April 25, 2024, 01:20:48 PM

Author Topic: Sports psychologist: the missing piece?  (Read 13644 times)

Re: Sports psychologists for the Warriors
« Reply #30 on: March 27, 2006, 03:22:56 PM »
Strangely enough though, she was removed from her position in the run-up to the November 19th game as the TTFF top brass were of the opinion that the team was becoming "too dependant" on her!  A few team members thought that her removal was one of the less talked about reasons for the uninspiring performance on the field that day.
You serious man
what is wrong wid dem in de TTFF ???
day stuck in de 18th century

Yeah.  Her name is Shirley Rudd-Ottley (if I am not mistaken).  She was with the Strike Squad for a long time before she was relieved of her duties.

Her daughter took over now I believe. Shian L Ottley
I will confirm this ok ?
doh start to lash meh yet

:o

Well if is de same Shian Ottley I thinkin about......dem fellahs eh go be able to concentrate on NO FOOTBALL ATALL!!

Make sure and post pics ah she if yuh confirm right, yuh hear?

« Reply #31 on: March 27, 2006, 03:31:09 PM »
Strangely enough though, she was removed from her position in the run-up to the November 19th game as the TTFF top brass were of the opinion that the team was becoming "too dependant" on her!  A few team members thought that her removal was one of the less talked about reasons for the uninspiring performance on the field that day.
You serious man

Yeah.  Her name is Shirley Rudd-Ottley (if I am not mistaken).  She was with the Strike Squad for a long time before she was relieved of her duties.

I will confirm this ok ?

Well if is de same Shian Ottley I thinkin about......dem fellahs eh go be able to concentrate on NO FOOTBALL ATALL!!

You is dey upteen man I hear say so....and she accustom seeing allyuh tonsils when she infront ah allyuh
I ain't posting no picture...

« Reply #32 on: March 27, 2006, 03:42:03 PM »

You is dey upteen man I hear say so....and she accustom seeing allyuh tonsils when she infront ah allyuh
I ain't posting no picture...

Dais okay...you cut yuh style

Google is my fren  ;D

Yup same one...but dem corporate outfits definitely aint doin de kinda justice, that ah maracas outfit does do  :devil:

Nevertheless...ah hope she motivate de fellahs an dem

« Reply #33 on: March 27, 2006, 03:58:10 PM »
You serious man

I will confirm this ok ?

Dutty, yuh eh lie boy.  She sweet in truth.  Big up Google everytime   ;D
« Last Edit: March 27, 2006, 04:20:19 PM by Jahyouth »

« Reply #34 on: March 27, 2006, 04:30:17 PM »
Dutty, yuh eh lie boy.  She sweet in truth.  Big up Google everytime   ;D

Allyuh share nah... I in work and ah feeling lazy

« Reply #35 on: March 27, 2006, 05:00:51 PM »
For d lazy man an dem

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #36 on: March 27, 2006, 05:17:13 PM »
80% ? I thought it was 78.92% ;D

67.46% of statistics are made up
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #37 on: March 27, 2006, 05:24:48 PM »
she nice like ah pie

« Reply #38 on: March 27, 2006, 05:31:24 PM »
she nice like ah pie

doh encourage da talk nah goof........ah go hadda show big S.O how yuh promotin' tirsness over his familaaaay !! ;D
« Last Edit: March 27, 2006, 05:33:30 PM by kicker »

« Reply #39 on: March 27, 2006, 05:43:24 PM »

doh encourage da talk nah goof........ah go hadda show big S.O how yuh promotin' tirsness over his familaaaay !! ;D

yuh know this wicked Bell go single me out

« Reply #40 on: March 27, 2006, 05:45:54 PM »
For d lazy man an dem

stups g ya didn't have to do that man

and Dutty she isn't the physco for dey warriors and dem

« Reply #41 on: March 27, 2006, 05:52:31 PM »

yuh know this wicked Bell go single me out

hahahaha.........hard luck horse.......ah couldn't help it..... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #42 on: March 27, 2006, 06:29:11 PM »
Ottley-Rudd was not a Sports Psychologist but a Psychologist. So I will hope that the TTFF find a Sport Psychologist on this ocassion. They are few and far apart in the region but we need 1. Beenie can motivate but a specialist is needed.`

« Reply #43 on: March 27, 2006, 06:44:21 PM »
yuh mean 2006 and the team don't have a sport physiotherapist, dietitian and nutritionist....what going on.....them guys drinking or smoking and iam talking about the U14, U17, U21, the woman senior team and maybe the world cup team heading to Germany

« Reply #44 on: March 27, 2006, 07:24:35 PM »
« Last Edit: March 27, 2006, 07:29:24 PM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #45 on: March 27, 2006, 07:26:23 PM »
Sometimes when yuh have agood idea and yuh think it new, yuh need tuh use that SEARCH  area and see if that talk ever come up: see fuh yuh self

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=8882.msg20787#msg20787

check my post earlier in this thread. cause i remember you bringing this up on many occasions

« Reply #46 on: March 27, 2006, 07:28:01 PM »
Yeah  Morvant ah know yuh dey breds; ah see yuh remind the man. Yuh know what  'running' on dis  board. Morvant yuh is boss!!!

« Reply #47 on: March 27, 2006, 10:55:10 PM »
Sometimes when yuh have a good idea and yuh think it new, yuh need tuh use that SEARCH  area and see if that talk ever come up: see fuh yuh self Najee:

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=8882.msg20787#msg20787

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=2427.msg16729#msg16729

http://www.socawarriorssc.com/swonline/smf/index.php?topic=653.msg4837#msg4837

Yeah doc, I realise you address this before, I seen yuh posts in the past

However, while you addressed it in generic terms..as in the importance of having a sports psychologist
My question was really if anyone is aware that one was actually hired?

Truthfully, until the actual world cup, a few topics may get recycled by new people like mihself...dat doh mean the intent was to 'step on man toes'

Is de internet...it open world wide...dais how it does go
I willin tuh lobby fuh yuh to geh de wukk   :beermug:

« Reply #48 on: March 29, 2006, 08:01:52 AM »
TNT Guardian reports:

WINNIPEG—"T&T’s Stephen Ames has admitted that a session with a psychologist prior to the Players Championship, contributed to his capture of the prestigious event. "

Ummm.... if it works for one, could it also work for the TNT Warriors?

« Reply #49 on: March 29, 2006, 09:02:06 AM »
AlbertaTrini , Just IMAGINE this, the TTFF will just fire day armen for DOING their JOB :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
and we WONDER why others make fun of us.

Remember that the Strike Squad had one during their campaign.  Therefore this is not an alien concept to TTFF.
Strangely enough though, she was removed from her position in the run-up to the November 19th game as the TTFF top brass were of the opinion that the team was becoming "too dependant" on her!   A few team members thought that her removal was one of the less talked about reasons for the uninspiring performance on the field that day.

As someone pointed out, she wasnt a sports psychologist but a regular one (me eh know if dais true or not).....if so,,my guess is that is like de difference beetween a brain surgeon and a heart surgeon,,,, yeah both ah dem could cut yuh open, but yuh want de right person fuh de wukk when yuh get ah tumor in yuh head oui

She may have been very qualified but simply not a good fit for a sports team
How many exist in the carribbean??....might be a good field to get into as more athletes from the WI start to assert themselves at higher levels

I think Senator sprinter may have used one, he should recommend he own...although ah rather see ah Trini geh de wukk

« Reply #50 on: March 29, 2006, 09:15:55 AM »
AlbertaTrini , Just IMAGINE this, the TTFF will just fire day armen for DOING their JOB :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
and we WONDER why others make fun of us.

Remember that the Strike Squad had one during their campaign.  Therefore this is not an alien concept to TTFF.
Strangely enough though, she was removed from her position in the run-up to the November 19th game as the TTFF top brass were of the opinion that the team was becoming "too dependant" on her!   A few team members thought that her removal was one of the less talked about reasons for the uninspiring performance on the field that day.

As someone pointed out, she wasnt a sports psychologist but a regular one (me eh know if dais true or not).....if so,,my guess is that is like de difference beetween a brain surgeon and a heart surgeon,,,, yeah both ah dem could cut yuh open, but yuh want de right person fuh de wukk when yuh get ah tumor in yuh head oui

She may have been very qualified but simply not a good fit for a sports team
How many exist in the carribbean??....might be a good field to get into as more athletes from the WI start to assert themselves at higher levels

I think Senator sprinter may have used one, he should recommend he own...although ah rather see ah Trini geh de wukk

So because she was not a sports psychologist she don't mean that removing her before that big game was the correct thing to do.  To me it looked like she helped the Strike Squad up until they fired her.

« Reply #51 on: March 29, 2006, 09:23:18 AM »

So because she was not a sports psychologist she don't mean that removing her before that big game was the correct thing to do.  To me it looked like she helped the Strike Squad up until they fired her.

I eh know too much about that field..or what went orn, so ah cyah say I agree or disagree dey
Ah sure it have lurkers on here could answer dat

Re: Sports psychologist: the missing piece?
« Reply #52 on: June 21, 2009, 01:31:34 PM »
Leh we start two months a therapy for players coach and the entire TTFF management.

« Reply #53 on: June 22, 2009, 06:56:32 AM »
sport psychologist may or may not work. Aime Jacque kick all sport psychologist out of the French team upon taking over. His argument was that was his job & once you introduce psychologist, it becomes a question as to who is in charge of the team.
Jose Mourinho believes the same.
Most subject matter on the topic is inconclusive, some argue it is great for individual sport and very difficult in team sport.

« Reply #54 on: September 13, 2010, 08:43:14 PM »
 All our teams could benefit for this ....... When we have teams which appears to be mentally fragile and  seems to be mired in low performances, there has to be another type of intervention that may assist with how players approach the game.

« Reply #55 on: September 13, 2010, 09:57:26 PM »
but wha de arse is dis I readin???? how would a sport psychologist help fellas whose first touch is ah header... who have de tactical awareness of a hamster on ah wheel????

« Reply #56 on: September 13, 2010, 11:02:54 PM »
but wha de arse is dis I readin???? how would a sport psychologist help fellas whose first touch is ah header... who have de tactical awareness of a hamster on ah wheel????

Because all dey need to do is BELIEVE dey have the touch. Kinda like the little magician, we call him dat and he BELIEVE he could perform magic. He STILL BELIEVE that

« Reply #57 on: September 14, 2010, 05:23:01 AM »

All yuh not eazyyyyyyyyyy. :rotfl: :rotfl:

He/She might not b able 2 help these players but there maybe others who will benefit.

« Reply #58 on: September 14, 2010, 06:08:02 AM »
Sport psychologist have had success and also failed miserably! This is true in almost every country.  It is in no way a guarantee Beswick had success at one club, was given a contract at another and they got relegated. When Aime Jacque took over France he got rid of all the Sport Psychologist, that Houllier was using, claiming that the responsibility lay with him as coach.

« Reply #59 on: September 14, 2010, 10:35:44 AM »
AB, with all due respect, I believe many of our local based technically deficient.  I don't know how much mind building can really mask that.  We are technically and tactically deficient and not up to international standard.  We need to address those issues urgently, but it may be too late to teach old dogs new tricks.  We need to revamp our youth structure and stop hoping that men will develop by chance.  We really need to invest in developmental programs, similar to how this current U17 women's team was brought along.