April 28, 2024, 10:47:13 PM

Author Topic: Pick your T&T Sr Team for the Revised 2011 World Cup Qualifiers  (Read 4404 times)

                                  phillips

edwards             primus             samuel       adams

jagdeosingh/hyland

johnson/thompson            guerra/birchall         hector/carter                 

roberts

Jones/Glen

subs: james, marshall, gay, jorsling, leon, winchester, baptiste, back-up keeper williams etc
« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 10:15:16 AM by Controversial »

Re: Pick your T&T Sr Team for the Revised 2011 World Cup Qualifiers
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 10:35:42 AM »
based on current form or wishful thinking?

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2010, 10:38:34 AM »
Jaggy is an attacking player isnt he??? Good but Carlos made himself unavailable for national selection. So i'd have elton John in there. I'd add Cyrus, Britto, and Glenroy Samuel in there. I wouldnt replace Joevin Jones either, he's done well.  Josh Johnson dnt know much about him. Keon Daniel hasnt been in the best form recently but i'd add him as well to the squad u named.

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2010, 10:44:38 AM »
                                  phillips

jagdeosingh/hyland

roberts

Jones/Glen

subs: james, marshall, gay, jorsling, leon, winchester, baptiste, back-up keeper williams etc

Jabloteh and Connection players only, please. Thank you.  ::)

« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2010, 10:49:14 AM »
Jaggy is an attacking player isnt he??? Good but Carlos made himself unavailable for national selection. So i'd have elton John in there. I'd add Cyrus, Britto, and Glenroy Samuel in there. I wouldnt replace Joevin Jones either, he's done well.  Josh Johnson dnt know much about him. Keon Daniel hasnt been in the best form recently but i'd add him as well to the squad u named.

jaggy can play striker, left wing, central and holding, almost a utility sort player. he is good with the ball at his feet, playing him in the back would be good bc he runs and plays well on defense. we need a holding mid that can link with the mid and is good in transition from defense to offense. he provides that, even hyland would do well there, johnson i have heard alot about, saw some highlights a while back, he seems an excellent option for right wing and has the experience. hes fast and surprisingly has not been capped as yet.

havent seen john play much, so i cant judge but ill take your word for it, its good to get some youth in the back that has the speed

« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2010, 10:50:18 AM »
                                  phillips

jagdeosingh/hyland

roberts

Jones/Glen

Jabloteh and Connection players only, please. Thank you.  ::)

whats your squad?

« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2010, 10:51:02 AM »
based on current form or wishful thinking?

based on us picking the best players with an intl coach
« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 10:56:43 AM by Controversial »

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2010, 11:25:48 AM »
I remember back for the 2006 WC there was supposedly a nigerian player with T&T roots wanting to play for us. Think he was 21 or 22 at the time. Was playing in france. Heard nothing after the WC. He was either unnamed or i cant remember the name :-\

« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2010, 11:26:56 AM »
I remember back for the 2006 WC there was supposedly a nigerian player with T&T roots wanting to play for us. Think he was 21 or 22 at the time. Was playing in france. Heard nothing after the WC. He was either unnamed or i cant remember the name :-\

i remember that as well, there were many players eligible for us, too bad the ttff scouting is below par

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2010, 11:30:54 AM »

i remember that as well, there were many players eligible for us, too bad the ttff scouting is below par
Apparently we have no scouting. Every time the coach leaves the country its on "personal business" and football is goin on.

« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2010, 12:47:01 PM »
I going with 4-3-3, like a lot of modern teams, with two wingers who can chip in with goals and support the center forward.

GK. Jan Michael

RB. Jake Thomson CB. Osei Telesford CB. Jloyd Samuel LB. Noel Williams

DM. Chris Birchall
                      CM. Khaleem Hyland      CM. Carlos Edwards

RW. Kerry Baptiste                              LW. Collin Samuel                         
                                        ST. Kenwyne Jones

Alternatives:
1. Julis James in CB with Jlolyd moving out to LB
2. I would take a look at Yohance Marshall
3. Cornell Glen or Darryl Roberts could come in for any of the attacking trio
4. Keon Daniel could be a CM option
5. Hayden Tinto/Hughton Hector could be a right wing option
6. The door open for any young players coming through like Daniel Cyrus, Jamal Clarence, Shadon Winchester (don't know too much about them men), but of the men who have been capped regularly that I didn't name - they had their chance ... throw dem way lol  ;D
7. Don't really have a strong preference for keepers
8. The rest of subs could just be there to make up numbers lol  ;D

IMO Osei Telesford attributes are much better suited to being a CB than being a DM, and don't understand why he made that transition. He should go back to being a defender.

I know Jloyd is not a CB but given his relative experience I think he could a better job than the current center backs we using. Same with Carlos - we need experienced and skillful players in the middle of the park and I think he can do a better job than what he have both on the defensive and attacking end. It wouldn't be the first time Carlos played CM for Trinidad anyway. I remember Wim using him there in a friendly (in Europe, cant remember who against) and he looked decent.

Basically, with Jloyd and Carlos, I thinking along the same lines as how Yorke, despite being a forward, could play a better CM than our other natural CMs just because of his higher technical ability and experience.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 12:49:25 PM by dwn »

« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2010, 01:21:21 PM »

whats your squad?

I like the squad you have there. Id add Colin Samuel to the bench too

« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2010, 02:24:21 PM »
johnson i have heard alot about, saw some highlights a while back, he seems an excellent option for right wing and has the experience. hes fast and surprisingly has not been capped as yet.

Is it Josh Johnson yuh talking bout? If so, what experience he have? He's been capped four times.

« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2010, 02:29:45 PM »
                                  phillips

jagdeosingh/hyland

roberts

Jones/Glen

Good squad on paper. I would keep Tinto. He is one of the very few players who can run and dribble with the ball in TT. Yes he lose it sometimes, but I willing to bare with him. I would bring Villaroel(LB) from PRI. At least give him a shot.

« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2010, 02:35:37 PM »
but I willing to bare with him.

De question is....is de feeling mutual?  :devil:

« Reply #15 on: October 01, 2010, 02:36:40 PM »
I going with 4-3-3, like a lot of modern teams, with two wingers who can chip in with goals and support the center forward.

GK. Jan Michael

RB. Jake Thomson CB. Osei Telesford CB. Jloyd Samuel LB. Noel Williams

DM. Chris Birchall
                      CM. Khaleem Hyland      CM. Carlos Edwards

RW. Kerry Baptiste                              LW. Collin Samuel                         
                                        ST. Kenwyne Jones

Alternatives:
1. Julis James in CB with Jlolyd moving out to LB
2. I would take a look at Yohance Marshall
3. Cornell Glen or Darryl Roberts could come in for any of the attacking trio
4. Keon Daniel could be a CM option
5. Hayden Tinto/Hughton Hector could be a right wing option
6. The door open for any young players coming through like Daniel Cyrus, Jamal Clarence, Shadon Winchester (don't know too much about them men), but of the men who have been capped regularly that I didn't name - they had their chance ... throw dem way lol  ;D
7. Don't really have a strong preference for keepers
8. The rest of subs could just be there to make up numbers lol  ;D

IMO Osei Telesford attributes are much better suited to being a CB than being a DM, and don't understand why he made that transition. He should go back to being a defender.

I know Jloyd is not a CB but given his relative experience I think he could a better job than the current center backs we using. Same with Carlos - we need experienced and skillful players in the middle of the park and I think he can do a better job than what he have both on the defensive and attacking end. It wouldn't be the first time Carlos played CM for Trinidad anyway. I remember Wim using him there in a friendly (in Europe, cant remember who against) and he looked decent.

Basically, with Jloyd and Carlos, I thinking along the same lines as how Yorke, despite being a forward, could play a better CM than our other natural CMs just because of his higher technical ability and experience.

this is my lineup exactly. boss lineup. only things i would change is put julius james in CB and push jlloyd to the LB. carlos on the left? i'd switch him to the right with hyland. other than these things ive mentioned great lineup. latapy take note!!

Offline lil damo

« Reply #16 on: October 01, 2010, 03:19:06 PM »

Phillips

J James                               
                                            Primus               Marshall                     

C Edwards                                                                                            JL Samuel     
                                              Hyland      Birchall

Keon Daniel

Glen     Jones
Bench
JM Williams
Tinto
Collin Samuel
Clyd Leon
H Hector
J Scotland
D. Cyrus

Reserve  Fill in when there are injuries and suspensions
D Roberts - Could easily make the 18 man squad
M Hislop
O Telesford
Josling
K Carter
C Cupid - Could easily make the 18 man squad
J Jones
Jake Thompson - Could easily make the 18 man squad
D Theobald
K Jagdeosingh - That kid got game, should be playing in a better league in the future
Bakr
« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 03:51:27 PM by lil damo »

« Reply #17 on: October 01, 2010, 03:41:34 PM »

Phillips

J James                               
                                            Primus               Marshal                     

C Edwards                                                                                            JL Samuel     
                                              Hyland      Birchall

Keon Daniel

Scotland     Jones
Bench
JM Williams
Tinto
Collin Samuel
Clyd Leon
H Hector
Cornel Glen
D. Cyrus

M Hislop
O Telesford
Josling
K Carter
J Jones
D Theobald
K Jagdeosingh - That kid got game, should be playing in a better league in the future
Bakr

Not a bad lineup dey lil damo....

except

Scottie and KJ is 2 fairly static strikers.  Ah doh feel dey complement each other given their style of play.  A more mobile player like a Cornell Glen, Kerry Baptiste or even a Juma Clarence would be a better fit IMO.

otherwise....interesting squad.

« Reply #18 on: October 01, 2010, 03:52:32 PM »

He first need to cement his place in de Puerto Rico Islanders starting XI.

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2010, 05:42:30 PM »

Phillips

J James                               
                                            Primus               Marshall                     

Hyland      Birchall

Keon Daniel

Glen     Jones
Bench
JM Williams
Tinto
Collin Samuel
Clyd Leon
H Hector
J Scotland
D. Cyrus

M Hislop
O Telesford
Josling
K Carter
J Jones
D Theobald
Bakr

I really dont think Carlos will be playing for us anymore. Didnt retire but made himself unavailable so I'd have Thompson in his spot or even Cyrus. Seen him play on the wing before and he's good there. Keon Daniel behind the strikers is where he wants to play so that would be a good move, we could get the best out of him there. Another good lineup  :beermug:

Offline lil damo

« Reply #20 on: October 01, 2010, 06:15:04 PM »

He first need to cement his place in de Puerto Rico Islanders starting XI.

That coach like to rotate strikers. Not sure y he isnt always in the starting line up because he's pretty good. Maybe a little inconsistent though and maybe thats y.

« Reply #21 on: October 01, 2010, 07:13:24 PM »
If Match-Fit and Available:-

-------------------------------------Clayton Ince-----------------------------------------

-----Carlos Edwards----Osei Telesford---- Daniel Cyrus--------J.lloyd Samuel----
--------------- Chris Birchall------------Khaleem Hyland------------------------
Jake Thompson-----------------------------------------------Hughton Hector
---------------------------Kenwyne Jones--------Cornell Glenn--------

Subs:-
Julius James
Joevin Jones
Marvin Phillips
Glenroy Samuel
Uriah Bentick
Leston Paul
Daryl Roberts
Kendall Jagdeosing
Kerry Baptiste
Anthony Wolfe
Randi Patterson
Kevon Carter
Colin Samuel
Keon Daniel
Akeem Adams
Robert Primus

« Reply #22 on: October 01, 2010, 07:16:13 PM »
none ah dem starting in front ah julius

Offline lil damo

« Reply #23 on: October 01, 2010, 07:45:15 PM »

-------------------------------------Clayton Ince-----------------------------------------

-----Carlos Edwards----Osei Telesford---- Daniel Cyrus--------J.lloyd Samuel----
--------------- Chris Birchall------------Khaleem Hyland------------------------

Julius James
Joevin Jones
Marvin Phillips
Glenroy Samuel
Uriah Bentick
Leston Paul
Daryl Roberts
Kendall Jagdeosing
Kerry Baptiste
Anthony Wolfe
Randi Patterson
Kevon Carter
Colin Samuel
Keon Daniel
Akeem Adams
Robert Primus

Nice team; not sure any of your CBs are better than James tho. James right now is on top of his game and i'd argue he's currently the best CB we have right now. Does Hector play on the wing tho> and I sure Keon Daniel and Scotland can make the cut. otherwise thats a nice line up.

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #24 on: October 01, 2010, 07:56:03 PM »
Clayton Ince??? Nah man! Ent he retire from football after last season?? Be realistic

« Reply #25 on: October 01, 2010, 08:01:57 PM »
How many of these threads do we get per year?

« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2010, 08:25:00 PM »

Julius James
Joevin Jones
Marvin Phillips
Glenroy Samuel
Uriah Bentick
Leston Paul
Daryl Roberts
Kendall Jagdeosing
Kerry Baptiste
Anthony Wolfe
Randi Patterson
Kevon Carter
Colin Samuel
Keon Daniel
Akeem Adams
Robert Primus

like the squad breds but birchall should be nowhere near the holding mid position, if you are using him, put him upfront as a ball winner for the counter and neutralize the opposition counter and midfield dominance.

telesford and cyrus not ready yet, try 2 others, they may be good subs, but starters i highly doubt.

however i like the team, still feel roberts needs to play behind the striker or strikers, it will be a blessing in disguise, trust me

« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2010, 07:53:48 AM »
Clayton Ince??? Nah man! Ent he retire from football after last season?? Be realistic
Wel he wouldn't be the FIRST player to UN-retire because he's better than what's currently available would he? And FYI, he's currently attached to a Pro-League team as Goal-Keeping Coach/PLAYER, and despite his age he is STILL the BEST option in goal for T&T if he decides to play again, as NONE of the current goal-keepers have anywhere near what is required for our Senior Team, as ALL have glaring deficiencies! Marvin Phillips and Glenroy Samuel would be my next choices or even Thorn Holder or Andre Charles, who were two vey good Youth prospects, IF they are still playing... Our Goal-Keeping position will be T&T's Achilles heel in the 2014 Qualifiers

« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2010, 08:15:48 AM »
Ah man say Clayton Ince.....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Come on Patriot, wake up. He is 39 and clubless.

My Team 4-5-1

Phillip (Williams)
                             James (Primus)
             Daneil (Bateau)               Jlloyd (Jovin)
                            Marshall (Telesford)
                Birchall (Boucaud)         Hyland (Leon)
        Edwards (Thomson)                   Hector (Wolfe)
                               Keon (Paul)
                               Jones (Glen)

My Team 4-4-2

Phillip (Williams)
                             James (Primus)
             Daneil (Bateau)               Jlloyd (Jovin)
                            Marshall (Telesford)
                Birchall (Boucaud)         Hyland (Leon)
        Edwards (Thomson)                   Hector (Wolfe)
                      Jones (Jorsling)      Glen (Roberts)

Standby.

Collin Samuel
Kendall Jagdeosingh
Kerry Baptiste
Kevon Carter
Hayden Tinto
Akeem Adams
Randi Patterson
Kern Cupid
Jason Scotland
Stern John
Sean De Silva
Curtis Gonzales
« Last Edit: October 02, 2010, 08:19:02 AM by Sam »

« Reply #29 on: October 02, 2010, 10:30:20 AM »
Wel he wouldn't be the FIRST player to UN-retire because he's better than what's currently available would he? And FYI, he's currently attached to a Pro-League team as Goal-Keeping Coach/PLAYER, and despite his age he is STILL the BEST option in goal for T&T if he decides to play again, as NONE of the current goal-keepers have anywhere near what is required for our Senior Team, as ALL have glaring deficiencies! Marvin Phillips and Glenroy Samuel would be my next choices or even Thorn Holder or Andre Charles, who were two vey good Youth prospects, IF they are still playing... Our Goal-Keeping position will be T&T's Achilles heel in the 2014 Qualifiers

we have phillips who is younger and can do well for us as long as we have a decent back-line.

why ince name re-surfacing?

next thing man call for stern john to enter the fray again bc he might come back to mls