April 28, 2024, 01:42:23 AM

Author Topic: Remembering Mickey Trotman  (Read 7440 times)

Remembering Mickey Trotman
« on: September 30, 2010, 11:33:48 AM »
Remembering Mickey Trotman
T&T Guardian

Several former national and current players will come together on Sunday at the Pinto Recreation Ground for a day of activities in memory of the late Mickey Trotman. Trotman, brother Stephan and friend Tessa Moses, lost their lives in a tragic accident on October 3, 2001, and the all-day football fun day has been held every year since his passing. Close friend Stern John is currently back home and is anticipating another good turn out on the day with several well known businesses contributing to the affair. There is also a petition to have the Pinto Road Recreation Ground renamed after Trotman. John recalls how after a training session with Nottingham Forest the morning of Trotman’s death, he returned to the locker room and saw 57 missed calls on his mobile phone and knew something was wrong.

“Something wasn’t right and I didn’t want to return the call,” John recalled. It turned out that calls were flooded to his phone in an attempt to break the nightmare news. “But time heals and even though we still  miss Mickey a whole lot, we know he’s here with us in spirit and we will keep that spirit alive with hopefully another successful day in memory of him on Sunday.” Alcons FC will meet Matura FC from 4 pm, and Cool It FC, the old team of the Trotman brothers, will face the Strike Squad from 6 pm. Trotman would have been 36 on October 21. John, meantime, is still recovering from a torn anterior cruciate ligament (ACl) surgery and is likely to start back training in December with a  possible return to the American Major League Soccer (MLS) on the cards.

Re: Remembering Mickey Trotman
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2010, 01:28:16 PM »
RIP my friend...Trust me, I miss you a lot.....Tears come to my eye as I type...

« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2010, 02:39:52 PM »
BLACKS!!!

« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2010, 02:54:21 PM »
Respects!!

« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2010, 03:03:47 PM »
RIP Mickey.

« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2010, 04:17:39 PM »
Yeah Mickey was a player.  RIP.

« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2010, 05:59:33 PM »
Mickey, just last week I was chatting with a Scottish player, now a coach, who played against you ... your name came up in passing, but as he mentioned it the man clearly had NUFF respect. You flew the flag well.

« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2010, 07:44:41 PM »
RIP Mickey!!!!!!

« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2010, 07:56:45 PM »
RIP Mickey and young Trotty, knew your bro from his time @ Fatima, hard to believe both of you are gone....

« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2010, 11:43:52 PM »
Gone 2 soonnnnnnnn

Offline Yogi

« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2010, 10:03:36 AM »
My fondest memory of Mckey was his golden goal winner against Costa Rica in the 2000 Gold Cup and the way he ran off the field. Rest in peace my friend  :)

« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2010, 11:52:56 AM »
RIP Mickey and young Trotty, knew your bro from his time @ Fatima, hard to believe both of you are gone....
Which brother? I went to school and played football with Bien at Arima Senior Comprehensive, his younger brother. He was in the accident with them at the time, it ended his football career aswell. You probably talking about Stephan, correct me if I'm wrong.

« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2010, 03:30:53 PM »
My fondest memory of Mckey was his golden goal winner against Costa Rica in the 2000 Gold Cup and the way he ran off the field. Rest in peace my friend  :)
flex yuh have that goal btw !!

« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2010, 07:23:38 PM »
Which brother? I went to school and played football with Bien at Arima Senior Comprehensive, his younger brother. He was in the accident with them at the time, it ended his football career aswell. You probably talking about Stephan, correct me if I'm wrong.
He is talking about Stephon....Stephon died along with Mickey in the same accident.  Stephon went and played with Fatima.

« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2010, 08:03:47 PM »

« Reply #15 on: October 03, 2010, 09:37:15 PM »
Was a nice evening. Real players turned out. Dwarika, Glasgow. Sancho. McComie, morris, Williams, Lewis, Skeene. Many, many others. Nice lime afterwards too.

They unveiled new sign...Mickey Trotman Recreational Ground. Think Arima Mp was there and also Anil Roberts.

Its great that the community and T&T football have created a Trotman legacy.

Congrats to all who were involved. Micky & stephon will always be remembered.

« Reply #16 on: October 03, 2010, 09:46:17 PM »
Was a nice evening. Real players turned out. Dwarika, Glasgow. Sancho. McComie, morris, Williams, Lewis, Skeene. Many, many others. Nice lime afterwards too.

They unveiled new sign...Mickey Trotman Recreational Ground. Think Arima Mp was there and also Anil Roberts.

« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2010, 09:43:08 AM »

Thanks brother.... :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: October 04, 2010, 01:45:07 PM »
"thousand touches brodda"

« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2010, 01:48:43 PM »
Even doh dey played different positions, ah find Trotman had ah similar style tuh Eve.

« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2010, 08:07:44 PM »
He is talking about Stephon....Stephon died along with Mickey in the same accident.  Stephon went and played with Fatima.

Correk, ah was in 5th or 6th form when he came in, sweat a little wid him durin lunch sweat, had some nice touches, real good ball control and ball protection, fairly quick feet too.  RIP fellas

Even doh dey played different positions, ah find Trotman had ah similar style tuh Eve.

Yeah, ah agree wid yuh dey Tallest

« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2010, 08:59:59 PM »
blessings...play de fitball

i went to his funeral...real sad day

and then the team left to play honduras...blacks sat on the goalposts...we won 1-0.. they his the posts bout 8 times...stern.. yes disgruntled...stern

« Reply #22 on: October 05, 2010, 08:40:48 PM »

Correk, ah was in 5th or 6th form when he came in, sweat a little wid him durin lunch sweat, had some nice touches, real good ball control and ball protection, fairly quick feet too.  RIP fellas

...And a real nice bullet.

« Reply #23 on: October 06, 2010, 01:02:36 AM »
blessings...play de fitball

i went to his funeral...real sad day

and then the team left to play honduras...blacks sat on the goalposts...we won 1-0.. they his the posts bout 8 times...stern.. yes disgruntled...stern

Sancho tell me the same. Mickey was there that night with the boys and Honduras could have played for 5 hours, but they were never going to score.

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2010, 02:55:34 AM »
We lorse ah diamond to de Football Gods dey fellas... No joke...

R.I.P. Mickey
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

« Reply #25 on: October 03, 2013, 12:41:51 PM »
No Trotman day this year, or will it be this weekend?

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #26 on: October 03, 2013, 08:37:51 PM »
No Trotman day this year, or will it be this weekend?
*SIGH*

« Reply #27 on: October 03, 2014, 04:13:16 PM »
On this day 13 years ago. BLACKS!