March 28, 2024, 07:39:05 PM

Author Topic: Turtles  (Read 2895 times)

Turtles
« on: August 23, 2010, 05:21:36 AM »
Apparently, these pics were taken in Costa Rica.  I do not know the year.

Did locals in T&T ever harvest eggs at this scale?

Re: Turtles
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 05:43:27 AM »
you see that turtle in the pic... in trinidad they eating that one too..not just eggs. But I think some of the preservation work being done is finally seeing some results. At one point some students from the Uni of Guelph was down there (Trini) doing some conservation work.

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2010, 06:32:31 AM »
Harvest eggs kill turtle YESSSSSSSSS but as Jumbie say we doh kill them a we use 2.

« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2010, 08:23:48 AM »
they do that in Grand riviere , i saved a few little ones.

« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2010, 11:01:40 AM »
Those pics show cpnservation work and NOT "harvesting."

« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2010, 11:20:56 AM »

eh?...so whey dey carryin all dem egg?

« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2010, 11:32:59 AM »
I would like to think is conservation work too... else all ah dem people buying dey bag from de same crocus man  :-\

« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2010, 12:45:40 PM »

Canada!

« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2010, 12:47:44 PM »

Canada!

dais de bess place fuh dem....de last ting de ocean need is turtle egg full ah yankee salmonella

« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2010, 12:52:10 PM »
Instead dey getting Canadian Pox.

« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2010, 01:07:03 PM »
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/costa-rica-turtle-eggs.shtml

But snopes say it is legal harvesting as the eggs are areadt doomed and will NOT mature into turtles

http://www.oceanactions.com/?page_id=95

Then there is this...kinda sick really....

http://lanic.utexas.edu/project/sdrp/tortugas.html

« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2010, 01:26:13 PM »
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/costa-rica-turtle-eggs.shtml

But snopes say it is legal harvesting as the eggs are areadt doomed and will NOT mature into turtles

http://www.oceanactions.com/?page_id=95

Then there is this...kinda sick really....

http://lanic.utexas.edu/project/sdrp/tortugas.html

thanks for the links.

« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2010, 03:27:40 PM »
This is very interesting. There is something does drive a bit crazy with all the green and environmental projects. Be it land, air or sea, fish, bird or mammals. Eveything is always geared to be " major tourist attraction". Why can things be done for nature itself and for the locals who live there. The assumption is(to me at least) that if tourists don't come, it is not worth saving.

« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2010, 04:06:04 PM »

Canada!

Dutty and I importing all dem eggs.  We have our own incubator and we set them free in the Great Lakes.  The only problem is that lately Dutty is insisting that he sit on the eggs instead of using the automated incubators (he is very energy conscious). 

So, what should I do? Let Dutty sit in the eggs? or stop importing them?

« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2010, 04:17:50 PM »

Canada!

Dutty and I importing all dem eggs.  We have our own incubator and we set them free in the Great Lakes.  The only problem is that lately Dutty is insisting that he sit on the eggs instead of using the automated incubators (he is very energy conscious). 

So, what should I do? Let Dutty sit in the eggs? or stop importing them?

Yuh saying dat Dutty does walk like he have ah egg in he bamsee or wha?  The great lakes is fresh water..so much for canadian conservationist assistance

« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2010, 06:19:06 AM »

« Reply #16 on: August 29, 2010, 11:50:35 AM »
Very good look there from the articles. As long as its in the interest of management I don't mind atall.

Thanks for the link TC.

« Reply #18 on: December 22, 2010, 05:54:23 AM »
For the uninformed... a fellow warrior site...different issue same spirit - Trinieco warriors. these lot doing great service!!
http://www.facebook.com/update_security_info.php?wizard=1#!/pages/Trini-Eco-Warriors/162715583747492
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge