March 28, 2024, 02:14:37 PM

Author Topic: NBA 2010-2011  (Read 27831 times)

NBA 2010-2011
« on: October 08, 2010, 05:38:51 AM »
well pre-season start.

D Wade had some kinda injury in the Heat first game and the Knicks' Amar'e era got started with a game against the T-wolves in Paris.  Nothing major to report.

Last night, the Lakers lost to Barca in an exhibition.

Just for Capo we could start the thread with a picture of 5-time NBA champion Kobe Bryant.

Re: NBA 2010-2011
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2010, 11:30:12 AM »
allyuh go raise my pressure.lol.

Online soccerman

« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2010, 11:43:31 PM »
Grant Hill and Reggie Evans got ejected for spanking each other :o

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2010, 03:01:46 PM »
well pre-season start.

D Wade had some kinda injury in the Heat first game and the Knicks' Amar'e era got started with a game against the T-wolves in Paris.  Nothing major to report.

Last night, the Lakers lost to Barca in an exhibition.

Just for Capo we could start the thread with a picture of 5-time NBA champion Kobe Bryant.

GR8

« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2010, 02:30:28 PM »
the Birdman has a new tat for the new season.  I think I'm going to have to move him up the rankings of my favourite NBA players for this one.

Online soccerman

« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2010, 06:29:32 PM »
Wheeyyyyy that tattoo is one of the craziest I've seen. I wonder if represents how he's free from his drug addiction?

« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2010, 05:50:24 PM »
a quarter way into his first season and Blake Griffin has already accumulated a legendary collection of highlights

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/6gG4W0L41FI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/6gG4W0L41FI</a>

« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2010, 07:20:26 PM »
Knicks quietly making some early season noise.  Stoudemire with 8 straight games of 30+ points (a franchise record).  Landry Fields might be the steal of the draft so far... and Stoudemire and Felton the best free agent signings after LeBron.  Carmelo reportedly telling the Nuggets he won't sign a long-term deal (key to any trade) with any other team but the Knicks.  Funny how he now saying that just as the Knicks start playing better... also helps that we beat his team today 125-123.

As for Miami LeBrons... for all the talk of LeBron going to SoBe to be Wade's sidekick, James has been the best player on the team so far while Wade has been up and down.  Overall, the team is just beginning to play up to its talent level.

« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2010, 03:21:48 PM »
I find Bosh is the most consistent of the 3

« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2010, 04:06:11 PM »
I find Bosh is the most consistent of the 3

Who?  The same Bosh who was invisible thru the first 10 games?

« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2010, 04:50:38 AM »
yeah, Knicks looking good.  Admittedly, Denver was the first good we beat admittedly.  Anyhow, beating teams we supposed to beat is a step in the right direction.

« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2010, 05:09:26 PM »
yeah, Knicks looking good.  Admittedly, Denver was the first good we beat admittedly.  Anyhow, beating teams we supposed to beat is a step in the right direction.

Yeah. Boston will be the acid test

We have our best player since Patrick Ewing. The supporting cast is playing well also. Good to see some joy back in the garden after a lousy decade. A playoff appearance will be fine imh.

« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2010, 06:16:46 PM »

Yeah. Boston will be the acid test

We have our best player since Patrick Ewing. The supporting cast is playing well also. Good to see some joy back in the garden after a lousy decade. A playoff appearance will be fine imh.

game just start so we go see.

Amar'e is a real unconventional player.  he's a big man who don't really like to play with his back to the basket.

« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2010, 07:19:35 PM »
Game going good so far... Stoudemire with 23 first half points, Chandler with 14 and 7, Knicks up 58-51 at the half.

EDIT:

Heckuva game, Celtics pulled out the win 118-116, Stoudemire hit a three at the buzzer to seemingly give the Knicks the win, but the refs (properly it seems) ruled that the shot was after the buzzer.  The game got away from us late in the fourth, and we had a couple tough calls go against us... but great fight by the Knicks.  If we play the way we did tonight then I am happy to say that my team is back.

Gallinari with 20 pts thereabouts
Felton with 26 or 27
Stoudemire with 39
Chandler with 18

Gallo in particular was a beast in the second half.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2010, 08:49:01 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2010, 09:00:46 PM »
Gallo and Chandler campaigning not to be the person who gets traded for Melo.

Online soccerman

« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2010, 11:09:23 PM »
Wasn't the Knicks up by 4 with under a minute left??? To tell you the truth I drop alseep on de couch mid-way through the 4th yes and coulda swear I saw Knicks were up by 4 with under a minute. Unless i was dreaming like mavado ;D

« Reply #16 on: December 15, 2010, 11:39:28 PM »
Wasn't the Knicks up by 4 with under a minute left??? To tell you the truth I drop alseep on de couch mid-way through the 4th yes and coulda swear I saw Knicks were up by 4 with under a minute. Unless i was dreaming like mavado ;D

Nah you weren't dreaming... bad shot by Felton with the game tied leave him under the basket in a heap and Celts were gone the other way with a 5 on 4.  Blown assignment by Fields cause him to chase Pierce off the three-point line, only for Pierce to pass to the man Fields was guarding... Ray Allen... who proceeded to give the Celtics their first lead, up three.  Gallon make a running flip shot while being fouled by Pierce on the other end to tie up things at 116 though.  Then Pierce hit ah tough step-back on Stoudemire, who get caught on a switch... that was the final points of the game as only .4 secs were left on the clock after that.

I doh really believe in moral victories, but given the depths where we've been the past decade, yuh kinda have to take consolation wherever yuh can, and at least we playing meaningful games once again.

« Reply #17 on: December 16, 2010, 06:27:54 AM »

I don't think it was quite that late in the game. Because Celtics were also up 3 in the last minute before Gallinari 3 pt play tied it up.

edit: Ray Allen's 3 to put the Cs up by 3 was with 1:02 left.  just re-watch the highlights on nba.com.

Online soccerman

« Reply #18 on: December 16, 2010, 11:18:52 AM »
Ah vex!! I watched the highlights on sportscenter...it had excitement coming down to the end. As much as I hate Boston, that was a big shot by Pierce, I have to give him credit for that. Even Stoudemire's 3 was a close call. His shooting range has developed this season because to me he didn't have that kinda range with the Suns, unless he didn't have to take jumpers since Nash often feed him in the post and on fast breaks for high percentage baskets. This season Omarie has been making jumpers beyond mid-range and has been consistent in doing so.

« Reply #19 on: December 16, 2010, 05:02:29 PM »
[I doh really believe in moral victories, but given the depths where we've been the past decade, yuh kinda have to take consolation wherever yuh can, and at least we playing meaningful games once again.

Bigger test coming Friday boss. NY needs a relevant basketball team.

Anybody else shocked at how good Amare has been? I givin' $100 to anybody that saw this coming.

« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2010, 05:40:48 PM »
[I doh really believe in moral victories, but given the depths where we've been the past decade, yuh kinda have to take consolation wherever yuh can, and at least we playing meaningful games once again.

Bigger test coming Friday boss. NY needs a relevant basketball team.

Anybody else shocked at how good Amare has been? I givin' $100 to anybody that saw this coming.

Why... because of the names involved?  Boston was by far a bigger test than the Heat at this point, the Celtics are playing better ball and have a better inside game to counter the Knicks strength.  They had three different guys (Erdum, Davis and Garnett) and all of them get served.  Who does Miami have to guard Stoudemire... Zee??

« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2010, 08:34:17 AM »
We shall see...

« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2010, 11:25:29 AM »
We shall see...

Regardless the outcome of tonight's game, the Celtics (recent defending champion, current top defensive team in the NBA) are a better test for the Knicks than the Heat.  This Heat game is a good game, but the matchup benefits from the hype surriounding LeBron and his supposed spurning of the Knicks.

« Reply #23 on: December 18, 2010, 03:17:15 PM »
Orlando trade Vince and get JRich and Hedo.  Lewis for Arenas supposedly close to completion.

Online soccerman

« Reply #24 on: December 18, 2010, 03:30:52 PM »
Orlando trade Vince and get JRich and Hedo.  Lewis for Arenas supposedly close to completion.
Eh heh?...I going and check up on dat one now.

« Reply #25 on: December 18, 2010, 03:48:01 PM »

Surprising.  I'm not sure this represents a step forward, as much as I like Jason Richardson.

Online soccerman

« Reply #26 on: December 18, 2010, 04:06:49 PM »
Both deals completed. Arenas is heading to Orlando.

« Reply #27 on: December 19, 2010, 10:45:43 AM »

Surprising.  I'm not sure this represents a step forward, as much as I like Jason Richardson.
anything is a step forward with out Vince ,told yah he cant win shit .

« Reply #28 on: December 19, 2010, 01:41:28 PM »
anything is a step forward with out Vince ,told yah he cant win shit .

lol... Hell hath no fury like fan scorned.  Allyuh sound just as bitter as Arsenal fans with Adebayor and ManU fans with Tevez.... and almost as bitter as Cleveland fans with LeBron.

« Reply #29 on: December 19, 2010, 07:35:57 PM »
Am I right or wrong ? went to a winner in NJ ,the team promptly had to be broken up .Then went to a top contender in Orlando the team just broke up .cancer