March 28, 2024, 10:43:53 AM

Author Topic: Catholic Priest Lashes out at Govt plan to enforce hanging  (Read 2257 times)

Catholic Priest Lashes out at Govt plan to enforce hanging
« on: September 06, 2010, 11:26:20 PM »
Priest peeved by Govt plan to enforce hanging
By Akile Simon

ROMAN CATHOLIC priest, Fr Reginald Hezekiah, has lashed out at Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar's plan to carry out the death penalty.

The contentious issue of returning to the hangman was first raised by Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner. The issue was supported by members of the public, several of Warner's colleagues and most recently Justice Minister Herbert Volney, who last week called for the hangings to be done in public.

Speaking during mass at the St Charles' RC Church in Tunapuna on Sunday evening, however, Hezekiah said it was morally incorrect for Persad-Bissessar's Government to decide to hang convicted murderers..Continue..http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Priest_peeved_by_Govt_plan_to_enforce_hanging-102316689.html

Re: Catholic Priest Lashes out at Govt plan to enforce hanging
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2010, 10:41:54 AM »
hang he fuss.

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2010, 10:45:57 AM »
What else do you expect the catholic church to say?  Please......As long as they are given a fair trial and they are proven guilty, I see no issues with the death penalty....

« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2010, 11:11:05 AM »
Say no to Capital Punishment. It is wrong.

« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2010, 03:12:32 PM »
Killing innocent ppl for their own property and in some cases for fackry! is also wrong. i say an eye for an eye and ah tooth for ah tooth. i also say hang dey mudda a$$!

« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2010, 05:06:54 PM »
Killing innocent ppl for their own property and in some cases for fackry! is also wrong. i say an eye for an eye and ah tooth for ah tooth. i also say hang dey mudda a$$!

:thumbsup:

Corbeaux

« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2010, 05:58:33 PM »
 Jus cause d death penalty seemz 2 be d only option 2 curb crime doesn't make the taking ov enyones life right...

« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2010, 07:09:46 PM »

Just note around the world there are people who have been saved from the death penalty having proclaimed their innocence for years some times decades.....but say wha......hang dey a$$ for true.... ::) ::)

« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2010, 07:46:21 AM »
I don't believe this is the thing these ppl trying to get done. Manning did it as well when he first came in office and the first man he hang it was believed was innocent of the charge. ? I hope this enthusiasm is curbed sooner than later. 

« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2010, 08:07:16 AM »
I don't believe this is the thing these ppl trying to get done. Manning did it as well when he first came in office and the first man he hang it was believed was innocent of the charge. ? I hope this enthusiasm is curbed sooner than later. 

Who Manning hang? Ashby? He was innocent?

« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2010, 08:35:27 AM »

Who Manning hang? Ashby?

an entire nation! and they were innocent.

« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2010, 08:43:16 AM »

Who Manning hang? Ashby?

an entire nation! and they were innocent.

Nah he provided d rope deyjust used it. As 4 innocene dey were just plain dotish

« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2010, 11:19:16 AM »
theese dumb muddaf**kers in the red house think hanging go solve we problem. dem assholes dont know getting raid of the corupt cops go solve all d prblems we country have.The cops dem not capable to investigate a murder. How much murder solve last year eh?..

« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2010, 05:01:17 PM »
theese dumb muddaf**kers in the red house think hanging go solve we problem. dem assholes dont know getting raid of the corupt cops go solve all d prblems we country have.The cops dem not capable to investigate a murder. How much murder solve last year eh?..
Have you ever heard of the term" a deterrent tuh crime?"

« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2010, 07:45:18 PM »
Before people jump up and say that capital punishment is right, I would like for allure to think about how corrupted and ancient our judicicial system is. Think about the real innocent people in jail who could be affected by this. The reason I am speaking like this, is because I had a class recently on the death penalty in America, and it made me think twice about embracing capital punishment.