April 24, 2024, 10:20:36 PM

Author Topic: Soca Princesses tackle Venezuela  (Read 3266 times)

Soca Princesses tackle Venezuela
« on: August 16, 2010, 07:07:18 AM »
Soca Princesses tackle Venezuela
T&T Guardian

T&T’s Under-17 Soca Princesses will continue their countdown to the Fifa Under-17 World Cup opener against Chile with a friendly international away to Venezuela today in Puerto La Cruz. The local squad of 22 players and coach Even Pellerud left here yesterday and will also meet the South Americans on Wednesday before returning home to go into a full time live-in camp leading up to their opening match against Chile on September 5 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port-of-Spain.

T&T will also face Nigeria and Korea DPR in their group matches in the 16-team tournament while Venezuela will open their Group C campaign against New Zealand at the Ato Boldon Stadium on September 6 before facing Japan at the Couva venue on September 9 and Spain at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium on September 13.

Looking ahead to the upcoming back-to-back matches, Pellerud said it would serve his team well in its final build-up to the tournament. “The two matches have come at a good time for us because now we are nearing the tournament and the players will have the opportunity to get match practice against a decent opposition who will have the similar South American style to our first match opponents on September 5,” Pellerud said.

Asked about his team’s readiness to play in front of anticipated large crowds in September, Pellerud said he didn’t think they would suffer for not having a full slate of matches at home during the preparations. “I don’t think it would be a disadvantage. If anything, I think it will spur them on more to play in front of a large home crowd and to see the fans who are there behind them in every match. We have played the likes of Canada and Mexico at home before so it’s not a matter of the girls playing at home for the first time against an international opposition when September 5 arrives.

“At this point, we are focused on preparing the girls for the upcoming matches and of course it should be understood that the type of preparation at this point of the build up as compared to what we did earlier on, perhaps six months or six weeks ago, will be a bit different but all in relation to getting the team as best ready as possible for the World Cup itself,” Pellerud added.

T&T squad
Keri Myers, Linfah Jones, Shalette Alexander, Camille Borneo, Rehana Omardeen, Khadisha Debesette, Lauren Schmidt (captain), Patrice Vincent, Tineisha Cobham, Victoria Swift, Khadidra Debesette, Patrice Campbell, Nykosi Simmons, Diarra Simmons, Liana Hinds, Kayla Taylor, Jo-Marie Lewis, Camille Charles, Brianna Ryce, Emma Abdul, Courtney Bahadursingh, Nykosi Simmons

Re: Soca Princesses tackle Venezuela
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 02:45:15 PM »
Wish the Princesses well

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2010, 07:10:00 PM »
Boa Sorte, Princesas!!!!

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2010, 03:19:30 AM »
why not make it a double header with the U17 boys or sr mens aswell

Offline SabreWolves

« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2010, 07:31:46 AM »
Any Results available?

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2010, 08:04:54 AM »
Any Results available?

The girls won 2-1 with goals in the second half from Jasmine Sampson and Jo-Marie Lewis.  Well done ladies   :applause: :applause:

Game two tomorrow.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 08:14:52 AM by Michael-j »

« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2010, 08:07:40 AM »

Offline SabreWolves

« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2010, 12:11:45 PM »
Any Results available?

The girls won 2-1 with goals in the second half from Jasmine Sampson and Jo-Marie Lewis.  Well done ladies   :applause: :applause:

Game two tomorrow.

Thanks Michael-j,   

Congrats and Good luck Tomorrow...

« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2010, 01:44:04 PM »
So Borneo injured out and still playing ?? dat team list correck ? junior holding on in the press release section againnn  !!!

« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2010, 11:23:34 PM »
keep the momentum going ladies  :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2010, 09:08:58 AM »
Any Results available?

Game two tomorrow.

Venezuela took the lead in the 38th min on a header by Marialba Zambrano. Sampson scored the equalizer in the 66th min., and Jo-Marie scored in the winner in the 86th min.

Today's game will be played at 5 PM EST at the Estadio Andrés Eloy Blanco in Puerto La Cruz.

« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2010, 03:54:59 PM »
keep working girls
the time is near

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2010, 08:25:50 PM »
Tournament drawing closer
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2010, 05:49:59 AM »
The Princesses won the second match 1-0 on a goal by Kayla Taylor in the 72nd min.

« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2010, 05:59:58 AM »
Who is de number 5 Tallman ?

3 more guava season..... 3 more....

« Reply #15 on: August 19, 2010, 06:28:55 AM »
Well done Jas...and well done ladies.....

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #16 on: August 19, 2010, 07:02:26 AM »

That's the skipper, Lauren Schmidt......notice the captain's arm band on her left arm.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2010, 07:09:32 AM by Michael-j »

« Reply #17 on: August 19, 2010, 08:02:25 AM »

Sam you does kill me here kyah kyah kyah...  :rotfl:

and Tallman encouraging the man LOL

« Reply #18 on: August 19, 2010, 08:07:38 AM »
Bahdursingh... Abdul...nice, good to see a nice diverse squad that's truly representative of TnT, wid de li'l local white and french creole influences thrown in for good measure, lol.

Nkosi Simmons so good she make de team twice yes  :rotfl:

Congrats and well done ladies  :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: August 19, 2010, 08:24:40 AM »

« Reply #20 on: August 19, 2010, 08:29:35 AM »
 :applause:  well done ladies!! keep fightin!

« Reply #21 on: August 19, 2010, 05:10:17 PM »
Back to back wins for U-17 women.

A second half goal by Kayla Taylor pushed Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 women footballers to a 1-0 victory over Venezuela’s U-17s in the second of two friendlies in Puerto La Cruz on Wednesday evening.

The win was T&T’s second in two matches and left captain Lauren Schmidt and her teammates a quietly confident bunch as they returned to Port of Spain on Thursday.

“Another win and another tight game where the better team won,” was how head coach Even Pellerud summed it up as he also relayed the team’s departure for a training camp in Ft. Lauderdale  next week for two possible international warm up matches.

Both T&T and Venezuela played evenly in a scoreless first half but Pellerud pointed out that his team still made some simple mistakes with bad passing and individual tactical and technical errors which he said could cost the team against better opposition. He credited goalkeeper Linfah Jones for a strong showing in goal.

T&T scored when Jo Marie Lewis played a nice pass through to the onrushing Taylor who tapped home from close up for the eventual winner.

“Even though we would have liked to see our team play better, this series was a successful one. For the first time we managed two wins in a row, and that is significant for us,” Pellerud told TTFF Media.

Skipper Schmidt said the two wins was a definite confidence booster for her team just under two weeks away from their opening match against Chile at the FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on September 5.

“I thought it was a really good experience as we are nearing the end of our preparation. It showed me that we still need to work on our consistency, to be able to play strong through an entire game.

Yet it also showed that we don't give up easy and we have that drive to win somewhere inside us. We just need to be able to display it for 90 minutes,” Schmidt told TTFF Media.

“It definitely feels amazing to take home two wins. But now we need to focus on what is coming next. We can't let this get us too overconfident.”

Schmidt added that with Pellerud announcing his final 21-player squad last week, the players are able to focus more on overall team readiness.

“We need to come out to every training session and play like it’s a game. We need to give 100% effort in the sessions. We also need to come out strong in our last few preparation games during the 23rd through the 30th in Miami.

“With the final team selected, the girls are able to focus on the World Cup a lot better. That’s exactly right. Now all we are thinking about is how to improve our game individually as well as a team in order to be the best we can possibly be by the time September 5th comes around,” Schmidt concluded.

« Reply #22 on: August 20, 2010, 05:30:01 AM »

A second half goal by Kayla Taylor pushed Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 women footballers to a 1-0 victory over Venezuela’s U-17s in the second of two friendlies in Puerto La Cruz on Wednesday evening.

The win was T&T’s second in two matches and left captain Lauren Schmidt and her teammates a quietly confident bunch as they returned to Port of Spain on Thursday.

“Another win and another tight game where the better team won,” was how head coach Even Pellerud summed it up as he also relayed the team’s departure for a training camp in Ft. Lauderdale  next week for two possible international warm up matches.

Both T&T and Venezuela played evenly in a scoreless first half but Pellerud pointed out that his team still made some simple mistakes with bad passing and individual tactical and technical errors which he said could cost the team against better opposition. He credited goalkeeper Linfah Jones for a strong showing in goal.

T&T scored when Jo Marie Lewis played a nice pass through to the onrushing Taylor who tapped home from close up for the eventual winner.

“Even though we would have liked to see our team play better, this series was a successful one. For the first time we managed two wins in a row, and that is significant for us,” Pellerud told TTFF Media.

Skipper Schmidt said the two wins was a definite confidence booster for her team just under two weeks away from their opening match against Chile at the FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on September 5.

“I thought it was a really good experience as we are nearing the end of our preparation. It showed me that we still need to work on our consistency, to be able to play strong through an entire game.

Yet it also showed that we don't give up easy and we have that drive to win somewhere inside us. We just need to be able to display it for 90 minutes,” Schmidt told TTFF Media.

“It definitely feels amazing to take home two wins. But now we need to focus on what is coming next. We can't let this get us too overconfident.”

Schmidt added that with Pellerud announcing his final 21-player squad last week, the players are able to focus more on overall team readiness.

“We need to come out to every training session and play like it’s a game. We need to give 100% effort in the sessions. We also need to come out strong in our last few preparation games during the 23rd through the 30th in Miami.

“With the final team selected, the girls are able to focus on the World Cup a lot better. That’s exactly right. Now all we are thinking about is how to improve our game individually as well as a team in order to be the best we can possibly be by the time September 5th comes around,” Schmidt concluded.

If u were to read our captain's remarks you'll see a clear distinction between our foreign base girls and the locals to express themselves giving a proper analysis,awareness and appreciation of the game.

« Reply #23 on: August 20, 2010, 08:47:36 AM »

If u were to read our captain's remarks you'll see a clear distinction between our foreign base girls and the locals to express themselves giving a proper analysis,awareness and appreciation of the game.

What are we comparing it to?

« Reply #24 on: August 21, 2010, 08:22:53 PM »
Bahdursingh... Abdul...nice, good to see a nice diverse squad that's truly representative of TnT, wid de li'l local white and french creole influences thrown in for good measure, lol.

Nkosi Simmons so good she make de team twice yes  :rotfl:

Congrats and well done ladies  :beermug:

fuh real