April 24, 2024, 03:26:46 AM

Author Topic: T&T Budget Thread.  (Read 18400 times)

Offline TdotTrini

Re: Budget 2011
« Reply #30 on: September 08, 2010, 09:26:29 PM »
The fourth growth pole involves developing the North-Coast. We all know how difficult it is to
access Maracas Bay through the North Coast Road. Currently, it takes approximately 45
minutes to get from Santa Cruz to Maracas Bay. Furthermore, landslips on the North Coast road
are a major deterrent to persons wishing to access this scenic route for pleasure or business.
As a result we will do a business plan for a new: ‘Connective Development Project’. This project
would create an underground tunnel from Maracas Valley to Maracas Bay, to enable quicker
access to the North Coast.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #31 on: September 08, 2010, 09:31:06 PM »
all dat is ah mis print...allyuh eh know dat?

Offline congo

« Reply #32 on: September 08, 2010, 11:13:02 PM »
I don't know ppl like Maracas so much that they need an underground tunnel.. These ppl are clueless, that's your big infrastructure plan, a tunnel to Maracas. Not even to Blanchisseuse but Maracas...That 45 minute drive is not a burden. ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

« Reply #33 on: September 08, 2010, 11:41:02 PM »
In hindsight I think this will go down in history as a masterstroke... set ah small brush fire in ah corner tuh distract focus from de disaster happening elsewhere.

« Reply #34 on: September 09, 2010, 03:15:46 AM »
Do you guys realise that in both islands there is no ring road ?
In other words a road network that takes you entirely around both islands.
Where is the stimulus in this budget?
Construction activity has been at a standstill since PNM announced elections, thousands of workers are out of work or underemployed and all you do is scrap projects and not announce alternatives?
Non of the projects they mention can start because they are just concepts and have to go through the full project management cycle.
Next year will be guava season for plenty.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 03:17:55 AM by fishs »

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #35 on: September 09, 2010, 05:14:48 AM »
Tunnel vision is the loss of peripheral vision with retention of central vision, resulting in a constricted circular tunnel-like field of vision
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #36 on: September 09, 2010, 07:26:15 AM »
The PNM, according to the PP government, was the biggest problem in this Country yet the UNC dominated coalition's budget was mostly complimented by PNM policy.

They still have not paid for ANY contracts as yet!  In fact they eh spend nutten on any contracts as they planning Jack own

« Reply #37 on: September 09, 2010, 12:28:43 PM »
CLICK HERE to download Ernst and Young's executive overview, commentary on measures and industry analysis of de budget.

« Reply #38 on: September 09, 2010, 12:59:15 PM »
3:07 pm Underground tunnel from Tunapuna to Maracas Valley

What??
Exactly my reaction. A national mass transportation system is a waste but a tunnel to Maracas is sensible.

I all for increasing north coast access... but why not develope the Blanchisseusse corridor?  Why not cut into the rock face to widen the existing road?  Also, fine... yuh want to tunnel thru the mountain to reach Maracas from Jack house in Tunapuna, okay.  But we shutting down de rapid rail?  Why not just put it on hiatus instead until a solid plan can be had?
they talkin bout the beach or maracas valley in st. joseph....either which way crazy.

« Reply #39 on: September 09, 2010, 01:02:28 PM »
3:07 pm Underground tunnel from Tunapuna to Maracas Valley

What??
Exactly my reaction. A national mass transportation system is a waste but a tunnel to Maracas is sensible.

I all for increasing north coast access... but why not develope the Blanchisseusse corridor?  Why not cut into the rock face to widen the existing road?  Also, fine... yuh want to tunnel thru the mountain to reach Maracas from Jack house in Tunapuna, okay.  But we shutting down de rapid rail?  Why not just put it on hiatus instead until a solid plan can be had?
they talkin bout the beach or maracas valley in st. joseph....either which way crazy.

Beach friend look how close d valley is from Puna. Yuh eh need no tunnel 4 dat lil distance

« Reply #40 on: September 09, 2010, 01:04:18 PM »

They talking about the beach... but from later posts it look like he was talking about tunneling from Maracas Valley, thru the Northern Range, and to the beach.  I still doh know about that... that Maracas St. Joseph road itself is very congested, especially with all the new development they've had in that area in the past 20 yrs.

Tallman ah going and take ah look... good find  :beermug:

EDIT: 

Loving this...

Go Green - initiatives

The Government is shifting to a “green culture” and slowly sensitizing the public to the issues
associated with the environment. In the drive towards a greener nation, the Government has
proposed incentives... it is the Government’s intention to promote the use of CNG as an alternative, environmentally
friendly fuel source for motor vehicles and has proposed the following:

a) Compressed Natural Gas (CNG)

• Removal of Customs Import Duty on both the CNG conversion kits and the CNG
cylinders required to convert a vehicle from gasoline to CNG.
• A tax credit of 25% to individuals on the cost of CNG kits and cylinders used in the
conversion of motor vehicles, valued at a maximum of $10,000.
• Motor vehicle tax reduced to zero for a period of five years on imports on factory
outfitted private and commercial CNG motor vehicles no older than two years.
• Zero rating for VAT on imports for a period of five years for factory outfitted private
and commercial CNG motor vehicles no older than two years.

b) Solar Water Heating

Installing an energy efficient water heating system will reduce greenhouse gas emissions from
a single household. In this regard, the Government has proposed the following:
• Reduction of the import duty to 0% on extra regional imports of solar water heating
equipment.
• Zero rating for VAT purposes of solar water heating equipment.
• Tax allowance of 25% of value on solar water heating equipment of maximum value of
$10,000 acquired for use by the household.
• Granting of a W&T Allowance of 150% of costs of solar water heating equipment
acquired by commercial enterprises.

g) The Green Fund

The legislation governing the Green Fund is to be amended to allow Non Government
Organisations incorporated under the Companies Act as Non-Profit Companies to be eligible
to access the Green Fund.
In addition, it has been proposed that the Green Fund legislation be amended to allow
Organisations and Community Groups which include remediation, reforestation and
conservation of the environment in their portfolio projects to qualify for assistance from the
Green Fund.

h) Increase in Penalties under the Litter Act

The fixed penalties under the Litter Act will be increased by 100%...
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 01:31:03 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #41 on: September 09, 2010, 03:19:47 PM »
Did the previous gov't tried to introduce CNG for vehicles.

Offline congo

« Reply #42 on: September 09, 2010, 03:51:55 PM »
Yeah and some retarded ill equip announcer say it was too dangerous and could blow. That what cause Patos to run in the radio station for him. :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #43 on: September 09, 2010, 05:04:23 PM »
Yeah and some retarded ill equip announcer say it was too dangerous and could blow. That what cause Patos to run in the radio station for him. :rotfl: :rotfl:

It have real ignorance publicly about CNG. The instance they were refering to was using a normal cooking gas cylinder.....which cant handle that degree of pressure. But that goes to show the shortcuts people take..cause installing a CNG kit could cost anywhere in the vicinity of $12000. Interesting move...cuz its been tried before.....one of the major challenges were the cost (which attempts were made to address) and the few service stations where you could full up.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #44 on: September 09, 2010, 06:18:08 PM »
besides the tunnel.. anything good or bad to comment on?

« Reply #45 on: September 09, 2010, 06:31:46 PM »

The Artist Coalition of T&T is happy with the proposals regarding culture. Here is what Rubadiri Victor had to say:

Below is the text of the Finance Minister's Budget Speech as it pertains to the Arts and Culture. Major policies as regards the Arts appeared in 4 places and I have extracted them and placed them together so they can be comprehended as one intervention.

First I have to say it is a revolutionary Budget in its attempt to change the moorings of our economy from its dependence on Oil and Gas and to begin the difficult cultural and psychological process of Diversification. It also is strong on accountability and consultation. I have to say that the commitment to sit down with the Artist Coalition and the Sector to work out the sector masterplan is groundbreaking. Most of these ideas were taken from the larger sector Masterplan and have been driven by stakeholders! Take a round of applause people- but listen closely...

They have made verbal commitments to a number of infrastructural investments- the House of Music, the Hall of Fame, and the Heritage Sites- this is important.

There is also a voiced commitment to additional funding for the music industry and the fashion industry- these are long overdue. We now have to be careful as to what the roll out of these interventions are. We have already addressed what we believe the priorities are in the Masterplan document- those priorities HAVE NOT CHANGED.

The language around TTENT and TTFILM is loaded. We all want these agencies to perform more efficiently and equitably- but we also appreciate that they are facilitating bodies- not businesses. They cannot be held to a business mandate of 'making a profit' although we should have deals of % of profits made by artists who sign deals etc whilst on TTENT sponsored events. In that way TTENT can acheive measures of sustainability. The mandate of TTENT and TTFILM is for THE SECTOR TO MAKE WORK THAT MAKES A PROFIT- ESPECIALLY IN FOREIGN MARKETS- AND THAT EXPANDS THE NATIONAL ECONOMY AND ITS BRAND CACHE WORLDWIDE.

What is phenomenal in the Budget  is the proclaiming of East Port of Spain a growth zone using ARTS AND CULTURE as the basis of expansion... and claiming it as a Heritage City of the order of Old Havana!!! It is miraculous that a political class got this- and I am thankful. This is magical stuff - but needs to be rolled out carefully with the resident community and all kinds of stakeholders. This could be the seat and site for the reclamation of Laventille, South East Port of Spain, and Belmont... It is possibly one of the most important interventions announced.

ALL HANDS ON DECK PEOPLE, THE GAUNTLET HAS BEEN THROWN DOWN FOR US TO ROLL UP OUR SLEEVES AND PARTICIPATE- LET'S GET TO WORK!!! I am in Canada at the moment and have a major meeting with their stakeholders over here. Will be back on the 15th God's willing and we can continue the jamming. Great work people, they have started to listen to us. Let us now implement!

THE TEXT OF THE MINISTER OF FINANCE'S PROCLAMATION ON CULTURE IN BUDGET 2010/11

"The diversity of our culture is our strength. We must now leverage our cultural energy to develop a culture based industry for both local and export market. We will partner with the Artists Coalition of Trinidad and Tobago and other interest groups to act on a number of projects. Some of these include: additional funding for the music industry, creating a National Heroes Policy and publishing a Book of Heroes, restoring and recognising Heritage sites to promote destination tourism, as well as creating a National Hall of Fame and a House of Music, amongst other policies. These projects will reflect the rich heritage of our multicultural society.

The international fashion industry is a multi-billion dollar business. We must be prepared to enter this market. To do so we shall encourage our local fashion industry to market its strengths abroad. Trinidad and Tobago is known for creative design, expressed in carnival and other cultural and religious festivals. We must use this strength to build a thriving design industry that can compete internationally. We will support these groups to market their products abroad.

The Film Company and the Entertainment Company
to ensure that their mandates are consistent with their operations and financial management. We will take steps to ensure that these companies are entrepreneurial and commercial entities. In addition, the National Arts Scholarship programme will be expanded.

Tourism Expansion
Mr. Speaker, the Government will make tourism an important platform to create sustainable jobs and increase the contribution of tourism to GDP. We will achieve this by tourism product and by using our festivals and cultural diversity to anchor a significant year–round tourism development.

Trinidad and Tobago’s tourism product is very diverse. It contributes to our strength as a destination. The Government will  upgrade our sights and attractions to maximize their potential and attractiveness to both local and foreign visitors. We also intend to establish a Sugar Heritage Village and Museum at Sevilla House in Caroni.

Opening of New Economic Space
Mr Speaker, Trinidad and Tobago needs to expand its economic space both within the economy and outside it. Hence we will develop five poles for expansion in the medium term using a cluster development approach.

The first pole includes the 4 C(s), covering Couva, Charlieville, Carapichaima and Chaguanas. This project will be primarily private-sector driven with Government acting as a catalyst. This partnering will bring communities together to fill the void created by the demise of the sugar industry. It will encourage new investment in these areas. The project will involve, among other things, the establishment of a port at Felicity, a science park and business incubators. We have already begun discussions with the relevant Chambers of Commerce.

The second pole will focus on developing the South Western Peninsula  of Trinidad. Mr. Speaker, over the past two decades the roads in this part of the country, particularly in Point Fortin, have deteriorated due to wear and tear, age and neglect. The net result is the gradual separation of this area from the country leading to depressed economic opportunities for its inhabitants. For too long, a new highway from San Fernando to Point Fortin has been promised. We intend to make this a reality. The area already has a power generation plant and port facilities. Building on these advantages, we will construct a new Industrial Estate which will create jobs in the area.

The third growth pole East Port of Spain Area.
The intervention here will also rely heavily on the creation of business incubators, initially targeting, the arts, culture and entertainment. We also propose to restore East Port of Spain into a ‘heritage city’ like Old Havana in Cuba or Old San Juan in Puerto Rico. These measures are expected to reduce the impact of poverty and steadily contribute to the economic health of these communities by optimizing existing entrepreneurial resources. We will establish a special task force, including civil society, UTT and UWI to develop a creative plan for a new entrepreneurship in small business development, particularly in East Port of Spain.

The fourth growth pole involves developing the North-Coast. We all know how difficult it is to access Maracas Bay through the North Coast Road. Currently, it takes approximately 45 minutes to get from Santa Cruz to Maracas Bay. Furthermore, landslips on the North Coast road are a major deterrent to persons wishing to access this scenic route for pleasure or business. As a result we will do a business plan for a new: ‘Connective Development Project’. This project would create an underground tunnel from Maracas Valley to Maracas Bay, to enable quicker access to the North Coast.

The fifth growth pole is in the North East region of Tobago where we will provide incentives for persons who are prepared to establish business enterprises particularly in St. John’s parish which stretches from Kings Bay on the Atlantic side to Parlatuvier on the Caribbean coast. Special preference will be given to persons who will be establishing businesses in the services sector, including commercial farming. A special financing facility will be established at the Agricultural Development Bank to augment other financing options.

Mr. Speaker, special fiscal incentives, including granting Free Trade Zone Status, and designating these areas to allow access to Agriculture, Tourism and Manufacturing tax incentives, will be given to provide the necessary support to ensure the success of these growth poles.

Increase in Art and Culture Allowance.
Mr. Speaker, we recognize the invaluable contribution made by the arts and culture in shaping Trinidad and Tobago’s heritage. As a result, the government will increase the Arts and Culture Allowance applicable under the Corporation Taxes Act from $1 million to $2 million. This measure is estimated to cost $10 million and will require amendments to the Corporation Tax Act, and will be effective from January 1 2011."

« Reply #46 on: September 09, 2010, 06:46:28 PM »
-No change to GATE, NONE.
-Increase in allowances on interest for new home owners up to $18000 ( for the first year   I believe)
-Continuation of some of the highway programmes including the Point Fortin to San Fernando highway.
-Reduced interest rates for farmer down from 6-8 % to 3-5 %
-Some assurance given to the future of UTT as expertise will be used in the Ship Building Industry that is -purported to be the replace for the Smelter programme.
-Divestment of some CLF assets

The government has indicated its support for the use of CNG as it clearly indicates its intention to remove of decrease the transportation fuel subsidy. I am not an expert in this area but I always had the impression that CNG is not economical for larger vehicles like buses and trucks. If so the reduced fuel subsidy will inevitably lead to increase transportation costs and drive up the inflation rate further.

The decision to construct a tunnel to Maracas is too ludicrous for further commentary.

« Reply #47 on: September 09, 2010, 07:54:04 PM »
I am not an expert in this area but I always had the impression that CNG is not economical for larger vehicles like buses and trucks. If so the reduced fuel subsidy will inevitably lead to increase transportation costs and drive up the inflation rate further.

I'm no expert either... but I doubt that's the case.  In most of the larger cities here in the US the bus fleets have been converted to, or are in the process of being converted to natural gas... been the push the past 10 yrs or so.  Trucks I'm not certain of... certainly it's economically viable, but the reason trucks run on diesel I believe is because torque for torque the diesel engine is more powerful.  The heavy duty jobs that trucks take on require that powerful engine... I don't know anything about mechanical engineering or fuel science to really comment on if natural gas can suffice as a diesel replacement.

« Reply #48 on: September 09, 2010, 08:02:33 PM »
I am not an expert in this area but I always had the impression that CNG is not economical for larger vehicles like buses and trucks. If so the reduced fuel subsidy will inevitably lead to increase transportation costs and drive up the inflation rate further.

I'm no expert either... but I doubt that's the case.  In most of the larger cities here in the US the bus fleets have been converted to, or are in the process of being converted to natural gas... been the push the past 10 yrs or so.  Trucks I'm not certain of... certainly it's economically viable, but the reason trucks run on diesel I believe is because torque for torque the diesel engine is more powerful.  The heavy duty jobs that trucks take on require that powerful engine... I don't know anything about mechanical engineering or fuel science to really comment on if natural gas can suffice as a diesel replacement.
If so I wonder if we will take similar steps here with the PTSC taking initiative and private owners following.

« Reply #49 on: September 09, 2010, 10:12:12 PM »

If so I wonder if we will take similar steps here with the PTSC taking initiative and private owners following.

They should... when I was in DC it was a major PR nightmare until Metro finally decided to step up the conversion.  Today the images below are commonplace:

Note the "Go Green" on to the top of this "accordion" bus...

« Reply #50 on: September 09, 2010, 10:14:55 PM »
Imbert calls budget irresponsible and disappointing

Finance Minister Winston Dookeran's national budget presentation was disappointing and irresponsible, Opposition MP Colm Imbert said yesterday.

"I saw very strange things in the budget that made no sense to me," Imbert told the Express.

He explained that Dookeran made the statement that it was the job of his Government to balance the revenue and the expenditure, "then announces that revenue is expected to be $41 billion and expenditure 49, so there is an eight billion dollar gap between the money coming in and the money going out, an eight billion dollar deficit, which is the largest budget deficit ever in the history of this country. Continue...http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Imbert_calls_budget_irresponsible_and_disappointing-102502404.html

« Reply #51 on: September 10, 2010, 08:58:09 AM »

They should... when I was in DC it was a major PR nightmare until Metro finally decided to step up the conversion.  Today the images below are commonplace:

Note the "Go Green" on to the top of this "accordion" bus...

They could probably make it mandatory within 5 years.

« Reply #52 on: September 10, 2010, 09:32:12 PM »
Thx Jah Gol and Tallest.

Re: CNG

I believe this was introduced a number of yrs ago in city buses and taxis here in Hamilton with success.

As I saids previously this is a PNM budget!!~!!
« Reply #53 on: September 12, 2010, 12:20:36 AM »
Partnership's PNM budget
By Kevin Baldeosingh

Story Created: Sep 12, 2010 at 12:39 AM ECT

(Story Updated: Sep 12, 2010 at 12:39 AM ECT )

If the budget documents laid in Parliament last Wednesday by the People's Partnership are to be believed, the PNM administration was doing an excellent job before getting booted out of office in the May 24 general election.

This, the core theme of the Social Sector Investment Programme (SSIP), which gives the policy and expenditure details on measures outlined in the budget presentation made by Finance Minister Winston Dookeran. These reports started in 2003, and they usually give a good snapshot of Trinidad and Tobago's social profile in any given year. The SSIPs are professionally done, draw on multiple sources for fairly current data, and appear largely free of political bias. However, the 2011 report is far less competent than its predecessors.

For one thing, this SSIP talks about plans implemented by the Ministry of the People and Social Development, even though this Ministry under that name didn't exist when the named policies were being pursued. For example, the report boasts that "The Ministry of the People and Social Development received $2.4 billion dollars (15 per cent) towards improving the standard of living of all citizens, with particular emphasis on the vulnerable. This is in keeping with Government's allocations for previous years: 14 per cent in 2008 and 16 per cent in 2009." And, out of six items on the new Ministry's legislative agenda, only one is different from the last Ministry's.

This might be just labelling, but the data are also less in-depth than in previous reports. For example, in respect to education, the 2010 SSIP gives a breakdown of the number of male and female students passing none to nine subjects in CXC, as well as the percentage of students passing zero to nine subjects by school type. The 2011 SSIP, however, gives only tertiary enrolment figures and T&T's international ranking on four indicators. The 2010 report tells you the rates of inflation and unemployment between 2000 and 2008 and employment by sex. The 2011 report is content with a table on "Financial Support to Vulnerable Groups".

Apart from superficiality, the data presented are sometimes misleading. For example, the 2011 SSIP notes that, "According to the Global Competitiveness Report 2009/2010, life expectancy for Trinidad and Tobago fell from rank 87 in 2008/2009 to 88 in 2009/2010; while infant mortality dropped significantly from 67 to 94 for the same period." A cursory reading might suggest that fewer babies are dying at birth in T&T, but in fact the ranking runs from high to low out of 134 countries, so our placing actually got worse over the past two years. Moreover, unless the 27 countries that pulled ahead of us improved their infant mortality rates significantly, this indicator, which is used by policy analysts as a key development measure, means that more babies are dying in T&T in recent years.

In nearly every area, the SSIP cites improvements. Even in respect to serious crimes, one table lists extraordinary decreases: a 63 per cent drop in gang-related murders, an 18 per cent reduction in drug offences, and a 28 per cent decline in kidnappings. Former national security minister Martin Joseph had continually promised this.

Addressing the needs of poor people, the SSIP says, "In fiscal 2010, a plethora of initiatives were undertaken to combat poverty and reduce vulnerability", adding that these measures were "administered primarily by the Ministries of the People and Social Development, Health, Sport and Youth Affairs and the Office of the Prime Minister." This means that former ministers Amery Browne, Jerry Narace, Gary Hunt, and Patrick Manning should receive the credit.

Indeed, the SSIP even lists several achievements of the Health Ministry which must have happened under Narace's tenure. These include the completion of four health centres, one health facility, and two mental health centres. One curious detail: Narace was most criticised for being stingy about financial aid to patients, especially children. Yet, according to the SSIP, $4 million was allocated in 2010 to "Necessitous Patients", whereas no money has been given under this category in the 2011 budget. Nonetheless, social spending is set to increase under the new Government. Table 1 (below) lists the budget allocations for spending on education and health.

A lacuna also exists in respect to CEPEP and URP. CEPEP got $319 million in 2010, but has no allocation in the 2011 SSIP. During the period October 2009 to June 2010, just over 7,000 persons were employed by CEPEP. That works out to about $45,000 per person, or $5000 per month, but this figure is less when pay-offs for contractors, equipment, and administration are factored in.

URP appears to be better paid, since that programme got $441 million in the 2010 budget and the SSIP reveals that "22,394 persons received temporary unemployment relief". That works out to $20,000 per person. As with CEPEP, there is no URP allocation listed in the 2011 SSIP. Since these programmes have not been discontinued by the Partnership, the money is presumably somewhere: it's just not in the SSIP or the Public Sector Investment Programme (PSIP).

Another odd figure has to do with tertiary education. The Report says that in 2001, there were just 12,411 students enrolled in four major tertiary level institutions (UWI, COSTAATT, The T&T Hospitality and Tourism Institute, and the University of the Southern Caribbean). By March 2010, this figure had increased to 35,208. In his budget presentation, Finance Minister Winston Dookeran said that the Government would expand the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE) programme and that the aim was "to increase the participation rate in higher education to 60 per cent". In 2007, former prime minister Patrick Manning also said, "We plan to increase the enrollment to 60 per cent of this age cohort by the year 2015." The cohort was 17- to 25-year-olds, and according to the Central Statistical Office there are about 184,000 people in this age group. That means only 19 per cent are enrolling for tertiary education, or perhaps 25 per cent if other tertiary institutes are factored in. Still, 60 per cent is an ambitious goal, even though Mr Dookeran was smarter than Mr Manning in giving no time-frame.

Finally, Appendix V of the 2011 SSIP gives the "status of new programmes, policies and initiatives that were planned for implementation in fiscal 2010". Of the 17 listed, five are apparently completed, five are in progress, and seven are on hold or not started. Not a bad score-card for a regime that was removed from office in such a comprehensive electoral defeat.

« Reply #54 on: September 14, 2010, 06:08:54 PM »
Explain your arithmetic, Mr Dookeran
Today's Editorial
Published: 14 Sep 2010
Today's Editorial
One of the interesting points coming out of all of the post-budget analyses and discussions that have been held, and continue to be held, in the wake of last Wednesday’s presentation of the 2011 fiscal programme by Finance Minister Winston Dookeran is that the People’s Partnership administration proposes to spend more money in the upcoming fiscal year than the previous administration estimated that it would spend in the current fiscal year, which ends in two weeks time.

While Mr Dookeran referred to the “profligate spending” of the previous administration, the reality is that the central government’s total expenditure in the 2010 fiscal year is projected to close at $45.8 billion, which, according to budget documents made public on the day of the budget presentation, represents an increase of 0.1 per cent over spending in the 2009 fiscal year. On the other hand, the current Minister of Finance proposes to appropriate $49 billion, which means that total expenditure in the 2011 fiscal year would be higher by about nine per cent than the current fiscal year. There is also the issue of whether the revenue projections made last week by Mr Dookeran are realistic.

Faced with the reality of an uncertain international environment, the previous administration predicated the 2010 budget—which runs from October 1, 2009 to September 30, 2010—on weighted average oil and natural gas prices of US$55 per barrel and US$2.75 per thousand cubic feet, respectively. Based on those estimates of how T&T’s two main exports would perform, the previous administration had predicted that this country would earn $36.6 billion in revenue, while spending $44.4 billion. The initial estimate, therefore, was for a fiscal deficit of $7.7 billion. Good fortune has smiled on this country during the 2010 fiscal year and in the Review of the Economy, 2010, the Ministry of Finance reports that “based on the revised estimates for 2010, total revenue is projected to be $41,982.7 million,” which is $5.3 billion more than the initial estimate of $36.6 billion.

This increased revenue position is due largely to higher oil, natural gas and petrochemical prices on the international market. Over the period October 2009 to June 2010, the price of a barrel of West Texas Intermediate, the benchmark for T&T crude, averaged US$77.50, as compared to US$53.57 during the first nine months of fiscal 2009, representing an increase of 44.7 per cent. For the same period, the benchmark average price of T&T’s LNG exports, which account for 48 per cent of the natural gas utilised in this country, was US$4.74 per thousand cubic feet. The point here is that based on a realised price for the first nine months of the 2010 fiscal year of US$77.50 per barrel for oil and US$4.74 per unit for natural gas, the T&T economy generated $42 billion.

The question, therefore, is whether Mr Dookeran is being realistic in expecting to generate $41.3 billion during 2011 with oil pegged at US$65 a barrel and natural gas at US$2.75 per unit. This question is particularly relevant given the fact that the Government proposes to reduce the petroleum profit tax from 55 per cent to 35 per cent for profits derived from the exploration of deep-water blocks and other tax breaks for energy companies aimed at encouraging them to undertake new exploration.

It could be that the Government expects to earn a great deal of revenue from the privatisation of state assets, which is a policy position that this newspaper strongly supports. But in the absence of strong capital revenues, there are some aspects of the arithmetic of the 2011 budget that do not compute at this time and which, therefore, would require further explanation from the Minister of Finance.

Article Tools

« Reply #55 on: September 20, 2010, 04:48:58 PM »
Former Prime minister Patrick Manning gets into a comfortable mode during yesterday budget debate. Photo: Jennifer Watson

« Reply #56 on: September 20, 2010, 04:51:54 PM »
A True Trini budget
By Kevin Baldeosingh

The People's Partnership's first budget seems to have met with approval from a wide cross-section of the society. Not the cross People's National Movement, of course, which bases its objections on the claim that the Government is just implementing past PNM policies. Some commentators have found this contradictory, but their criticism is obviously absurd. After all, Dr Keith Rowley became leader of the PNM by bad-talking the policies of the past PNM regime, so it is perfectly logical that he should criticise any budget which uses PNM policies. You might think that, even more logically, he should therefore stop being a PNM: but that logical principle is based on ethical principles and, once ethics are involved, the PNM is not. See how it all hangs together? Continue ..http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commentaries/A_true_Trini_budget-103111949.html

« Reply #57 on: September 20, 2010, 05:49:28 PM »
A True Trini budget
By Kevin Baldeosingh

The People's Partnership's first budget seems to have met with approval from a wide cross-section of the society. Not the cross People's National Movement, of course, which bases its objections on the claim that the Government is just implementing past PNM policies. Some commentators have found this contradictory, but their criticism is obviously absurd. After all, Dr Keith Rowley became leader of the PNM by bad-talking the policies of the past PNM regime, so it is perfectly logical that he should criticise any budget which uses PNM policies. You might think that, even more logically, he should therefore stop being a PNM: but that logical principle is based on ethical principles and, once ethics are involved, the PNM is not. See how it all hangs together? Continue ..http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commentaries/A_true_Trini_budget-103111949.html

Dais a big lie, I never write dat shit!

T&T Budget Thread.
« Reply #58 on: June 22, 2011, 05:29:40 AM »
Don’t bully Tobago, we want $3.9B
By KARL E CUPID (newsday).
Tobago Bureau
Wednesday, June 22 2011

SECRETARY of Finance in the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Anselm London yesterday delivered the assembly’s budget for 2011/2012, declaring that Tobagonians cannot be bought, bullied or bribed. He then asked the People’s Partnership Government to provide $3.9 billion for the THA to run Tobago’s affairs.

In delivering his two-hour long budget speech at a special sitting of the THA at Assembly Chamber in Scarborough, a fiery London said the PNM-controlled assembly would resist, in and out of the courts, all efforts by Central Government to “recolonise” Tobago.

While the assembly is PNM-controlled, the two Tobago seats (Tobago East and West) are controlled by the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) whose members are Vernella Alleyne-Toppin and Delmon Baker respectively. The TOP is one of five political organisations making up the coalition government.

London advised Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar that the May 24, 2010 General Election was long gone and it is time to govern. “This requires a level of maturity that sets aside issues of politics, rank and personality that can divide us,” he said.

According to figures outlined in the budget package, the $3.9 billion that the THA is seeking is further broken down to:

* $2.1 billion for Recurrent Expenditure

* $1.7 billion for Development

* $88.3 million for the Unemployment Relief Programme (URP) and

* $36 million for the Community-based Environmental Protection and Enhancement Programme (CEPEP)

The $3.9 billion demand from Central Government represents an increase of some $400 million over the $3.5 billion requested by the THA for the last 2010/2011 financial year, when the PNM was in Government.

‘Protecting Tobago’s Heritage’ was the theme of London’s Budget Statement which was predicated on a six-point underpinning plank – embracing higher education; marketing Tobago tourism; monetising culture and arts; owning land; strengthening indigenous entrepreneurship and reforming constitutional arrangements.

London launched a scathing attack on the People’s Partnership Government for its alleged “disrespect” of the Assembly and people of Tobago, as well as what he said were efforts at recolonisation of the island.

“What we have seen over the past year is a deliberate calculated effort by the UNC-led Central Government coalition, of which the minority (membership) in this House is a part, to disrespect, denigrate and destroy the people of Tobago, their culture and their institutions,” London charged.

“There are essentially two options available to us. We can join with Central Government in continuing the disregard for our distinct Tobago culture of which the Prime Minister and her Cabinet knows so little, or as Tobagonians regardless of our political stripes and with one voice, we can come together to consolidate the gains that the Assembly and the people made over the past 30 years, protect our heritage and engage in the relentless pursuit of greater economic, social and political welfare,” London said.

“The proposed estimates do not represent a request for concessional resources from an unequal partner or an island ward or some other subservient and subordinate body, but an expression of the rights of Tobagonians, framed in the context of the ruling of the Dispute Resolution Commission to which we all are bound.”

THA Minority Leader Ashworth Jack, who is political leader of the TOP and who reacted to London’s speech saying it was two hours of time wasted, would lead off the budget debate in the Chamber on Friday.

T&T Budget Thread.
« Reply #59 on: October 11, 2011, 04:06:11 AM »
$55B BUDGET
By Andre Bagoo (Newsday).
Tuesday, October 11 2011

FINANCE Minister Winston Dookeran yesterday unveiled a record-breaking $55 billion fiscal plan which offered “carrots” to citizens to encourage trade and tax payments, but at the same time introduced a series of stiff penalties in order to deter habits which drain the Treasury.

In the second People’s Partnership coalition Budget, Dookeran announced a bold series of new initiatives to benefit pensioners, the disabled, low-income home owners, suffering Clico/HCU policyholders and small business owners. Most notably, the minimum national insurance retirement pension will be increased to $3,000.

At the same time, Dookeran introduced a raft of stiff penalties and licence fees in relation to the fuel trade, most notably a $3 million fine for persons caught exporting or attempting to export volumes of fuel in excess of 160,000 litres without authorisation. Tighter regulations targeted students, illegal traders, insouciant companies, delinquent VAT payers and gamblers.

While there were stiffer penalties, there were no new taxes in the Budget. However, the size of the Budget swelled to the unprecedented scale of $54.6 billion in total expenditures (up from last year’s $49 billion projection) but the projected deficit fell to $7.6 billion, down from last year’s projected $7.7 billion. Tobago got an allocation of $2 billion.

Piloting the Appropriation (Financial Year 2012) Bill at a historic first sitting of the House of Representatives at Tower D, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain, the Finance Minister took two hours and forty-three minutes to unveil his plan for the coming year, amid concerns over the local and international economic outlook.

On pensions, he said the minimum pension benefit was last year moved to a $3,000 allowance but inequities remained.

“Despite persons insured under the National Insurance System making contributions via monthly deductions from their salaries, the minimum National Insurance retirement benefit remained unchanged from the sum of $2,000,” he told MPs and specially invited guests at the first floor Parliament chamber of Tower D.

“In order to bring equity to the system, the minimum national insurance retirement pension will be increased to $3,000 per month during fiscal year 2012.”

This increase would be part funded, he said, by an increase in the insurable monthly income ceiling from $8,300 to $10,000.

Additionally, a waiver of outstanding NIB payments was announced for all payment of penalties and interest on outstanding contributions. The proposed waiver is to be applicable until June 30, 2012, and is only applicable on amounts owed up to October 10, 2011. Additionally, NIB benefits are to be simplified.

“We intend to eliminate the complicated and time–consuming benefit structure for retirement benefits by moving from a fixed earning class and dollar figure to a percentage of salary,” he said.

“This will be one percent of salary, up to a maximum of $10,000, for each of the insured’s years of contribution. A worker earning $10,000 per month, having contributed for thirty-one years, will simply be entitled to one percent of $10,000 multiplied by the total years of contribution, in this case 31, which will give him a pension of $3,100 per month. This measure will come into effect during fiscal 2012.”

Dookeran said efforts will be made to have 115,000 self-employed persons currently not paying NIB contribution to be incorporated into the scheme.

Disability grants substantially widened with the introduction of grants for single mothers who are the sole care-givers of a special child and where the household income is inadequate to support the family. Furthermore, individuals who are disabled will automatically qualify for food support under the Food Card programme.

All persons with a disability will be able to access free transport on the PTSC system and specially-designed buses designed for the differently-abled will be made available. Also, families with a child who is disabled will automatically receive food support via the TT Food Card. Disabled persons will also be entitled to a $5,000 scholarship under the Rise Up training programme.

Prospective homeowners also came away with something from the 2012 Budget.

“Government has decided through the Trinidad and Tobago Mortgage Finance Company Limited to provide mortgages at reduced interest rates,” the COP Tunapuna MP said. “Mortgage rates which are currently at 6 to 8 percent will be reduced to 5 to 7 percent. This will benefit over 13,000 homeowners and will become effective during 2012. This mechanism will be reviewed annually.”

The home purchase or construction subsidy will now move to up to a maximum of $50,000 per eligible household for homes costing $200,000 in Trinidad and $220,000 in Tobago, the Finance Minister said.

In relation to the State’s plan to deal with Clico/HCU product holders, Dookeran noted that persons accepting bonds of 11 to 20-year terms will be able to cash them in for tradable trust units in a new scheme. Dividend and income earned from the Clico Trust, he said, would be tax- free.

Consumers will also be encouraged to invest their money in organisations covered by deposit insurance with an increase in the coverage provided from $75,000 to $100,000 for deposit holders of commercial banks and non-banks licences under the Financial Institutions Act 2008. At the same time, legislation will be brought to preserve the rights of deposit-holders to sue organisations intervened in by the Central Bank.

Small and medium-sized businesses are also set to get a boost with incentives to encourage trading on a special small and medium enterprises (SME) tier of the stock market. SMEs with capital between $5 million but less than $50 million and listed on the SME market for trading purposes would be allowed a discounted ten percent corporation tax rate for the first five years.

The Government will continue its move to use divestment of State enterprises to fund special purpose enterprises by widening their capital bases. Scheduled for public share offerings are: First Citizens Bank, the Point Lisas Industrial Port Development Corporation Limited (Plipdeco). The Home Mortgage Bank and the Trinidad and Tobago Mortgage Bank are to be merged and an initial public offer made.

The National Infrastructure Bank will also be established to address financing for infrastructural projects.

In terms of VAT, the threshold for VAT qualification was raised from $200,000 to $360,000, effectively $30,000 per month. While the Budget heralded these incentives and benefits, it also served up some measures to tighten the value for money spent by the State.

Students who benefit from free, GATE-funded tertiary education will no longer have carte blanche funding. Instead, they will only be eligible for continued funding if they perform at a certain academic level.

Gaming establishments, too, face a crackdown.

“We recognise that thousands of persons are employed in this industry. In these circumstances, Mr Speaker, Government signals its intention to enforce the provisions of the law relating to Private Members Clubs to ensure that they comply with regulatory standards.” Stiffer Betting Levy Board fines were also announced.

“We therefore propose to increase the penalty for contravention of the licence requirement from $50,000 to $250,000. Further instances, where the licensee of a licensed betting office fails to pay the levy, the fine payable on summary conviction will be increased from $50,000 to $250,000,” he said. Regulations for the industry are to also be brought to Parliament.

VAT penalties are also to be increased, though the Minister did not give specifics.

While the $4 billion fuel subsidy remains in place, businesses in the gas and petroleum sector are to feel the pinch as the State regulates the fuel industry.

The Petroleum Act is to be amended to introduce stiffer penalties including: $3 million for illegal trade of more than 160,000 litres; and penalties of $600,000 to $150,000 for volumes between 160,000 and less than 40,000.

Anybody who violates Section 6(2) of the Petroleum Act (which targets unlicenced operators) will now be fined $300,000 up from $30,000 and $5,000 per day, up from $1,500 per day. For breaking the rules of the regulations set out in the Act the summary conviction fine is now $150,000, up from $15,000, and $3,000 per day, up from $300.

Gas stations are to feel the pinch with higher licence fees for increasing retail operations. For the first time, the fees will be linked to trade volumes with a $1,000 fee for sales of gasoline and diesel of less than 1,000,000 litres, a $2,000 fee for sales less than 5,000,000 litres and $4,000 for stations with sales in excess of that.

The licence for fuel peddling will move from $50 to $1,000, a twenty-fold increase. To transport fuel will now incur a $500 fee. New pipeline fees, ranging from $40,000 to $5,000, will be introduced in relation to natural gas transmission. Fees for CNG operations ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 are to be imposed.

New petroleum licences are to be introduced for petroleum operations, with exploration, production, refining, liquefaction, transportation, marketing and petrochemical operations licences moving from $4,000 to $40,000.

There will be tighter regulations to deal with port security. Containers, Dookeran said, would be subject to tighter regulations.

Companies that are late in filing updated paperwork to the Companies Registry also face a crackdown. The penalty for late filing of documents will be increased to $500 for the period of non- compliance. However, there will be a brief waiver period until June 30, 2012.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2019, 04:18:18 PM by Flex »