April 28, 2024, 04:24:49 AM

Author Topic: Venezuela whips U-20 Warriors 4-2  (Read 3373 times)

Venezuela whips U-20 Warriors 4-2
« on: October 28, 2010, 04:33:53 AM »
Venezuela whips U-20 Warriors 4-2.
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian).

T&T Under-20 Soca Warriors conceded three goals in the space of 23 minutes in the second-half to go under to host Venezuela, 4-2 in their penultimate match of the six-team Bolivar Invitational Cup at the Estadio Cachamay Stadium, Puerto Ordaz on Tuesday night.

The South Americans, winners of their three previous matches to lead the tournament with a maximum nine points, took the lead in the 24th minute via Jesus Lugo but the young Soca Warriors, coming off of two straight draws (Cameroon (2-2), and Ecuador (1-1) tied up the match in the 37th minute thanks to defender Reshard Wint before Brandon Simpson netted a minute before the interval for the Zoran Vranes-coached team to lead 2-1 at the interval.

However, in the second-half, the Venezuelans took advantage of the absence of two of T&T’s key defenders in captain Sheldon Bateau (suspension) and Akeem Adams (injury) to net in the 65th through Carlos Rivero to leave the match at 2-2 before Lugo got a second in the 75th minute to regain the lead for the hosts while substitute Jose Reyes sealed the win with a 93rd minute item.

With striker, Jerrel Britto also out due to an injury, the young Soca Warriors found the margin too wide to claw their way back from and in the end fell to their second loss in four matches as they continue preparations for the home-and-away Caribbean Football Union Under-20 qualifying series against St Vincent and The Grenadines on November 16 and 23.

Speaking after the match national Under-20 coach Zoran Vranes said he was concerned by the team giving up three second half goals. “We started by conceding first but we came back very strong before half time to lead 2-1.

But they stayed on top of us after the second time they scored and then they got two more goals... Still I am not totally disappointed because Venezuela has been the best team maybe in the tournament and have the results to prove that,” Vranes said.

The winner of the T&T/SVG series will meet the winner of the Aruba/Suriname tie for a Concacaf Final Round spot where it will join already qualifiers Jamaica, Canada, USA, Mexico and host country Guatemala for the Concacaf tournament from April 3 to 17 next year.

Concacaf will qualify four teams to next year’s Under-20 World Cup in Colombia July 29-August 20. In Tuesday’s other matches, Cameroon and Panama battled to a 0-0 draw while Ecuador whipped Nicaragua 4-0.

Current Standings

Teams P W D L F A Pts
Venezuela 4 4 0 0 15 4 12
Panama 4 2 1 1 8 3 7
Ecuador 4 2 1 1 8 5 7
Cameroon 4 1 2 1 4 5 5
T&T 4 0 2 2 6 9 2
Nicaragua 4 0 0 4 1 16 0

Today’s matches
T&T vs Nicaragua, 4.30 pm
Ecuador vs Panama, 6.30 pm
Venezuela vs Cameroon, 8.30 pm
« Last Edit: October 28, 2010, 05:24:51 AM by Flex »

Re: Venezuela whips U-20 Warriors 4-2
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2010, 06:15:58 AM »
Panama beating us now at every level.

In a group like this the only team we better than is Nicaragua, shamless, and I hope we beat them too.

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2010, 06:53:41 AM »

In a group like this the only team we better than is Nicaragua, shamless, and I hope we beat them too.

Panama has a very good program, so we have to worry because they are CONCACAF rivals. The senior team is unbeaten in its last few games, showing consistency. Now they showing they have a good crop of players coming behind as well.

« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2010, 09:53:59 AM »
"The winner of the T&T/SVG series will meet the winner of the Aruba/Suriname tie for a Concacaf Final Round spot where it will join already qualifiers Jamaica, Canada, USA, Mexico and host country Guatemala for the Concacaf tournament from April 3 to 17 next year."  ???

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2010, 10:06:28 AM »

Panama has a very good program, so we have to worry because they are CONCACAF rivals. The senior team is unbeaten in its last few games, showing consistency. Now they showing they have a good crop of players coming behind as well.

So looks like Panama didnt qualify for the final rounds of CONCACAF qualifying then? or will they play-off with another team?

Jamaica, Canada, USA, Mexico and host country Guatemala, will be join by one of T&T/SVG/Suriname/Aruba

If its only a six team tourney with 4 teams qualifying, then all the teams must be going n with the feeling that they have a good shot at being one of the 4. I like my sides chances, they looked impressive dismissing Guyana, Grenada and USVI. As a gauge, I think the same guyana team was able to hold this current T&T team to a 0-0 scoreline.

But i think the usual supsects of USA, Mexico and Canada will probably account for the top three spots, surprised that the likes of Panama, Costa, Honduras not represented in the final round. so the fight will be between Ja, Guat, and T&T for last of the 4 spots then

« Last Edit: October 28, 2010, 10:09:08 AM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2010, 11:38:15 AM »

So looks like Panama didnt qualify for the final rounds of CONCACAF qualifying then? or will they play-off with another team?

Jamaica, Canada, USA, Mexico and host country Guatemala, will be join by one of T&T/SVG/Suriname/Aruba

If its only a six team tourney with 4 teams qualifying, then all the teams must be going n with the feeling that they have a good shot at being one of the 4. I like my sides chances, they looked impressive dismissing Guyana, Grenada and USVI. As a gauge, I think the same guyana team was able to hold this current T&T team to a 0-0 scoreline.

But i think the usual supsects of USA, Mexico and Canada will probably account for the top three spots, surprised that the likes of Panama, Costa, Honduras not represented in the final round. so the fight will be between Ja, Guat, and T&T for last of the 4 spots then

Yes but that was not a qualifier in Guyana when we played and Guyana was on the back foot all game ...  anyway the central American qualifiers has not taken place . the Caribbean has 3 spots ... Jamaica qualified  the winner of the group in trinidad .... then Guyana will play the second place team in the group for the final spot ... its a 12 team tournament not 6

« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2010, 11:16:26 PM »
We beaten by Nicaragua 2-0 this evening. We have finished the tournament last.

From Yahho Espana Eurosport (Rough translation)

Venezuela finished undefeated champion of the hexagonal invite in the city of Puerto Ordaz in preparation for the Under-20 World Cup qualifiers in Colombia in 2011.

In the closing match of the tournament Venezuela used many substitutes in a tied 3-3 game with Cameroon.

Panama claimed second in the tournament by defeating Ecuador 2-1, while Nicaragua pulled off a surprise upset  by beating Trinidad 2-0 to earn fifth place in the tournament.

On completion of the five games schedule, Venezuela secured first place with thirteen points, followed by Panama with ten, Ecuador with seven, Cameroon with six, Nicaragua with three and Trinidad and Tobago dead last with 2 points.

Poor performance in the last two games. Like they wilt under the pressure of 5 games in 1 week. But EVERYBODY else had the same schedule.

The early results show they have skill. They must strengthen their resolve and ability to maintain focus. Especially when players like Britto and Adams are not on the pitch. Vranes better pull up that slackness in the  backline.

Some days it F*#@ing hard to be a T&T football fan oui

« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2010, 02:43:24 AM »
Everybody beat up Nicaragua except we. Lawd

No wonder we football getting bumped. Ah hope we don't have to be subjected to excuses since every other team played under the same conditions. We piss poor at all levels.

But saying all that i'm sure we'll qualify for the next stage but that can't the end game. We must do better.

« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2010, 08:07:38 AM »

Venezuela finished undefeated champion of the hexagonal invite in the city of Puerto Ordaz in preparation for the Under-20 World Cup qualifiers in Colombia in 2011.

In the closing match of the tournament Venezuela used many substitutes in a tied 3-3 game with Cameroon.

Panama claimed second in the tournament by defeating Ecuador 2-1, while Nicaragua pulled off a surprise upset  by beating Trinidad 2-0 to earn fifth place in the tournament.

On completion of the five games schedule, Venezuela secured first place with thirteen points, followed by Panama with ten, Ecuador with seven, Cameroon with six, Nicaragua with three and Trinidad and Tobago dead last with 2 points.

Poor performance in the last two games. Like they wilt under the pressure of 5 games in 1 week. But EVERYBODY else had the same schedule.

The early results show they have skill. They must strengthen their resolve and ability to maintain focus. Especially when players like Britto and Adams are not on the pitch. Vranes better pull up that slackness in the  backline.

Funny how you see things clearly now on this thread ...when a how you described it on the other thread ?? ...." fat big belly man who have to squeeze a jersey over he belly put on he tugs etc. " was saying pretty much what you saying now.

...but is ok ..It just takes some a little longer to see what we " fat belly old men " could see straight away.

You needed to see us lose to what was considered the worst team in the competition to realise where we stood ...well lets see if you get the " big belly message " that we have to call a spade a spade if it is to be of any use ....

These guys are playing under 20 football unless and until we see them  as adults and responsible for their actions on the pitch ..and the coaches as having to produce or get fired ...we eh going ah place .....

« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2010, 11:22:58 AM »

Funny how you see things clearly now on this thread ...when a how you described it on the other thread ?? ...." fat big belly man who have to squeeze a jersey over he belly put on he tugs etc. " was saying pretty much what you saying now.

...but is ok ..It just takes some a little longer to see what we " fat belly old men " could see straight away.

You needed to see us lose to what was considered the worst team in the competition to realise where we stood ...well lets see if you get the " big belly message " that we have to call a spade a spade if it is to be of any use ....

These guys are playing under 20 football unless and until we see them  as adults and responsible for their actions on the pitch ..and the coaches as having to produce or get fired ...we eh going ah place .....

You trying to sell me this idea that nutten good can come from T&T football. I refuse to believe that. YES, our football 'system' is piss poor. And Until major changes happen at Pro-league, TTFF, SSFL, youth league and minor league levels, anybody coming out of this system is at a physical and mental DISADVANTAGE compared to the rest of the world.

We have a colonial hangover that says whatever we have is inferior. That applies to everything from we hair texture, skin colour, music, natural resources to our football. And at the same time we have strong a sense of ENTITLEMENT.

So now its coming to a head. We shame because our seniors have been humbled by Guyana and Belize and yet we EXPECT our youth team to be giving the likes of Ecuador, Cameroon and Venezuela a good cutarse. Just because we occasionally produce a Latapy or Stern John does not mean we are owed victories without  years of hard fought groundwork.

Victory and defeat occur well before you hit the field of battle. Our players need a lifetime of work, not just a few months of training and one tournament in Venezuela to undo the tangle of complacency, mediocrity and overexpectation some of them eating breathing and sleeping all their life.

So when we cuss them for playing shit, just remember we are also part of the problem because it is we who have embraced this culture of loosing, like a pig rolling in shit, and worse...WE HAVE PERMITTED ITS TRANSMISSION TO OUR YOUNG PEOPLE. And then we resort to our default position of negative criticism with not so much as a LOOK IN THE MIRROR. It may seem counter intuitive but sometimes positive reinforcement  works.

I'm not going to sit here and say they do good in the last two games. Some of them have to go and maybe its high time for a better coach. But giving up on the field and giving up as fans is two sides of the same coin. And showing up only when they loose to call them shitong is nothing but a self-fullfilling prophecy resulting in a vicious circle. Yuh taking out yuh frustrations on the wrong people.

So I guess I'll continue to look like a damn fool because is T&T straight thru. Play de fitball

« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2010, 11:47:23 AM »
Well  said Zandolie. You make some profound points. However after a fairly good performance in our first two performances and leading Venezuela in the firsy half one would have expected a victory in this game seeing that they were losers in the other games. Something is wrong here.
 There is a good biblical quotation to answer you point about adults causing what we see in our Youths today-
 No longer would it be said in Israel that the parents have eaten sour grapes and the children"s teeth are set on edge, Every Generation has to take responsibility for their own success/ Being

« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2010, 02:51:34 PM »

You trying to sell me this idea that nutten good can come from T&T football. I refuse to believe that. YES, our football 'system' is piss poor. And Until major changes happen at Pro-league, TTFF, SSFL, youth league and minor league levels, anybody coming out of this system is at a physical and mental DISADVANTAGE compared to the rest of the world.

We have a colonial hangover that says whatever we have is inferior. That applies to everything from we hair texture, skin colour, music, natural resources to our football. And at the same time we have strong a sense of ENTITLEMENT.

So now its coming to a head. We shame because our seniors have been humbled by Guyana and Belize and yet we EXPECT our youth team to be giving the likes of Ecuador, Cameroon and Venezuela a good cutarse. Just because we occasionally produce a Latapy or Stern John does not mean we are owed victories without  years of hard fought groundwork.

Victory and defeat occur well before you hit the field of battle. Our players need a lifetime of work, not just a few months of training and one tournament in Venezuela to undo the tangle of complacency, mediocrity and overexpectation some of them eating breathing and sleeping all their life.

So when we cuss them for playing shit, just remember we are also part of the problem because it is we who have embraced this culture of loosing, like a pig rolling in shit, and worse...WE HAVE PERMITTED ITS TRANSMISSION TO OUR YOUNG PEOPLE. And then we resort to our default position of negative criticism with not so much as a LOOK IN THE MIRROR. It may seem counter intuitive but sometimes positive reinforcement  works.

I'm not going to sit here and say they do good in the last two games. Some of them have to go and maybe its high time for a better coach. But giving up on the field and giving up as fans is two sides of the same coin. And showing up only when they loose to call them shitong is nothing but a self-fullfilling prophecy resulting in a vicious circle. Yuh taking out yuh frustrations on the wrong people.

So I guess I'll continue to look like a damn fool because is T&T straight thru. Play de fitball

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2010, 03:11:43 PM »

Zando this is ah boss post..  :beermug:

Offline lil damo

« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2010, 10:34:56 PM »
Wait nah, we lose again? Fire de coach because he don't know what he doing. Wait nah Panama beat us again? Fire d coach fire d coach, is d coaches fault we not producing players these days.

Offline ironman

• dont joke with u life
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2010, 10:44:15 AM »
Zandolie one of the best post I have ever read period......kinda sums up the reason why I stay low on this board the negativity and different hang up from posters...just too much.
tell them it was me

« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2010, 10:50:11 AM »
Wait nah, we lose again? Fire de coach because he don't know what he doing. Wait nah Panama beat us again? Fire d coach fire d coach, is d coaches fault we not producing players these days.

« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2010, 01:05:22 PM »
play de fitball

« Reply #17 on: November 01, 2010, 10:43:11 AM »
Lil Damo, THAT reasoning does NOT apply here... we were playing opposition ABOVE the level of our Caribbean neighbours, no disrespect to them... now should the T&T U-20's lose to SVG in their qualifying games on Nov 20th and 23rd, THEN, you could say "fire the coach"...bearing in mind that this is the SAME coach who qualified us for the last U-20 World Cup...

Offline handsanointed

« Reply #18 on: November 02, 2010, 06:46:21 AM »
Well  said Zandolie. You make some profound points. However after a fairly good performance in our first two performances and leading Venezuela in the firsy half one would have expected a victory in this game seeing that they were losers in the other games. Something is wrong here.
 There is a good biblical quotation to answer you point about adults causing what we see in our Youths today-
 No longer would it be said in Israel that the parents have eaten sour grapes and the children"s teeth are set on edge, Every Generation has to take responsibility for their own success/ Being
So can we safely say that these friendlies was an opportunity for the coaches to see what work needs to be done with individual players and by extension the team. Clearly after the first two games we kept losing key players due to injuries and cards.