March 28, 2024, 12:05:43 PM

Author Topic: Should our Goalkeepers play basketball to help improve.  (Read 13825 times)

Should our Goalkeepers play basketball to help improve.
« on: November 13, 2010, 06:34:53 AM »
Should our Goalkeepers play basketball in order to improve their techniques ?

I say YES !!!!!!!

Re: Should our Goalkeepers play basketball to help improve.
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 06:58:43 AM »
Ince played for a team from Diego and Lincoln was also a national basketball player.

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2010, 07:19:21 AM »
Perhaps you should recruit Mike Bibby to be the T&T goalkeeper.

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2010, 07:40:20 AM »
When you ask that question you are implying that there is a problem with T&T GKeeping as a whole whose solution can be directly linked to basketball, and not the tried and true methods of GK training that produce world-class GK's the world over.  I really don't see the connection and I don't think playing basketball as a whole is going to make us produce "better GK's" than we already do.  Just my honest, humle opinion.

« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2010, 10:15:17 AM »
Basketball for GKs, nah Sam.

« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2010, 10:22:19 AM »
When you ask that question you are implying that there is a problem with T&T GKeeping as a whole whose solution can be directly linked to basketball, and not the tried and true methods of GK training that produce world-class GK's the world over.  I really don't see the connection and I don't think playing basketball as a whole is going to make us produce "better GK's" than we already do.  Just my honest, humle opinion.
sound like you answering dry, take ah couple drink, an read it again man...ah startin to think we need ah rumshop section...yuh could only lime in dah section after ah few...lately, ah seeing it go hah plenty big lime in dey.. ;D

Offline RehanaOmardeenfan

« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2010, 11:23:17 AM »
Basketball is so stupid....so no.

The Goalkeepers are fine anyways.

« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2010, 12:08:00 PM »
Nah they should pick up juggling.   ;D

« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2010, 12:29:19 PM »
I say volleyball...move diving and stretching in dat.

Tim Howard used to play dat too.

« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2010, 12:31:44 PM »

Didnt Tim Howard give up more goals than any other non relegated GK in the EPL too? :rotfl:

« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2010, 12:42:03 PM »
Wicket Keeper...

« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2010, 12:50:23 PM »

Didnt Tim Howard give up more goals than any other non relegated GK in the EPL too? :rotfl:

Omardeen Fan....NO, you have not a clue what you are talking about. Tim Howard is an excellent keeper.

For your edification

Team              Matches Played   Goals Conceded

1   Burnley                 38   82
2   Wigan Athletic        38   79
3   Hull City                38   75
4   Bolton                38   67
5   Portsmouth                38   66
6   West Ham Utd        38   66
7   Sunderland                38   56
8   Wolves                38   56
9   Blackburn                38   55
10   Everton                38   49

Of the nine teams that collect more goal than Everton last yr 3 were relegated...so from your statement, there were 6 keepers from teams that did not get relegated that collect more goal than him.

Tim Howard was also a very good basketball player as well.

But Sam has something...doh write it off as rubbish.

David James while being a calamity at times used to train pre season with NFL teams to learn their jumping and kicking techniques.

Nothing is wrong with taking a technique in another sport and tweaking the mechanics to improve yourself.

« Last Edit: November 13, 2010, 12:56:29 PM by Touches »

« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2010, 12:51:30 PM »
keeper training better than playing basket, i cant see d benefits of playing basket ball for a goal keeper

« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2010, 12:55:41 PM »

Omardeen Fan....NO, you have not a clue what you are talking about. Tim Howard is an excellent keeper.

For your edification

Of the nine teams that collect more goal than Everton last yr 3 were relegated...so from your statement, there were 6 keepers from teams that did not get relegated that collect more goal than him.

Meh...Howard is still overrated. Only popular because hes 1 of the 3...maybe 4, Americans on this earth that can play football better than the average 12 year old.

« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2010, 12:58:51 PM »

For your edification

Meh...Howard is still overrated. Only popular because hes 1 of the 3...maybe 4, Americans on this earth that can play football better than the average 12 year old.

Americans are better at football than Trini's....at every level, both male and female.

In fact they are better than most other countries in the world.

Don't hate appreciate.

« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2010, 01:07:58 PM »

« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2010, 01:11:48 PM »

For your edification

Americans are better at football than Trini's....at every level, both male and female.

In fact they are better than most other countries in the world.

Don't hate appreciate.

They are larger, and have more resources than us.Even then saying they are better than us isnt saying MUCH :rotfl:

I wouldnt agree with saying they are better than most in the world either. USA has probably the easiest, next to New Zealand, qualifying path.

Most of central America lacks infrastructure
The Caribbean is filled with many places too small to ever be truly competitive.
Canada is rubbish.

You basically have 3.5 spots for a region where only 4 are competitive at any given time...it's a cakewalk.

« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2010, 01:43:34 PM »
yeah boy

« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2010, 01:44:31 PM »
Omardeen fan is true...yuh right, they ent better than much in the World.

A post World Cup ranking of 12th and a current ranking of 25 ent saying much....we are where... 106?

appearing in the last six FIFA World Cups, and hosting the 1994 edition.

The team's best finish in the FIFA World Cup came in the inaugural 1930 tournament where it finished third. More recently, it finished fourth in the 1995 Copa América, reached the quarterfinals of the 2002 World Cup, and took second place in the 2009 Confederations Cup. The United States has won the CONCACAF Gold Cup four times in ten tournaments, one short of Mexico's five. U.S soccer teams also took silver and bronze in the 1904 Olympic Games.

Since the 1970's, the U.S soccer team has achieved wins against Brazil, Germany, Argentina and Spain. Their win over England in the 1950 FIFA World Cup is considered among the biggest upsets in the history of international football.

Is true...dey shitty  ::)

« Reply #19 on: November 13, 2010, 01:54:56 PM »
Omardeen fan is true...yuh right, they ent better than much in the World.

A post World Cup ranking of 12th and a current ranking of 25 ent saying much....we are where... 106?

appearing in the last six FIFA World Cups, and hosting the 1994 edition.

The team's best finish in the FIFA World Cup came in the inaugural 1930 tournament where it finished third. More recently, it finished fourth in the 1995 Copa América, reached the quarterfinals of the 2002 World Cup, and took second place in the 2009 Confederations Cup. The United States has won the CONCACAF Gold Cup four times in ten tournaments, one short of Mexico's five. U.S soccer teams also took silver and bronze in the 1904 Olympic Games.

Since the 1970's, the U.S soccer team has achieved wins against Brazil, Germany, Argentina and Spain. Their win over England in the 1950 FIFA World Cup is considered among the biggest upsets in the history of international football.

Is true...dey shitty  ::)

Where was Ghana on the Fifa rankings before they beat USA? Fifa rankings are useless because its a faulty system.

Qualifying in an easy region is just that.
Winning the gold cup, a mickey mouse cup in a minor region is just that.
5th place Copa America.... :rotfl:
Hosting the world cup...Well the place is HUGE!
Confederations cup was a tournament they got to the second round of by sheer virtue of the Egyptians being tricked by prostitutes the night before and it going worldwide. Ooooh they beat Spain!...Well so did Switzerland and where are THEY ranked?

They are crap, and are only big men in CONCACAF. Big Fish in a small pond personified. I hate Italy, but I personally hope they knock them out so we wont have to hear about them in the womans game next year.

1950 world cup win when England was still rebuliding from WW2...and a winner scored by a Haitian :rotfl:

USA is good at stealing players tho'! Ask Adu or Jermaine Jones

« Reply #20 on: November 13, 2010, 05:46:36 PM »
sound like you answering dry, take ah couple drink, an read it again man...ah startin to think we need ah rumshop section...yuh could only lime in dah section after ah few...lately, ah seeing it go hah plenty big lime in dey.. ;D

I was soakin' wet When I wrote that response.  Not dry at all.  ;D

Aye, Touches....go and take een a profesional team (a REAL professional team) train for a pre-season and focus on their GK's....then come back and tell meh if them fellas need to play basketball.  Yuh will find that maybe basketball players need to do some GK training instead of the other way around.  (Hakeem Olajuwan being a prime example) That some goalkeepers play basketball is pure coincidence.  For every one world class GK that plays basketball, there are probably 20 that don't. 

« Reply #21 on: November 13, 2010, 06:29:24 PM »
I encourage young Goalkeepers to play basketball,those who want to be or like goalkeeping,i think the basic fundamentals of goalkeeping can be enhanced and developed from playing the game eg hand ball coordination, catching techniques,distribution etc etc 

« Reply #22 on: November 13, 2010, 06:46:28 PM »
I encourage young Goalkeepers to play basketball,those who want to be or like goalkeeping,i think the basic fundamentals of goalkeeping can be enhanced and developed from playing the game eg hand ball coordination, catching techniques,distribution etc etc 

There is no way Basketball teaching GK catching technique, no way. If you want GK to play another sport, let them play tennis. Almost all footballer will benefit from playing tennis. Not ping pong eh.

« Reply #23 on: November 13, 2010, 07:19:05 PM »
playing all them other sports might do more harm than good. Just do proper training. Once you have a good goalkeeper coach.

« Reply #24 on: November 13, 2010, 08:16:18 PM »

They are larger, and have more resources than us.Even then saying they are better than us isnt saying MUCH :rotfl:

I wouldnt agree with saying they are better than most in the world either. USA has probably the easiest, next to New Zealand, qualifying path.

Most of central America lacks infrastructure
The Caribbean is filled with many places too small to ever be truly competitive.
Canada is rubbish.

You basically have 3.5 spots for a region where only 4 are competitive at any given time...it's a cakewalk.

Hang on to these excuses.

They'll do you well when WC qualifying rolls around again.

« Reply #25 on: November 13, 2010, 08:35:48 PM »

There is no way Basketball teaching GK catching technique, no way. If you want GK to play another sport, let them play tennis. Almost all footballer will benefit from playing tennis. Not ping pong eh.
       Breds you gone on to something else,we talking about Goalkeeping not all Footballers,i was very good at Badminton and Field hockey those games i think enhanced my game in some way.Now tell me what will help a Goalkeeper catching technique Coach,i looking for some tips.

« Reply #26 on: November 13, 2010, 08:48:21 PM »
latas should train under a grand master of chess, he will learn what good strategy is all about

« Reply #27 on: November 14, 2010, 07:32:04 AM »
both Patrick Ewing and Akeem Olajawon were goalkeepers.They both had the best footwork for big men in the NBA and both accredited football for it. 
Steve Nash is another one who has accredited football for his footwork and court vision.

« Reply #28 on: November 14, 2010, 09:09:44 AM »
playing all them other sports might do more harm than good. Just do proper training. Once you have a good goalkeeper coach.

Talk done right dey!

« Reply #29 on: November 14, 2010, 11:46:21 AM »
        How many clubs/teams have goalkeeping Coaches,how many schools have goalkeeping Coaches,Coaches usually train everybody together and hope for the best where goalkeeping is concerned (i'm referring to T&T), goalkeeping is a specialized position and you often find Coaches don't have a clue how to train them.T&T was always blessed with good keepers can anyone tell me who were the goalkeeping Coaches we had?i can call a number of quality Goalkeepers the army had and we never had a goalkeeping Coach,some peeps does get tied up with this coaching thing,i just want to draw an example here since the WI get a Cricket Coach they can't see their way,you not getting the quality Cricketers we used too have when we didn't have Coach.