April 28, 2024, 01:14:45 PM

Author Topic: 'TRINIS IN NY AFRIAD THEY'LL GET KILL'  (Read 7832 times)

'TRINIS IN NY AFRIAD THEY'LL GET KILL'
« on: August 23, 2010, 06:51:54 AM »
'TRINIS IN NY AFRIAD THEY'LL GET KILL'
By GARY DARMANIE Monday, August 23 2010

Dat headline doh make sense

Back HOME: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar is greeted by children on her return at Piarco International Airport yesterday. ...« prev photo next photo »The 2010/2011 Budget will be delivered by the Minister of Finance on Wednesday September 8.

This was revealed by Prime Minister Kamla Persad- Bissessar at a media conference held immediately upon her return from a ten-day stay in New York.

Persad-Bissessar arrived at Piarco International Airport at approximately 5.30 pm, aboard a North American aircraft which was chartered by Caribbean Airlines for the busy holiday period.

She was greeted by an entourage of Cabinet and Parliamentary colleagues at the VIP lounge of the airport.

The entourage included, Acting Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Winston Dookeran, who will be delivering the 2010/2011 fiscal package on September 8.

This will be the first fiscal package delivered by the People’s Partnership Government.

Persad-Bissessar however did not disclose any details about the contents of the package, even when directly questioned by members of the media.

However she said the Government would be meeting with several stakeholder groups in pre-budget consultations from tomorrow.

Speaking about the accomplishments of her New York trip, Persad-Bissessar said the TT delegation was able to engage in discussions with New York Police City Commissioner Raymond Kelly. She said the discussions included the use of technology in the fight against crime, real time data management, public engagement strategies, combating gang violence, and enhancing the morale of police officers.

When questioned about the attitude of TT emigrants (to New York) towards returning home, Persad-Bissessar said many expressed fears of becoming victims of crime.

“They would like to come home but they are afraid people will kill them,” said Persad-Bissessar.

Persad-Bissessar said Kelly may be visiting TT in the near future, and the new TT Commissioner of Police would want to have crime discussions with Kelly.

“I am sure our new Commissioner of Police will welcome discussions with Mr Kelly on various aspects of police operations and how New York City, with 8.3 million residents was able to achieve a lower murder rate than our country with only 1.3 million citizens,” said Persad- Bissessar.

Speaking about the new Police Commissioner, Persad- Bissessar said the package being offered to him is being reviewed by Cabinet for approval.

She said the country has spent a significant sum of money on crime fighting initiatives before and has not reaped any real benefit.

However, Persad-Bissessar said the new Police Commissioner’s term of office will be on contract.

She said if the Commissioner does not deliver, the contract can and will be terminated.

Persad-Bissessar also said the trip was beneficial to the enhancement of the Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management (ODPM). According to Persad-Bissessar, the delegation also met with Witt Associates, a public safety and crisis management consulting firm based in Washington, and invited them to prepare proposals to deal with emergencies in TT.

“The company, (Witt Associates) has several offices throughout the US and specialises in emergency preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation. I have invited the principals of Witt Associates to prepare a comprehensive proposal to deal with emergency preparedness in TT, including the enhancement of the ODPM,” said Persad-Bissessar.

Persad-Bissessar also confirmed that she did fall sick during the New York visit. She said was she was so sick on one of the days that she could not speak.

Re: 'TRINIS IN NY AFRIAD THEY'LL GET KILL'
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 07:01:52 AM »
Just read d thread that Touchs come up wit and dey go b aok.

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2010, 07:04:28 AM »

Co-sign

« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2010, 07:17:33 AM »
If the expressed purpose of the trip was to engage citizens abroad and encourage them to return and contribute to T&T and the PM's response is dey fraid to come home then I can we say that the trip was a failure ?

What a pathetic attempt to pull wool over the eyes of the public concerning this gallery session in New York.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2010, 11:44:16 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2010, 07:21:16 AM »
If the expressed purpose of the trip was to engage citizens abroad and encourage them to return and contribute to T&T and the PM's response is dey fraid to come home then I can can we say that the trip was a failure ?

What a pathetic attempt to pull wool over the eyes of the public concerning this gallery session in New York.

yes, you can say this.

« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2010, 07:31:56 AM »

Show meh dat thread nah bout ah hafta read dat one.

« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2010, 08:00:20 AM »
If the expressed purpose of the trip was to engage citizens abroad and encourage them to return and contribute to T&T and the PM's response is dey fraid to come home then I can can we say that the trip was a failure ?

But ay ay...

The woman just stating the facts, its the truth not a response... What does this have to do with the success or failure of the trip?

The majority of Trinis living abroad reading the daily news envision the whole of T&T as a murderous place which is hazardous to life. A man on this very forum come here and say everybody in Trini have a gun at home, you need that to survive, and people was actually lapping that up.

It will take more than a 10 day trip to change that exaggerated mindset.

« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2010, 08:29:02 AM »

But ay ay...

The woman just stating the facts, its the truth not a response... What does this have to do with the success or failure of the trip?

The majority of Trinis living abroad reading the daily news envision the whole of T&T as a murderous place which is hazardous to life. A man on this very forum come here and say everybody in Trini have a gun at home, you need that to survive, and people was actually lapping that up.

It will take more than a 10 day trip to change that exaggerated mindset.
I am fully aware of the perception out there. My query is not with the validity of that perception. I am concerned about the position the government took as the justification for this trip.

« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2010, 10:27:38 AM »

Exactly!  People dotish nah.  You spend half ah million dollars on ah gallery junket to Queens fuh you and yuh people dem and dey family... only to learn that dem people fraid to come back home?  Yuh doh read de papers or what, you really needed to go Forest Hills to learn dat?

steups

« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2010, 11:07:24 AM »
A 85 yr old man sitting in his car on Winthrop st Friday evening mining his business and out of the blues a

shoot rang out the intended victim got away and a innocent man got shot in his leg .

A granmother relaxing in her house a bullet came from somewhere and the woman got shot .

So Mr or Ms Trinbagoanion if u fraid to go home because you fell you will get kill think again.

« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2010, 11:24:25 AM »
Mother Kamla tell the NY people who fraid to get kill where the police find all the guns in T&T.

« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2010, 12:09:42 PM »
Mother Kamla tell the NY people who fraid to get kill where the police find all the guns in T&T.

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

Offline congo

« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2010, 12:41:04 PM »
I don't mean to sound insensitive but Trinidad is not Iraq...Any country you go to nowadays there are no go zones...U just have to take the necessary precaution to ensure you and your family safety..Are you trying to tell me that you feel alot safer in a country where any minute a terrorist attack may occur randomly?? Trinidad is not hell, don't let the news fool you...Like a friend of my told me, a swedish guy living here, first time in his life he see a country glorifying murders by making it headline news...He say in Sweden we have gang violence but no way in hell would that ever make front page news to give the gangsters any sort of rank..

« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2010, 12:47:19 PM »
A 85 yr old man sitting in his car on Winthrop st Friday evening mining his business and out of the blues a

shoot rang out the intended victim got away and a innocent man got shot in his leg .

A granmother relaxing in her house a bullet came from somewhere and the woman got shot .

So Mr or Ms Trinbagoanion if u fraid to go home because you fell you will get kill think again.

zuluwarrior, is winthrop st. considered a safe area? yuh raise a good point. geographic distribution of crime is something to consider and is difficult to get an appreciation of this from news reports alone. ttps could post a map with this info - de toronto police have one so.

« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2010, 12:52:56 PM »
I don't mean to sound insensitive but Trinidad is not Iraq...Any country you go to nowadays there are no go zones...U just have to take the necessary precaution to ensure you and your family safety..Are you trying to tell me that you feel alot safer in a country where any minute a terrorist attack may occur randomly?? Trinidad is not hell, don't let the news fool you...Like a friend of my told me, a swedish guy living here, first time in his life he see a country glorifying murders by making it headline news...He say in Sweden we have gang violence but no way in hell would that ever make front page news to give the gangsters any sort of rank..

I say if yuh  fraid yuh go DEAD DOH COME.

« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2010, 01:01:41 PM »

zuluwarrior, is winthrop st. considered a safe area? yuh raise a good point. geographic distribution of crime is something to consider and is difficult to get an appreciation of this from news reports alone. ttps could post a map with this info - de toronto police have one so.

Winthrop St. is in Flatbush... I doubt the TTPS have a crime distribution map for there.

« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2010, 01:06:15 PM »
Ribbit weh yuh consider a safe place or zone not even in the preicint yuh safe , when you in your house you not even safe from a bullet cumming throughh your window things happen you just have to pray when it happen you not around or you can get out of the way very fast .  

« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2010, 01:09:01 PM »

Winthrop St. is in Flatbush... I doubt the TTPS have a crime distribution map for there.

Alot of this if you ask me is an exaggeration, but then again we are all different.  Since leaving TT ('93) I usually trek back once per year, on occasion even as much as 3 times per year.  Growing up in Barataria and having family from 2nd Caledonia, we (my family) always walked the street w/extreme caution irrespective of where in TT we went.  That same level of good "common sense" is what I exercise when I travel back home now.  I am not a flashy person anyway, so you will not know I live abroad unless some jackass say "aye boy, when yuh com back", which I like, allows me to blend.  If you live abroad and you are fortunate enough to be in an environment where our culture is strong (NY, MIA, DC, London, etc) then I think you could almost feel as if you never left, making your return potentially easier and not allowing you to be singled out as a potential victim for some prowler looking for a pay day.  For others, I would not buy into the hype that much.  Crime is a serious issue, yes, it absolutely needs to be addressed, but this trepidation of returning home for fear of being mugged, killed etc IMHO is blown somewhat out of proportion.....

« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2010, 01:32:24 PM »
part of the problem is that we don't read much positives in the news. When your connection to daily life in TnT is the express, guardian and other online media, where all you read about is crime (the writer's explicit way of writing, not to mention the pictures that doesn't hold back or show any respect for the dead etc) these things scare the shit out of people. then you factor in all the friggin hear-say and you'd think the citizens were living a doomed life.

« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2010, 01:47:39 PM »

Alot of this if you ask me is an exaggeration, but then again we are all different.  Since leaving TT ('93) I usually trek back once per year, on occasion even as much as 3 times per year.  Growing up in Barataria and having family from 2nd Caledonia, we (my family) always walked the street w/extreme caution irrespective of where in TT we went.  That same level of good "common sense" is what I exercise when I travel back home now.  I am not a flashy person anyway, so you will not know I live abroad unless some jackass say "aye boy, when yuh com back", which I like, allows me to blend.  If you live abroad and you are fortunate enough to be in an environment where our culture is strong (NY, MIA, DC, London, etc) then I think you could almost feel as if you never left, making your return potentially easier and not allowing you to be singled out as a potential victim for some prowler looking for a pay day.  For others, I would not buy into the hype that much.  Crime is a serious issue, yes, it absolutely needs to be addressed, but this trepidation of returning home for fear of being mugged, killed etc IMHO is blown somewhat out of proportion.....

WELL SAID. If all yuh fraid doh come. Crime high where I go 2 church is d same 2nd Caledonia is we catchment neva get rob but 1 ah meh yutes fadder was killed because 2 snatty nose yutes went 2 rob his taxi and he was ah man who would always say he would fight back and he did.

They leave because dey were bein discriminted against now they eh comin back because dey go dead. Dey must b cussin d day d Fatal Razack leave 4 TNT.

« Reply #20 on: August 23, 2010, 01:58:18 PM »
Crime is a serious issue, yes, it absolutely needs to be addressed, but this trepidation of returning home for fear of being mugged, killed etc IMHO is blown somewhat out of proportion.....

Allyuh sure allyuh in de right thread?  Who in here say they 'fraid tuh return home or that such fears are justified?  Why are we even talking about what's an "exaggeration" we talking about Kamla and she professed reason for travelling to Queens and what the UNC supporters there tell her.  Nobody but a few defensive Trinis here arguing the merits of what they told her.

Half of this talk belongs in Touches thread.

« Reply #21 on: August 23, 2010, 02:11:10 PM »
Bakes ah know is Queens dat shit coming from ,ah jus did not want to say dat .

« Reply #22 on: August 23, 2010, 02:23:42 PM »
Crime is a serious issue, yes, it absolutely needs to be addressed, but this trepidation of returning home for fear of being mugged, killed etc IMHO is blown somewhat out of proportion.....

Allyuh sure allyuh in de right thread?  Who in here say they 'fraid tuh return home or that such fears are justified?  Why are we even talking about what's an "exaggeration" we talking about Kamla and she professed reason for travelling to Queens and what the UNC supporters there tell her.  Nobody but a few defensive Trinis here arguing the merits of what they told her.

Half of this talk belongs in Touches thread.

Both points were being discussed above, the issue of crime in TT and being afraid to return home and the issue of whether or not her trip to NY was justified, you are right on one level though, alot of the former was also being addressed in touches thread....

« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2010, 02:25:46 PM »

Man does say dat in Brooklyn too, I suspect all over de five boroughs and in de suburbs of LI, NJ, CT, and upstate NY.  Is only b/c she was in Queens we know the comments comin from the TT Queens community, but leh we doh geh it twisted, I tired hear dat talk limin in Brooklyn "nah boy, Trini rough, me eh goin home"

« Reply #24 on: August 23, 2010, 02:33:16 PM »

Man does say dat in Brooklyn too, I suspect all over de five boroughs and in de suburbs of LI, NJ, CT, and upstate NY.  Is only b/c she was in Queens we know the comments comin from the TT Queens community, but leh we doh geh it twisted, I tired hear dat talk limin in Brooklyn "nah boy, Trini rough, me eh goin home"

As I said... you sure yuh in de right thread?  Where did anyone say that that talk only coming from Queens and nowhere else?

I will say what people apparently fraid to say... Indians for years been bawling about how they being persecuted in TnT.  They talk about how they being targeted by kidnappers and all kinda shit.  Is THEM Kamla went Queens to recruit.  She coulda save de country de f**king .4 million dollars and juss listen to the talk in the Carib Daily and other WI publications abroad.

I not trying to tell people what to talk about but we losing focus... all this talk about who exaggerating what and how safe Trinidad actually is is besides de mudda c**t point.

« Reply #25 on: August 23, 2010, 02:50:59 PM »

As I said... you sure yuh in de right thread?  Where did anyone say that that talk only coming from Queens and nowhere else?

I will say what people apparently fraid to say... Indians for years been bawling about how they being persecuted in TnT.  They talk about how they being targeted by kidnappers and all kinda shit.  Is THEM Kamla went Queens to recruit.  She coulda save de country de f**king .4 million dollars and juss listen to the talk in the Carib Daily and other WI publications abroad.

I not trying to tell people what to talk about but we losing focus... all this talk about who exaggerating what and how safe Trinidad actually is is besides de mudda c**t point.

« Reply #26 on: August 23, 2010, 02:54:15 PM »
michelle ends could use ah lil touchin up

« Reply #27 on: August 23, 2010, 02:54:22 PM »

Ent FF

Take a chill pill BnS, too much to type in response to what you just spew, carry on

« Reply #28 on: August 23, 2010, 02:58:25 PM »
Ent FF

Take a chill pill BnS, too much to type in response to what you just spew, carry on

Yeah, I go take a chill pill... I doh even know why I bothering fuh true... is not my tax money getting wasted.  Trinis too facking apathetic unless if affecting them directly.  Everybody was on Manning ass with every move, yet all yuh keep hearing is "wait, gih dem time" with this new government.  I doh mind giving them time, but when they boldface about doing the same shit that they was breaking dey neck to criticize the PNM for, and man only talking like they head in the sand... or somewhere else, ignoring the blatant hypocrisy, that is the kinda thing dat does make people like me lose hope in allyuh Trinidadians.  Watch and see Parliament approve that salary for that commissioner, despite the fact that it's clearly too m uch money.  Things not as bad as de ex-pats making it out to be man... meanwhile the wool getting pull over allyuh eyes little by little.

« Reply #29 on: August 23, 2010, 04:03:41 PM »
Yeh dem indians in queens exaggerating and yes new york have gun violence too, but there is ah big a$$ BUT involved! while NYC have loads of criminals and man bussin dey gun from time tuh time and robbin ah man from time tuh time, it's not ah regular occurrence, and when it does occur it is dealt with the uttermost urgency.

the difference between NY criminals and TT criminals is the fear factor. here fellas are afraid of being caught and sent to jail for long periods of time, while in TNT fellas are brazen and don't give two sh!ts about being caught or being prosecuted. that's BC in TT the police and the judicial system is not serious about fighting crime, which leaves the leggo beast dem free tuh prowl and molest unarmed regular citizens without fear for God and the law.

here in NYC only the most reckless criminals commit violent crimes, and are almost sure to be caught within 24 hrs, but the not so reckless are  extremely afraid tuh commit crime, that's BC of a strong police presents, and ah mean every where, especially in high crime neighborhoods, and the police is relentless, they don't give up until they nabb you, and when yuh face ah judge it's the maximum penalty with swift justice.

here in NYC i could go tuh any of the top six bad areas late late @ night without fear, that's BC there are beat cops on every corner with heavy patrols vehicles on the streets, marked and un marked, brownsville, east new york, bedstuy, bushwick, flattbush, red hook, gunhill road, east tremont, and hollis any hour of the day or night, as ah matter of fact those neighborhoods are much safer than the good middle class ones.

in TNT it's ah way different story, after sun set taxis stop runnin in belmont and gonzales, ppl scared tuh come out their homes, the streets like ah goht town, businesses closed @ six which would normally stay open till 9pm, man gettin robbed right in the heart of town on the promenade, ppl livin in prison BC there's burglar proofing on 90 % of the homes, as of late wid the gang territory yuh need an escort tuh enter certain neighborhoods if yuh want tuh visit friends and family, wearing yuh jewelry is not ah good idea @ all @ all!! guns are in the wrong hands and they not afraid tuh use them randomly, especially in every day normal circumstances like ah missunderstanding or a heated debate, if yuhs ah businessman yuh automatically become ah target for kidnappers and yuh have tuh hire body guards tuh watch over yuh family, it used Tuh be that if ah criminal want tuh kill another criminal they would lie in wait for him, now if ah criminal in ah crowd ah ppl they shootin in the crowd indiscriminately not caring for the innocent bystanders who have shyte tuh do wid they PETTY beef, JUDGES , POLICE ( low level and high ranking), LAWYERS, SOLDIERS, MAJISTRATES, CUSTOM OFFICERS, PROMINENT BUSINESSMEN, BANKERS, PRISON OFFICIALS AND OFFICERS, AND COAST GUARDS are all involved IN CORRUPTION!!! and in cahoots wid the dregs of society that is ravishing the society @ the expense of JOHN PUBLIC and no body seems tuh care.

now tell me this, why in Gods name would i leave ah society that is functional tuh live in ah society that if far less functional in almost every facet? allyuh feel ppl forkin mad!!

it's ppl like petty a$$ weary 1969 and jahgol who perpetuate this kinda "so called normalcy" and hate tuh hear the truth about trinidad and tobago every time there's some sort of criticism !!

the truth is yuh ppl don't give ah fork, from the govt to the regular citizen sit idly by and watch the country fall into ruins! no one seriously and constructively challenge the govt, the civil servants and the private sector tuh do better! instead allyuh like bunch of pigs sittin in ah pool ah mud quite comfortable and normal, and when someone mention yuh condition yuh grunt and snort as tuh say" leave we in we mud nah buddy, we like it just fine!" wet nasty and out of control.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2010, 04:10:23 PM by just cool »