April 28, 2024, 12:21:31 PM

Author Topic: Lawrence gets coaching job at Wigan Athletic.  (Read 8501 times)

Re: Lawrence gets coaching job at Wigan Athletic.
« Reply #30 on: October 21, 2010, 05:22:31 PM »
Still nutten on Wigan's website...

« Reply #31 on: October 21, 2010, 07:51:25 PM »
They sign him even after this.. :rotfl:.

Craig Faulconbridge and Dennis Lawrence is a 6'7" Trinidad and Tobago football player, who has joined on a two year deal with Swansea City FC in the English Football League One.  scored the goals that boosted Wrexham's survival hopes - and put Wigan back into trouble.

Latics boss Jewell said: "I can't believe it. We've lost 2-0 in a game we dominated. I thought it should have been 0-0 at worst."

Faulconbridge beat John FilanJohn Filan (born February 8, 1970 in Sydney) is an Australian football (soccer) goalkeeper.

He joined Wigan in December 2001 for £600,000 from Blackburn. He has a wealth of experience in the top-flight from his time with Rovers and with Coventry (from 1995-1997) that has the link for more information.

From close range in the 18th minute before Lawrence added the second - both goals coming from quickly-taken set pieces.

http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Football%3A+Welsh+jinx+hits+Latics%3B+Wrexham+2+Wigan+0-a082727139

« Reply #32 on: October 21, 2010, 10:12:16 PM »
This is best news for Trinidad and Tobago football in a while  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: Congrats to Tallest

Shabazz praises Lawrence appointment
« Reply #33 on: October 23, 2010, 03:49:28 PM »
Shabazz praises Lawrence appointment
T&T Newsday

Jamaal Shabazz, Assist-ant Director, Women’s Football in TT, has hailed former national defender Dennis Lawrence’s appointment as an assistant coach at Wigan Athletic as a major breakthrough for TT and Caribbean coaches.

Lawrence has teamed up with his former coach at Swansea City Roberto Martinez and will assist the Wigan manager in training and also on Premiership match days and also reserve games.

“That’s great news,” he said, “he has always had a good football head and seeing him work with the Caledonia AIA defenders a couple months ago, I have no doubt that he will become a top class coach,” he added.

The former Guyanese coach noted that to become coach in England is tremendous achievement and we should be proud of what Lawrence has done.

“The English market is very difficult to break into not just from a nationality perspective but from an ethnic one as well,” he said, “ he will join a small group that could open doors for a lot of Caribbean coaches,” he explained.

Meanwhile, former national player and ex-coach of the now defunct United Petrotrin, Brian Williams congratulated Lawrence from making the transition from player to coach.

“I think obviously in football when we are no longer playing then you go into managing,” he said.

Williams pointed out that Lawrence’s natural leadership qualities from being a central defender will auger well as he takes up this new portfolio.

He noted that the standard is now set for coaches in the region to aspire to and hoped Lawrence’s appointment provides an avenue for more coaches and players to work in England.

“This is one of the areas Dennis can assist in.

He can create opportunities for all of us in TT and the Caribbean,” he said, “I am happy for Dennis and I hope he can express himself well there,” he added.

« Reply #34 on: October 28, 2010, 04:27:30 AM »
Still nutten on Wigan's website...

I contacted Wigan, and they confirmed that he is part of the coaching staff.

« Reply #35 on: October 28, 2010, 06:07:10 AM »
Yes, Dennis confirmed with me personally and he said in due time if things go right we can expect to see Trinis at the club on trials and possible deals if they impress off course.

« Reply #36 on: October 28, 2010, 06:21:39 AM »
Yes, Dennis confirmed with me personally and he said in due time if things go right we can expect to see Trinis at the club on trials and possible deals if they impress off course.

Excellent news man!!

« Reply #37 on: October 28, 2010, 08:57:24 AM »
Thanks fellas... wasn't doubting it, but I just like to be sure before ah start celebrating.  :beermug:

Ah always did like Lawrence (the WC pay fiasco being the notable exception), and happy to see him getting an opportunity.  I didn't know much about Martinez (outside of what his bio held), but he really opened my eyes during the WC broadcasts with ESPN.  He strikes me as a very intelligent manager, and more importantly than what he knows, is his ability to explain concepts in simple, accessible ways.  This is the mark of a good teacher, and I'm sure that even if he doesn't work directly with Martinez a whole lot, Lawrence stands to benefit tremendously from the opportunity.

« Reply #38 on: October 28, 2010, 10:40:07 AM »
congrats tallman... at least he actually taking courses and get a bligh at a decent club

« Reply #39 on: October 28, 2010, 12:12:50 PM »
Thanks fellas... wasn't doubting it, but I just like to be sure before ah start celebrating.  :beermug:

I wanted to verify it, because yuh know how we master report tings dat eh happen yet and may not happen, especially when it comes to "signing" contracts.

« Reply #40 on: October 28, 2010, 12:24:49 PM »

I wanted to verify it, because yuh know how we master report tings dat eh happen yet and may not happen, especially when it comes to "signing" contracts.

That was precisely my reservation... just didn't want to come off like ah wet blanket on de celebrations.

« Reply #41 on: October 31, 2010, 11:29:15 PM »
This is wonderful news :beermug:

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
« Reply #42 on: November 01, 2010, 02:21:21 AM »
Yeah tallist!!!...
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

« Reply #43 on: November 01, 2010, 06:54:21 AM »
Class is class. Congrats, Dennis! I'm proud to have your name on the back of my WC 2006 shirt! Good luck in this new stage of your career :beermug:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTjTurULPhY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37Dp_RIhCnU

:applause: :thumbsup:

« Reply #44 on: November 01, 2010, 08:25:46 AM »
Ah take meh wife to the movies and an ad came on before the previews and it had Tallest goal as part of de ad... :beermug:

« Reply #45 on: November 01, 2010, 08:40:52 AM »
Ah take meh wife to the movies and an ad came on before the previews and it had Tallest goal as part of de ad... :beermug:

Yeah that commercial running on TV as well. It's a Sony ad, but ah cyar remember which Sony product... It features brief footage of the T&T-Bahrain game, including Lawrence's goal.  :thumbsup:

Lawrence @ Wigan
« Reply #46 on: February 12, 2011, 08:55:25 AM »
Anybody else just see denis lawrence walking in wit de wigan team on FSC???

Re: Lawrence @ Wigan
« Reply #47 on: February 12, 2011, 10:43:46 AM »

ah see him sit down on the bench

so de wuk legit  ;D

Re: Lawrence @ Wigan
« Reply #48 on: February 12, 2011, 02:01:21 PM »

ah see him sit down on the bench

so de wuk legit  ;D

« Reply #49 on: February 12, 2011, 02:11:51 PM »
nice...very cool..well done DL

Offline christiano

« Reply #50 on: February 12, 2011, 03:01:09 PM »
If you all go to their website you will see that he is in fact legit ! Great accomplishment for him !

« Reply #51 on: February 12, 2011, 04:43:11 PM »
If you all go to their website you will see that he is in fact legit ! Great accomplishment for him !

nah i was just ketching kicks  ;D

look him starring out in de first team jan 2011 pic

Coaching staff
http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/page/CoachingStaff/0,,10429,00.html

« Reply #52 on: February 12, 2011, 07:30:12 PM »
NICE! Make de most of it tallest!

Great TALLEST now LATAS could be your first student

LOL

« Reply #53 on: February 12, 2011, 08:05:18 PM »
NICE! Make de most of it tallest!

Great TALLEST now LATAS could be your first student

LOL

After all Tallest was Latas student in how not 2 stand up wit yuh teamates.

« Reply #54 on: May 07, 2011, 08:03:40 AM »
I now see Tallest walk out from the tunnel with Martinez in he DL jacket and take a seat on the bench with the subs...Wigan vs Aston Villa.

I hope Wigan doh go down,let him get another season in coaching top flight football.