April 16, 2024, 05:54:56 AM

Author Topic: Lincoln Phillips: Every Trinbagonian should want to see Latapy succeed.  (Read 4994 times)

Lincoln Phillips: Every Trinbagonian should want to see Latapy succeed.
By: Inshan "Flex" Mohammed.

Soca Warriors Online (SWO) caught up with Trinidad and Tobago football federation's technical director Mr. Lincoln Phillips and did an exclusive interview with the former T&T goalkeeper.

Though I've never seen him play, Mr. Phillips, who is locally known as the "Tiger", is regarded as one of T&T's top goalkeepers of all time.

The St. James-born former Howard University graduate was very enthusiastic about the interview and dedicated his time to gives us an in-depth release:

Over to you Lincoln.

"Thanks Flex. It's always a pleasure to share with you and the members of www.socawarriors.net some insight to what I am doing and the activities of our national team programs."

"Before I go any further, I would like to give my heartfelt condolences to the family of Earl John (EJ) who passed away Friday and was laid to rest yesterday."

"All too often, the federation is critically painted with a broad brush. However, there are a large number of wonderful, dedicated men and women who toil anonymously for the TTFF."

"EJ' was one of those individuals. He was a wonderful soul who was generous with his wisdom. He helped me through some challenging times. I will miss his grace and friendship."

We have not heard from you in a while Mr. Phillips. What have you been up to as far as T&T football goes ?

"I certainly haven't disappeared from the scene as some of you would suggest."

"Until fairly recently, most of my time had been focused on continuing the “D” Licence Coaching Courses. Over 800 coaches have been certified through this program."

"While some may dispute the significance of the "D" Licence program, I believe in its value because its curriculum entails the basic components necessary in developing the modern footballer and prepares a large base of trained coaches to meet the demands of more advanced coaching courses that will be offered in the near future."

"In addition, a number of our top-level footballers have been positively impacted by this program. Both Derek King and Ross Russell are past students. It's also worthy to mention that most of the Defence Force players participated in the course in the off-season before their winning campaign."

"This is a trend that we would like to continue with the all of the PFL and Super League players because they are the main source of future coaches in this country."

"I would also like to make the point that football has the power to make a positive impact in some of our most marginalized communities and I am proud to have been given the opportunity to bring courses to community organizations, government ministries, and prison and police services in addition to the usual members of the football fraternity."

"Coaches are uniquely positioned to become mentors in the lives of young people and I want to do everything I can to see coaches recognize and utilize the influential position they can play within our society."

"Another endeavor I am leading is the launch of the Association of Football Coaches of Trinidad and Tobago (AFCATT). It is my hope that this entity will serve the varying needs of football coaches in Trinidad and Tobago."

"AFCATT is in its earliest stages but we have formed a Steering Committee that is tasked with, among other items, creating the logistics of the nomination process for our officers and directors. Articles of Incorporation have also been filed and approved by the Ministry of Legal Affairs and a draft of our constitution is being reviewed."

"We hope to have the first annual general meeting in December 2010 and create a slate of committees. I am excited to see how everything will unfold. There are a number of people who have taken on this project with a great deal of zest and I think people will be impressed with the final product."

"I have also recently begun to work with Russell Latapy and it looks like I will be playing a bigger role on the national team level similar in some ways to what I was doing in the lead up to the '2006 World Cup."

Are you officially an assistant coach ?

I am still the Technical Director but also became an official member of the technical staff in order to help develop our national goalkeeping pool."

"However, since Russell does not have a full-time assistant, I have also recently stepped in to provide whatever technical support he needs. While he was away in July, I conducted two practice sessions and I am certainly willing to provide whatever support he needs."

"In the meantime, I will continue to work with the goalkeepers and have begun a program with the PFL teams to organize supplemental training for their goalkeepers. This training focuses on technical and tactical skills as well as goalkeeper-specific strength and conditioning."

"The strength training sessions are to be led by our national team physios, Orlando Griffith and Gregory Seale. Ideally we would like to build a reliable pool of 6 goalkeepers for each age group."

"I have also encouraged PFL coaches to send their forwards to the technical training sessions so the goalkeepers will receive shot stopping and cross ball training."

"This will also, hopefully, benefit the outfield players as well and reverse the erosion of ball striking skills that plague many of our footballers."

Is Marvin Faustin the assistant coach ?

"No. Russell needed some assistance with his practice sessions early in his appointment and Marvin was a colleague who graciously offered to help."

What were your thoughts on our last game vs. Jamaica ?

"Any time we play Jamaica, it is a big match; friendly or not. The game highlighted several trends that continue to adversely affect many of our local players. What concerned me the most about the performance was the overall lack of intensity."

"We tend to play at one pace and are still not able to quickly change the point of attack. Our off the ball movement and ability to transition and make penetrative runs were non-existent and our defensive effort as a team was not up to the standard we must reach if we are to qualify for any major tournament. It was not a good performance and no one should be happy with the display."

"However, I cannot look at these matches from the perspective of a fan where the result is the only item that matters. I am looking at the entire process and take into account all the games we have played from Chile to this most recent match."

"As a technical staff we must keep an even keel in the aftermath of these games because each game serves a narrow and particular purpose. And though we always want to win, sometimes, the most disappointing loss can provide the breakthrough needed for substantive change and positive development."

How many caps does a player needs for the T&T coach to recognised they are capable or not when it comes to international football, ie. Aklie Edwards, Keston Williams and Makan Hislop. Are these the best locally defenders we can find. ?

"That is certainly a question for the head coach to ultimately determine but I think we should be careful not to discard players too early."

"Keep in mind, there have been players in the past that fans wrote off but the coach saw certain qualities that eventually served the team well in important matches."

"At the same time, players must recognize when they are on the bubble and play with the type of urgency that is required to make a positive contribution and impression. In short, they must play like they give a damn."

What kind of scouting does the coaching staff do ?

"Not enough. The PFL and CONCACAF tournament matches are covered and we are keeping tabs on MLS, NASL and European based players. That being said, nothing beats travelling to the locations of the games to watch the players in club training sessions and having that face to face dialogue with players and their respective coaches."

"Ideally, I would like to see our scouting develop towards such a model but it takes significant financial resources to make such a plan come to pass. Hopefully, the resources will be made available for Russell to do this."

"However Flex, your player identification efforts and suggestions are always welcome. I pass them through to the head coaches and administrators after checking them out. I will never forget the role yourself and Tallman played in making the U-20 player combine we had in December of 2005 such a success."

What do you think of the job Russell is doing ?

"Russell is a young coach who will make mistakes just like any other coach. But he is progressing well and has the respect of the players. I am eager to see him in action with the full compliment of the overseas players."

"People may have legitimate concerns about his experience and whether he can guide the senior team but based on what I have seen and heard from him, he has the makings to be a good coach."

"I want to see Russell succeed and every Trinbagonian should also want to see Russell succeed because he represents future coaching opportunities for T&T players and coaches. At the same time, we don’t want to have a local coach simply for the sake of having a local coach."

"The national team is not an entitlement program. Any local coach who serves as national coach must maximize and take full advantage of the opportunity provided. In the end, the local coach must be given the same resources and be held to the same standards of review that are applied to a foreign-based coach."

"Imagine in the first ever world cup held in Africa, you have six African countries and only one of the teams had a local coach. There is a narrative that has gone on for far too long and it is time we understand that must change."

What do you think of the recent events surrounding the player's lawsuit ?

"Flex, I've really tried to stay away from commenting on that case while it was being played out in the courts. The whole matter has been such a stain on our football for the past four years."

"Even though I haven't commented on the issue, I have kept abreast of its developments because it does affect the performance of our players and team. All too often, the impact of off the field matters such as this is taken very lightly."

"Flex, I am not an in your face person and certain questions I really don't like getting involved with. I try to let my work to the talking and even though you may feel I am not there, I am always on top of situations."

"However, I would like to add that the impasse may have had more of a negative impact on the South Africa World Cup campaign than many people realize. The goodwill created by the team’s performances in the qualification rounds and in Germany has all but evaporated."

"Considering that the case has been settled on its merits on the arbitration level and now at the local high court, I personally feel this matter has the potential to go beyond the football arena and become a measure on how we regard the decisions of judicial institutions that are important and vital to a functioning society."

"I would love to experience the joy and great vibes we felt between November 2005 and June 2006. But as we begin our efforts to qualify for Brazil, we’ve got to make this situation right and take whatever steps we can to make sure it does not happen again."

"Hopefully both sides will unclench their fists and come to a fair and just resolution. We must all hope and pray for a win-win outcome."

What really happened between you and Wim Rijsbergen ?

"I should start out with what did not happen. I certainly was never cuffed or punched. Wim marched into my office cursing and screaming about an article that contained comments I made about the team."

"He said in so many words that only he alone should talk about the national teams. Now, mind you, I am the Technical Director within my own country yet in this man’s view I cannot answer any questions asked of me about the national team" ?

"To tell you the truth I was not pleased at the arrogance he displayed in making such a statement and the manner he acted in this instance as well as previous instances towards other coaches and staff members. After a very heated exchange, I escorted him out of my office and filed a complaint with the TTFF Executive Committee."

"Though I did not seek his removal, I supported the Executive Committee's decision because it sent a message that the TTFF will not tolerate such behavior."

"Coaches who come from abroad must understand they are accountable to a local administrative structure, warts and all, and they are expected to treat local coaches and administrators with dignity and respect."

"Most importantly, our local fraternity must expect to act in a similar manner toward each other because when we air out our dirty laundry, snipe at, and undermine our fellow local coaches we send a message to others that it is ok to do the same."

"The manner in which Leo Beenhakker and Even Pellerud have conducted themselves and shared their knowledge is the model we should expect of coaches from abroad, ended Phillips."
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 05:26:47 AM by Flex »

Re: Lincoln Phillips: Every Trinbagonian should want to see Latapy succeed.
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2010, 12:47:14 AM »
you wrong breds trinidadian does fight dung dey own.
war..
latas i wish you di best but wid dat shit squad i feal sorry fi yu..

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2010, 04:53:20 AM »
Thanks Flex.   :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2010, 05:17:08 AM »
How many caps does a player needs for the T&T coach to recognised they are capable or not when it comes to international football, ie. Aklie Edwards, Keston Williams and Makan Hislop. Are these the best locally defenders we can find. ?

Subtle lol

« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2010, 05:38:57 AM »
Ngozi, that was an excellent question. How many caps does a player needs for the T&T coach to recognised they are capable or not when it comes to international football, ie. Aklie Edwards, Keston Williams and Makan Hislop. Are these the best locally defenders we can find. ?

LP say how, "Keep in mind, there have been players in the past that fans wrote off but the coach saw certain qualities that eventually served the team well in important matches."

I say, name one !!!!

Aklie Edwards have over 25 caps for T&T and any fool could see the man is NOT A FLICKING left back.

Anyone could see Makan Hislop is pure shit, he was good at youth level but never improve then, Keston Williams (lard help meh), this is really the best players we could get. !!!!! and Daniel Cyrus came in and did a good job and then get dropped only to be a last minute replacement for an injured Cupid. !!!!

Latapy caps players, good youth players and then drop them for some old hard ass man who shitting down himself.

Why not use more members of our under 23 team !!!!!

Latapy is a confuse coach who keep making the SAME mistakes over and over.

Ok Linclon very good feedback, but your answers are a little diplomatic, then again if you really says whats on your mind the TTFF may come after you....  ;D

No one here expects T&T to win all the time. We care about the selection, the was the team is preparing, training and coaching, and the way the team plays. Come on LP, admit it, the team playing some real bad football and Latapy cannot coach, be a man and speak the truth, when a man messing up he needs to know or he does good he needs to know also.

No one here wishes Latapy bad either, but we just cannot sit here and see the crap he is doing with T&T football at T&T expense, why can't Latapy go and further (educate) himself, get some more experience as a coach and then return to coach T&T.

Flex, why didn't you ask LP about the Arsenal training the TTFF promised Latapy.

And what about Zoran Vranes, what he doing with we under 23 team !!!!

Good luck with AFCATT and I hope you get the support you need to make this happen. To certify 800 coaches is very hard work and I applaud you for this LP.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 05:49:42 AM by Sam »

« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2010, 08:13:53 AM »
Lincoln Phillips: Every Trinbagonian should want to see Latapy succeed.
By: Inshan "Flex" Mohammed.

What do you think of the job Russell is doing ?

"Russell is a young coach who will make mistakes just like any other coach. But he is progressing well and has the respect of the players. I am eager to see him in action with the full compliment of the overseas players."

"People may have legitimate concerns about his experience and whether he can guide the senior team but based on what I have seen and heard from him, he has the makings to be a good coach."

"I want to see Russell succeed and every Trinbagonian should also want to see Russell succeed because he represents future coaching opportunities for T&T players and coaches. At the same time, we don’t want to have a local coach simply for the sake of having a local coach."
"The national team is not an entitlement program. Any local coach who serves as national coach must maximize and take full advantage of the opportunity provided. In the end, the local coach must be given the same resources and be held to the same standards of review that are applied to a foreign-based coach."

"Imagine in the first ever world cup held in Africa, you have six African countries and only one of the teams had a local coach. There is a narrative that has gone on for far too long and it is time we understand that must change."

good answer to this question, but he failing to mention that when russel done do he sh!t then he represent all local coaches. it will take a while for the next local coach to get a chance and whenever one name mention, they will always refer back to what russel latapy did. but I still ike that we see what a different local coach from corneal can do...and I will encourage more in the future...but maybe with youth teams first.

« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2010, 09:05:14 AM »
"All too often, the federation is critically painted with a broad brush. However, there are a large number of wonderful, dedicated men and women who toil anonymously for the TTFF."

I have no doubt that this is true... unfortunately many of these people get caught up in the wash when it comes to Jack and the TTFF.

"Considering that the case has been settled on its merits on the arbitration level and now at the local high court, I personally feel this matter has the potential to go beyond the football arena and become a measure on how we regard the decisions of judicial institutions that are important and vital to a functioning society."

Great comment!!  Very diplomatic, yet frank assessment of the situation.  He very understandably could have side-stepped the issue by not offering a comment, but instead he answered it head on in a way that allows the reader to know in no uncertain terms where he stands.  At the end of the day there MUST be a respect for the order of law.  Every civilized society demands it.

Very good answer to the question about the incident with Wim too... I have no doubt that it happened as he described.  Wim is very no nonsense and I certainly could see him reacting as he did, and being as brusque as described towards the local coaching fraternity.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 09:07:10 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2010, 09:53:08 AM »
fellas, allyuh know football right ? say latapy call a training session, he have a couple defenders,  "Y" a good youth with excellent potential dey, and "X" ah slightly older fella not as fast as the young fella, but reading the game pretty decent, equally skilled with the ball at foot.....Our forwards "O,M,G", passin dem or not passin dem with equal difficulty, but "Y" seems to track back better on the necessary times they must recover....OK, so Latas say he go fix all dat, and he give instructions to accomplish a certain defensive strategy(ifsodoso) he know he hah to fix to deal CR & Mexico...So he tell the 2 players "ifsodoso", and X with he slightly older self come an "ifsodoso", an Y "ifsoindosoin" too...who yuh think Latas picking ?

Honestly we don't know ? cause Latas could pick the  fellas who follow he instructions to ah T "X" and drop Y who "in get it" and add in to everything, or he could pick the fella who adjusted his instruction to suite the change in situation to deal with the confronted threat "Y", and drop the guy who actually follow his instructions to ah T but was too rigid to deal with a changing threat....Ultimately the decision has to be made, and who he chooses is the best as far as he concerned he could get, so yes Akilie, Makan, Keston is the best we National team coach can get....ah doh think anybody here see farless could recognize better players than Latas..
Now if one ah allyuh give we  instructions to beat de teams dem, and Latas and the boys eh follow yuh instructions, doh vex with none ah dem for dat, but we have to question Latas instructions now...maybe he telling, prepping and possibly selecting the RIGHT guys to excute the WRONG strategy..or is it the wrong guys to execute the wrong startegy, buh we kinda cover that,,..buh wait, you know who he should select to excute ah better startegy, but yuh not really sure it would work 100 %, he now figuring as he get Sam message, maybe ah could switch up, an kinda use dem soca warriors strategy..hmnnn ah go try dem 2 "Y" ah did see before, and go with the "in" tan ta daa....

Mamag : look at licks dem fellas takin*steups*, why he doh settle on one setta fellas, always tryin ting, he teach ah fella something, it get expose, instead ah adjustin, he drop the man who just get the experience, and start over....whapum, he doh listen to you or what, ah thought everybody use to read that site, all d time yuh spendin on dey...
maxg:Wha latapy have to do is pick the best men for the best strategy to deal with all the teams we must play, and practice this TT generic strategy, against JP,NEstars, Grenada, Antigua, Jamaica, anybody yuh could get, and doh care wha nobody say bout the score, just adjust, and doh care wha dey say bout opposition, just adjust....and if yuh not getting thru after 2 years and yuh still adjusting, resign, let Sam pick & coach the blasted team ...how ah talk... ;D

add: All the correct is right answers for Linc interview, but somehow, ah find something missing, cyah put meh finger on it...will revisit

« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2010, 10:09:31 AM »
In regards to the title, so no one in the TTFF are Trinbagonians, because they are the ones undermining Latapy the most.

No on to read the article.

« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2010, 10:34:35 AM »
Sam,

Cyd Gray is the only one that come to mind, he came a long way.

« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2010, 11:07:23 AM »
So this is the man responsible for the sacking of former head coach Wim?

Jeez.. Everyone wants to see Latapy suceed but tired of seeing him fail. GET RID OF HIM.

let latapy suceed with a local squad... Caledonia AIA? yea .. NOT THE NATIONAL TEAM.

« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2010, 11:20:14 AM »
Sam,

Every one liked Cyd Gray boss the problem many had with him was his attitude.

« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2010, 01:08:54 PM »
Sam,

Every one liked Cyd Gray boss the problem many had with him was his attitude.
not true...Cyd was termed a wildman by most, and would gaurantee we play with 10 men and thus had no business being near we National team..
add: Tallman was termed ah long slow stick ah misery, till Bahrain...Sauzo was supposed to show he canibalism and eat he & dog alive..Avery was never ready....ah cyah think of one defender who escape criticism
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 01:13:37 PM by maxg »

« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2010, 03:24:35 PM »
Maxg

Cyd was the one who get the most lash...from when he dive like a goat and butt a ball 2 inches off the ground in that Gold Cup tournament and getting tear a new kakahole from Costa Rica.

After that he ketch heself and come back good.

The rest of defenders, Carlos( to a extent wrexham wingback) Spann, Sancho,Tallest, Dog, Avery....them was foreign based Pros. Then yuh had Atiba Charles and Cox.

You saw the progression and improvements in their game and at the same time we knew what were their limitations. As defenders they were a class act above and beyond the local based defenders...daniel, power, jack, pierre et al.

The only Local defender that used to handle it and who get a harsh deal was Keyeno Thomas...but when it come to starter and bench he know what time it was.

This current group cyar see no contract abroad as a defender anytime soon.

The under 20 youths from the last WC have a chance to make it...and they playing alright...give dem the Caps.

Who we have as defenders who are pros now? Thompson, James, Telesford and .....

Until our whole starting XI is big players in big leagues abroad we cyar see our way past the top 5 in Concacaf.

This total local ting is a comfort to a fool in this day and age of football....the highest levels a local player can reach is concacaf champions league and yuh seeing the disparity BIG TIME.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 06:56:58 AM by Flex »

« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2010, 03:47:42 PM »
Well said, Touches

« Reply #15 on: August 28, 2010, 05:02:50 PM »
We all want Latapy to do well and take us to Brazil but not many Trinbagonians believe that RL can do that.I have seen better defending in some non professional club teams on Saturdays in England.I am not talking about our present defence but the defence that we had for 2010 qualifying matches for SA,from what I read its much worse now.We have never been known for our defending but at least we had men in midfield and strikers who were blessed with skills in years gone by.

« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2010, 06:19:44 PM »
Maxg

Cyd was the one who get the most lash...from when he dive like a goat and butt a ball 2 inches off the ground in that Gold Cup tournament and getting tear a new kakahole from Costa Rica.

After that he ketch heself and come back good.

The rest of defenders, Carlos( to a extent wrexham wingback) Spann, Sancho,Tallest, Dog, Avery....them was foreign based Pros. Then yuh had Atiba Charles and Cox.

You saw the progression and improvements in their game and at the same time we knew what were their limitations. As defenders they were a class act above and beyond the local based defenders...daniel, power, jack, pierre et al.

The only Local defender that used to handle it and who get a harsh deal was Keyeno Thomas...but when it come to starter and bench he know what time it was.

This current group cyar see no contract abroad as a defender anytime soon.

The under 20 youths from the last WC have a chance to make it...and they playing alright...give dem the Caps.

Who we have as defenders who are pros now? Thompson, James, Telesford and .....

Until our whole starting XI is big players in big leagues abroad we cyar see our way past the top 5 in Concacaf.

This total local ting is a comfort to a fool in this day and age of football....the highest levels a local player can reach is concacaf champions league and yuh seeing the disparity BIG TIME.

You left out J Lloyd Samuel, otherwise you hit the nail on the head!!! :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: August 28, 2010, 10:33:45 PM »
Well said Touches!

Fellas we need to realize that Latapy job as coach of our National Team is not to develop players as a traditional coach does; Latas role is more along the lines of man management. He isn't with the players everyday while they train with their respective clubs...he isn't there to oversee their individual development. Having said that, while I commend him for giving young players a chance, his man management skills is extremely poor. LP made a comment about the Jamaica game, where he said our team lacks penetrative running, proper off d ball running and intensity. All of that lies squarely on the National Team coach. Your team preparation in practices leading up to game day, your game day warm up and game day tactics. If anyone looks at the training sessions they look too relaxed, too easy-go-lucky, very non chalant. Their warm-ups lack any sort of intensity as well. When the game starts what should we expect?

LP touched on scouting and I want to bring up a point. They say they have MLS on lock...well any fool looking at the MLS right now can see we have a defensive midfielder playing extremely well for his team (Birchall). Why is 34 year old Trent Noel and non effective Clyde Leon playing in our central midfield? Why wasn't Birchall called for the Jamaica game? And don't tell me he was unavailable....his teammate was in goal for Jamaica! Better question, how many times has Birchall played under Latas? I just asking a question....you can infer the rest!

To the local coaches...where I think most of the blame lies when it pertains to the demise of T&T football...I'm glad to see LP has something in place for these coaches to be educated. What I would like to see in addition to that is some sort of tracking startegy in place for these coaches. TTFF officials going to these coaches practice sessions every so often on the spot and asess whether they are transferring the knowledge from the classroom to the football field. In my experience, these coaches get the knowledge and when the course is over, they right back to their old habits. Then we get players like Akile Edwards and what not in our national pool. On the flip side, we have talented young players not receiving the proper guidance and they end up engaging in non professional behaviors and wasting that talent!

« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2010, 09:25:44 AM »
Fordinho,

Yuh making sense dey PA especially with the man management thing but the truth is I don't see that as one of his skills. I think latapy's head doesnt see the big picture because it sees small details in an extremely intense pattern. Latapy's footballing iq was way ahead of many i've seen why he amazed us is because he saw it so early that when he executed it we're shocked because we hadn't even predicted it existed much less see him execute it to perfection... a f**king phenomenon on the field.

But here is the things he doesnt see  :( that Makan Hislop despite being built like a truck in the old 1970's mold of a defender big and strong is technically poor on the ball, slower than molasses and does not read the game well enough to anticipate plays before they happen to compensate for his lack of speed or tackling ability.

That Akile is in need of food and water and a definition of what defending implies.

That being "Latas de boss baller" might not necessarily get the effect that Russel Latapy the beenhakker like coach will.

That Birchy despite him not liking him is necessary for the fact that he presents a defensive presence and effort in the middle that NO current Trini player presents  despite not having "touches".

That Robert Primus is a real talent that has to be developed particularly at this age ... something men like Arsene wenger can spot early.

That if you play a four 2 four the men on the wings shouldnt only have the fitness and understanding that if they dont work back their midfeld and as a result their defense will be exposed but also the desire ....aka glen benjamin or carlos .. that just because yuh fast on the wing dont mean youre a good winger or wing midfielder it just mean yuh have toes.

Carlos despite not being our best winger is our best wide midfielder he works up and down the line consistently  these little clarifications he misses to our detriment.

That because youre a practice champ don't mean you have a big game mentality just because yuh play good keep away in the stadium doh make yuh a good attacking midfielder for your National team.

That when Jamaica could walk into the national stadium and run over your team 3-1 that something wrong with the team of players you picking.

When men are in one on one situations how do they respond?
Is it ok if a man gets by them or do they get after his ass like they life depend on it ... because is no way this man could get pass me ... is a mentality.

I love latas but he getting it all wrong he could thread a pass through the eye of a needle and put it on the toenail of your third toe on your right foot but as it stands he couldnt pick a 7 a side team to compete in the special olympics on a play station and I am one of his biggest fans ... all I want him to do is prove me wrong but how it is we could see the obvious and he can't?

It is not all his fault he doh coach these players daily but he is picking the wrong mix of players and that IS his fault its up to him to recognise it... if you can't get the best out of certain players then choose others you can.

Synergy is in the context of organizational behaviour is the view that a cohesive group is more than sum of its parts.
it means that teamwork will produce an overall better result than if each person was working toward the same goal individually.

If you cant find that group then thats your fault because you choosing the best team on paper rather than on the field!
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 09:32:24 AM by Ngozi »

« Reply #19 on: August 29, 2010, 12:00:27 PM »
....It is not all his fault he doh coach these players daily but he is picking the wrong mix of players and that IS his fault its up to him to recognise it... if you can't get the best out of certain players then choose others you can.

Synergy is in the context of organizational behaviour is the view that a cohesive group is more than sum of its parts.
it means that teamwork will produce an overall better result than if each person was working toward the same goal individually.

If you cant find that group then thats your fault because you choosing the best team on paper rather than on the field!

yep, ah following this trend of thought from Ngozi...especially how the man killing heself with midfield, and  experienced campaigners like Birchall, Sealy (now showing a different aspect), quite a  few in US colleges not getting a call or a look

« Reply #20 on: August 29, 2010, 12:06:11 PM »
Call UP we best players and work with  talent NO MATTER THE COST......end of flipping story!!!!! stop the low budget/ blacklist shithound , false hopes with  sub par players...get real and  move in a direction that offers  positive hope and best chances of success for the future. Nothing builds success like surrounding yourself with success.. what PRICE YUH PUTTING ON success.

Latapy yuh can't  expect little boys to do men's work or to figure yuh go show them all the tricks and tuh wuck hard and yuh go get results:

If you want to build a ship, don't drum up the men to gather wood, divide the work and give orders. Instead, teach them to yearn for the vast and endless sea.
        Antoine de Saint-Exupery, "The Wisdom of the Sands"
        French writer (1900 - 1944)

Is this senior mens' team a WORK in progress? well look nah ah reading that the ministry of WORKS have the biggest slice of the budget!!!!!!! throw money  on the wuck to be done here and bring we best players home for the friendlies!!!!!
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 01:08:46 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #21 on: August 29, 2010, 01:53:16 PM »
well said touches....i remember cyd gray in the game against costa rica, de man collect the same beat about 6 or 7 times, after a while i started to laugh becaus egetting vex was raiisng mih blood pressure and like cyd had no brain matter to realise de man was bussing the same beat over and over and over.

« Reply #22 on: August 29, 2010, 05:08:29 PM »
ah just realize what was bothering meh with the Linc interview, is the title : Yes, every Trinbagonian do want to see Latapy succeed, what many can't stand, is seeing him(or anybody else) fail, regardless of the reasons, which is standard at some point for any National team coach, especially those not historically amongst the top 10 in the world....PPl just cyah seem to take watching him like that, so instead of giving him the years required, they want they win now, and next week , no matter who coach TT over the long term, head will roll same way...is Latapy doing a good job, I already agreed with Ngozi, as far as total local selection...is he allowed to operate different, bring home players, I don't know....would anybody else as coach win or even be competitive in aa string of games right now, I doubt it.....even if they win 2 straight, it will be "look how we used to play, and look where we are now"
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 05:19:43 PM by maxg »

« Reply #23 on: August 29, 2010, 05:16:12 PM »
Well said Touches!

Fellas we need to realize that Latapy job as coach of our National Team is not to develop players as a traditional coach does; Latas role is more along the lines of man management. He isn't with the players everyday while they train with their respective clubs...he isn't there to oversee their individual development. Having said that, while I commend him for giving young players a chance, his man management skills is extremely poor. LP made a comment about the Jamaica game, where he said our team lacks penetrative running, proper off d ball running and intensity. All of that lies squarely on the National Team coach. Your team preparation in practices leading up to game day, your game day warm up and game day tactics. If anyone looks at the training sessions they look too relaxed, too easy-go-lucky, very non chalant. Their warm-ups lack any sort of intensity as well. When the game starts what should we expect?

he has these guys 2 times a week like you forget that ....

« Reply #24 on: August 29, 2010, 09:03:00 PM »
Well said Touches!

read my next sentence. even if he has them for 2 days in the week its not to work on their individual development...he working on tactics and system of play. No Senior National team coach should be working on individual skill and technique with players. That's what their youth club or school coaches should be doing...instead they trying to put themselves and these little boys in d front page of papers for intercol!

« Reply #25 on: August 29, 2010, 10:19:40 PM »
No Senior National team coach should be working on individual skill and technique with players.

we might like that to be the case but, in a more general sense, I would think that any coach's role is to work on whatever areas improve the team most.

if you take the job and calling training sessions twice a week then you have to coach the players you have.  not the ones that you wish you had.

our locally-based players are just ill-prepared for the intensity of international football and it's not an insurmountable problem.  Look at how much Cyd Gray improve under Beenhakker between July 2005 (Gold Cup) and October-November 2005 (vs Mexico and Bahrain).  At age 29 no less.  Then by June 2006 the man was able to switch to left back in an emergency and hold his own against England.   

« Reply #26 on: August 29, 2010, 11:08:00 PM »
Well said Touches!

read my next sentence. even if he has them for 2 days in the week its not to work on their individual development...he working on tactics and system of play. No Senior National team coach should be working on individual skill and technique with players. That's what their youth club or school coaches should be doing...instead they trying to put themselves and these little boys in d front page of papers for intercol!

Fordy what if his tactics not working because he choosing the wrong players for his tactics or the players doh have the technical ability to carry out his tactics?
He then have a choice to search for players that can carry put his tactics or train what he have to do it ... especially if he getting them twice a week ... how much time Capello getting his players ... just before game!
When beenie get the job the first game was against Mexico and we lost ... but you could see a system in place with a choice of players who understood their role  latas is light years behind.

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2010, 11:41:39 AM »
LP sad 2 say u are HUGE PART AH D PROBLEM

« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2010, 11:52:20 AM »
Fordinho,

Yuh making sense dey PA especially with the man management thing but the truth is I don't see that as one of his skills. I think latapy's head doesnt see the big picture because it sees small details in an extremely intense pattern. Latapy's footballing iq was way ahead of many i've seen why he amazed us is because he saw it so early that when he executed it we're shocked because we hadn't even predicted it existed much less see him execute it to perfection... a f**king phenomenon on the field.

But here is the things he doesnt see  :( that Makan Hislop despite being built like a truck in the old 1970's mold of a defender big and strong is technically poor on the ball, slower than molasses and does not read the game well enough to anticipate plays before they happen to compensate for his lack of speed or tackling ability.

That Akile is in need of food and water and a definition of what defending implies.

That being "Latas de boss baller" might not necessarily get the effect that Russel Latapy the beenhakker like coach will.

That Birchy despite him not liking him is necessary for the fact that he presents a defensive presence and effort in the middle that NO current Trini player presents  despite not having "touches".

That Robert Primus is a real talent that has to be developed particularly at this age ... something men like Arsene wenger can spot early.

That if you play a four 2 four the men on the wings shouldnt only have the fitness and understanding that if they dont work back their midfeld and as a result their defense will be exposed but also the desire ....aka glen benjamin or carlos .. that just because yuh fast on the wing dont mean youre a good winger or wing midfielder it just mean yuh have toes.

Carlos despite not being our best winger is our best wide midfielder he works up and down the line consistently  these little clarifications he misses to our detriment.

That because youre a practice champ don't mean you have a big game mentality just because yuh play good keep away in the stadium doh make yuh a good attacking midfielder for your National team.

That when Jamaica could walk into the national stadium and run over your team 3-1 that something wrong with the team of players you picking.

Is it ok if a man gets by them or do they get after his ass like they life depend on it ... because is no way this man could get pass me ... is a mentality.

I love latas but he getting it all wrong he could thread a pass through the eye of a needle and put it on the toenail of your third toe on your right foot but as it stands he couldnt pick a 7 a side team to compete in the special olympics on a play station and I am one of his biggest fans ... all I want him to do is prove me wrong but how it is we could see the obvious and he can't?

It is not all his fault he doh coach these players daily but he is picking the wrong mix of players and that IS his fault its up to him to recognise it... if you can't get the best out of certain players then choose others you can.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: Well said my brother!!! Happy Independence Day!!!

« Reply #29 on: September 01, 2010, 05:37:28 AM »
Fordinho,

Nice piece bro