April 25, 2024, 10:22:00 PM

Author Topic: Trinidad and its international exposure  (Read 12137 times)

Trinidad and its international exposure
« on: November 13, 2010, 01:32:18 PM »
This is a random thought but I was watching D2: The Might Ducks (don't ask why lol, boredom on a Saturday).  I realized that Trinidad & Tobago was featured as the first team the Ducks played. 

I was wondering why Trinidad was chosen to play ice hockey in this movie since I am sure we don't even have a team much less play any winter sports, okay maybe one or two sports.  By the way, we lost 9-2 lol and when we scored players start to wine and the pan start playing!!!

Ever heard of Trinidad in any other movie?  Boredom is a he'll of a thing lol

Re: Trinidad and its international exposure
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 09:19:15 PM »
D 2 Summit last yr dealt wit dat. No need 4 lil old movie.

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 07:17:17 AM »

Noone outside Trinidad remembers that there was a summit in Trinidad last year. Very few people even knew at the time.

« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 07:47:18 AM »
This is a random thought but I was watching D2: The Might Ducks (don't ask why lol, boredom on a Saturday).  I realized that Trinidad & Tobago was featured as the first team the Ducks played. 

I was wondering why Trinidad was chosen to play ice hockey in this movie since I am sure we don't even have a team much less play any winter sports, okay maybe one or two sports.  By the way, we lost 9-2 lol and when we scored players start to wine and the pan start playing!!!

Ever heard of Trinidad in any other movie?  Boredom is a he'll of a thing lol

Bank Job, featuring Abdul Malik character.  TT accent was real off though OMG

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Bank_Job

« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 11:57:49 AM »
busta rhymes was rockin ah trini flag in scenes all over 'Shaft'....then again that movie was too shitty for any international exposure

« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2010, 02:50:02 PM »
in the movie Stripes ,Chevy Chase says The new sprinting Super power Trinidadtobago.It was 1979 .

« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2010, 02:54:48 PM »

Noone outside Trinidad remembers that there was a summit in Trinidad last year. Very few people even knew at the time.

Sarcasm could come an introduce herself 2 all yuh and all yuh eh go recognize she.

« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2010, 05:51:57 PM »
escape to victory - pele's character comes from trinidad and tobago

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2010, 08:28:40 AM »
I think in that movie Pele was refering to the Trinidad in Brazil
http://www.1911encyclopedia.org/Trinidad,_Brazil
that is what I thought when I saw this movie many years ago too...

Mighty Ducks was a laugh the TIE DYE jersey with Rasta MON
my understanding they got some of the ideas off the Strike Squad experience...

« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2010, 11:41:44 AM »
There was a GI Joe figure called Tunnel Rat.  On the bio info on the back of the packages which I used to cut out and keep, they said his parents were Trinidad Chinese.  That blew my mind at age 8 or so.

« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2010, 12:01:11 PM »
In Unidisputed which was a prison boxing movie there was a macomereman from Trinidad. Real shitup.

« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2010, 12:34:06 PM »
Anybody remember an episode from "The Cosby's" where Cliff Huxtable mentioned liking callaloo and then was playing a scaled down version of cricket in he living room and mocking the Queen/the English while doing it??

« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2010, 12:35:54 PM »
Anybody remember an episode from "The Cosby's" where Cliff Huxtable mentioned liking callaloo and then was playing a scaled down version of cricket in he living room and mocking the Queen/the English while doing it??
callaloo soup he called it.

« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2010, 12:58:52 PM »
Sopranos Series 1....Tony's mom's maid was from Trinidad.

« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2010, 01:00:56 PM »

And had an episode where he and some partners was playing all fours.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2010, 01:38:48 PM »
The solo for "carrie anne" by the hollies was played on steel pan...

Perfect Strangers had an episode where they were stuck in an airport in Tobago during a hurricane.

« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2010, 02:02:47 PM »
I think in that movie Pele was refering to the Trinidad in Brazilhttp://www.1911encyclopedia.org/Trinidad,_Brazil

Not likely... he was a POW, the likely explanation was that he was fighting for the Brits (as many WI soldiers did during the war).

That's because of Sullivan Walker (Trini actor) who played Cliff Huxtable's best friend.

« Reply #17 on: November 15, 2010, 02:23:30 PM »
Right, right I was trying to remember how the reference to Trinidad came up.....

« Reply #18 on: November 15, 2010, 02:25:42 PM »
There was a GI Joe figure called Tunnel Rat.  On the bio info on the back of the packages which I used to cut out and keep, they said his parents were Trinidad Chinese.  That blew my mind at age 8 or so.

« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2010, 04:43:34 PM »
I think in that movie Pele was refering to the Trinidad in Brazil
http://www.1911encyclopedia.org/Trinidad,_Brazil

Mighty Ducks was a laugh the TIE DYE jersey with Rasta MON
my understanding they got some of the ideas off the Strike Squad experience...

Although there is a Trinidad in Brazil, I am sure he was referring to TT. He was a POW with the British army. Most black soldiers at that time were from the West Indies or Africa. On the other hand, he could have left Trinidad Brazil and went Guyana and he got picked up. But I still think the character he played was fromTT.

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #20 on: November 16, 2010, 09:59:25 AM »

wikipedia link
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tunnel_Rat_(G.I._Joe)

« Reply #21 on: November 16, 2010, 10:20:48 AM »
one name:

Nicki Minaj

« Reply #22 on: November 16, 2010, 11:21:16 AM »
Micheal Jacksons Doctor

« Reply #23 on: November 16, 2010, 11:24:07 AM »
triniman75....

« Reply #24 on: November 16, 2010, 11:33:53 AM »
Micheal Jacksons Doctor

SOME EXPOSEURE YUH DOH NEED but he is a GrinTrin

« Reply #25 on: November 16, 2010, 12:41:23 PM »

Yeah he didn't just mention liking it...he had a "chef" come in to make it for his Anniversary. The Chef was putting all kinda healthy thing in th epot and he had Alvin (who had Caribbean parents) pulling thing out the pot.

There was also an episode of Seinfeld where Elaine was hosting a marathon runner from Trinidad and Tobago named Jean-Paul on his trip to the NY marathon. Jean-Paul was famous for oversleeping at the Olympics (sounds like a Trini) so Jerry take over the responsibility of getting him to the race on time. Kramer blow the fuses in the building (with his hot-tub I believe) the alarm clocks didn't go off and he was late again.

Jean-Paul sounded nothing like a Trinbagonian, I feel the writers meant Haiti but make a left turn at the end because it was funny to make a play on Jen-Paul being "Trinidadian and Tobaggan".

Also saw a kids show recently called Hip Hop Harry where one of the kids' Grandmother was from trinidad and visited. They play steelpan and had a mini carnival.

« Reply #26 on: November 16, 2010, 01:00:26 PM »
Micheal Jacksons Doctor

SOME EXPOSEURE YUH DOH NEED but he is a GrinTrin

De man used to operate in St Clair lol

« Reply #27 on: November 16, 2010, 01:47:25 PM »
crazytrini de indian fella who wanted to bull de cat put we out dey....

« Reply #28 on: November 16, 2010, 01:50:20 PM »
crazytrini de indian fella who wanted to bull de cat put we out dey....

aka Marvin Lakhan

http://offender.fdle.state.fl.us/offender/flyer.do?personId=61600

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/1I_MgBEO9Gg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/1I_MgBEO9Gg</a>

« Reply #29 on: November 16, 2010, 02:50:57 PM »
Best one ever

"Doh flim meh ...."

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/OX163K1Wo_s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/OX163K1Wo_s</a>

original post

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=28314.msg320563#msg320563