A) Some do even now
B) ONce you are in you have no choice unly you make it yours. Perhaps your hatred for the ideals of the prior regime has you clouded.
C) Should be thanking them that you are able to go Miami and fete with out the fear of being bombed into pieces.
Any more questions?
Doh make you and I fall out with this shit talk.
a) I have no doubt that some still serve under heroic circumstances... you just arguing for argument sake now. TC's question was why don't I oppose the holidays. I laid out why I don't oppose the holidays. What are you arguing... reasons why I
should??
b) "Once you are in..." Exactly. And you have a choice about going in or not. Not every vet had a choice, and I for one think differently of the service of those who were forced to sacrifice, compared to those who volunteered for service. Under threat of compulsion many showed up and went and fought, even if in their hearts they would have preferred to be home with their families or pursuing their careers. They had to sacrifice those things against their will. They didn't take the coward's way out by going to Canada, or having thier daddies smooth their paths.
Service members today volunteer for the hazards. There is a calculation made by many who look at the low risk of fighting relative to the reward of enlisting. Today of course those risks are heightened, and some still like their odds so they gamble. For others like yourself there is no gamble, you don't mind fighting. Good for you. You still made a conscious choice to put the other things you could have been doing on hold to serve. Others didn't have that choice, they had their other opportunities foreclosed to them on account of the draft.
You are myopically looking at this within the paradigm of the Bush years... I am not. I am comparing draft service to post-draft service and acknowledging a difference. You don't have to like or agree with it.
c) Who was going to bomb me into pieces in Miami? Even if they were, domestic security isn't even under the purview of the military. Your best argument would be to try and extrapolate that "protection" all the way back to the troops serving in Afghanistan... who arguably fighting to 'keep us safe' from Al Qaeda.