just werent good enough. Football is not a magic game it takes the right team, the right coach and the right luck to go places. Anyone of those 3 missing and yuh ass could be grass.

« Reply #937 on: September 12, 2010, 09:01:14 PM »
Hard luck ladies- they sound like they gave their all and worked as hard as possible for this tournament- can't ask for more than that...

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #938 on: September 12, 2010, 09:22:48 PM »
Unfortunately Pellers is a voom kick specialist. However, the good he has done should be duplicated and we try to move the women's program forward
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #939 on: September 12, 2010, 10:41:13 PM »
Unfortunately Pellers is a voom kick specialist. However, the good he has done should be duplicated and we try to move the women's program forward

And I salute him and his team for making history in being the first team that has won a football game in a World Cup.  I am humbled.

« Reply #940 on: September 13, 2010, 04:26:56 AM »

could we have matched the Koreans in the midfield

« Reply #941 on: September 13, 2010, 05:07:37 AM »

We will never know. They never tried. Maybe because they were playing within their limitations and if so then I guess no but we never put de ball down on de carpet and as de age old saying goes let de ball do the work.

« Reply #942 on: September 13, 2010, 10:36:27 AM »

We will never know. They never tried. Maybe because they were playing within their limitations and if so then I guess no but we never put de ball down on de carpet and as de age old saying goes let de ball do the work.

Pellerud not known for lettin de ball do de work.

The main characteristics of his teams are hard work, physicality, fight, and organization.

He did a great job with the Canadian womens team to get them to the point where they were consistently competitive.  But they couldn't get to the next level with the top teams in the women's game because they were deficient technically.  So the CSA replaced him with someone who's mandate is to get them to that next level.

In that respect, he's a very good coach for T&T because our women will learn the basics and discipline needed to compete.  Baby steps before we could start to run.  Pellerud good for that. 

The only disappointing thing to me is that from the reports, the girls just didn't have it yesterday.  That means that what was supposed to be one of Pellerud's strengths was not evident in the team.  And it has me wondering about the psychological make up of our sports TEAMS.

Certainly our individual sportsmen & women can do it.  They've shown it on numerous occasions in the past.  But our sports teams are something else.  We consistently fail at the big stage.

November 19th 1990 is the most famous

But what about all the others?  The WCQ against Jamaica at the HCS in 93 when we lost despite dominating the match for 89 out of the 90 minutes.

We've hosted the mens and now womens youth U17 world cup.  Cannot get out of the first round.  Up till last week, we had never won a match at a single world cup at any level despite 12 previous attempts.

Our cricket team surpassed all expectations by making the final of the CL tournament last year.  In the final we had the Aussie team lil bit for 7 wickets down.  We collapse in the bowling and then got blown out while batting to basically snatch defeat from victory.

This year the cricket team playin at home against Guyana and choose that day to play the worst game of T20 cricket they've ever played.  Even with all that they came to the last over needing 9 runs with 3 wickets in hand.....certainly not impossible in T20 cricket.  Hit the first ball for 4 and then lose by 5 runs.

Even our WCQ team in 2006 played the first match of the playoff AT HOME against Bahrain and struggled whole match eventually snatching a late equalizer to save more blushes before going on away from home and completing the business.

Yesterday, the girls needing a win to move onto the 2nd round from all reports didn't play with the energy they showed in previous games and we lose.  Nothing wrong with losing, but there seems to be some sort of psychological block where our sports teams are concerned when it comes to THE BIG MOMENT...especially AT HOME.

« Reply #943 on: September 13, 2010, 10:40:06 AM »
Good post Palos.  I notice a similar pattern.

« Reply #944 on: September 13, 2010, 11:30:02 AM »
Nothing wrong with losing, but there seems to be some sort of psychological block where our sports teams are concerned when it comes to THE BIG MOMENT...especially AT HOME.

De psychological aspect has never been a consistent part of our preparations. For some reason like we feel is ah waste of time. However, if yuh go back tuh our 2006 campaign, one of de comments you heard over and over again from de players was dat Beenhakker had dem believing in deyself, and believing dey could do it.

« Reply #945 on: September 13, 2010, 11:30:28 AM »
Yesterday, the girls needing a win to move onto the 2nd round from all reports didn't play with the energy they showed in previous games and we lose.  Nothing wrong with losing, but there seems to be some sort of psychological block where our sports teams are concerned when it comes to THE BIG MOMENT...especially AT HOME.

after watching the game twice, it looked like another team playing, everything that they were know for that fight and passion was gone. Really don't know what happen.

De psychological aspect has never been a consistent part of our preparations. For some reason like we feel is ah waste of time. However, if yuh go back tuh our 2006 campaign, one of de comments you heard over and over again from de players was dat Beenhakker had dem believing in deyself, and believing dey could do it.

actually i heard Linfah saying they did alot of mental preparation for the games but like that was missing yesterday
« Last Edit: September 13, 2010, 11:32:12 AM by D.H.W »

Re: Fifa U17 Women WC Game veiwing thread
« Reply #946 on: September 13, 2010, 12:13:17 PM »
Monday Sept 13, 4pm—Japan v New Zealand, Dwight Yorke Stadium

Monday Sept 13, 7pm—Ghana v Republic of Ireland, Dwight Yorke

Monday Sept 13, 4pm—Venezuela v Spain, Manny Ramjohn Stadium

Monday Sept 13, 7pm—Brazil v Canada, Manny Ramjohn Stadium

-------------

no guarantee links will work

Monday Sept 13, 4pm—Venezuela v Spain, Manny Ramjohn Stadium
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=86366&part=sports

Monday Sept 13, 7pm—Brazil v Canada, Manny Ramjohn Stadium
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=86372&part=sports

« Reply #947 on: September 13, 2010, 12:59:44 PM »
That team is akin to the movie Bad News Bears......without the scripted hollywood happy ending

« Reply #948 on: September 13, 2010, 02:27:30 PM »
Venezuela v Spain, Manny Ramjohn Stadium LIVE NOW

« Reply #949 on: September 13, 2010, 02:59:42 PM »
brazil vs canada delayed at 9:05 on C . there should be a live stream at 7pm hopefully

« Reply #950 on: September 13, 2010, 03:04:12 PM »
Let we dont forget to give Korea credit... they are after all, the defending champs. :beermug:

« Reply #951 on: September 13, 2010, 03:35:44 PM »
bess goal from zeula 1-1 and d crowd goes wild.

« Reply #952 on: September 13, 2010, 04:00:08 PM »
I think we met a technically better team than us. Our girls are yet to match the finer points of the game. Yes you can instill fitness and fighting spirit in the team, but if the indivduals lacks skill what you going to do. But believe you me, this TT girls team is way ahead of the previous teams. The girls at home needs to play more football. Not just practice, but they need to "sweat" the way guys do. That is where they will pick up the intangibles of the game that a coach can't teach. But congrats to OUR PRINCESSES. We know that they wanted to win for us. That first game was magic. Thanks girls. Go Bless!!!!!!

« Reply #953 on: September 13, 2010, 04:15:03 PM »
I was at the game yesterday, the Koreans are a very good unit and we were overmatched from the onset.

The team is very well coached defensively, they know how to hold the line, keep shape, tackle and cover. But I must admint it was disappointing knowing that we couldn't offer a bit more than what was on show from an attacking standpoint. We lived off of half chances and sometimes luck, but we made our own luck with a stellar defensive showing.

Also, i'm not sure what the team routine is between games, how much training and rest is given. We looked a tired outfit overall as we expended a lot of energy to keep the Koreans in front of us. Our girls also had to deal with the mental pressures of growing expecations especially after a very good first result. But we probably wouldn't have sold out the last two games if we didnt win the first one and as a 12th man we were a lot better than i've seen in the past.

But at the same time this is the World Cup, the highest level of competition and we shouldnt think there isn't room for improvement after these 3 games. Playing a style of backs and forwards simply does not reap rewards in the modern game (male or female) and it looked as if the coaching staff tried to hide our technical deficiencies by instructing the defense at all times to hoof the ball long so that we will not be caught in possession in midfield. Playing it long at least allows the defense to re-shape and be ready for the next opposing attack.

Before these 3 games I never watched much women's football live. I understand why its so popular with some, it appeals to the purist, for me back in the coaching clinic days, basic football that if done effectively can be just as visually appealing as any Premiership or La liga game. I think what captures is that because its so simple, every fan thinks they can do the exact thing as is not over awed by extraordinary skill that's possessed by our modern day male stars.

But say wah, our girls were able to unite our country for a week and i was proud to be part of it for all three games. Just reflecting on the budget presentation over the last week, less than 400 Million for the Sport and Youth Affairs Ministry as compared to between 4-8 Billion for others. It's instructuve as we always hear politicians garble a bunch of rhetoric about uniting the nation. Sport more than anything has served to bring together our diverse backgrounds in a single voice and chant and cheer and tears. We put 5 billion into crime detection but 400 million into crime prevention.

Go figure

« Reply #954 on: September 13, 2010, 06:41:23 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/NpOBtnbEVaA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/NpOBtnbEVaA</a>

« Reply #955 on: September 13, 2010, 06:41:42 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/NpOBtnbEVaA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/NpOBtnbEVaA</a>

« Reply #956 on: September 13, 2010, 07:09:19 PM »
Brazil v Canada, Manny Ramjohn Stadium Delayed on C NOW
Must win game for both teams

« Reply #957 on: September 13, 2010, 07:19:59 PM »

after watching the game twice, it looked like another team playing, everything that they were know for that fight and passion was gone. Really don't know what happen.

actually i heard Linfah saying they did alot of mental preparation for the games but like that was missing yesterday
Well if this is the case then I suspect the head doctor before closing forgot to tell them to go out and have fun. (so as to take the pressure off)They looked like they were toting the weight of the nation on their shoulders.

« Reply #958 on: September 14, 2010, 08:20:33 AM »
Quarter-finals

Date - Time   Venue   
16/09 13:00   Marabella  Nigeria - Korea Republic
16/09 16:00   Marabella  Germany - Korea DPR

17/09 13:00   Couva      Spain   - Brazil
17/09 16:00   Arima      Ireland - Japan

Germany all the way  :wavetowel:

« Reply #959 on: September 14, 2010, 08:51:55 AM »
Nigeria - Korea Republic
Germany - Korea DPR

this right here is rel thunder  :o

I might take in Ireland - Japan
Why Arima only get one game steups