April 26, 2024, 06:00:05 AM

Author Topic: Men's team Draws with Guyana  (Read 6483 times)

Men's team Draws with Guyana
« on: September 27, 2010, 03:11:05 AM »
Men's team Draws with Guyana
Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s team drew 1-1 with Guyana in a President’s Cup friendly international at the National Stadium in Providence on Sunday.

Playing before a crowd of 9000 strong which included Guyana President Bharath Jagdeo, both teams went at each other from the onset in what was described as an entertaining affair which turned out to be an unlucky one for the T&T team.
Defence Force striker Devorn Jorsling put T&T ahead in the 36th minute but the homeside equalized later on. He has now scored eight goals in eighteen appearances for T&T, scoring five goals in T&T’s last seven encounters.

T&T hit the woodwork on three occasions.

“Generally we could consider ourselves a little unlucky with the crossbar and post preventing us from having at least four goals on the night and the Guyana goalkeeper also made a number of good saves. The organizers of the match did a really  good job with getting the fans out and there was high energy in the hometeam’s corner for the match.  We really should have come away with the victory but we have maintained our unbeaten run against them with eleven wins and three draws in the fourteen matches played,” Muhammad told TTFF Media after the match.

The result was a confidence booster for Guyana after head coach Wayne Dover predicted a strong showing and possible victory for the hosts prior to the encounter.  Guyana will meet Suriname, Netherlands Antilles and St. Lucia in their preliminary Digicel  Caribbean Cup Zone from 13-17 of October and could end up in T&T’s group in November alongside Haiti as well.

There was an earlier match in the evening with T&T’s Under 20s, coached by Zoran Vranes, playing to a 0-0 draw with Guyana’s Under 20s.

T&T’s Senior team will now prepare for a friendly international against Jamaica in Kingston on October 10 with another game proposed for October 6.

T&T Squad List

*Jan Michael Williams (1)
*Keston Williams (6)
*Anthony Wolfe (10)
*Jovin Jones (14)
*Daneil Cyrus (19)
*Kevon Carter (11)/ Ataulla Guerra (4)-  65th
*Lester Peltier (15)/  Keron Cummings (12) - 83rd
*Hughtun Hector (7)/ Densill Theobald (18)- 77th
*Clyde Leon (2)
*Devorn Jorsling (9)
*Jamal Gay (17) / Jason Macarno (13) - 68th

Subs
Kevin Graham (21), Jesse Stewart (16), Aklie Edwards (3)

Golden Jaguars play to respectable 1-1 draw with Soca Warriors
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2010, 04:45:40 AM »
Golden Jaguars play to respectable 1-1 draw with Soca Warriors
By Troy Peters (Stabroek News)

Guyana’s Golden Jaguars failed to break the jinx of beating Trinidad and Tobago’s Soca Warriors but their respectable 1-1 draw against the world-rated Trinidadians at the National Stadium at Providence last night has set the stage for an interesting Digicel Caribbean Cup.

Warriors took the lead in the 35th minute off a shot from Devon Jorsling but the Golden Jaguars responded in the 40th  minute through striker Dwight Peters who booted home the equalizer  in a very entertaining encounter watched by close to 9000 fans.

The Golden Jaguars started the game in an aggressive mood forcing their opponents on the defensive.

Guyanese striker Anthony “Awo” Abrams could have given his team the lead as early as the ninth minute but his shot went just wide of the mark.

Two minutes later Shawn `Bubbly’ Beveney also had a golden opportunity but his attempt  was saved by an outstretched Jan Williams in goal for the Trinidadians.

Dwain Jacobs also produced several impressive runs on the left flank but his crosses lacked support from Guyana’s midfielders and main striker Abrams.

The Jaguars kept the pressure up for a further 15 minutes before their opponents launched a pugnacious counterattack.

Their earlier efforts were thwarted by a sturdy defensive wall of Captain Howard Lowe, John Rodrigues, Christopher Bourne and Denvor Dennis with goalkeeper Ronson Williams equal to his task.

However, the Soca Warriors began to penetrate their opponents’ right defence with right winger Lester Peltier being a tormentor to Dennis.

The Trinidadians had struck the cross bar on two occasions including a shot by Hughtun Hector from a free kick 18 minutes out.

Peltier was so penetrative in his attack that his team’s goal came from one of his ensuing runs in the 35th minute.

The Trinidadian striker escaped from Dennis and passed inside the penalty area to a lurking and unmarked Jorsling who chested the ball into the goal which silenced the large crowd.

Guyana’s equalizer came five minutes later when Jacobs, switched to the right side, manoeuvered into the Warriors goal area and squared the ball to Peters who struck it into the back of the net.

The second half saw both teams attempting to gain the upper hand but squandering critical scoring opportunities including a miss at goal by the Trinidadian captain Clyde Leon.

Midway in the second half the Warriors second half substitute Jason Marcano also had his shot tipped over the bar by the Guyanese custodian.

In the final  five minutes the home side launched a relentless attack but their efforts were in vain until the final whistle of referee Stanley Lancaster sounded.

In the supporting game, Guyana’s Junior Jaguars also gave a good account with a 0-0 draw against their Trinidadians counterparts.

Both teams had chances to score but Guyana’s goalkeeper Richie Richards and defenders Deshawn Joseph and Rayan Crandon marshaled the defence well.

The two matches formed part of the  Presidents Cup  organized by the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) and Kashif and Shanghai Organisation.

Guyana’s President Bharrat Jagdeo and GFF President Colin Klass met the two teams before the start of the match.

The Golden Jaguars and Soca Warriors are preparing for the Digicel Caribbean Cup which will kick off early next month, while the Under-20 teams of the two countries are gearing up for the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) World Cup preliminary competition.

The Senior team will meet Suriname, Netherland Antilles and St. Lucia from October 13-17 while the Under-20 players will play home to Jamaica, Grenada and the winner of the clash between Virgin Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands from October 6-10.

Guyana’s goal scorer Dwight Peters hit home his team’s lone goal with midfielder Shawn
Beveney (13) in attendance leaving the hapless T&T goalkeeper Jan Williams on the ground
while two Trinidad players look on. (Orlando Charles photo)

Guyana’s Dwain Jacobs leaps high to avoid a sliding tackle from a Soca Warriors’ defender.
(Orlando Charles photo
)

Re: Men's team Draws with Guyana
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2010, 06:45:09 AM »
seems peltier had a good game ....hope latapy  start  him against jamaica to see how he plays
« Last Edit: September 27, 2010, 06:54:39 AM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2010, 06:47:34 AM »
seems peltier had a goods game ....hope latapy  start  him in against jamaica to see how he plays their

That is if Latapy pick him again, anyone do too good Latapy does drop... 8)

Collin Samuel vs CRC
Khaleem Hyland vs HON

« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 07:51:59 AM »
seems peltier had a goods game ....hope latapy  start  him in against jamaica to see how he plays their

Collin Samuel vs CRC
Khaleem Hyland vs HON

peltier had a shot of the wood work and had a few good crosses in ...i would not be surprised though

« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2010, 07:57:28 AM »

Collin Samuel vs CRC
Khaleem Hyland vs HON

We know Colin own was and is Blacklist related as 4 Hyland I blieve tings went south after his brudder died. That bein said some ah Latas selection eh make no sense.

« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2010, 08:30:01 AM »

Collin Samuel vs CRC
Khaleem Hyland vs HON

breds yuh 4get tinto after mexico as well.

latas dont like performers on the team, he prefer non performers

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2010, 08:36:22 AM »
Good to see Cyrus and Jones doing something right to stay in the team and starting  :beermug: ... The team now just needs a little tweaking. Elton John for right back please  ;)

« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2010, 08:56:04 AM »

Would love to know where the ball is ... could be the definition of what Shaka referred to re: the inclination of defenders to lie down.

« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2010, 09:05:37 AM »

Would love to know where the ball is ... could be the definition of what Shaka referred to re: the inclination of defenders to lie down.

I always say good defenders stay on their feet.  That is what make men like Baresi and Paul McGrath great defenders.  The aim should be to come offf the field at the end of the match with yuh pants clean. ;D

« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2010, 09:08:12 AM »

Collin Samuel vs CRC
Khaleem Hyland vs HON

breds yuh 4get tinto after mexico as well.

latas dont like performers on the team, he prefer non performers

This makes so much sense, cant believe I didnt seee it before .. ..

« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2010, 09:09:14 AM »

I always say good defenders stay on their feet.  That is what make men like Baresi and Paul McGrath great defenders.  The aim should be to come offf the field at the end of the match with yuh pants clean. ;D

Boss defender...

« Reply #12 on: September 27, 2010, 09:18:59 AM »
I'm seeing small things that are positive ...
1)Peltier getting some time and finally, (seemingly) making use of it.............
2)Jorsling scoring consistently and seems a good post up outlet....
3)His teammate Carter  seems a decent prospect on the wing with his speed
4)Hughton Hector seems a good prospect and Theobald is not starting as a result of this.
5)Akile on the bench where he belongs ... any bench really.
6)Daneil Cyrus from the u-20 team getting starting time in the defense and anyone from the u-20 team to me seems a good prospect.

Small mercies credited from a f**ked up situation!
« Last Edit: September 27, 2010, 09:21:14 AM by Ngozi »

« Reply #13 on: September 27, 2010, 09:24:04 AM »

Agreed but my theory is sometimes you have to get down and dirty and as long as the picture doh show the ball passing my defender I'll take it by any means necessary........a stuart pierce can be just as effective as a beckenbauer as long as goal is defended!

« Reply #14 on: September 27, 2010, 10:39:04 AM »
boy we continue to slip further and further downwards

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2010, 11:56:09 AM »
Shit Coach=Shit Results

Offline Coach

« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2010, 12:26:55 PM »
Why are we playing international games with some players who are not international players??

Should we not play international games with our best players which will help develop and prepare our national team for upcoming WC qualifications.

Putting up these poor performances can only be bad for us in the long run.

We will be better off playing fewer international games with our best players vs more stronger countries. Instead of playing all these weak countries with some players who will never be selected for WC qualifications, makes no sense... the only positive that can come from these games is Latapy will gain some coaching experience that can make him better... down the road.

« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2010, 12:58:20 PM »
How Kiffysmooth aint come and talk about bleeder performance  :D

when Bleeder aint play he mad and qucik to post "dais why we ain win", when Bleeder play his regular shit footbal yuh cant find kiffysmooth lol

« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2010, 01:35:36 PM »
Why are we playing international games with some players who are not international players??

Should we not play international games with our best players which will help develop and prepare our national team for upcoming WC qualifications.

We will be better off playing fewer international games with our best players vs more stronger countries. Instead of playing all these weak countries with some players who will never be selected for WC qualifications, makes no sense... the only positive that can come from these games is Latapy will gain some coaching experience that can make him better... down the road.

There is only one way to know if the players are up to international standards. Plus, you need to have a deep bench. Unless it's a recognized international tournament, it's rare to have all of your so-called best players available for a match.

« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2010, 01:46:55 PM »
Anil:

« Reply #20 on: September 27, 2010, 02:31:22 PM »
How Kiffysmooth aint come and talk about bleeder performance  :D

when Bleeder aint play he mad and qucik to post "dais why we ain win", when Bleeder play his regular shit footbal yuh cant find kiffysmooth lol

Sando... fus ting fus, d man eh come on till d 77th minute, so I doh know how much yuh did expect him to do in toteen minutes!

So maybe if Latas goh stop he foolishness and play d man who have experience and could control d game, den we might start beating dem shi% team

Offline Coach

« Reply #21 on: September 27, 2010, 02:33:45 PM »

There is only one way to know if the players are up to international standards. Plus, you need to have a deep bench. Unless it's a recognized international tournament, it's rare to have all of your so-called best players available for a match.

Your local pro league is where you should find players for your "deep bench" not trying to find a "deep bench" by embarrassing yourself at international games. How come all other countries get their so-called best players available for international games?? btw.. did you see how much TT drop in FIFA rankings by trying to find a "deep bench" it's really difficult to figure out TTFF way of thinking.

« Reply #22 on: September 27, 2010, 04:17:53 PM »

Your local pro league is where you should find players for your "deep bench" not trying to find a "deep bench" by embarrassing yourself at international games. How come all other countries get their so-called best players available for international games?? btw.. did you see how much TT drop in FIFA rankings by trying to find a "deep bench" it's really difficult to figure out TTFF way of thinking.

Coach as much as you and most people are on Latas case, I think his approach is the correct one. The only problem is that his selection of players is not working. Right now I dont know or can't tell who good or bad in TT football. Everyone saying "pick this one or that one, pick the de hardest" and when game day come whatever squad they pick, we lame like ah doh know what.

But we have to try the homebased in these so-called friendlies. You mean to say we should bring back KJ, Carlos, Jake, JLLoyd, Me-Mums, etc  to play BG to prop up we rankings in FIFA. Which dotish coach go release them unless is a WC game. And sometimes them coaches don't even want to release them for WC.

That is the only way Latas or any coach will know if they up to international standards or not. Well it appears some or most of them are not. Plus there are some who has been on the team for a long time and they are not improving(Denzil, Daniel,etc) We want them out, Latas sticking with them because he feels in the long run they will get IT(Latas philosophy) right. Stop looking at FIFA rankings. We looking to develop the right chemistry for our team. F--k rankings. We need to do it right. With or without Latas. When they bring a foreign coach, I hope he stick with the locals that he thinks has what it take to develop that chemistry we had when Beenie was around.

Is Latas the man to do it? Most of TT don't think so? Is up to Jack to fire him and find a coach who can inspire them guys to improve.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2010, 04:20:36 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #23 on: September 27, 2010, 04:43:55 PM »
We really should have come away with the victory but we have maintained our unbeaten run against them with eleven wins and three draws in the fourteen matches played,” Muhammad told TTFF Media after the match.

Yuh know yuh in deep TATA when yuh proud to be claimin a moral victory against Guyana.  ::)

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #24 on: September 27, 2010, 05:07:33 PM »
Anil:

No worries. It ready and waiting hope it cut deep...lmao

« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2010, 05:57:39 PM »
This is ah very frustrating situation we're in. but lets begin with the latapy / TTFF situation. first off in ah nut shell, latas and the TTFF is ah marriage of convenience, it has nothing to do with the love of TNT football in both cases, and we all know the motivation.

secondly, concacaf need tuh change their days of qualifying to a european schedule, reason? we only get to see our international players together as a unit on competitive days while england , spain and these other countries get to play international friendlies when we have qualifying matches. which to me it's unfair.

we need bonified international friendly dates before qualifying match dates where we could field both ah local and foreign contingent of players on these dates.

we could also have all of our best players available to assess the best possible 16 without having the problem of releasing our overseas based by their respective clubs BC of the FIFA date rule, and the playing time together would be priceless.

in all fairness to latas, the games against the U.S. and  mexico was very good, especially the game against the U.S. and i'm willing to give him one more chance based purely on those performances, providing that's with ah full contingent of local and foreign based.

« Reply #26 on: September 27, 2010, 06:16:51 PM »
This is ah very frustrating situation we're in. but lets begin with the latapy / TTFF situation. first off in ah nut shell, latas and the TTFF is ah marriage of convenience, it has nothing to do with the love of TNT football in both cases, and we all know the motivation.

secondly, concacaf need tuh change their days of qualifying to a european schedule, reason? we only get to see our international players together as a unit on competitive days while england , spain and these other countries get to play international friendlies when we have qualifying matches. which to me it's unfair.

we need bonified international friendly dates before qualifying match dates where we could field both ah local and foreign contingent of players on these dates.

we could also have all of our best players available to assess the best possible 16 without having the problem of releasing our overseas based by their respective clubs BC of the FIFA date rule, and the playing time together would be priceless.

in all fairness to latas, the games against the U.S. and  mexico was very good, especially the game against the U.S. and i'm willing to give him one more chance based purely on those performances, providing that's with ah full contingent of local and foreign based.

Well well well.  Latas seems to have gotten a victory of sorts after all. One of he #1 critic sounding the voice of reason

When yuh look at Jabloteh, and Joe Public and the T&T team I don't know how Latas could be blamed for the tata dem fellas playing. Is right thru they playing crap.

Ah watch the U20 part of the guyana game that was shown before the MNT and they in fuh plenty licks (six from Mexico done book ahready). We local players with "few" exceptions are not only lacking technically but dem fellas at ALL LEVELS dunce. They just do plain stupid stuff.

The problem we have is that we brightest players go abroad and leave the dregs behind. So Latas working with scraps. Dem fellas just ent good. With time maybe they'll get better but the football need ah overhaul.

« Reply #27 on: September 27, 2010, 07:13:36 PM »

Well well well.  Latas seems to have gotten a victory of sorts after all. One of he #1 critic sounding the voice of reason

When yuh look at Jabloteh, and Joe Public and the T&T team I don't know how Latas could be blamed for the tata dem fellas playing. Is right thru they playing crap.

Ah watch the U20 part of the guyana game that was shown before the MNT and they in fuh plenty licks (six from Mexico done book ahready). We local players with "few" exceptions are not only lacking technically but dem fellas at ALL LEVELS dunce. They just do plain stupid stuff.

The problem we have is that we brightest players go abroad and leave the dregs behind. So Latas working with scraps. Dem fellas just ent good. With time maybe they'll get better but the football need ah overhaul.

Breds, the main problem wid latas unfortunately is not technical or tactical, but rather his selection policy!!

ppl are frustrated wid the quality of players in his line up continually! man who have proven time and time again that they're not international quality, and not only that, but these same dudes have been showcased and featured on our senior team for over two yrs and counting both wid pancho and latas, and tuh tell yuh the truth, we fackin tired ah seeing them!! :frustrated:

latapy is ah let down BC he showed his total contempt for the hard core fans who supported him throughout his whole career by ignoring the pleas of the fans by continuing to excluding the best and persevering wid the WORST!!!! and the worst part? he never EVER!!! made an attempt tuh reach out to the fans and explain his position/choices.   :banginghead:
« Last Edit: September 28, 2010, 02:41:27 AM by just cool »

« Reply #28 on: September 27, 2010, 07:20:07 PM »
JC and the rest of the forum,
                                    Like I said, I reach a point where I can't tell who good from bad anymore. One game some shine and the others fall flat. The next game is vice versa. So all of them are suspect. All yuh name who good and who bad and leh we come to some concensus. Someone "good player" might be someone's "bad player". So we constantly spinning tip in mud.

« Last Edit: September 27, 2010, 07:46:04 PM by Deeks »

Offline jonny

« Reply #29 on: September 28, 2010, 04:27:04 AM »
Who are they playing October 6 ?