March 28, 2024, 01:48:28 PM

Author Topic: Can't send mail from my hotmail account  (Read 2319 times)

Can't send mail from my hotmail account
« on: October 01, 2010, 04:09:00 AM »
I just had a new system reinstalled in my Mac.

The Snow Lepard had some problems so I went back to my old Leopard that I had used before.

I noticed I can't send emails from hotmail. Yahoo is no problem.

I googled the problem and it said to go to Safari: Preferences - Security - "accept cookies always."

Did this but same prob. Rebooted, doesn't help.

Would appreciate some ideas please.

Thanks,

Re: Can't send mail from my hotmail account
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 04:42:10 AM »
Tried for a different computer and sent emails no prob.

So the prob is my comp.

Assistance please  :)

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2010, 06:16:12 AM »
buy a $14000 laptop  ;D

« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2010, 07:41:51 AM »
Tried for a different computer and sent emails no prob.

So the prob is my comp.

Assistance please  :)

This is a home MAC yu talking bout right?
Are you on a router?
Let me know and I'll try to help

« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2010, 09:30:58 AM »
Well I can't say if I'm on a router.

But I'll say that I am at a hotel.
It's high speed.

And I'm using a wireless, however, I do have to type in a log in and pw.

It's a Mac Laptop.

« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2010, 09:42:02 AM »

It's high speed.

It's a Mac Laptop.

Yeah dem hotels have no clue how to setup anything.
I've seen this many times before, in my office, VP's go to some hotels and they have hotmail send mail blocked.
You might want to ask the front desk if they have a problem with hotmail accounts and have them test it.
let me know and I have something else for you

« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2010, 10:52:10 AM »
buy a $14000 laptop  ;D

Stop gettin propoganda d laptops eh cost dat.

« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2010, 07:11:21 PM »

It's high speed.

It's a Mac Laptop.

I've seen this many times before, in my office, VP's go to some hotels and they have hotmail send mail blocked.
You might want to ask the front desk if they have a problem with hotmail accounts and have them test it.

Hotmail was working fine before, only happened when I reinstalled my system.

But I will ask them.

« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2010, 07:27:28 PM »
you and this MAC again eh  :devil: all i hearing is worries

« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2010, 02:29:37 PM »

It's high speed.

It's a Mac Laptop.

The hotel says there is no prob sending emails from hotmail.
I believe them becz I did it earlier this week. But after reformatting my Mac the prob is ONLY with Hotmail.

I have put Safari on "accept cookies always."

Would appreciate your input.

« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2010, 04:06:27 PM »
PROBLEM SOLVED.

Busy now will explain later.

So proud of myself  ;D

« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2010, 06:19:16 PM »
PROBLEM SOLVED.

So proud of myself  ;D

Doh fraid! Come clean. Problem wasn't that complicated , ent? :)

« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2010, 06:09:29 PM »
PROBLEM SOLVED.

So proud of myself  ;D

Doh fraid! Come clean. Problem wasn't that complicated , ent? :)

Thought I had bookmarked the solution but I didn't. Didn't find the page I wanted but this should do:

Open your hotmail/windows live page first.
Open Safari Preferences. Go to Advanced. Click the box to show Develop menu in menu bar.
In Develop click on User Agent. I'm using Firefox 3.0.5 for Mac but if you have windows you will use one of those.

Then your mail will work like before.

In my case that didn't work. What I had to do was after showing the "Develop Menu Bar," I had to go and download Safari 3.2.1 (I think that was the one) apparently there were some bugs with it but it has been improved. Once I did that problem solved. Basically I was using a version of Safari that was not totally compatible with hotmail.

The guy was supposed to have reinstalled MY version of Leopard but I am beginning to wonder if he really did.