April 19, 2024, 12:54:32 AM

Author Topic: KMC lands U.S. music deal  (Read 14226 times)

Re: KMC lands U.S. music deal
« Reply #60 on: February 18, 2011, 07:48:27 PM »
KMC work hard... TI ah know yuh move to cali... when yuh dropping the album... Socapro I was a DMC East Coast finalist  :beermug: KMC will do well... nutten doh come easy in life...

True!!  :beermug:

Will be bigging-up KMC for his new international record deal on my radio show this Saturday between 2-4pm GMT on www.GenesisRadio.co.uk. Maybe TI will tune and learn that KMC isn't a 95% jump & wave soca artist!  ;)

Passed his CD on and the links you provided to my boys of ESL Music (rob and eric from Thievery Coropration) will love to see him perform in DC....

« Reply #61 on: March 28, 2011, 07:56:16 PM »
well looks like KMC getting himself in trouble..Waiting to hear tomorrow what story he comes with:
KMC Exposed by Mavado
from www.thescorch.com

When we heard that KMC sang a song with Mavado we were exicted! Trini and Jamaica merge woi woi… den when we heard KMC going Germany everyone was on the KMC wagon…

Then as with any true story, the ball dropped! During an interview on Synergy Night Live with Jason Williams, Mavado said after listening to a piece of the song TWICE and we quote “that’s not me” *record scratch* as our honorable Sports Minister would say WHAAAAAAAAT!!

How yuh mean is not you Mavado? But KMC tell us is you! KMC is a man out long time, he wouldn’t trick us! Nah man… Poor JW didn’t even know how to handle it he immediately went toa commercial and at the end of the show he said that he himself didn’t know and doh bad him up after the show… Seems like JW turned into a undercover investigator lol…

Shortly after, Mavado’s manager Julian Jones Griffith said, via Twitter".......he NEVA did track with KMC! Bun out liars.”

Well boy… apparently KMC no longer means Ken Marlon Charles, but Ken Made-up Collaboration… boy is really best yuh go Germany in true yes…

« Reply #62 on: March 28, 2011, 09:38:19 PM »
well looks like KMC getting himself in trouble..Waiting to hear tomorrow what story he comes with:
KMC Exposed by Mavado
from www.thescorch.com

When we heard that KMC sang a song with Mavado we were exicted! Trini and Jamaica merge woi woi… den when we heard KMC going Germany everyone was on the KMC wagon…

Then as with any true story, the ball dropped! During an interview on Synergy Night Live with Jason Williams, Mavado said after listening to a piece of the song TWICE and we quote “that’s not me” *record scratch* as our honorable Sports Minister would say WHAAAAAAAAT!!

How yuh mean is not you Mavado? But KMC tell us is you! KMC is a man out long time, he wouldn’t trick us! Nah man… Poor JW didn’t even know how to handle it he immediately went toa commercial and at the end of the show he said that he himself didn’t know and doh bad him up after the show… Seems like JW turned into a undercover investigator lol…

Shortly after, Mavado’s manager Julian Jones Griffith said, via Twitter".......he NEVA did track with KMC! Bun out liars.”

Well boy… apparently KMC no longer means Ken Marlon Charles, but Ken Made-up Collaboration… boy is really best yuh go Germany in true yes…

ah don't understand why the man would lie about that as an artist, he just ruining his reputation at a crucial point in his career.

« Reply #63 on: March 28, 2011, 10:26:19 PM »
KMC Exposed by Mavado
from www.thescorch.com

I doh even know what the the f**k that means jeezeess

« Reply #64 on: March 29, 2011, 01:46:13 PM »
look a clip here...quality eh good tho

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/bdKoSTD2zSE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/bdKoSTD2zSE</a>
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 05:49:04 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #65 on: March 29, 2011, 06:09:44 PM »
Better quality recording of that "meh heart heavy" interview! 
JW had me rolling-up with that line! :rotfl:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Sh6F8PtB0s4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Sh6F8PtB0s4</a>

And here is the full song!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/9G8hwkzBS5k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/9G8hwkzBS5k</a>

Will be interesting to hear what KMC has to say about this.

Btw this song came out last year for 2010 carnival, I've got it but never paid much attention to it until now but now its on my playlist!  :devil:
« Last Edit: March 30, 2011, 10:49:57 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #66 on: March 29, 2011, 11:48:13 PM »
Many artists today do collaborations and never even meet to do the song.

It's plausible that KMC sent material to Movado over a year or more ago and it was mixed but Movado doh remember even having anything to do with it. Not that hard to believe really.

Until I hear otherwise I will believe KMC over Movado

« Reply #67 on: March 30, 2011, 12:20:38 AM »
Dat song is an actual dancehall track done by movado. Di chune was splice and reuse by KMC. Di same way KMCused shabba track. Di Only True colloboration KMC have was with wayne marshall. Aint nothing wrong wid splicing chunes Jamaican do it all di time. I eh know why movado talking bout dais not him.. dats Movado straight up but looks like he jes plying dat bad bwoy trade .. KMC may have not use his permission dais bout it..but dais movado voice cause he have a dancehall tracks sounds jes suh....

« Reply #68 on: April 01, 2011, 11:18:09 AM »
KMC responds....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nW7t41QCag

Peeps I try de embed thing and all I get was a white box with no video or audio......ah follow de instructions over on de technical support page but like ah doing some thing wrong still..... ??? :-\ :(

« Last Edit: April 01, 2011, 11:27:33 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #69 on: April 01, 2011, 12:07:09 PM »
KMC responds....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nW7t41QCag

Peeps I try de embed thing and all I get was a white box with no video or audio......ah follow de instructions over on de technical support page but like ah doing some thing wrong still..... ??? :-\ :(

To embed:

That is the url you embed. you have to make sure you get all the characters after the = sign. for instance, there is a "-" there.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-nW7t41QCag" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-nW7t41QCag</a>

« Reply #70 on: April 01, 2011, 12:20:50 PM »
Just to clarify, I had to remove the "-" sign too or make sure and leave it in??.....

« Reply #71 on: April 01, 2011, 12:43:28 PM »
Just to clarify, I had to remove the "-" sign too or make sure and leave it in??.....

Sorry, was unclear about that. The only thing you changing or removing is the stuff in red. If you remove any other characters, like the "-" the it won't work.

« Reply #72 on: April 01, 2011, 01:29:46 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-nW7t41QCag" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-nW7t41QCag</a>

Ah just coming to post this but get beaten to it!

So the truth is coming to light! So either Mavado lying & has a very bad memory or they have some other artist in St Lucia or Jamaica who Curty the song producer contacted that could do a very good impersonation of Mavado!
Either way, I believe KMC is telling the truth especially since he did not produce the track himself and was invited to voice on it on the Mavado track by the Lucian producer!
« Last Edit: April 01, 2011, 01:31:36 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #73 on: April 01, 2011, 07:41:55 PM »
Movado lie.

« Reply #74 on: April 02, 2011, 05:57:25 AM »

Sorry, was unclear about that. The only thing you changing or removing is the stuff in red. If you remove any other characters, like the "-" the it won't work.

Oh ho....grazie.  I'll give it another try some time..... :beermug:

« Reply #75 on: April 02, 2011, 11:44:49 AM »
Dat song is an actual dancehall track done by movado. Di chune was splice and reuse by KMC. Di same way KMCused shabba track. Di Only True colloboration KMC have was with wayne marshall. Aint nothing wrong wid splicing chunes Jamaican do it all di time. I eh know why movado talking bout dais not him.. dats Movado straight up but looks like he jes plying dat bad bwoy trade .. KMC may have not use his permission dais bout it..but dais movado voice cause he have a dancehall tracks sounds jes suh....

Yuh have a link to de original track?

Offline Arazi

« Reply #76 on: April 02, 2011, 04:04:50 PM »

So the truth is coming to light! So either Mavado lying & has a very bad memory or they have some other artist in St Lucia or Jamaica who Curty the song producer contacted that could do a very good impersonation of Mavado!
Either way, I believe KMC is telling the truth especially since he did not produce the track himself and was invited to voice on it on the Mavado track by the Lucian producer!

I don't think Mavado lie either, Mavado said it had a next soca singer from St. Lucia get a fake Movado feature, so it might be someone impersonating Mavado

this is the track he referred to on an interview on red 96.7

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KSjWJkyxSwE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KSjWJkyxSwE</a>

So i think the producer or someone close to the producer pull a fast one..
« Last Edit: April 02, 2011, 04:31:01 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #77 on: April 02, 2011, 04:31:54 PM »

I don't think Mavado lie either, Mavado said it had a next soca singer from St. Lucia get a fake Movado feature, so it might be someone impersonating Mavado

this is the track he referred to on an interview on red 96.7

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/KSjWJkyxSwE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/KSjWJkyxSwE</a>

So i think the producer or someone close to the producer pull a fast one..

I now understand the mix-up and how both KMC  & the real Mavado got conned so neither of them is lying!
The guy on this track from St Lucia who calls himself Movado spells his name M O V A D O while the real Mavado from Jamaica officially spells his name M A V A D O.
So technically this Lucian artist not doing anything wrong by calling himself Movado while sounding very much like the Jamaican Mavado but morally this Lucian Movado has been conning a lot of folks and getting away with it and it seems he’s been pulling this con for a while now!
This Movado guy should be working side by side with Jack Warner, he's a real clever con man!  8)
« Last Edit: April 02, 2011, 04:37:09 PM by Socapro »