April 29, 2024, 02:39:38 AM

Author Topic: 'Warriors' should be ashamed now  (Read 6086 times)

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
'Warriors' should be ashamed now
« on: September 07, 2010, 10:28:25 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/letters/_Warriors__should_be_ashamed_now-102314289.html

'Warriors' should be ashamed now

Story Created: Sep 6, 2010 at 10:38 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 6, 2010 at 10:38 PM ECT

The entire men's senior World Cup team that is trying to suck Jack Warner dry must be hanging their heads in shame after our team's most positive start in the FIFA under-17s Women's World Cup football competition.

The men's senior team has had numerous opportunities and exorbitant financial assistance over "donkey years" and want diamonds, pearls, rubies, gold and more money for mediocrity. Dey eh win ah game and dey want money, money, money and more money.

Jack Warner making magic to allow them to qualify yet still they seem hopeless every time they take the field.

In their first game the young ladies have done what those highly-paid professional paupers could not do, win ah game at the highest level.

At their every turn and after umpteen millions were spent on them, they are still promising to do better next time. Time gone boys. Do the honourable thing, apologise to Jack Warner for failing him and the country, buy a ticket for the games taking place now and see how to WIN on the field of play. If it were anyone else in Jack Warner's position, what would you do for the young ladies? What should be done is to look after those young ladies' educational needs and ensure they qualify in their career of choice, not gee dem money, money, money.

Stop the greediness and play the game with passion and financial rewards is icing on the cake.

Lystra Lythe

Sangre Grande
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Re: 'Warriors' should be ashamed now
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2010, 10:34:39 AM »
some people does get carried away eh

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2010, 10:35:28 AM »
I think people are getting it twisted what the Men's team accomplished in light of what the Women's team have done so far.

« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2010, 10:44:23 AM »
The euphoria of the win coupled with ignorance of the facts produced this tripe. That or she's on the payroll.

« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2010, 10:44:36 AM »
The Men's team had to QUALIFY for the World Cup

« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2010, 10:47:38 AM »
Father forgive them...... ::) ::)

« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2010, 10:51:35 AM »
Lystra Lythe sound like a fake name

« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2010, 10:51:43 AM »
Miss/Mrs Lythe from Sangre Grande is one of those serial letter writer. Chances are when you make that much noise at some point your vessel will be empty.  ::)

polyunsaturated  :bs:

« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2010, 11:02:31 AM »
mrs. lythe ah hope u does visit the forum....allow me to b the first to say yuh is ah c**t.

« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2010, 11:07:56 AM »
I was waiting to hear when somebody would say enough is enough,don't blame this Lady because i've been reading many posts like this on here since these girls did so well,we have been trashing our national men's team and Coach and comparing them with this U17 girls team,i don't see anything our men's have to be ashamed off because of how our girls performed,it's two totally different situations,come on peeps we are better than that,it seems we can only deal with success and not defeat,is the first time in a long time i've heard some positive things about JW and the TTFF.As harsh as she may sound i sense the emotions in what this woman had to say so lets just take it with a grain of salt.  

« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2010, 11:12:47 AM »
I know Lystra Lythe- She likes to write but does not get her facts straight. She is a pumpkin vine family of JW.
 The old school teacher type, moralistic and living in the past. She once wrote about me- All that glitters is not gold.

« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2010, 11:19:21 AM »
Check the ride eh...

Anybody remember how in the height of the blacklist, the U20 team became the hottest thing since sliced bread and you couldn't hear a peep about the MNT?

Now JW and co go ride these girls backs as far as they could take them.

How much you want to bet in a not too distant future we hearing that the paralympics football team is the future of the sport in this country  ::)

« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2010, 11:27:42 AM »

Well said !!!!! simple answer.

When did the ladies ever qualify for a world cup without being host - never.

Not taking anything away from them, they created history.

But the men did an excellent job, to qualify for the 1991 under 20 world cup, de 2007 under 17 world cup, de 2009 under 20 world cup and de 2006 senior world cup.

« Reply #13 on: September 07, 2010, 11:56:10 AM »
Let's not let our emotions cause this foolish article to spark retaliatory comments which take the shine off of our women's achievement.

Our soca princesses reading this forum need 100% positive vibes!!

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2010, 12:13:51 PM »

Well said !!!!! simple answer.

When did the ladies ever qualify for a world cup without being host - never.

Not taking anything away from them, they created history.

But the men did an excellent job, to qualify for the 1991 under 20 world cup, de 2007 under 17 world cup, de 2009 under 20 world cup and de 2006 senior world cup.

We have ah good ting goin... wid football n T&T...
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

Offline trinipepper

• addin fire to the flame ...izatrini
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2010, 12:16:19 PM »
Its a great accomplishment for the Trinidad and Tobago Men and Women National Football team under the guidance of foreign coaches .... just goes to show what we lacking when we have some jokers coaching... :beermug:

« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2010, 01:47:12 PM »
Lystra musbe was at the COE when JA hit us 3... ;D

« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2010, 01:51:48 PM »
It seem as doh we go hadda hold seminars around de country tuh educate people.

« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2010, 02:14:57 PM »
The woman ent 100% right but she ent 100% wrong.

The men has underachieved with all the resources they have. Ah pro league, tours, a long history of playing the sport at grass roots level.
We even had two of the best players not just in the Caribbean, not just in CONCACAF, but the World.
We had Dwight Yorke, we had Latapy, we even had Stern John like him or not he top 10 in the world ever in scoring goals for his country and we had Shaka Hislop. All top players. All in their prime.
And time after time we ent make no World Cup for many reasons (we all know most of the reasons)

So when this woman talk she talk, even though she ent all that right in his assessment she right enough.

When we send people to Olympics we want them to win a medal not just show up. Showing up to a World Cup isn't enough. Even Jamaica win ah game. So yeah the MNT show up for the World Cup but when you have the kinda players we've had play for T&T for years we should have been done better.

But the girls did good and doing good and even if some people going overboard somewhat, the girls deserve every bit of it.

« Reply #19 on: September 07, 2010, 02:57:30 PM »
The men has underachieved with all the resources they have.

Please elaborate.

« Reply #20 on: September 07, 2010, 03:14:19 PM »
Irnorance is bliss!!!!!!!

« Reply #21 on: September 07, 2010, 03:37:58 PM »
Check the ride eh...

Anybody remember how in the height of the blacklist, the U20 team became the hottest thing since sliced bread and you couldn't hear a peep about the MNT?

Now JW and co go ride these girls backs as far as they could take them.

How much you want to bet in a not too distant future we hearing that the paralympics football team is the future of the sport in this country  ::)

Come on tell me what else they have to ride on,for the longest while they have been taking licks left,right and centre,this will allow them to breed some fresh air ah little bit and then reality will rear it's ugly head again,don't forget our headache the men's national team is still there.

« Reply #22 on: September 07, 2010, 03:43:24 PM »

Please elaborate.

I'm talking about these players being in their prime.

Resources as in Yorke top player playing in a top league has access to top class training and one of the best in the world
Same for Latas
Same for Shaka
Same for Stern (to enough extent)
Then to lesser extent you have a supporting cast that was at least good enough for

Ato didn't win medals because he was based in T&T he win medals because he was exposed to training outside of T&T. Same with the others that represent T&T. Same with the girls in the U17. Those that exposed to better training better players around them like the captain rise to the occasion and perform.

So when you have players like that in the team you expect more, regardless. You can't just underachieve and blame the system. We in the US can't say we ent succeed because we grow up in hard life in T&T. We expose to better so we doing better. When dem come back they going Zen and all kinda BS. They wasn't serious.
That never transferred to the team as a whole. Ah know what ah talking bout lol. Trust meh

Dem fellas was in dey prime and getting level cutass fuh years. That 2006 team was never we most talented team. That team we take was one ah the oldest teams in the World Cup.

Yeah ah know long answer fuh ah short question. Buh yuh did ask to elaborate and yuh is Tallman so ah know is licks coming with the facts and figures  ;D
But ah really feel the team underachieved with the talent we had. Regardless of everything else.

« Reply #23 on: September 07, 2010, 03:53:12 PM »
The woman ent 100% right but she ent 100% wrong.

The men has underachieved with all the resources they have. Ah pro league, tours, a long history of playing the sport at grass roots level.
We even had two of the best players not just in the Caribbean, not just in CONCACAF, but the World.
We had Dwight Yorke, we had Latapy, we even had Stern John like him or not he top 10 in the world ever in scoring goals for his country and we had Shaka Hislop. All top players. All in their prime.
And time after time we ent make no World Cup for many reasons (we all know most of the reasons)

Maybe you should give the reasons.

« Reply #24 on: September 07, 2010, 04:00:30 PM »

What kinda seminars.... de kind where yuh cuff people behind dey head?  If so then I in dat.

« Reply #25 on: September 07, 2010, 04:00:44 PM »

Please elaborate.

Resources as in Yorke top player playing in a top league has access to top class training and one of the best in the world
Same for Latas
Same for Shaka
Then to lesser extent you have a supporting cast that was at least good enough for

Ato didn't win medals because he was based in T&T he win medals because he was exposed to training outside of T&T. Same with the others that represent T&T. Same with the girls in the U17. Those that exposed to better training better players around them like the captain rise to the occasion and perform.

So when you have players like that in the team you expect more, regardless. You can't just underachieve and blame the system. We in the US can't say we ent succeed because we grow up in hard life in T&T. We expose to better so we doing better. When dem come back they going Zen and all kinda BS. They wasn't serious.
That never transferred to the team as a whole. Ah know what ah talking bout lol. Trust meh

Dem fellas was in dey prime and getting level cutass fuh years. That 2006 team was never we most talented team. That team we take was one ah the oldest teams in the World Cup.

Yeah ah know long answer fuh ah short question. Buh yuh did ask to elaborate and yuh is Tallman so ah know is licks coming with the facts and figures  ;D
But ah really feel the team underachieved with the talent we had. Regardless of everything else.

you're acting like is a 4*100 team we're talking about. Singling out the status of 4 men, of which 3 did not even play for T&T as much as they could have up until they were past their prime is not giving any kind of credence to that bs argument down there. At best, all you're doing is putting the blame for us not qualifying pre 06 (and doing better in that tournament on 4 individuals, in complete isolation of the administrative framework they had to work in.

The Pro league is 10 years old. How many world cups have we "squandered" in the time its been up and running? I'm sure anyone could name countries that have never qualified with more "world class" talented players in their history than Trinidad has called up since 2006.

You need to come better than that.

All of a sudden some little girls win a won off game against some other little girls  and that invalidates an entire three campaigns of reaching the final regional round of qualifying for the world's biggest football tournament and actually making it to one of them?

« Reply #26 on: September 07, 2010, 04:01:33 PM »

What kinda seminars.... de kind where yuh cuff people behind dey head?  If so then I in dat.
haha

« Reply #27 on: September 07, 2010, 04:04:35 PM »
This is de kinda madness I talking about...

Same for Latas
Same for Shaka

The comparison was between the 2006 WC team and the Girls U-17 team.

Were any of those players in their prime in Germany?  Did they 'underachieve' against superior Sweden, England and Paraguay squads?

« Reply #28 on: September 07, 2010, 04:15:40 PM »
It really is unfair to compare Senior Men's football to U17 Women's football.

« Reply #29 on: September 07, 2010, 04:43:55 PM »
Lets not forget that under 17's are playing at home. OKay nuff said.

Men's accomplishments way surpass this little win.