April 25, 2024, 04:45:29 PM

Author Topic: Under-15s get ready for Olympics  (Read 10217 times)

Under-15s get ready for Olympics
« on: July 23, 2010, 05:05:58 AM »
Under-15s get ready for Olympics.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

Trinidad and Tobago’s women’s Under-15 football team is continuing their preparations for the first Youth Olympic Games next month.

Team coach Marlon Charles, in a recent interview pointed out that the preparation has been going good. The players are working hard.

“The main focus right now is more mental, and (playing) more games,” continued Charles. “This is what we’re focused on right now.”

The Under-15 team lost a warm-up match, by a 7-1 margin, to the national Under-17 women’s team, at the Marvin Lee Stadium in Macoya on July 16.

“We took the opportunity to play the U-17s to see where we are and I said to the girls ‘If this is the strongest team we play going into Singapore, then we just have to continue to work and get a bit fitter’,” said Charles. “But, overall, the focus was not really the score but to see them play and play (organised).”

With regards to the improvements he’s hoping to see within the team, Charles noted: “I think it’s very important for us to become fitter. And work a little more tactically to defend properly. Other than that I think they’re working very, very hard.”

The inaugural Youth Olympic Games will take place in Singapore from August 14-26, while the football competitions will begin two days earlier (August 12) – all the matches will be staged at the Jalan Besar Stadium.

Six teams will be featured in the girls’ section — Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Iran, Chile, Papau New Guinea and Equatorial Guinea.

Trinidad and Tobago will play Chile on August 12 and Equatorial Guinea on August 15, with the semi-finals set for August 21, the fifth-placed game is August 23 and, both the third-place playoff and final, on August 24.

Offline jonny

Re: Under-15s get ready for Olympics
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2010, 10:54:08 AM »
Chile beat T&T in Girls' Olympic opener.
Fifa.Com.

In a match between two of the tournament’s best-organised sides, a tentative start was always on the cards.

But the battle intensified midway through the opening half with the first chance falling to Chile as Romina Orellana tested the goalkeeper with a dipping shot.

The South Americans could have taken the lead when Montserrat Grau took advantage of a defensive error, but the Chile captain failed to put her shot on target.

Armijo had a golden chance just before the break when she sneaked into the area unmarked but with only the goalkeeper to beat, she shot just over. Up the other end, Trinidad and Tobago’s lanky forward Marlique Asson rippled the side-netting before cutting into the area only to see her shot graze the near post.

Chile came forward hard after restart with both Armijo and Javiera Roa both going close to scoring. Their efforts eventually paid off when substitute Melisa Rodriguez’s last-minute strike yielded the winning goal.

Chile captain Montserrat Grau said: “It was a hard opening game but I am happy we won. It was our relentless effort and team work that carried us through.”

Result

Chile 1 (Melisa Rodriguez 80) v Trinidad and Tobago 0.

Teams

Chile: - 1.Paola Hinojosa, 2.Maria Navarrete, 3.Javiera Valencia, 4.Francisca Armijo, 5.Leslie Alarcon, 7.Gabriela Aguayo (9.Melisa Rodriguez 52nd), 8.Catalina Gonzalez Veloz (6.Julissa Barrera 68th), 10.Montserrat Grau (capt), 11.Javiera Roa, 13.Katherine Cisternas (16.Constanza Gonzalez 82nd), 14.Romina Orellana.

Coach: - Rodrigo Valdes (CHI).

Trinidad & Tobago: - 1.Lebrisca Phillip, 2.Tonietta Phillip, 3.Abigail Jacob, 4.Corinna Sequae (capt), 5.Adeka Spence, 6.Shanyce Harding, 9.Shanisa Camejo (13.Shanicar Diamond 62nd), 10.Marlique Asson, 11.Brittaney Prescott, 16.Jonelle Warrick, 17.Anique Walker.

Coach: - Marlon Charles (TRI).

Cautions: - Marlique Asson (TRI) 20th, Shanisa Camejo (TRI) 23rd.

Attendance: - 2,493.

Referee: - Pannipar Kamnueng (THA).

Assistant Referee 1: - Jacqueline Leleu (AUS).

Assistant Referee 2: - Airlie Keen (AUS).

Fourth Official: - Sandra Braz (POR).

Date: - 12 August 2010.

Venue: - Singapore / Jalan Besar.

Cup: - Girls' Youth Olympic Football Tournament Singapore 2010.

Group A

MP W D L GF GA Pts
Turkey 1 1 0 0 4 2 3
Papua New Guinea 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Iran 1 0 0 1 2 4 3

Group B

MP W D L GF GA Pts
Chile 1 1 0 0 1 0 3
Equatorial Guinea 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Trinidad and Tobago 1 0 0 1 0 1 0
« Last Edit: August 12, 2010, 11:03:53 AM by Flex »

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2010, 09:59:16 PM »

The chilean celebrating after beating Trinidad and Tobago by a solitary goal at the girls' preliminary football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 12, 2010. Chile beat Trinidad and Tobago 1-0 .Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Desmond Wee

Chile's goalkeeper Hinojosa Paola (right) and Valencia Javiera (centre) defends against Trinidad and Tobago's Prescott Brittaney (left) in the Trinidad and Tobago versus Chile girls' preliminary football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium, August 12, 2010. Chile won the match 1-0. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Chong Jun Liang

Chile's Rodriguez Melisa (centre) beats Trinidad and Tobago's Sequea Corinna (right) and Jacob Abigail (left) to score in the Trinidad and Tobago versus Chile girls' preliminary football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium, August 12, 2010. Chile won the match 1-0. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Chong Jun Liang

Chile's Rodriguez Melisa celebrates her winning goal after scoring in the Trinidad & Tobago versus Chile girl's preliminary football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 12 2010. Chile 1 Trinidad & Tobago 0 Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Jonathan Yeap

Trinidad & Tobago's Phillip Tonietta vies for the ball against Chile's Gonzalez Veloz Catalina in the Trinidad & Tobago versus Chile girl's preliminary football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 12 2010. Chile 1 Trinidad & Tobago 0 Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Jonathan Yeap

Trinidad and Tobago's Warrick Jonelle challenges with Chile's Barrera Julissa at the Trinidad and Tobago versus Chile girls' preliminary football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 12, 2010. Chile beat Trinidad and Tobago 1-0 .Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Desmond Wee

Trinidad & Tobago's coach Charles Marlon reacts during the Chile versus Trinidad & Tobago girls' preliminary match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 12, 2010. Chile won 1-0. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Seyu Tzyy Wei

Chile's captain, Grau Monserrat square off with Trinidad and Tobago 's Asson Marlique at the Trinidad and Tobago versus Chile girls' preliminary football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 12, 2010. Half time score:0-0
. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Desmond Wee

Chilean girls sangtheir National Athem during the start of the Trinidad and Tobago versus Chile girls' preliminary football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 12, 2010. Half time score:0-0.Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Desmond Wee

« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2010, 10:13:42 PM »

Make or break for T&T
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2010, 01:28:26 PM »
Make or break for Iran, T&T
FIFA.com

After losing their opening matches to Turkey and Chile respectively, Iran and Trinidad and Tobago enter their second and last outing in the group stage knowing that nothing fewer than three points can salvage their hopes of a place in the semi-finals. The west Asians will face an enigmatic Papua New Guinea side, while the Caribbean islanders lock horns with a highly-motivated Equatorial Guinea.

Match of the Day
Iran-Papua New Guinea, Jalan Besar Stadium, Sunday 15 August, 18.00 (local time)

Iran impressed in the curtain-raiser, an adventurous line-up spearheaded by Shahin Alfaki looking dangerous whenever they went forward. However, their lack of defensive experience cost them dearly as they conceded two late goals to lose, a problem which coach Shahrzad Mozafar is ready to handle. “We are left with no options but to defeat Papua New Guinea to advance,” the former futsal trainer told FIFA.com. “To make this happen we must keep things tight defensively while pushing forward for goals.” The good news for Iran is that Sharshin Kamangar, who sustained an injury against Turkey, has recovered quickly and is expected to play.

Papua New Guinea, for their part, will enter their opener determined to make a name for themselves. For coach Michael Robinson, taking their Youth Olympic bow is a rare chance for the team not only to write their names into the country’s football history but also to earn attention for the women’s game. “We will try to get a good result and it will open the door for more things,” the England-born coach told FIFA.com. “I ask the players to express themselves on the pitch while sticking to the tactical plan. We want to play good football.”

The other game
Trinidad and Tobago-Equatorial Guinea, Jalan Besar Stadium, Sunday 15 August, 20.45 (local time)

Despite losing to Chile by the slightest of margins, Trinidad and Tobago showed they are a very well-organised outfit. Coach Marlon Charles opted to accentuate the positives following defeat, and has urged his athletic players to strive harder for victory over Equatorial Guinea. The Africans, for their part, remain something of a mystery heading into their debut. After spending the past two months in training, the team arrived at Singapore in peak condition, which has left coach Jean Paul Mpile upbeat. “Our aim is no less than winning gold,” he stated in a recent interview with FIFA.com.

The number
6 players from the current Papua New Guinea U-15 side have also featured in the nation’s U-17 team.

Did you know?
Coach Marlon Charles is a member of Trinidad and Tobago's coaching staff at U-17 level, which is headed by former Norway women’s and Canada women’s boss Even Pellerud.

The quote
“Given the importance of the game, we will focus on defending in the opening half and try not to concede a goal. Then, after the restart, we can sort out a plan to breach the opponents’ rearguard and win the game,” Marlon Charles, Trinidad and Tobago coach.

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2010, 01:55:45 PM »
Even though that was a 1-0 loss to Chile, that was still a good showing from the girls. I don't know what the quality of the coaching is for the U15 girls. However, I'm sure that the coaching staff know what they're doing.

On the other hand, I've seen clips of the Pro League U14 boys playing and I'm not that impressed with what I've seen. I am a coach in central NJ and I've coached U14 boys who play in both Inter-County and Travel soccer, so I have something to compare these boys against. What I fail to see from the Pro League U14 boys are any structured playing or half-way decent ball passing. Mind you, the speed and intensity of their playing is very impressive, but I haven't once seen a descent ball passed from midfield to the forwards not even once.

Someone might argue that this is only U14, give the boys a break! Well, this is the stage of development where the quality has to start. You can't wait until these young men are playing for the senior men's team then to ask for proper ball handling. It starts at the U14 level.

If anyone is offended, then let me know. May be I can arrange for the NJ Inter-County or NJ Travel champs to play the best T&T U14 Pro League Boys teams. How about Joe Public U14 Boys against NJ Travel U14 Boys champs? Any takers?
« Last Edit: August 14, 2010, 01:58:05 PM by CarenageBoy »

« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2010, 02:22:44 PM »
Our girls went down 1-3 to Guinea today.  :'(

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2010, 02:23:40 PM »
http://www.fifa.com/womensyoutholympic/news/newsid=1285464.html#equatorial+guinea+chile+advance

Equatorial Guinea surprisingly beat Trinidad and Tobago 3-1 to book a place in the Girls’ Youth Olympic Football Tournament semi-finals – and ensure the inactive Chile, who beat T&T in their curtain-raiser, will also go through from Group B.

Iran, meanwhile, responded to defeat in their opener by edging Papua New Guinea. FIFA.com reviews an interesting matchday at Singapore 2010.

Match of the day
Trinidad and Tobago 1-3 Equatorial Guinea
Goals: Felicidad Avomo 7’ & 40+1’; Veronica Nchama 59’; Brittany Presscott 64’.

Avomo emerged as Equatorial Guinea’s heroine, scoring twice in the first half to put her country firmly en route to victory. After conceding late goal against Chile, Trinidad and Tobago coach Marlon Charles had urged his girls to keep it tight defensively, but they simply had no answer to the ingenuity and finishing of the gifted No9. Avomo volleyed home splendidly to break the deadlock and, in first-half stoppage time, doubled Equatorial Guinea’s lead by latching on to Nchama’s fine pass and slotting home. The creator of that goal turned scorer of the Central Africans’ third by dispatching a superbly-taken free-kick. T&T refused to throw in the towel, however, and after Presscott had reduced the arrears, Jonelle Warrick threatened with a long-distance shot as the clock ticked down. It was insufficient: the night – and a last-four place - belonged to Equatorial Guinea.

The other match
Iran 1-0 Papua New Guinea
Goal: Fatemeh Ardestani 43’

Papua New Guinea pushed forward from the outset, causing problems for Iran in the early stages. But their early dominance proved short-lived as the Asians, cheered on by the majority of the neutrals, gradually gained the upper hand through their accurate passing and fast-paced breaks. Iran playmaker Aynaz Fallah was at the heart of everything. One thumping strike fizzed just wide, before she set up Behnaz Taherkhani, who shot straight at the goalkeeper. Iran picked up where they had left after restart, and took just three minutes to open the scoring. Taherkhani was picked out by Fallah’s pass across the goal-mouth and although her shot bounced off the post, Arderstani pounced to fire home the rebound and what proved the contest’s only goal.

Goal of the day
With Equatorial Guinea two goals up, Nchama unleashed a dipping free-kick which goalkeeper Trinidad and Tobago Lebrisca Phillip got a hand to but was unable to keep out.

The number
2 - Avomo was the first player to post a brace in the girls’ competition.

The quote
“Winning this match is a big boost for our team as we are already in the semi-finals. Thus we can fully enjoy our final group game against Chile and play good football. We can beat them, ” Felicidad Avomo, Equatorial Guinea forward.

« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2010, 04:42:42 PM »
That is some :bs:

« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2010, 04:50:18 PM »
http://www.fifa.com/womensyoutholympic/news/newsid=1285464.html#equatorial+guinea+chile+advance

Equatorial Guinea surprisingly beat Trinidad and Tobago 3-1 to book a place in the Girls’ Youth Olympic Football Tournament semi-finals – and ensure the inactive Chile, who beat T&T in their curtain-raiser, will also go through from Group B.

Iran, meanwhile, responded to defeat in their opener by edging Papua New Guinea. FIFA.com reviews an interesting matchday at Singapore 2010.

Match of the day
Trinidad and Tobago 1-3 Equatorial Guinea
Goals: Felicidad Avomo 7’ & 40+1’; Veronica Nchama 59’; Brittany Presscott 64’.

Avomo emerged as Equatorial Guinea’s heroine, scoring twice in the first half to put her country firmly en route to victory. After conceding late goal against Chile, Trinidad and Tobago coach Marlon Charles had urged his girls to keep it tight defensively, but they simply had no answer to the ingenuity and finishing of the gifted No9. Avomo volleyed home splendidly to break the deadlock and, in first-half stoppage time, doubled Equatorial Guinea’s lead by latching on to Nchama’s fine pass and slotting home. The creator of that goal turned scorer of the Central Africans’ third by dispatching a superbly-taken free-kick. T&T refused to throw in the towel, however, and after Presscott had reduced the arrears, Jonelle Warrick threatened with a long-distance shot as the clock ticked down. It was insufficient: the night – and a last-four place - belonged to Equatorial Guinea.

The other match
Iran 1-0 Papua New Guinea
Goal: Fatemeh Ardestani 43’

Papua New Guinea pushed forward from the outset, causing problems for Iran in the early stages. But their early dominance proved short-lived as the Asians, cheered on by the majority of the neutrals, gradually gained the upper hand through their accurate passing and fast-paced breaks. Iran playmaker Aynaz Fallah was at the heart of everything. One thumping strike fizzed just wide, before she set up Behnaz Taherkhani, who shot straight at the goalkeeper. Iran picked up where they had left after restart, and took just three minutes to open the scoring. Taherkhani was picked out by Fallah’s pass across the goal-mouth and although her shot bounced off the post, Arderstani pounced to fire home the rebound and what proved the contest’s only goal.

Goal of the day
With Equatorial Guinea two goals up, Nchama unleashed a dipping free-kick which goalkeeper Trinidad and Tobago Lebrisca Phillip got a hand to but was unable to keep out.

The number
2 - Avomo was the first player to post a brace in the girls’ competition.

The quote
“Winning this match is a big boost for our team as we are already in the semi-finals. Thus we can fully enjoy our final group game against Chile and play good football. We can beat them, ” Felicidad Avomo, Equatorial Guinea forward.

Lawd!

« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2010, 06:07:34 PM »

« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2010, 06:37:20 PM »
That is some :bs:

how they manage to beat us ???

Offline soccerlover

« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2010, 07:50:54 PM »

Marlon Charles  /  Jamal Shabazz....= failure. Why didn,t we carry our best 15 year olds to this tournament ? I am sure  there are at least a handful of 15 year olds still with the u-17s and if Iam not mistaken , the Warrick and Walker girls are on the World Cup team , so what happened to the rest ...STEUPS!!! ??? ??? ???

« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2010, 04:36:09 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/piGdvqXHvGY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/piGdvqXHvGY</a>

« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2010, 09:11:17 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/piGdvqXHvGY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/piGdvqXHvGY</a>

Not even ah lil beatz from us boy.....pressah.

« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2010, 06:47:47 AM »
Wait, T&T under 15 have a game tomorrow (23rd) vs Papua New Guinea

Despite finishing pointless during the group phase in the Youth Olympic Football Tournaments, the four losing sides of the boys and girls competitions - Vanuatu, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea and Trinidad and Tobago - can still hold their heads up high as they enter Monday’s third-place play-off.

The girls from Trinidad and Tobago meet Papua New Guinea in the day’s early game, seeking to prove themselves as the host nation to next month’s FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup, while the boys of Vanuatu and Zimbabwe meet in the alter game, with both sides determined to play for their pride.

« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2010, 03:56:18 PM »
After a goalless draw in regulation time, T&T defeated Papua New Guinea 4-2 on penalty kicks.

Papua New Guinea's Georgina Kaikas (right) avoids a sliding tackle from Trinidad and Tobago's Corinna Sequea (left) in a Girl's 5th-6th Ranking match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) between Papua New Guinea and Trinidad and Tobago held at Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad and Tobago won the match on penalties 4-2 . Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Andrew Tan

Trinidad AND Tobago's coach, Marton Charles gesture during the football girls 5th/6th ranking of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium, Aug 23, 2010. Papua New Guinea lost 2-4 to Trinidad and Tobago. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Eddie Chen

Trinidad & Tobago’s players celebrates the victory in the Papua N Guinea versus Trinidad & Tobago girls' 5th/6th ranking football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG), at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad & Tobago won the match by penalty 2-4. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/ George Tay

Trinidad and Tobago's Abigail Jacob (left) vies for the ball with Papua New Guinea's Georgina Kaikas during the girls football 5th and 6th ranking match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at Jalan Besar Stadium, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad and Tobago beat Papua New Guinea, 4-2 on penalties. Photo: SPH -SYOGOC/Desmond Lim

Trinidad & Tobago's captain Corinna Sequea (#4, far right) runs towards her teammates after scoring the winning penalty kick in the Papua New Guinea versus Trinidad & Tobago girls' 5th and 6th ranking football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad & Tobago won 4-2 on penalty kicks. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Kevin Lim

Trinidad & Tobago players celebrate at the end of the penalty shoot-out during the Papua New Guinea versus Trinidad & Tobago 5th-6th ranking match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad & Tobago won 4-2 on penalty shoot-out. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Seyu Tzyy Wei

Trinidad & Tobago's Brittaney Prescott (middle) and Papua New Guinea's Grace Steven (left) fight for the ball during Papua New Guinea versus Trinidad & Tobago 5th-6th ranking match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad & Tobago won 4-2 on penalty shoot-out. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Seyu Tzyy Wei

Trinidad and Tobago's Marlique Asson (#10 on right) gets around Papua New Guinea's Dinna Awele (#11 on left in red) in the Papua New Guinea versus Trinidad & Tobago girls' 5th and 6th ranking football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) played at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad & Tobago won 4-2 on penalty kicks. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Andrew Tan

Papua New Guinea's captain Rumona Morris walks back to her team after missing a penalty kick in the girls' 5th-6th ranking football match between Papua New Guinea and Trinidad & Tobago at Jalan Besar stadium held on Aug 23 , 2010 as part of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG). Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Samuel He

Trinidad and Tobago's goalkeeper Lebrisca Phillip saves a penalty in a Girl's 5th-6th Ranking match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) between Papua New Guinea and Trinidad and Tobago held at Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad and Tobago won the match on penalties 4-2. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/Andrew Tan

« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2010, 09:09:36 PM »
Even though that was a 1-0 loss to Chile, that was still a good showing from the girls. I don't know what the quality of the coaching is for the U15 girls. However, I'm sure that the coaching staff know what they're doing.

On the other hand, I've seen clips of the Pro League U14 boys playing and I'm not that impressed with what I've seen. I am a coach in central NJ and I've coached U14 boys who play in both Inter-County and Travel soccer, so I have something to compare these boys against. What I fail to see from the Pro League U14 boys are any structured playing or half-way decent ball passing. Mind you, the speed and intensity of their playing is very impressive, but I haven't once seen a descent ball passed from midfield to the forwards not even once.

Someone might argue that this is only U14, give the boys a break! Well, this is the stage of development where the quality has to start. You can't wait until these young men are playing for the senior men's team then to ask for proper ball handling. It starts at the U14 level.

If anyone is offended, then let me know. May be I can arrange for the NJ Inter-County or NJ Travel champs to play the best T&T U14 Pro League Boys teams. How about Joe Public U14 Boys against NJ Travel U14 Boys champs? Any takers?

TT Pro League
#70 Rapsey Street
Curepe
Trinidad, W.I.  

phone # 645-4489  
 fax#  645-9759  

Every little bit of international exposure helps, so call them. Most likely you will be ignored, but maybe something can happen

« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2010, 12:48:35 PM »
U-15 girls finish fifth in football
T&T Guardian

T&T Under-15 girls footballers prevailed over Papua New Guinea in the girls football competition’s first penalty shoot-out at the Youth Olympic Games in Singapore yesterday. Despite entering its last match without a win, T&T finished its tournament on a high as it recorded a 4-2 victory over Papua New Guinea.

A one-hour downpour just prior to kick-off meant that this game was postponed for 55 minutes, but it breathed a fresh, cool air into the Jalan Besar Stadium as the match got off to a lively start. T&T had more of the ball in the early stages with Marlique Asson and Jonelle Warrick constantly threatening the opponents’ goal. Asson saw a shot hit the far post before Warrick raced clear and lobbed the ball narrowly over the bar.

Papua New Guinea spurned a golden chance to take the lead when Georgina Kaikas’s spot-kick was saved by Lebrisca Phillip. However, the Caribbean side continued to press but failed to convert their dominance into real chances. The two sides pushed forward harder after the interval but a lack of accuracy remained the key problem. Both teams remained goalless at the end of regulation time.

In the ensuing penalty shootout, Rumona Morris and Biangka Gubag failed to convert from the spot, while T&T players made no mistake from their four attempts. They were Warrick, Asson Abigail Jacob and Corinna Sequea. “Both teams played quite well and it was good game. It was exciting for the crowds when the game went to the shoot-out. For us, losing the game in such a way could be cruel but the girls played their best, so I am still happy,” Michael Robinson, Papua New Guinea coach.

« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2010, 01:25:19 PM »
After a goalless draw in regulation time, T&T defeated Papua New Guinea 4-2 on penalty kicks.

Trinidad & Tobago’s players celebrates the victory in the Papua N Guinea versus Trinidad & Tobago girls' 5th/6th ranking football match of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG), at the Jalan Besar Stadium in Singapore, Aug 23, 2010. Trinidad & Tobago won the match by penalty 2-4. Photo: SPH-SYOGOC/ George Tay

Is ah Dutty Wine meh #17 gul buss they on the field?   :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2010, 02:12:58 PM »
Is ah Dutty Wine meh #17 gul buss they on the field?   :rotfl: :rotfl:

Ah was waiting fuh somebody tuh pick up on dat  :devil:. Check #15 too.

« Reply #22 on: August 25, 2010, 08:51:23 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/DCZmLgOy0Z0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/DCZmLgOy0Z0</a>