March 28, 2024, 02:37:49 PM

Author Topic: US Open 2010  (Read 3386 times)

US Open 2010
« on: September 01, 2010, 09:25:14 PM »
Anyone watching the Open as yet? I was over there last week for the qualifyings and saw a match with two fellas that totally mesmerised the crowd. Two fellas playing and in the last set both of them cramped out. It was total pandemonium. Man cyar walk but chasing after a ball like they life depended on it. This guy Ryan Harrison hopping on one foot all over the place between points, cyar walk but run down a ball on the run and hit a blistering shot up the line for a winner. The crazy thing is he did it over and over again to win the match. After the match the crowd stood up and gave a rousing round of applause to the players for their will and courage under difficult circumstances.

Next day after that encounter he show up and played another monster match braking his opponent in the last two games of the final set to qualify for the main draw. I say this is madness. Low and behold he show up and beat a highly ranked player today in the main.

His name is Ryan Harrison keep an eye out for him and see how far he get in this tournament. He may not do much for the rest of his career but great guts on the court. 
« Last Edit: September 01, 2010, 09:27:40 PM by pass(10trini) »

Re: US Open 2010
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2010, 07:58:12 AM »
Anyone watching the Open as yet? I was over there last week for the qualifyings and saw a match with two fellas that totally mesmerised the crowd. Two fellas playing and in the last set both of them cramped out. It was total pandemonium. Man cyar walk but chasing after a ball like they life depended on it. This guy Ryan Harrison hopping on one foot all over the place between points, cyar walk but run down a ball on the run and hit a blistering shot up the line for a winner. The crazy thing is he did it over and over again to win the match. After the match the crowd stood up and gave a rousing round of applause to the players for their will and courage under difficult circumstances.

Next day after that encounter he show up and played another monster match braking his opponent in the last two games of the final set to qualify for the main draw. I say this is madness. Low and behold he show up and beat a highly ranked player today in the main.

His name is Ryan Harrison keep an eye out for him and see how far he get in this tournament. He may not do much for the rest of his career but great guts on the court. 

Harrison is about 17-18 years old too... maybe one for de future

I went last night and watch Clijsters mash up Sally Peers and then Roddick pop down against Janko Tipsonofabitch or something so

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2010, 09:01:01 PM »
I didn't recognised he was that young. Hope you enjoyed the matches

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2010, 10:30:00 PM »
There is some Jamaican representation at the open. Good luck to Brown.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/tennis/8964450.stm

Andy Murray to face Jamaican Dustin Brown at US Open 
US Open, Flushing Meadows
Dates: 30 August - 12 September Start time: 1600 BST
Coverage: Live text commentary on BBC Sport website and mobiles; updates on BBC Radio 5 live; live on Sky Sports

Andy Murray looks in great shape to continue his run at Flushing Meadows

Britain's Andy Murray goes into the unknown once again when he takes on Dustin Brown of Jamaica in the second round of the US Open on Friday.

Murray will take on Brown for the first time in the third match on Arthur Ashe Stadium at around 2000 BST.

However, the predicted arrival of Hurricane Earl could hit New York and trouble the Flushing Meadows schedule.

Top seed - and potential semi-final opponent for Murray - Rafael Nadal plays Denis Istomin in the night match.

Despite the tantalising prospect of a clash with Nadal further down the line, Murray is not looking beyond his next match.

I'm going to definitely play my type of tennis, play aggressive, try to keep the points short

Dustin Brown
"I need to play my best, and am not really thinking that much about Roger and Rafa right now because I'm only in the second round," said the Scot.

"That's disrespectful to all the other guys that you might have to play on the road to get there to think about playing against them.

"For me, I love playing against those guys, but you've seen someone like Berdych, who has been great in the Grand Slams this year, lost in straight sets; Soderling nearly went out the other day; Djokovic nearly went out. It's so pointless thinking ahead. I say it every Grand Slam."

Click to play
C
Murray happy with US Open start
Brown, 25, made history in the first round when he beat Ruben Ramirez Hidalgo to become the first Jamaican man to post a victory at a Grand Slam tournament since 1974.

And the world number 123 has talked about possibly representing Great Britain in the Davis Cup as he has a British grandparent.

Asked what kind of match he could expect against Murray on Friday, Brown joked: "A tough one probably. I'm going to definitely play my type of tennis, play aggressive, try to keep the points short.

"I've seen that he's a very good returner, so I'll have to see how it works out, how I'm serving, if it's possible to play serve and volley or have to play from the baseline."

Murray admits that he has not seen much of Brown but his mother, Judy, was courtside watching the Jamaican's first match.

606: DEBATE
Your thoughts on Murray's chances 
"I've heard about him," said the fourth seed. "He's got a big game, serves and volleys a lot and is very different to a lot of players on the tour. He's a good athlete. I haven't seen him play, so another unknown opponent really.

"You've got to try and get your tactics right. You do need to concentrate on your own game as well but it's important to know about your opponent and try and find out, even if it's just little bits and pieces about them that might help you in the match."

« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2010, 10:12:33 PM »
Surprised nobody posted about the fight in the stands yet...

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/E19D_-h9MIo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/E19D_-h9MIo</a>

« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2010, 08:04:43 AM »
why everybody want d young fella to get thrown out? as far as i see, he wasnt wrong. fat woman slap him, he didnt retaliate, an den old man rush him like ah ass. but yet d crowd want d guards to throw him out  ???

americans different yes  :-\

« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2010, 08:15:22 AM »
why everybody want d young fella to get thrown out? as far as i see, he wasnt wrong. fat woman slap him, he didnt retaliate, an den old man rush him like ah ass. but yet d crowd want d guards to throw him out  ???

REAL DIFFERENT

« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2010, 08:16:34 AM »

Agreed. The woman slapped him (he didn't retaliate) and then her companion rushed him. I know it's an old man, but if someone punches you in the face, what are you supposed to do?

If anything else, the woman and old man should have been thrown out. It's debatable whether the younger man should have been escorted out of the stands, but the woman and old man should definitely been thrown out.

« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2010, 08:20:52 AM »

Yuh cyah say "Americans different"... not defending them, but if yuh read the YouTube comments you'll see that the vast majority of people supporting him.  Most of the comments you can tell are from 'Americans'.  Now I would agree with you that the people in the stands is some ass... especially the camera man or whoever it was around him talking all dat shit. I guarantee you if was me de story woulda end much different... especially with regards tuh de "heroes" who decide tuh rush tuh she rescue after she assault de fella once, threaten to "smack you again", then put she hands on him again near the end.

--------------------------------------

Kaliman, de young fella needed to go, he was  being ah ass.  I wasn't there obviously but the story is that she confront him over he salty language (remember dis is de tennis crowd we dealing with) and he continue to be obnoxious in dat regard... I think this is why most of the hypocrites support she and she father.  But that said, this is why you climb yuh fat ass down the steps and call security... doh let yuh mouth write ah check yuh fadda old ass cyah cash.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2010, 08:23:54 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2010, 09:34:35 PM »
Lets go Venussssssssss

« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2010, 01:19:56 AM »
ah backing Serena as usual

« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2010, 06:28:09 AM »

FROM D COMMENTATOR CHAIR

LOUDDDDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSSSSSS VENUSSSSSSSSS I remember u yday and textin peeps 4 score and yuh loose.

« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2010, 07:47:24 AM »

FROM D COMMENTATOR CHAIR

LOUDDDDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSSSSSS VENUSSSSSSSSS I remember u yday and textin peeps 4 score and yuh loose.

venus wid she usual unforced errors nah. steups. dis open was hers to win. maybe if she wore d glitter dress yesterday, she would have won  :-\
dat mannish lookin clijsters. cant stand dat woman. she good, but ah jus cant stand her

« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2010, 06:32:06 PM »
clisters have a dread pigeon toe but that gyul have an arsenal of shots...i takin in de womens final now.  i vex venus not dere but say what.

i cannot believe meh boy federer lost to djokovic today...this open is nadal's to lose...unless djokovic could finally make the step up.

« Reply #14 on: September 12, 2010, 09:08:11 AM »
this is truly a golden era for Spanish sports.  Spain are European and World Champs in football, Contador is dominating cycling and Nadal is working on his 3rd grand slam for the year and 9th of his career.

« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2010, 06:07:00 PM »
RAIN MATCH FINISHIN 2MOR

« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2010, 05:09:50 PM »
clisters have a dread pigeon toe but that gyul have an arsenal of shots...i takin in de womens final now.  i vex venus not dere but say what.

i cannot believe meh boy federer lost to djokovic today...this open is nadal's to lose...unless djokovic could finally make the step up.

She could play !..even if ah man is not a fan he have to give jack its jacket

« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2010, 08:08:50 PM »
nadal complete the grand slam...djokovic win de 2nd set but in de 3rd set u could see him getting tired....dat nadal is a beast.   

federer is #3 in the rankings now...i know he ent "gorn tru" but i feel he will see pressure to win a title now, too much young lions on de prowl.

« Reply #18 on: September 14, 2010, 05:59:27 AM »
Federer is a contender in every tournament as long as nadal is not there. ;D

Nadal is a monster, no doubt. The immediate future looks glim for the rest of the players on the Tennis tour if nadal stays fit.

« Reply #19 on: September 14, 2010, 06:47:37 AM »
Nadal really fit.

Djokovic have the talent to make it a bona fide rivalry but he just couldn't compete as the match drew on.

High-level tennis is the best sport to watch I feel and dem 2 fellas are ridiculously good at their craft. 

Federer seems to be past it.  To me, he seems different ever since he lost that 5 setter to Nadal in Wimbledon last year.  Before when he lost he used to be a picture of genuine anguish; now he taking it more in stride.