April 18, 2024, 07:16:33 PM

Author Topic: Trinidad and Tobago Independent Football Federation...is it possible  (Read 1567 times)

Is it possible for an independent body to create a Trinidad and Tobago Independent Football Federation and invite players, stage games under the auspices of Trinidad and Tobago? or would an organization have to be sanctioned by FIFA?

Each day it is getting increasingly evident that there is  no plans to bring in players from abroad who could  form the core of a potentially more competitive national team. ( look at the players in the 'Trinis in Action Thread....how many of them have been invited to be a part of the future of TnT campaign for WC 2014?) And continually we are the mercy of a governing body that  is mired in  alleged 'blacklist' of potentially solid players.

If this is the situation that a coach has inherited and one that he knew about prior to accepting to the job, then how much do orange do we expect to get when we only have 'lemons'?

Does FIFA have any clause whereby  the public could appeal for FIFA to intervene in cases of alleged mismanagement, corruption, incompetence, malice and spite?

Do we have a public who is ready to be vigilante in their course of actions to bring an end to what is happening? or  is the apathy too great for decisive action to occur? How could we make any progress and live with false hopes that our team will be successful in any further competitions including the Digicel Cup? how could a coach make  that assertion? then turn around and publicly condemn some of his players for playing like 'school boys' This does not  engender faith and hope for a successful future. What if someone stated that witnessing the coaching strategies or lack thereof is comparable to what they  have in North America known as "pee wee " league.

FIFA .. what recluse do we have if  a  concerned public wanted to invoke change? What are in the bylaws  exist to stop the tyrannous rule and wanton exploitation of players who are denied an opportunity to represent TnT?

Re: Trinidad and Tobago Independent Football Federation...is it possible
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 03:22:19 PM »
As far I know any one can form a league and play. This league can go overseas and play any team or invite any team to TT to play. It would be not considered an "official" match in the eyes of FIFA. That "independent" league sign can an affiliation agreement with the governing body(Jack Warner's TTFF) so that players can get called up for national football. But I do not see that happening for fear of the independents undermining the official league. Call Arthur Suite, he has the ultimate experience in that arena. He can be the Special Advisor.

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2010, 03:34:22 PM »
you can form an association but you must be approved by fifa to become a member association and be officially recognized. the ttff already is the member association for fifa for tt. so it will be very hard to oppose that or get approved as a member.

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 06:14:13 PM »
Well, Controversial just straightened that out.

« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2010, 06:21:05 PM »
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
That is only partly answered. What recourse is there for an inept organization?  What  bylaws exist for FIFA to disband an organization that is mired  with alleged corruption, mismanagement, misappropriation of FIFA grants?
Who oversees the member organization to ensure that it is meeting FIFA's mandate?

What if an independent  footballing organization under sponsorship invited  players to come and form a team and represented TnT  in some friendlies? how does this get sanctioned by FIFA?
Doh kill the thread ; let  we take on the 'hard ISSUES' I find at times we are even reluctant to  talk real serious talk and to look for serious alternatives.

« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2010, 06:33:16 PM »
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
That is only partly answered. What recourse is there for an inept organization?  What  bylaws exist for FIFA to disband an organization that is mired  with alleged corruption, mismanagement, misappropriation of FIFA grants?
Who oversees the member organization to ensure that it is meeting FIFA's mandate?

What if an independent  footballing organization under sponsorship invited  players to come and form a team and represented TnT  in some friendlies? how does this get sanctioned by FIFA?
Doh kill the thread ; let  we take on the 'hard ISSUES' I find at times we are even reluctant to  talk real serious talk and to look for serious alternatives.

What do you call inept. I don't know what is FIFA rules for ineptness.

Now if Catalonia which a province of Spain, can occasionally play a high profile "international" with the blessing s of FIFA, I don't see which a represntative team from the Indie league can't go like Bados, JA, Bahamas, NY, TO and London and play. 

We have also heard on occasion where a couple of second tier Euro teams, Celtics, Anderlect, Fyernord, wanted to form an Atlantic league. And look at the MLS. Is a US/Canada league. There are diffrent precendent around the world that does not make an independent league appear to be an odd ball league.

« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2010, 10:12:27 PM »
Deeks,
 You probably misunderstand me here. I am not  suggesting we have an independent  football league, rather I am inquiring about an independent football Federation  separate and arms length from the TTFF? or in place of... or acting with due diligence and sense of propriety unlike .....

« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2010, 10:25:29 PM »
Good thread A.B. Sensing vibes of a growing unease with the status quo in local football and the administration of it ... and that's very good. Men thinking hard as if to say "there must be a way out of this". The eureka moment coming jess now ... and the turn of events eh go be pretty  :'(
The paralysis from chronic abuse will one day get alleviated and it will be a confusing feeling as we know nothing else.

« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2010, 10:55:52 PM »
AB Trini, Controversial didn't just answer some of the questions... he answered all.  Any player who decides to play for a competing Federation is signing the death warrant on his career becaus the local Federation is like a franchise.  Is like a McDonald's, the individual investors pay McDonald's a franchise fee to open up on yuh corner.  McDonald's in turn provide the uniforms, training, infrastructure, building plans, construction, food etc. (all at a cost) to the local franchisee... in exchange the franchisee gets to use the McDonald's name and keep profits earned.

I dunno if the local Federations pay FIFA a fee to join... but just as you can't paint yuh own sign and say yuh selling McDonald's Happy Meals, same way yuh can't start yuh own competing Federation and say yuh competing internationally.  Nobody will want to play you, because FIFA will discourage that... you don't want to undermine your own 'franchisees', so you don't encourage competing Federations.

Now FIFA can always step in and take over the local Federation (as they did in Dominica in recent years) where they feel that the local Federation isn't capable of getting the job done.  But is master crook Jack Warner we dealing with... the same man who have de stiletto pressed against Sepp Blatter's back.  As long as Jack is involved, change is unlikely to come to the TTFF because he has the tacit backing of the FIFA machinery.  Jack "own" de local McDonald's so FIFA eh about to let anybody come and compete against him.

« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2010, 01:37:44 AM »
well Camps might get vex and "say" something

« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2010, 07:55:28 AM »