March 28, 2024, 03:52:34 AM

Author Topic: The sweetness of a rollie pollie  (Read 4444 times)

The sweetness of a rollie pollie
« on: August 19, 2010, 06:40:40 PM »
Is this still the sweetest rollie pollie ever.

Lard!   :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xU4K12SpDzo

Re: The sweetness of a rollie pollie
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 06:52:04 PM »
im must be too young, i thought rollie pollie does look different than that.

im sure my fifa 98 brethen here know the zidane rollie pollie at least that's what i think it is  ???

13 sec in

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/PK-3un-2t4w&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/PK-3un-2t4w&amp;</a>
« Last Edit: August 19, 2010, 06:54:20 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2010, 06:55:07 PM »
i use to do that plenty...and is long time i eh pull off one...ah fraid ah buss someting

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2010, 07:00:00 PM »
A roly-poly to me is la roulette by Zidane.
I eh know what Maradona called it but Zidane did it a lot more than him.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2010, 07:01:57 PM by Peong »

« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2010, 07:24:07 PM »
A roly-poly to me is la roulette by Zidane.
I eh know what Maradona called it but Zidane did it a lot more than him.

...and a lot better than the short fat thiefin bastard too.

« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2010, 10:16:32 PM »

That is a drag back what Puskas do..

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2010, 11:14:32 PM »
Me ent really find either of them to be de real rollie pollie. I thought a rollie pollie was rolling de ball one way and then back de opposite way when de defender bite on de 1st fake. In de US dey teaching de youths de one Zidane do and calling it de " maradona ". First one just like like a pullback fuh real. Look good, but ah hope somebody really find some footage of a good " look it dey, now it gone rollie ". Blessings
Doh loss yuh head boss

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2010, 05:47:00 AM »

That is a drag back what Puskas do..

yes I... and it look real sweet too yeah...  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Classic... CLASSIC!!!!!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2010, 06:10:52 AM »
I thought that was a wrong address. This a gret thread btw. Post the name of a beat and attach a video.

« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2010, 06:13:34 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/N4rcX9s3yO0&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/N4rcX9s3yO0&amp;feature=related</a>
Figure Four

« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2010, 06:23:02 AM »
That aint no roly poly  thas ah pull back or a full sole roll  ... !

« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2010, 06:26:29 AM »
So what is a wrong address ?

« Reply #12 on: August 20, 2010, 06:31:30 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-UzRsvCsC4c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-UzRsvCsC4c</a>

Runaround

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/mR4SxMBRH6U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/mR4SxMBRH6U</a>
« Last Edit: August 20, 2010, 06:34:58 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #13 on: August 20, 2010, 06:52:19 AM »
Listen growing up in T&T during the 60's & 70's we use to call that a Rollie Pollie.
Once Coerver coaching come around man start calling it a drag back.
And others start calling the Diego - Zidane what ever, move a rollie pollie (which I myself never heard it called that).
So as a old man fuh me that is a rollie pollie, or roly poly or a dam stink beat  ;D

Offline TriniItalian

• Never Wait to Procrastinate!
« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2010, 07:20:06 AM »
Yea that is a rollie pollie but officially like on uefa training ground there are two types... The dragback and the double dragback which is more zizuesque.
A.W.A.T.T. INFORMANT

« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2010, 07:22:42 AM »
Listen growing up in T&T during the 60's & 70's we use to call that a Rollie Pollie.
And others start calling the Diego - Zidane what ever, move a rollie pollie (which I myself never heard it called that).
So as a old man fuh me that is a rollie pollie, or roly poly or a dam stink beat  ;D

OLD MAN!  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: August 20, 2010, 07:35:59 AM »
Rolly Polly is like what Adriano give that man from Valencia....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/GLEZigLc5Hs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/GLEZigLc5Hs</a>

« Reply #17 on: August 20, 2010, 07:53:13 AM »

OLD MAN!  :devil:

I prefer Wise man  ;D, but yes aged.  ;D  Trni can't just admire the genius, they have to argue over what the move called. Lard!   

« Reply #18 on: August 20, 2010, 08:07:59 AM »
This one still takes the cake for the best rollie pollie because he went in two completely different directions (away from goal, then toward goal)....and beat two men with it....then of course the stuff that came after....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/jWNnK99mcrw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/jWNnK99mcrw</a>

« Reply #19 on: August 20, 2010, 11:58:46 AM »
This one still takes the cake for the best rollie pollie because he went in two completely different directions (away from goal, then toward goal)....and beat two men with it....then of course the stuff that came after....

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/jWNnK99mcrw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/jWNnK99mcrw</a>

It funny how we all have different definitions. To me the soles of both feet must touch the ball for it to be a rollie-pollie.

SO the Maradona beat to me is still a drag as is the Puskas one that Observer post. The Zidane roulette is the best example I could think of in this thread as is the Adriano beat Omar post. That one especially nasty because the second part ofthe beat was a backwards roll through the man legs. That just wrong.

That Maradone run is pure magic though.

« Reply #20 on: August 20, 2010, 01:25:15 PM »

It funny how we all have different definitions. To me the soles of both feet must touch the ball for it to be a rollie-pollie.

SO the Maradona beat to me is still a drag as is the Puskas one that Observer post. The Zidane roulette is the best example I could think of in this thread as is the Adriano beat Omar post. That one especially nasty because the second part ofthe beat was a backwards roll through the man legs. That just wrong.

What Maradona did at the center circle and what Puskas did in the box are two different things to me...but I agree we all see it a lil differently- good skill all around nevertheless. 

« Reply #21 on: August 20, 2010, 04:31:47 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/SaSYB01DKy0&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/SaSYB01DKy0&amp;feature=related</a>

« Reply #22 on: August 20, 2010, 05:22:51 PM »
From what I know...if u don't turn ur back on the defender it's not a rollie pollie.   From what i remember.  The ball is out front of u the defender sticks his leg out to get it.  U pulled the ball back with one foot.  With the other foot and forward motion you roll past the defender with your back to him.  That's what I remember..

« Reply #23 on: August 20, 2010, 05:26:54 PM »
So what is a wrong address ?

A wrong address is not really a beat per say...It's really something that happens to a defender for a variety of reasons.  A step over, a fake, ah in side out side fan.   Once u bite on any direction that the ball and player isn't going in you get a round address.  It happens all over the field but it is more noticeable on the wings.

« Reply #24 on: August 20, 2010, 05:31:54 PM »

What Maradona did at the center circle and what Puskas did in the box are two different things to me...but I agree we all see it a lil differently- good skill all around nevertheless. 

In the back of the park when a man get wet wid a Maradona Zidane move we called it the Piroette  :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: August 20, 2010, 05:54:53 PM »
From what I know...if u don't turn ur back on the defender it's not a rollie pollie.   From what i remember.  The ball is out front of u the defender sticks his leg out to get it.  U pulled the ball back with one foot.  With the other foot and forward motion you roll past the defender with your back to him.  That's what I remember..

yup thats what i know too. Observer so old , it was called a different thing back then  :devil:

:angel:

« Reply #26 on: August 20, 2010, 06:04:05 PM »

So the rollie pollie ,then is when you stand on the ball with your right foot then switch feet in midair while turning around the man rolling the ball under you ....is that right ?.Omar e.g is a nasty eg of it cause ah man get sexed in the process parallel to him to boot,not even behind him,which make it look worst .
« Last Edit: August 20, 2010, 06:44:38 PM by Quags »

« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2010, 06:30:12 PM »
For examples of a roly poly.. seek footage on Evans Wise in his Tampa days...