April 27, 2024, 02:45:27 AM

Author Topic: A zoo for central Trinidad.  (Read 3918 times)

A zoo for central Trinidad.
« on: July 19, 2012, 05:45:19 AM »
Dolphins, elephants for Chickland
By STACY MOORE (NEWSDAY.
Thursday, July 19 2012

LOCALS may soon get a chance to see dolphins, elephants and other exotic animals close up once a zoo and nature park is set up in central Trinidad.

The zoo which was earmarked in 2007 by the then PNM administration, would occupy 40 acres of Sou Sou lands in Chickland.

However, a date has not been set for the project to begin nor has any money been allocated, Tourism Minister Stephen Cadiz said yesterday on a tour of the proposed reserve site. Accompanying the minister was Caroni MP and Minister of the People and Social Development Dr Glenn Ramadharsingh, and minister in the ministry Vernella Alleyne-Toppin.

Alongside the team were officials of the Zoological Society of TT (ZSTT), as well as officials of the Couva/ Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation.

Speaking to reporters, Ramadharsingh said the Emperor Valley Zoo has severe limitations in terms of space and a natural environment. But the proposed zoo will allow for animals to be in their natural environment, said Ramadharsingh, a veterinarian by profession. He noted that persons have to travel to countries such as Africa , India and Australia to see exotic animals or learn about them on televison programmes.

“They are very loving creatures that can teach us a lot about nature,” the minister explained. He said people are excited when they journey to Miami to see dolphins.

Ramadharsingh said the zoo will be a boost for the country’s tourism.

“We will make Trinidad a unique destination for local tourists as well as regional and international tourists. When you look at the site you will see the natural beauty of central Trinidad and we want to capture this,” he said.

Ramadharsingh said the zoo will also stimulate economic activity in Central, which has been adversely affected since the closure of the sugar estates of Caroni Ltd.

“You do not have anything to drive the economy in these areas. You don’t have an ocean front or a port. You don’t have an airport nearby, you don’t have centres of economic activity that can drive employment and the local economy,” Ramadharsingh said.

In 2007, under the PNM, plans to build the zoo had been discussed by then tourism minister Howard Chin Lee.

Cadiz said as a tourism initiative the project will work extremely well.

“We all know the Emperor Valley Zoo is limited in size. And zoos all over the world are becoming more like nature centres. Now animals are free to roam in certain areas rather than being in cages and that would be brand new for Trinidad and Tobago and brand new for the region,” Cadiz said.

Plans have been discussed to set up institute to study local animals and to include animal care as part of the “rehabilitation” of persons.

“Animals have an effect on people. The issue of rehabilitation of certain people who might have found it difficult when growing up, if they work with animals they have a way of rehabilitating themselves, so there are all kinds of different sectors that would benefit from a project like this,” Cadiz said. A draft of the plan was discussed among the ministers and officials at the site.

Re: A zoo for central Trinidad.
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 06:39:50 AM »
Don't fall for the hype...yeah yeah new zoo...you want to know the real deal on that.

Where Emperor Valley Zoo standing now is  P R I M E property to build ministry, residences, hotel and the like.

Is plenty space and hill inside there to lick down.

It will shoot the price of Chancellor real estate sky high.

Is years now govnt licking they chops to get that piece of land to develop.

Move out the Zoo, say the animals need land to run and dey want space and give the poachers in central more opportunity to lick up the deer and other animals when night come.

Ting does happen for a reason.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2012, 06:43:49 AM by Touches »

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2012, 07:00:18 AM »
Touches, why are you shouting?   ;D

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2012, 09:29:21 AM »
Where exactly is Sou Sou Lands?  How far from the highway?

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2012, 11:11:25 PM »

Hear nah, allyuh good oui  :rotfl:

« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2012, 11:32:16 PM »
Nah Emperor Valley need relocating... conspiracy theories aside.

« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2012, 11:53:02 PM »

Hear nah, allyuh good oui  :rotfl:

« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2012, 02:49:09 PM »
I agree the zoo should move...but they really shoudnt expand it

look how long punch and judy lie dong on dat hard hard concrete

« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2012, 04:01:24 PM »
Eh Mamala dont forget the airport, so alyuh could bring in drugs for the animals in the zoo.

« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2012, 04:43:49 PM »
Good, I hope they have baboons, Jack Warner go need ah wok soon.

« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2014, 05:25:30 AM »
Whats the latest on this?

« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2014, 10:01:37 AM »
Whats the latest on this?

You again! Breds!

« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2014, 01:23:13 PM »
This is a great idea. I've always thought that TT was prime for a safari like experience. We should be focussing on a sort of Disneyland as well. I hear Kamal wanted to build one down South.

These would be excellent revenue streams for tourism. But after the Tarouba and Sport for Life bobol, I shudder to think how this will end up.

« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2014, 05:12:10 PM »
They need a aquarium....

And the national zoo could be moved to a bigger place.

« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2014, 04:02:54 AM »
They need a aquarium....

Aquarium/Safari, etc.

I had been thinking in terms of a Safari - Wallerfield. Far away from ppl, in case the animals escape. ;D

« Reply #15 on: December 23, 2014, 02:51:28 PM »
Well visited Tampa's zoo and they have their own eco system in place. They use chickens in the cages and pens to help clean up any droppings that may cause harmful diseases etc. Maybe tnt can do the same?

« Reply #16 on: December 23, 2014, 05:02:29 PM »
Well visited Tampa's zoo and they have their own eco system in place. They use chickens in the cages and pens to help clean up any droppings that may cause harmful diseases etc. Maybe tnt can do the same?

Sorry, I eh really understand this. In which cages and pens are they cleaning up droppings?
Obviously not the cages of the lions, Tigers, wolves, etc.?

« Reply #17 on: December 23, 2014, 05:27:05 PM »
No not for the big animals b.c they will probably eat them :D

« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2014, 07:08:54 AM »
No not for the big animals b.c they will probably eat them :D

Yuh right, in Trinidad them fellas does eat everything.

I saw with my eyes when I lived in Trinidad, a man caught a 100lb rice bag (crocas bag) full with Iguana, like there's no tomorrow.

Was just shaking my head.

« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2015, 04:19:46 PM »
They need a aquarium....

Aquarium/Safari, etc.

I had been thinking in terms of a Safari - Wallerfield. Far away from ppl, in case the animals escape. ;D

But we already have a whole lot of greedy animals running loose in our parliment!
Why would we need a new zoo all the way in Wallerfield unless we plan to send all our politicans there to keep them away from our treasury?!

This topic can make a good calypso! :devil:
« Last Edit: January 08, 2015, 04:22:09 PM by Socapro »