April 19, 2024, 10:14:03 PM

Author Topic: PNMites, wha really going on with de party??  (Read 1620 times)

PNMites, wha really going on with de party??
« on: October 24, 2010, 06:17:04 AM »
Been meaning to raise this topic a while now.  The other group does have mih so busy ah keep forgetting but, PNMites let we talk nah.....ah been hearing that things eh looking too bright on that side of the isle.  Wha going orn over dey??

http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/10/24/rowley-faces-opposition-pnm

Rowley faces opposition in PNM
ANIKA GUMBS-SANDIFORD

Internal rumblings within the People’s National Movement (PNM) continue some five months after the political party has been voted out of Government. Unable to put their house in order, the Sunday Guardian was informed that the party’s annual convention to be hosted in November may be postponed to January next year. This comes on the heels of plans to introduce facilitators to constituencies where there are no PNM MPs. A list of the facilitators is expected to be released this week. The significant dwindling of support, according to party sources, has impacted negatively and has resulted in several party groups being unable to meet specific deadlines and requests.

A party source revealed: “We are facing a serious problem getting party groups together. Our support is vanishing overnight. The PNM convention is normally held in November but we are practically scrambling to provide a listing for nomination. We have to deal with poor support and tension in the ranks, so we are looking at mid January for our convention because of all the outstanding issues to be settled.” Supporters, sources said, have become very disinterested. “We have 28 party groups and so far information has not been forthcoming as to when the internal elections will be held.

There is sluggishness in the system right now. Five months after and there has been no change. “Things are being done in haste and we all know hurry birds do not build good nests. The focus should be on looking at how the party operates rather than dealing with the issues as to why we failed,” one source said. “We need to move away from electoral issues because we would not be facing the polls any time soon,” another source lamented. But the unanswered questions on the lips of many is why the PNM cannot seem to reengineer itself even after former political leader, Patrick Manning has bowed out?

Senior members opposing Rowley

Sunday Guardian understands that Dr Keith Rowley’s leadership is being met with “stiff opposition” by some senior members. “The truth and fact is some served with Manning and some would have been selected by him for specific reasons, so there is a trust factor facing the party,” a party source said. “One has to remember Rowley was thrown out of the Cabinet and was in the wilderness for a number of years. He has to earn back that trust and so far he has not done that. Rowley was out of the inner circle and suddenly he is the leader of the party; the person who is being trusted to take the party back in government. While at first for many he was the most ‘popular’ person to take over, many are thinking differently now and are afraid to say anything.”
On the other hand, party insiders revealed that while some members are against some of the decisions being made by Rowley, they are using the opportunity to even their score with Manning. “What we have noticed is several persons Manning rejected are the very same persons meeting with constituents. Do these people really care about the way forward or their own interests? “Many of them have a vendetta against Manning because of the treatment they received,” a party insider said. “It is no secret that Manning heaped scorn on some of his supporters; some for good reason while some of his decisions were made in poor and bad taste based on advice. But when you look at the tension now in the party you wonder if people really want the PNM to return to office,” a concerned party member added.

Manning has opted to stay silent to be free from any blame and to have the last laugh, an insider said. “Manning has remained very silent except for publicly stating that he endorses the new leadership of the party. People must not forget he is an experienced politician. He did not have to call a general election, but as we all know he went against the advice of many because of his arrogance. “He knew the electorate was agitated and decided to throw in his hat wilfully. Quite frankly, he allowed the people to chose without saying anything. Without speaking he said you wanted a coalition government, you wanted Dr Rowley to lead the PNM take him. “But are the supporters happy?” a senior party member added.

East Indian factor crucial

Another crucial factor affecting the party, the Sunday Guardian understands, is that Rowley is failing to woo East Indians to the party. “It has always been a difficult area but we were able to win some support. The odds are now high again given that almost all of our support has shifted to the People’s Partnership. The truth is overall we have a tough struggle on our hands that we may not be conquering any time soon.” Attempts to contact Rowley proved futile up to late yesterday. A message left on his cell phone was also not answered.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2010, 06:20:18 AM by Brownsugar »

Re: PNMites, wha really going on with de party??
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2010, 06:19:41 AM »
And wha bout dis??  Is true??  Is not true??  Is that leprechaun Imbert causing the mischief nah??

http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/10/24/ex-ministers-plotting-against-party-leader

Ex ministers plotting against party leader
SHALIZA HASSANALI AND ANIKA GUMBS-SANDIFORD

Two former government ministers are key in the alleged plot to unseat Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley. This is the latest development in the PNM, insiders say, following an alleged split within the ranks of the party. A party stalwart said the ex ministers were working feverishly in the party to ensure that the “plan” to remove Rowley is executed. Naming the two former MPs involved in the plot, a party source said, “We did not expect the coup to happen so soon. We were looking for people within the party itself to make trouble; we were not expecting them to be working with outsiders at all.

“We are not surprised by one of the names that is being called. That particular individual never had the interest of the party at heart, period.” Sources said the individual always sought to be the forefront with former leader, Patrick Manning. “It was always about themselves and their personal gain. The other name that is behind this plot came as a surprise, but at this point no one can be trusted.” However, Sunday Guardian understands that if MPs are found working in collusion to upset the Opposition they could face disciplinary action resulting in expulsion from the party. “This is a very serious matter and once it is found to have matter the relevant persons are going to be dealt with.”

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2010, 07:27:34 AM »
unc propaganda daiz all.

besides they cant afford to get rid of imbert, they need him in parliment

« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2010, 07:33:50 AM »
unc propaganda daiz all.

besides they cant afford to get rid of imbert, they need him in parliment
not a pnmite but cosign.  My uncle talk to Rowley today to wish him happy birthday. all that is non-sense dont pay no mind to the guardian

« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2010, 07:47:29 AM »
Yes, I realise is the Guardian so yuh have to take it with a grain of salt.  But this is not the first time I'm hearing of some sort of division or unhappiness in the PNM......the people loyal to Manning eh like the fact that Rowley leading dem and so on and so forth....

« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2010, 08:35:02 AM »
What people doh like is de way Rowley isolating Manning people.

« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2010, 11:09:57 AM »

And while i not a PNMite, from de info i hear, those people are MP's which were selected by Manning, who comprise the opposition bench now.

Thing is...apparently the MP's saying one thing..while the party groups of their constituencies saying a different thing in terms of support for Rowley.

Simple ting...general council meeting.....Rowley was the sole nominee for Political leader just the other day. If yuh have a problem...go up against him....and let de election decide it.

Unfortunately from how it seems..the party groups or delegate election system would be in force. Not a one man one vote system which would be most likely a better representation of the opinion of all members of the PNM.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2010, 02:47:39 PM »

And while i not a PNMite, from de info i hear, those people are MP's which were selected by Manning, who comprise the opposition bench now.

Thing is...apparently the MP's saying one thing..while the party groups of their constituencies saying a different thing in terms of support for Rowley.

Simple ting...general council meeting.....Rowley was the sole nominee for Political leader just the other day. If yuh have a problem...go up against him....and let de election decide it.

Unfortunately from how it seems..the party groups or delegate election system would be in force. Not a one man one vote system which would be most likely a better representation of the opinion of all members of the PNM.

Cyah stand d PNM but when compare 2 d jokers in power at present we up a creek witout a paddle. As 4 d party groups that has always d system I blieve.