March 28, 2024, 04:12:07 AM

Author Topic: PanJazz UK 2010 - Folklore (Anancy Stories) Concert in London (Sat.6th Nov)  (Read 1019 times)

If you live in the UK then we urge you not to miss this fantastic show!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/R6MCmNC7_Do" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/R6MCmNC7_Do</a>

Event: PanJazz UK presents Folklore - Anancy Stories (PanJazz meets Theatre)
Date &Time: Saturday 6th November 2010; Doors 6pm - 10pm; Showtime 8pm.
Venue: The Troxy, 490 Commercial Rd, London E1 0HX.

The show is an amalgamation of Steel Pan, Jazz and a major theatrical element masterminded by the award-winning Carnival designer Brian MacFarlane. Brian is well known for his large scale costume shows and ceremonies. The show also features the Liberace of the steelpan, Len 'Boogsie' Sharpe. Also performing will be World class panist Leon Foster, Jazz Trumpeter Etienne Charles, Rapso Performers 3Canal and the MOBO award winning Yolanda Brown.
The show will be hosted by Miss Universe 1998 Wendy Fitzwilliam.

There will be a pre-show reception for all 1,200 guests entitled “Taste of the Caribbean” in Atrium of the Troxy from 6pm to 8pm. This reception will be a smorgasbord of Caribbean food, drink, craft products, as well as live entertainment. Sponsors for this pre-show bonus features several top Caribbean restaurants and more.

Ticket prices are Adults: £25 Upper Circle, £29.50 Stalls with Children half-price at £12.50 & £14.75 respectively!

If you live in the UK then learn & support your culture and book yuh ticket now at www.panjazzuk.com or call 020 7193 5859 for more info on your nearest ticket outlet!
« Last Edit: November 01, 2010, 12:59:53 AM by Socapro »

I vex I miss this post... I was in London this weekend gone..

and Etienne Charles is ah old friend of mine

So socapro.....gi we a lil recap of wha went down...how de performances was....de highlights etc nah man.  Oh gorm...is beg big man have to beg allyuh fuh a lil info?

Ah mean....ah KNOW a culture vulture like you woulda bong to be dey front row centre!!  8)

So socapro.....gi we a lil recap of wha went down...how de performances was....de highlights etc nah man.  Oh gorm...is beg big man have to beg allyuh fuh a lil info?

Ah mean....ah KNOW a culture vulture like you woulda bong to be dey front row centre!!  8)

The show was brilliant all round but Boogies steal the show!!
But what else could we expect from the greatest panman alive?!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/LZNV52RaSLM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/LZNV52RaSLM</a>

Was a priviledge to see him live & direct in the flesh doing what he does better than anyone else on the palnet!
Living legend!!  :salute:

Oh yeah Wendy Fitzwilliam was looking hot & 3 Canal rell vibes up the place & get on bad, performed jazzed up versions of two of their big hits "Good Morning Neighbour" & "Blue"!

The Folklore costumes were great and MOBO Award winning Yolanda Brown was wicked on the sax and we cyah leave out Etienne Charles musical director on the trumpet!! I think the drummer was Robert Bailey and yuh know he wicked, in fact all the musicians were brilliant!!!

Lara was there also in the VIP section, ah chat with him a bit & took a picture which I will put up on my facebook soon!
Trini actor Rudolph Walker O.B.E was also present in the VIP!

They also had a nice VIP party after the concert that went on until 1am but I had to dash off to go see the two Soca Queens Destra & Denise Belfon live on stage with full band at the Obsessive London concert which also took place on the same night!
« Last Edit: November 09, 2010, 05:55:01 PM by Socapro »

3 Canal @ PanJazz UK 2010!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Yhm_1xt77WE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Yhm_1xt77WE</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/FqC2UbN_WTk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/FqC2UbN_WTk</a>
« Last Edit: November 09, 2010, 05:20:05 PM by Socapro »

This one especially for Palos!!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/khTBPAtKLnY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/khTBPAtKLnY</a>