May 23, 2024, 12:37:47 PM

Author Topic: Wayne Rooney Thread  (Read 23947 times)

Re: Wayne Rooney declares his intention to walk out on Manchester United
« Reply #60 on: October 19, 2010, 11:09:23 AM »
Please Chelsea DO NOT BUY or make an offer for Rooney, please don't.

Giggsy yuh eh like Rooney boy.

I hope he goes abroad, City are the competition now, dont want 2 c dem get any stronger. Wudnt really want him at   Chelsea either (but wud accept him, iz not my money)

« Reply #61 on: October 19, 2010, 11:11:09 AM »

Players come and players go; I do not have a problem with any player wanting to leave United but my issues has always been with how they conduct themselves when they make up their mind to leave. Rooney in my mind has stopped making an effort on and off the field and I find he has been very unprofessional. Even when there were speculations regarding Ronaldo; he never said whether he wanted to stay or go but his actions on and off the field indicated he wanted to leave.  I had issues with him when I felt he was playing half arse or he never came out and said whether he wanted to stay or go. There is no loyalty in football anymore whether it is the palyer or the club. Rooney left his beloved Everton to come to United so I am not surprised that he wants to leave United. I am no longer caught up in the romance/love affair or the belief that players stay at a club until they retire. Whom ever chooses to play for United I will support; when you leave you leave. I hate the direction the club has taken since the Glazers bought them and the debt keeps piling up. I hope we get back on track sooner rather than later. Say wha, if we have to lose a few years in order to regain our position as a force I will take it as long as we get back on track. Hey, we didn't win for 3 years and then we had success so if that is what it will take again so be it. I Will still be a United supporter tru thick and thin.
:applause:

« Reply #62 on: October 19, 2010, 11:11:42 AM »

I hope he goes abroad, City are the competition now, dont want 2 c dem get any stronger. Wudnt really want him at   Chelsea either (but wud accept him, iz not my money)
i dont think city will let him get away

« Reply #63 on: October 19, 2010, 11:45:51 AM »
Spot on Letter sent to Rooney from one fan supporters club... hope he really reads it as it is perfectly written

Stretford-End.com has written an open letter to Wayne Rooney in response to the speculation that he wishes to leave Manchester United. The letter appears below, and has been sent to Rooney via the club.

Wayne,

Before you make the next move in this game of chess being played out with the media, think carefully.
Think about whether you really want to leave Manchester United.

We’re reading that “behind closed doors” you’re telling your team mates that you want to join City. Money is undoubtedly a factor, but the instigator is supposedly the breakdown in your relationship with Sir Alex Ferguson.

What has really caused this breakdown? Is it anything Sir Alex himself did, or is it his reaction to your own actions? If so, maybe, turning 25 this week should perhaps knock a bit of sense into you. You’re no longer able to blame your stubbornness on the belligerence of youth. Supporters can’t defend your indiscretions citing immaturity. And it’s because of this inability to defend you anymore that you seemingly are turning not only against the club but against the one person who has gone beyond the call of duty and at times sacrificed his own reputation to defend you.

You need to take responsibility one way or the other. Come out and say you want to stay, or that you want to leave.

We, the fans, will not only respect you a lot more, but we will know what’s going on, then. If you want to stay, then great. United supporters have a great tradition of rallying around heroes who have supposedly fallen off of their pedestal. Eric Cantona for Selhurst. Roy Keane and Rio Ferdinand for their contract “negotiation tactics”. You yourself, and Cristiano Ronaldo, in 2006 after the World Cup. Remember the way we took you both back in and supported you. We’re ready to back you.

If you want to leave, then be honest and say so, but a word of warning. Be honest with yourself. Blaming Sir Alex is putting the blame where it is least deserved. Even after your actions, he stood by you, and was giving you a break to sort out your life. He did that for your own good, for the benefit of your personal life, despite the effect your absence might have on the team. Attributing blame to anyone else is pure cowardice. If you want more money, if you really think being able to make a million pounds in a few weeks is not enough, when most of the world can only dream of that sum in a lifetime, then at least be honest enough to admit it. Don’t put the blame onto someone who has done everything to protect you and has helped you, sometimes in spite of yourself, achieve things in the game you could not have achieved anywhere else. You owe him so much, but the least you owe him is to not make him the villain in the piece. You owe it to him to publically state he has done everything to help you, but you want to leave.

But before you do that, think further still. Think of how you have done yourself no favours, and who else would go to such lengths to protect you. Who else would show the faith in you to come good. If you need an example, look at Paul Gascoigne. A player with the hopes and dreams of the country on his back, who struggled to cope, and whose career, then life, went to waste. A player who openly regrets turning his back on Sir Alex and United when he had the opportunity. Look at what happened to him without the right guidance and advice, and wonder if you really want to turn your back on all that you currently have? What good is money if your life goes to pot?

If you get your wish and you leave United, who will be there to help you next time – and, if this is your chosen path, and you’re absolving yourself of responsibility, then there will be a next time – you hit on hard times? There is no-one in any place that you think you will be able to go that will be able to protect you as much as Sir Alex does. And what effect will that have on your family? Once you leave the protection of United, you will be truly putting yourself in the goldfish bowl. Sure, you’ll be flavour of the month again for a short time. But when the initial furore wanes, and you find yourself in trouble again, the knives will be out, but you will have alienated those that matter in the game.

No-one at United wants you to leave. You’re part of the family. Even when Cristiano was getting the plaudits in 2007/08 and scoring the goals, we still recognised you as the heartbeat of the team. It was fitting that you scored the goal to crown us as World Champions. When you were booed by England fans and when the press panned you after South Africa and Germany, who were the fans backing you? After all your recent problems, who were the supporters still chanting your name for 70 minutes on Saturday, wanting your introduction, despite there clearly being something not right? We were. We stood by you, even though most of us disagreed with a passion with what you did. It went against what we believed as people, but we stood by you. Think about what you are doing to that relationship.

What happens to players after they leave United? Those who choose not to sign for us when they get the chance? Those who go on to bigger and better things are in a minority. Beckham? No. Ruud? No. Stam? No. Keane? No. Even Cristiano? Not at this stage. He’s learning the grass isn’t always greener, that other supporters aren’t quite as faithful or loyal as United supporters.

After all this, you still have a chance to put it right. You have two months before January, to put the rumours to rest. You can make a statement publically. You can do your talking on the pitch. Take that chance. Look at Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes. Look at Sir Bobby Charlton. Your chance to sit alongside them, to smash the goalscoring records, to notch this chapter as a minor hiccup, is in your hands. What does it matter, when you make as much money as you do, for an extra million here or there, when there is a chance of real footballing history? Stay at United and you will undoubtedly become our top scorer of all time. The top scorer of all time for the biggest club in the world? Surely that was one of things running through your mind in the playground?

If you come out now and state your desire to remain at United for the rest of your career – like you have in the past – then you will retain hero status before the press manage to wrestle it away from you in your silence.

But make no mistake, Wayne. United will move on with or without you. If you do move, it will be you who lives to regret it.

« Reply #64 on: October 19, 2010, 12:13:35 PM »
*Rolling on the floor laughing* at that supporters email.

Yuh see the same God-like status and adulation afforded to Fergie I talking about? Yuh would swear every player that leave the land of milk and honey that is Old Trafford was on their own accord while the godfather benovelent Fergie did everything for them to show them the light.... steupsssss.

Gimme a break yes.

Somebody need to tell these deluded prawn sandwich eaters, "it have more in de mortar dan de pestle".

« Reply #65 on: October 19, 2010, 12:44:21 PM »
This whole thing amusing.
Welcome to Everton circa 2004...

Instead of all the hand-wringing, say thanks for the League, FA and Champions League trophies, take the money  and prepare for the next phase.

Roy Keane, Mr United himself (one of many) say take the money and run.

« Reply #66 on: October 19, 2010, 12:55:26 PM »
Inter already interested.

Take from the Gazetta Della Sport:

Wayne Rooney has been the lastest target for Rafeal Benitez Inter and reports have confirmed the Spanish head coach declaring 20 million euros to snap up the England striker. No official meetings between the two clubs have been confirmed but Benitez is confident the striker will be wearing black and blue next season.

« Reply #67 on: October 19, 2010, 01:07:55 PM »
Rooney is right.
Man U showed their lack of ambition when they did not replace C. Ronaldo and Tevez (FIFA world player of the year and one of the best players in the EPL.)
Fergie the Great sold that team to the fans as one that could still win, and the fans bought it.
Now men vex becuz Rooney sees what every non-Man U fan can see, that the current Man U far from able.
Allyuh man u fans is a setta sheep.

P.S.
Palos and Tallman must be Man U fans for this thread to still be out here.
Merge de ting nah.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2010, 01:12:46 PM by Peong »

« Reply #68 on: October 19, 2010, 01:57:43 PM »

P.S.
Palos and Tallman must be Man U fans for this thread to still be out here.
Merge de ting nah.

« Reply #69 on: October 19, 2010, 02:03:47 PM »
Man United fan really don't like Yorke boy. Not once will they say he is a legend.

« Reply #70 on: October 19, 2010, 02:39:06 PM »
And for clarity's sake what do you mean about not looking Fergie's way? Are you assuming that United fans automatically assuming no blame on Ferguson's part?

I'm not assuming anything... what I specifically said was "reading the responses of you ManU aficionados so far"... yes, the fans responding here on this forum, as of the time my statement was made, were assigning all blame to Rooney.

« Reply #71 on: October 19, 2010, 03:24:44 PM »
Ferguson still swimming against the tide
By John Brewin, Senior Editor
(Archive)
October 19, 2010
Comment
Email
Print
"Once a blue, always a red," rings out the Old Trafford terrace anthem in tribute to Wayne Rooney. Or at least, it did. Rooney's clear engineering of a stand-off with Manchester United will likely have made him into just another greedy footballer in the eyes of his current club's supporters.

GettyImages
Sir Alex Ferguson: An impassioned depiction of the Rooney saga has swung the media agenda
Any previous kissing of the badge is now a gesture made hollow and, if he is to stay on English soil after departing United, he will be returning to the colour blue, with only Manchester City and Chelsea capable of meeting his ambitions in terms of salary and trophy-winning opportunities.

Even less impressed is Sir Alex Ferguson, judging by the delivery of his side of the Rooney story. A man criticised for his relationship with the media has chosen to open up the drawbridge and betray his disappointment at a desire to "want away" in a style rarely seen in 24 years at Old Trafford.

There looked confusion in the eyes of Ferguson as he spoke of how Rooney was "adamant" that he wanted to leave, and in a breaking of the usual protocol of slash and burn, a leaving of the door open for the situation to change. The admittance that this saga had been going on since August 14, and by extension perhaps lay as the root of the club's current on-field malaise, was a lifting of the usual code of gritted silence. Is Ferguson finally a man out of time, caught out as unable to understand the mind of a man 44 years his junior and the machinations of his agent in effecting a move away from a club which had seemed his home for a footballing life?

Or was this a classic bravura Ferguson performance that will guarantee that public opinion swings back to him? Should Rooney play again at Old Trafford for United then he can surely expect the coldest shoulder of boos. Ferguson's choosing of a public arena rather than the cries and whispers that have served the tabloid tales of the past two days place his as the more credible account. But the public pronouncement may only serve to paper over cracks and may even be construed as something approaching a last stand.

Few will warm to Rooney's seeming inability to admit to his own lack of both decorum and performance but the reasons given by sources close to him - for that, read his agent - for his disquiet would seem to point to the root cause of all of the club's problems. And all roads here would seem to lead to the Floridian mansion of one Malcolm Glazer.

GettyImages
Missing pieces of the jigsaw: Tevez and Ronaldo are no longer around, with Rooney set to follow
Manchester United used to be known for their money, their ability to spend big and a healthy bank balance that allowed them to retain their stars and buy the best young prospects. It has taken five years but the full effects of Glazernomics are now being felt. Once in the black, now deeply in the red, it is thanks to the depths of resources that United once had that only now is true decline setting in. Ferguson faces the prospect of a tarnished legacy by presiding over it, yet allaying the fall of United for as long as he has may well be among the greatest of his many achievements.

Still reliant on a geriatric trio of Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and Edwin van der Sar, United have lurched into mediocrity this season, with a series of draws reflective of a squad no longer capable of putting teams away, with defensive problems key to the slide.

Where once Rooney defended from the front, and bellowed encouragement at colleagues, he has cut a sulky dash, lost in his own inability to replicate his best form, a once golden touch a memory and his demeanour worryingly close to that on a soggy night in Cape Town. Only a hard-working showing against Liverpool, the type of game he can always raise himself for, has been on the credit side in club colours.

It is said that Rooney, who carried the team for much of the 2009-10 season, is unimpressed by the quality of reinforcements brought in to support him. Javier Hernandez, Chris Smalling and the mysterious Bebe may equal 'value', the new Old Trafford watchword, but they are barely credible as players to enrich a squad well short of Chelsea last season and who exited the Champions League at the quarter-final stage.

Finalists in the Champions League in consecutive years just 18 months ago, United have weakened into also-rans, with Rooney now likely to follow Cristiano Ronaldo and Carlos Tevez into the ex-players' lounge. Only the most hopeful United fan will hope for a superstar replacement in the light of the dealings of the last two summers. After all, Ronaldo and Tevez were replaced by Michael Owen, Gabriel Obertan and Antonio Valencia.

GettyImages
Rooney will sit out the Bursaspor game with another knock to his ankle
The secrecy of the Glazer regime does not help. What we know of them comes through financial reports and the picking through of their various deals. It is left to chief executive David Gill to proclaim that upwards of £700 million of debt is not a problem - to barely credulous reaction - and Ferguson to sully relations with fans by praising his paymasters while they themselves fund an ailing team.

Ferguson's intimation that he has been blindsided by Rooney and his agent further confirms that he is swimming against the tide, despite his claims that United can and will offer an unmatchable deal. Those pointed press conference remarks about United's gloriously decorated history were clearly aimed at Manchester City, a nouveau riche neighbour said to be the favoured suitor and now infinitely more powerful in financial terms.

Rooney's departure seems ever more certain, given he is clearly going to dislike further dirty linen being aired. We have been granted the rare sight of Ferguson opening the door on club business, but the helplessness of his words betray what looks a bleak future for Manchester United.

soccernet.com

« Reply #72 on: October 19, 2010, 06:47:22 PM »
^^^^^

Who writes this shit??

« Reply #73 on: October 19, 2010, 07:15:13 PM »
 ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? this guy like them liberal writers...

« Reply #74 on: October 19, 2010, 07:52:31 PM »
I hear scholes rake him up in training today.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #75 on: October 19, 2010, 08:07:06 PM »
^^^^^

Who writes this shit??

Everything there make sense. Disprove anything that is written in that article.

« Reply #76 on: October 19, 2010, 08:21:57 PM »
^^^^^

Who writes this shit??

Everything there make sense. Disprove anything that is written in that article.

Were United well short of Chelsea last season? Is one point now a definition of "well short"?

« Reply #77 on: October 19, 2010, 08:44:16 PM »
I hear scholes rake him up in training today.

« Reply #78 on: October 19, 2010, 10:03:43 PM »
^^^^^

Who writes this shit??

What "shit" might that be... the part about Rooney potentially being the cause of this drama and the consequent malaise the club finds itself in on the field?  Or the part about Ferguson breaking with his traditional stoicism in front of the media? Or the part about him breaking with his traditional unwillingness to entertain players once they've expressed a desire to fly the Old Trafford nest?

??? ??? ??? ??? ??? this guy like them liberal writers...

And some ah allyuh ManU fans like Christine O'Donnell.

« Reply #79 on: October 20, 2010, 11:22:42 AM »
Valid concerns when yuh club selling Ronaldo and Tevez and buying Bebe and Smalling.

Rooney confirms he wants to leave Man Utd

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=834208&sec=england&cc=5901

Wayne Rooney has confirmed he wants to leave Manchester United, citing his concern over the club's ability to attract the best players in the world.

Rooney has released a statement in response to manager Sir Alex Ferguson's comments on Tuesday. He confirms he asked to leave Old Trafford after several meetings with United officials, during which he did not receive the answers he wanted about the future direction of the club.

"I met with David Gill last week and he did not give me any of the assurances I was seeking about the future squad,'' said Rooney. "I then told him that I would not be signing a new contract.''

Rooney admitted he was surprised by the depth of Ferguson's comments at a wide ranging press conference on Tuesday but he insists he remains a big fan of the United boss.

"I was interested to hear what Sir Alex had to say yesterday and surprised by some of it,'' continued Rooney. "It is absolutely true, as he said, that my agent and I have had a number of meetings with the club about a new contract. During those meetings in August I asked for assurances about the continued ability of the club to attract the top players in the world.

"I have never had anything but complete respect for MUFC. How could I not have done given its fantastic history and especially the last six years in which I have been lucky to play a part?

"For me its all about winning trophies - as the club has always done under Sir Alex. Because of that I think the questions I was asking were justified.

"Despite recent difficulties, I know I will always owe Sir Alex Ferguson a huge debt. He is a great manager and mentor who has helped and supported me from the day he signed me from Everton when I was only 18. For Manchester United's sake I wish he could go on forever because he's a one off and a genius.''

« Reply #80 on: October 20, 2010, 12:08:35 PM »
So Rooney saying all de right things there, lets see who de villain now  :devil:

« Reply #81 on: October 20, 2010, 12:15:46 PM »
So Rooney saying all de right things there, lets see who de villain now  :devil:

Fergie made the perfect statement leaving it in Rooney's hand to say why he wants to leave...Rooney made an even better statement by proving to everyone what We United fans have been saying since Ronaldo and Tevez left that we are short of world class talent...We still have a squad capable of winning but I honestly dont think we are good enough and maybe it is unfair to be too dependant on Rooney

that said I think he has a point on why he would like to go to a more ambitious club but at the same time it seems he's jumping ship and we are not a sinking ship...I could have understood a statement like this from Torres

Ironically If he leaves we will buy some big names and then we would have lost him for nothing....We should have brought in some world class ready made talent this summer

« Reply #82 on: October 20, 2010, 12:39:25 PM »

Fergie made the perfect statement leaving it in Rooney's hand to say why he wants to leave...Rooney made an even better statement by proving to everyone what We United fans have been saying since Ronaldo and Tevez left that we are short of world class talent...We still have a squad capable of winning but I honestly dont think we are good enough and maybe it is unfair to be too dependant on Rooney

that said I think he has a point on why he would like to go to a more ambitious club but at the same time it seems he's jumping ship and we are not a sinking ship...I could have understood a statement like this from Torres

Ironically If he leaves we will buy some big names and then we would have lost him for nothing....We should have brought in some world class ready made talent this summer

Without Rooney it probably is a sinking ship. Berbatov is havin a lil spell at the moment, but he cant carry that side...when you eventually play a big side you'll realise that. When we play United the only player I am scared of is Rooney.

« Reply #83 on: October 20, 2010, 12:49:00 PM »

Without Rooney it probably is a sinking ship. Berbatov is havin a lil spell at the moment, but he cant carry that side...when you eventually play a big side you'll realise that. When we play United the only player I am scared of is Rooney.

Well he couldn carry dem when dey play West Brom who buss Assenal drawz and force Dem to settle fuh ah point?  So yuh right dey f**ked agains de big sides an dem :devil:

« Reply #84 on: October 20, 2010, 12:58:34 PM »

Best thing about the statement is that it should put to rest the knee-jerk assuptions that Ferguson has somehow been at fault for something here. Can't fault Rooney for wanting a big money move and if he believes that there are better options out there yuh can't fault that either.

Like I say players come and players go and just as he move to United from Everton for bigger money/better prospects yuh can't fault him for doing the same thing now if he thinks it is at City or is confident that he could get a move to Real/Barca/Chelsea. As long as they get fair value I cool.

« Reply #85 on: October 20, 2010, 01:10:24 PM »
Rooney sound like Lebron's people right his statement. must be a nike ting!

« Reply #86 on: October 20, 2010, 01:13:58 PM »
Yep but Fergie own come from de heart ent? Allyuh is rell f**kin kix oui! :rotfl:

« Reply #87 on: October 20, 2010, 01:27:26 PM »
Yep but Fergie own come from de heart ent? Allyuh is rell f**kin kix oui! :rotfl:

What does Ferguson have to do with my statement?

« Reply #88 on: October 20, 2010, 01:40:08 PM »
As a manu fan I would dig a real horrors....I mean is one of the better players riding.

Scholes and Giggs kinda washed up. Van Der Sar retiring soon

Only Berbatov and Nani looking like they have something in them....the rest of the squad is labourers.

He only now realise what all Non ManU supporters see long time....ManU gorn tru.

« Reply #89 on: October 20, 2010, 02:02:07 PM »
As a manu fan I would dig a real horrors....I mean is one of the better players riding.

Scholes and Giggs kinda washed up. Van Der Sar retiring soon

Only Berbatov and Nani looking like they have something in them....the rest of the squad is labourers.

He only now realise what all Non ManU supporters see long time....ManU gorn tru.

Says the assnal supporter who team aint win shit in more than 5 years...worry bout your own team son