April 24, 2024, 10:48:51 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (07-Sept-2010).  (Read 36735 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (07-Sept-2010).
« on: August 24, 2010, 06:43:43 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Panama game on the 07th of September 2010 in Panama City will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

1. Chat Room.

Possible Online Streams.
To be updated

Possible TV Station.
To be updated

T&T Team:
To be updated

Panama Team:
To be updated

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2010, 06:52:22 PM by Tallman »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Panama Game (07-Sept-2010).
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 06:53:52 PM »
Panama 3 v T&T 1 ..... 8)

Offline Andre DosSantos

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 12:02:07 AM »
Panama 3 v T&T 1 ..... 8)

I don't even expect TnT to even sniff the goal. Panama has improved since the last time we played them and with our given run against jamaica. It might be a baseball scoreline.

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 01:36:50 AM »
F#ck allyuh

tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 05:47:40 AM »
 :yawning: :yawning:

« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2010, 05:26:20 PM »
T&T tackle Panama
By Ian Prescott ian.prescott@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Aug 25, 2010 at 12:53 AM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 25, 2010 at 12:53 AM ECT

Trinidad and Tobago will have a five-match foreign tour, including a clash with Panama, prior to competing in the Group F qualifiers for the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup, scheduled to take place in T&T from November 2 to 6. The Soca Warriors' next international assignment is in Panama on September 7, and they will also play matches away to Belize, Antigua-Barbuda, St Lucia and Jamaica.

"These are basically all warm-up matches for the Digicel Caribbean Cup," Soca Warriors manager David Muhammad said yesterday. "We leave on the fifth to play Panama on the seventh, and then leave for Belize on the eighth to play them on the tenth. After we return home we will then leave for Antigua-Barbuda where we play them on the 19th, and St Lucia will come over there to play us on the 21st. Of course, we have the return match with Jamaica on October tenth."

Having lost at the group stage at the 2008 Digicel Caribbean Cup, in Jamaica, eight-time Caribbean champions T&T have to qualify this time, and have been drawn with Haiti and two other teams in qualifying Group F. The top two finishers will qualify for the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup finals, which take place in Martinique from November 26 to December 5.

The Panama game is the toughest of the five matches for T&T, the Central Americans having beaten Venezuela 3-1 recently. Panama are due to meet Costa Rica after the T&T match.

The Soca Warriors are coming off a 4-1 win over Antigua-Barbuda, and more recently a 3-1 home defeat against Jamaica. Muhammed told the Express that T&T coach Russell Latapy will continue to use mainly the players that faced Jamaica.

"At this point we will only be using players who will be available for us in November for the Digicel Caribbean Cup. So, our focus will be mostly on the locally-based players, along with some that play in the MLS (American Major League Soccer), and any of the other leagues where players could be available to us in November."

« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2010, 06:09:28 PM »
Total bullshit if latas run that same team panama 9 tnt 1 and then I on a break from tnt football until next year.

Imagine Muhammed say latas running the same team that face jamaica,these people have no shame..... >:( >:(   

« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2010, 08:16:44 PM »
I really hope is not the same team that faced Jamaica..the top foreign players have yet to play for the country in 2010...the local players and foreign players need to start team chemistry from NOW...NOT few weeks before WC qualifiers in 2012..

« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2010, 06:15:17 PM »
Are we being left behind? Look at the  make up  of Canada's team for their friendly?
All foreign based or  playing  for MLS club..............

Canada names squad for soccer friendlies

National soccer team coach Stephen Hart has included three Toronto FC starters in his 20-man roster for Canada's upcoming pair of international friendlies.

Hart released the roster list Thursday, with defender Nana Attakora, midfielder Julian de Guzman and forward Dwayne De Rosario selected to play for Canada against Peru on Sept. 4 in Toronto and against Honduras three days later in Montreal.

The timing of the international friendlies couldn't come at a worse time for the Major League Soccer club, who is involved in a tight battle to claim a playoff spot.

Toronto FC visits FC Dallas on the same day as the Peru game and is also in action on the road against the Chicago Fire the day after the Honduras match.

The Reds have failed to impress away from home this season — with just one win in nine matches — and the absence of Attakora, de Guzman and De Rosario for these crucial pair of road games could have a detrimental effect on the club's playoff chances.

Hart hinted that he might use the trio sparingly, if at all, for the Honduras game so they will be rested and ready for the team's visit to Chicago.

"We still have some things to work out with the club and, more than likely, we will see how we can help out each other with this," Hart told reporters during a conference call.

Hands-off approach with Cann

Hart took a hands-off approach with defender Adrian Cann, who is having a solid debut season with Toronto FC.

"I didn't want to go in there in the middle of a season where MLS does not [take a break] for international games ... and ask TFC for [another player]," Hart admitted.

The Canadian coach also said several European clubs have asked him to limit their players' time on the field during the two exhibition games.

Hart revealed he had discussions with two players, winger David Hoilett (Jamaica) and forward Teal Bunbury (the United States), who are eligible to play for other countries, about participating in these games.

Hart said Hoilett is "not ready yet to commit to Canada" because he's first "trying to establish himself at [English club] Blackburn."

The same situation is preventing Bunbury, who plays with the Kansas City Wizards in MLS, from formally pledging his international allegiance.

"He explained that he just broke into the team," Hart said. "He'd like to try to establish himself so he can play more consistently and gain more experience."

Straith youngest on squad

At age 19, Energie Cottbus defender Adam Straith, who has two caps to his credit, is the youngest player on the squad. Hart explained it's part of his plan to try to give Canadian youngsters as many opportunities as possible so they can gain more international experience.

A 5-0 exhibition loss to Argentina in Buenos Aires back in May underscored Canada's depth problem.

"It's essential that we create some depth," Hart stated. "If you look at the Argentina game, it was very hard to put a squad together and quite frankly in a lot of positions we simply didn't have the necessary depth.

"Going into the qualifications for [the 2014 World Cup] I want to be sure in my mind, and all of the players are aware of positionally, what is required and what we're trying to do and how they fit into the squad."

Fellow defender Paul Stalteri, 32, is the most experienced player on the roster. Stalteri, who also pays in Germany with Borussia Monchengladbach, has earned 81 appearances for Canada — one shy of the national team record held by Randy Samuel.

Canada is No. 101 in the FIFA world rankings. Peru is 39th, while Honduras is 46th. The Canadian team's only previous meeting against Peru came on March 26, 1988, when it won 3-1 in Lima.

Canada last faced Honduras at the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup, losing 1-0 in the quarter-finals. The Hondurans also defeated Canada twice, including once in Montreal, in the qualifiers for the 2010 World Cup.

The Canadian team's next friendly is scheduled for Oct. 18 against Ukraine in Kiev.

CANADA'S ROSTER (pro club in brackets)

- Goalkeeper - Lars Hirschfeld (Valerenga/Norway)

- Goalkeeper - Haidar Al-Shaïbani (Nimes Olympique/France)

- Defender - Nana Attakora (Toronto FC/MLS)

- Defender - Marcel de Jong (FC Augsburg/Germany)

- Defender - Dejan Jakovic (DC United/MLS)

- Defender - Paul Stalteri (Borussia Monchengladbach/Germany)

- Defender - Adam Straith (Energie Cottbus/Germany)

- Midfielder - Julian de Guzman (Toronto FC/MLS)

- Midfielder - Will Johnson (Real Salt Lake/MLS)

- Midfielder - Patrice Bernier (FC Nordsjaelland/Denmark)

- Midfielder - Issey Nakajima-Farran (AC Horsens/Denmark)

- Midfielder - Gianluca Zavarise (Iraklis FC/Greece)

- Midfielder - Jaime Peters (Ipswich Town/England)

- Midfielder - Atiba Hutchinson (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands)

- Midfielder - Josh Simpson (Turkey/Vestel Manisaspor)

- Forward - Kevin McKenna (FC Koln/Germany)

- Forward - Rob Friend (Hertha BSC/Germany)

- Forward - Simeon Jackson (Norwich City/England)

- Forward - Iain Hume (Barnsley FC/England)

- Forward - Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC/MLS)

« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2010, 07:54:19 PM »
Are we being left behind? Look at the  make up  of Canada's team for their friendly?
All foreign based or  playing  for MLS club..............

Canada names squad for soccer friendlies

National soccer team coach Stephen Hart has included three Toronto FC starters in his 20-man roster for Canada's upcoming pair of international friendlies.

Hart released the roster list Thursday, with defender Nana Attakora, midfielder Julian de Guzman and forward Dwayne De Rosario selected to play for Canada against Peru on Sept. 4 in Toronto and against Honduras three days later in Montreal.

The timing of the international friendlies couldn't come at a worse time for the Major League Soccer club, who is involved in a tight battle to claim a playoff spot.

Toronto FC visits FC Dallas on the same day as the Peru game and is also in action on the road against the Chicago Fire the day after the Honduras match.

The Reds have failed to impress away from home this season — with just one win in nine matches — and the absence of Attakora, de Guzman and De Rosario for these crucial pair of road games could have a detrimental effect on the club's playoff chances.

Hart hinted that he might use the trio sparingly, if at all, for the Honduras game so they will be rested and ready for the team's visit to Chicago.

"We still have some things to work out with the club and, more than likely, we will see how we can help out each other with this," Hart told reporters during a conference call.

Hands-off approach with Cann

Hart took a hands-off approach with defender Adrian Cann, who is having a solid debut season with Toronto FC.

"I didn't want to go in there in the middle of a season where MLS does not [take a break] for international games ... and ask TFC for [another player]," Hart admitted.

The Canadian coach also said several European clubs have asked him to limit their players' time on the field during the two exhibition games.

Hart revealed he had discussions with two players, winger David Hoilett (Jamaica) and forward Teal Bunbury (the United States), who are eligible to play for other countries, about participating in these games.

Hart said Hoilett is "not ready yet to commit to Canada" because he's first "trying to establish himself at [English club] Blackburn."

The same situation is preventing Bunbury, who plays with the Kansas City Wizards in MLS, from formally pledging his international allegiance.

"He explained that he just broke into the team," Hart said. "He'd like to try to establish himself so he can play more consistently and gain more experience."

Straith youngest on squad

At age 19, Energie Cottbus defender Adam Straith, who has two caps to his credit, is the youngest player on the squad. Hart explained it's part of his plan to try to give Canadian youngsters as many opportunities as possible so they can gain more international experience.

A 5-0 exhibition loss to Argentina in Buenos Aires back in May underscored Canada's depth problem.

"It's essential that we create some depth," Hart stated. "If you look at the Argentina game, it was very hard to put a squad together and quite frankly in a lot of positions we simply didn't have the necessary depth.

"Going into the qualifications for [the 2014 World Cup] I want to be sure in my mind, and all of the players are aware of positionally, what is required and what we're trying to do and how they fit into the squad."

Fellow defender Paul Stalteri, 32, is the most experienced player on the roster. Stalteri, who also pays in Germany with Borussia Monchengladbach, has earned 81 appearances for Canada — one shy of the national team record held by Randy Samuel.

Canada is No. 101 in the FIFA world rankings. Peru is 39th, while Honduras is 46th. The Canadian team's only previous meeting against Peru came on March 26, 1988, when it won 3-1 in Lima.

Canada last faced Honduras at the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup, losing 1-0 in the quarter-finals. The Hondurans also defeated Canada twice, including once in Montreal, in the qualifiers for the 2010 World Cup.

The Canadian team's next friendly is scheduled for Oct. 18 against Ukraine in Kiev.

CANADA'S ROSTER (pro club in brackets)

- Goalkeeper - Lars Hirschfeld (Valerenga/Norway)

- Goalkeeper - Haidar Al-Shaïbani (Nimes Olympique/France)

- Defender - Nana Attakora (Toronto FC/MLS)

- Defender - Marcel de Jong (FC Augsburg/Germany)

- Defender - Dejan Jakovic (DC United/MLS)

- Defender - Paul Stalteri (Borussia Monchengladbach/Germany)

- Defender - Adam Straith (Energie Cottbus/Germany)

- Midfielder - Julian de Guzman (Toronto FC/MLS)

- Midfielder - Will Johnson (Real Salt Lake/MLS)

- Midfielder - Patrice Bernier (FC Nordsjaelland/Denmark)

- Midfielder - Issey Nakajima-Farran (AC Horsens/Denmark)

- Midfielder - Gianluca Zavarise (Iraklis FC/Greece)

- Midfielder - Jaime Peters (Ipswich Town/England)

- Midfielder - Atiba Hutchinson (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands)

- Midfielder - Josh Simpson (Turkey/Vestel Manisaspor)

- Forward - Kevin McKenna (FC Koln/Germany)

- Forward - Rob Friend (Hertha BSC/Germany)

- Forward - Simeon Jackson (Norwich City/England)

- Forward - Iain Hume (Barnsley FC/England)

- Forward - Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC/MLS)

very impressive....

Offline jonny

« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2010, 03:17:29 AM »
Foreign based Panama players for the friendly against Costa Rica and T & T :

JAIME PENEDO - MUNICIPAL, GUATEMALA
FELIPE BALOY - SANTOS, MEXICO
ROMAN TORRES - JUNIOR, COLOMBIA
ADOLFO MACHADO - MARATHON, HONDURAS
LUIS HENRIQUEZ - LECH POZNAN, POLONIA
GABRIEL GOMEZ - ERMIS ARADIPPOU, CHIPRE
ALBERTO QUINTERO - CARTAGENA, ESPAñA
NELSON BARAHONA - DIM, COLOMBIA
AMILCAR HENRIQUEZ - ATL. HUILA, COLOMBIA
LUIS TEJADA - JUAN AURICH, PERU
BLAS PEREZ - LEON, MEXICO

http://www.fepafut.com/noticiasdetail.asp?id=1925

« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2010, 12:08:54 PM »
match fire power with fire power..... we playing other teams who are  coming in with cannons and we going to do battle with sticks and stones.

« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2010, 07:02:27 PM »
match fire power with fire power..... we playing other teams who are  coming in with cannons and we going to do battle with sticks and stones.

I am not investing any more emotional expectations in this T&T senior mens team while Latas is in charge and does not seemed to be bothered about other countries like Jamaica tapping us up in our yard and rapidly leaving us behind!

To me Latas is no different to Maturana who was here just to collect a salary but had little concern for what we the fans and supporters think about his selections and the team that he runs out to represent us!

Call me when Latas is gone!

For now on my emotional concerns is only for the ladies, for at least they have a sensible coach with some pedigree!
« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 10:23:40 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2010, 07:45:29 AM »
great preparations for the Digicel
People complaining about Latapy but when was the last time we had decent preparations for the digicel cup

We getting 2 central american tours and nuff west indian games as well.

what is the point of playing against top teams if the preparations if to play west indian teams

better to prepare for exactly the competition you in.

not to mention the cost impact of say maybe a european tour versus a panama tour.

Lets be realistic

As far as the players, it have to be local 100% because no european based is getting realease for digicel nor do they want to come and play.  Who think KJ or Carlos or Scotland missing games in Nov for they club to come to TnT and play Digicel not happening, so why have them play games only to not be there for the real thing.

We have to go with the locals and we have to get them to improve.

Latapy doing the right thing in my book and the preparations have been strategic and organized the results have not been there but that is the way it goes sometimes.

You have to be ready to win and lose in this game and stick to your philosophy and mentality.

The results will come.

« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2010, 08:00:37 AM »
hold dem down Makan

tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2010, 08:32:25 AM »
People complaining about Latapy but when was the last time we had decent preparations for the digicel cup

what is the point of playing against top teams if the preparations if to play west indian teams

not to mention the cost impact of say maybe a european tour versus a panama tour.

Lets be realistic

As far as the players, it have to be local 100% because no european based is getting realease for digicel nor do they want to come and play.  Who think KJ or Carlos or Scotland missing games in Nov for they club to come to TnT and play Digicel not happening, so why have them play games only to not be there for the real thing.

Latapy doing the right thing in my book and the preparations have been strategic and organized the results have not been there but that is the way it goes sometimes.

You have to be ready to win and lose in this game and stick to your philosophy and mentality.

The results will come.

As is Geography u talkin yes Belize in C/America playin we good old pals Guyana would have made more sense.

« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2010, 09:04:31 AM »
I watch this movie already and it didn't end well....

« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2010, 11:14:00 AM »
Having lost at the group stage at the 2008 Digicel Caribbean Cup, in Jamaica, eight-time Caribbean champions T&T have to qualify this time, and have been drawn with Haiti and two other teams in qualifying Group F. The top two finishers will qualify for the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup finals, which take place in Martinique from November 26 to December 5

What happen to the group we were supposed to play in Grenada?

« Reply #19 on: September 07, 2010, 01:05:39 PM »
As much as I think Latapy is not the man to take us anywhere his present plans to play only home grown players may not be all that bad an idea.We all know the problems associated with getting the foreign players,also you dont usually get 100% from them for fear of injury.We can take some measure of satisfaction from the fact that we develop a goodish home squad,what is wrong with that,sometimes winning friendlies are not that important,I feel improvements and recognising faults among players is more important.We can then fix what is not up to expectations or replace players who are not up to what is required.A good performance against Panama doesn't mean we have to win,every football enthusiast surely knows that,I hope Latapy has a Plan B if things go pear shaped in these matches.

« Reply #20 on: September 07, 2010, 02:01:51 PM »
tv links??

« Reply #21 on: September 07, 2010, 02:46:54 PM »

« Reply #23 on: September 07, 2010, 02:58:30 PM »

I am not investing any more emotional expectations in this T&T senior mens team while Latas is in charge and does not seemed to be bothered about other countries like Jamaica tapping us up in our yard and rapidly leaving us behind!

To me Latas is no different to Maturana who was here just to collect a salary but had little concern for what we the fans and supporters think about his selections and the team that he runs out to represent us!

For now on my emotional concerns is only for the ladies, for at least they have a sensible coach with some pedigree!
Or-Hore, yuh finally woke up! remember these words " just cool , wehs dah one boy? why yuh so hard on we legend? yuh outa timin real bad bro!" now hear you, just after one yr yuh sweet song tun in sad tango waltz.

ah haave tuh give tuh props for coming around though, and your assesment was on point, like yuh said"
 latas is no different than mats he have little concern for the fans and supporters think in regards to his selection policy," and i will add to that by saying, he renders no insight so the ppl could understand his motives, the fella just straight up dictating the pace without appealing to the fans. real disrespectful shyte bro.

« Reply #24 on: September 07, 2010, 03:08:33 PM »

Lets be realistic

The results will come.
Poppy cock!!! yes the euro base can't make it BC it's not ah fifa date, but the MLS and USL playuers could! and on this international date, why didn't he call up a few players lik3e marshall , james birchall, glenn, brichall and telesford, these men are 4 hrs away and coulda add some strength to the week defence.

latapy is ah power tripper just like dunga and maradona, that's why he will fail! watch panama exploit that porus defense again tonight! hislop , keston williams and aklie edwards is not, and i repeat, is not up to international standard! the best thing on that defense is kern cupid.

« Reply #25 on: September 07, 2010, 05:05:38 PM »
KND,
I just read your post after I did my post,I agree with your post and although I may have used different words it means the same as yours.Well said.
If I had read your post I probably would not have done mine,anyway I agree with what you said.

« Reply #26 on: September 07, 2010, 05:57:21 PM »
Soca Warriors face Panama

With all the focus on the current FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup in Trinidad and Tobago, this country’s men’s national senior team are currently in Panama City  for a friendly international against Panama’ Senior team at 8:30pm Tuesday at the Rommel Fernandez Stadium.

The team left Port of Spain on Sunday under head coach Russell Latapy and will also travel to Belize to face that country’s national team at the Goal Project venue in Belmopan at 8pm on Friday.

While Latapy’s focus is on getting his team ready for the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup, he did make time to congratulate the Under 17 Soca Princesses on their opening win over Chile, the first for any Trinidad and Tobago  team at a FIFA World Cup.

“I must offer my congratulations to the Under 17 Women’s Team on their victory over Chile on Sunday. We were on our way to Panama at the time so we missed the match but from all accounts I understand they did the nation proud and we want to wish them well in their remaining matches. We will be rooting for them in their match against Nigeria on Wednesday,” Latapy said.

Looking ahead to the match versus Panama, he added “It’s another opportunity for us to come up against a formidable Concacaf opponent. Again, everything is in the relation to our preparations for the Digicel Caribbean Cup and we will have the opportunity to see what level we are at against a team that has been improving and doing quite well in the region.”

T&T team for Panama and Belize

1.Jan Michael Williams
2.Marvin Phillip
3.Makan Hislop
4.Keston Williams
5. Kern Cupid
6. Aklie Edwards,
7..Hughton Hector
8. Matthew Bartholemew
9..Daneil Cyrus
10. Carlyle Mitchell
11. Jovin Jones
12. Trent Noel
13.Kerry Baptiste
14.Hayden Tinto
15. Densill Theobald
16.Kareem Young
17.Devorn Jorsling
18.Kevon Carter
19.Ataulla Guerra
20. Jason Marcano

« Reply #27 on: September 07, 2010, 06:04:03 PM »
Looking ahead to the match versus Panama, he added “It’s another opportunity for us to come up against a formidable Concacaf opponent. Again, everything is in the relation to our preparations for the Digicel Caribbean Cup and we will have the opportunity to see what level we are at against a team that has been improving and doing quite well in the region.”

Come nah man Latas.

You playin like you eh know by now what level we at?

Like u feel peeps dotish in trute or wha?

Steupes. 

« Reply #28 on: September 07, 2010, 06:11:43 PM »

Or-Hore, yuh finally woke up! remember these words " just cool , wehs dah one boy? why yuh so hard on we legend? yuh outa timin real bad bro!" now hear you, just after one yr yuh sweet song tun in sad tango waltz.

ah haave tuh give tuh props for coming around though, and your assesment was on point, like yuh said"
 latas is no different than mats he have little concern for the fans and supporters think in regards to his selection policy," and i will add to that by saying, he renders no insight so the ppl could understand his motives, the fella just straight up dictating the pace without appealing to the fans. real disrespectful shyte bro.

Unlike you I like to give local coaches a chance to prove themselves but once their honeymood time is up I expect to see positive signs of progress & that they are learning from thier mistakes!

Latas has failed on both these counts and so my patience has run out!

Btw I don't remember me writing those words highlighted, so either yuh memory bad or yuh making thing up to have somebody to argue with! Use the quote facility and show me where I actually said that with date information etc attached and I will concede otherwise please stop mixing me up with other folks yuh does argue on here with!  8)
« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 06:34:14 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #29 on: September 07, 2010, 06:15:39 PM »

Lets be realistic

The results will come.

Level headed and sensible comments by KND dey.