March 29, 2024, 05:14:15 AM

Author Topic: Latapy boosts squad: Spann, Glen back with Soca Warriors  (Read 11814 times)

Re: Latapy boosts squad: Spann, Glen back with Soca Warriors
« Reply #30 on: November 14, 2010, 11:05:30 AM »
surprised to see he included darrly and hyland in his plans.
surprised indeed but it was like a breath of fresh air hearing their names. Keep em coming and I totally feel de same way B/S mag on de Birchall Issue.

« Reply #31 on: November 14, 2010, 11:13:14 AM »

yeah right latapy was a player...  so don't tell me he eh know that hyland and roberts would not be released ... the competition not on a fifa date  he just call them fuh so ... they not in his plans

« Reply #32 on: November 14, 2010, 11:17:26 AM »
no Sealy in midfield?no Boucaud?Jlloyd Smauel still injured? bcuz he still not playing for his club.Ah wonder if Latas should ah have a look at those conference boys in England to see where they at.

Nope

Not unless they are going to be available way before the cup. We at least need to have a core player pool of local players to choose from who are available more often than not compared to the players playing in England.

« Reply #33 on: November 14, 2010, 11:50:28 AM »
despite what allyuh say, spann is a nice edition, there is no better dead ball specialist and spann will come good, he makes an excellent utility player

« Reply #34 on: November 14, 2010, 12:12:36 PM »
Why alyuh dont ask Birchall himself. In this day and age alyuh dont know nuttin bout Twitter or wha??
na man it only have them thing in america n england. we primitive
LOL...sometimes i does wonder

« Reply #35 on: November 14, 2010, 12:27:18 PM »
despite what allyuh say, spann is a nice edition, there is no better dead ball specialist and spann will come good, he makes an excellent utility player

Really? On what evidence?

« Reply #36 on: November 14, 2010, 12:35:42 PM »

spann has always been an excellent dead ball specialist ever since. in terms of currently, he just signed on locally so i can't judge there. but every time over the many years i have seen spann play he has always had the versatility to play many positions and did a decent job in the back last time he was with the national team.

i don't know what kind of evidence you are looking for. where is the evidence latas should even be coach of the national team? that is the kind of evidence we should be asking about.

« Reply #37 on: November 14, 2010, 12:42:40 PM »

Yuh should perhaps ask what edition he referrin to

« Reply #38 on: November 14, 2010, 12:53:40 PM »

spann has always been an excellent dead ball specialist ever since. in terms of currently, he just signed on locally so i can't judge there. but every time over the many years i have seen spann play he has always had the versatility to play many positions and did a decent job in the back last time he was with the national team.

i don't know what kind of evidence you are looking for. where is the evidence latas should even be coach of the national team? that is the kind of evidence we should be asking about.

If he's de best dead ball specialist we have, I would be hoping that
a) He has scored some goals directly from free kicks
b) He has setup goals from corners and free kicks
c) His free kicks and corners are of a consistent quality and are typically goalscoring threats and/or creates panic in the opposition's 18/6 yd box.

As a utility player (e.g. Rougier), I would expect that he can be successfully used as genuine attacker, midfielder, or defender.

« Reply #39 on: November 14, 2010, 01:07:27 PM »
Wha bout the other 92% of de game when de ball still alive?

« Reply #40 on: November 14, 2010, 01:20:30 PM »
what if birchall is still a victim of the black list.

I mean Jack bring him here and spring board the fairy tale story....only for him to go with he teammates and do the lawsuit.

All the scabs who get payoff back with the side in some capacity.

The rest retire or persona non grata.

Birchie still on that Black/Jack list......latapy doh like him is a good excuse to keep him dey.

« Reply #41 on: November 14, 2010, 01:21:21 PM »

Ltapy will sub on Spann, who will ultimately track it and exterminate it...Spann ? just so?
I guess a English conference side, just couldn't afford to keep a Specialist on the field or payroll..but we can, when we get a free kick we will sub him on, and play the rest of the game with 10...wta..nobody else on the National team cyah kick the 2 free kick we does get and rarely score with ? ...ah like Spann eh, buh yuh leave him out so long, look at ah bunch ah other ppl, and then at the least active & lowest point ah the man career, yuh saying he still better than all the active ppl yuh see ? the man was way better than everybody ever knew.. :D

« Reply #42 on: November 14, 2010, 02:23:33 PM »
what if birchall is still a victim of the black list.

I mean Jack bring him here and spring board the fairy tale story....only for him to go with he teammates and do the lawsuit.

All the scabs who get payoff back with the side in some capacity.

The rest retire or persona non grata.

Birchie still on that Black/Jack list......latapy doh like him is a good excuse to keep him dey.

Wisdom again. Iz like a quasi-blacklist ... at least .... not officially on de version for public release.

« Reply #43 on: November 14, 2010, 02:37:40 PM »
You really have to look at the MLS for housing the League where it is clashing with a Major Caribbean Competition.

« Reply #44 on: November 14, 2010, 02:52:20 PM »
is spann even fit ? >:( when last he played a game

DAT SO EASY 2 ANSWER EVEN A CAVEMAN.... Anybody see him use 1 ah he dead ball 4 W?

Senior Warriors begin final leg of DCC preparations.
« Reply #45 on: November 14, 2010, 05:36:12 PM »
Senior Warriors begin final leg of DCC preparations.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior team will begin its final leg of preparations at home on Monday before departing for Martinique on  November 23 to contest the Finals of the Digicel Caribbean Cup.

And today (Sunday) head coach Russell Latapy will be monitoring closely the Group H encounter between Antigua/Barbuda and Cuba as the result is likely to determine T&T’s opponent in their opening match of the tournament on November 26. Both Cuba and Antigua/Barbuda are locked on four points each after their two games thus far.

With training set for 4pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Latapy’s team will not play a friendly international on Wednesday which is a FIFA date. Latapy has invited three additional players to the squad which includes the twenty players who were already involved in the recent Digicel Cup Group F phase during which T&T won all three matches at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium.

The three additional players include San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen and Joe Public’s Hayden Tinto as well as ex-English-based player Silvio Spann who is now attached to W Connection in the T&T Pro League. The likes of Joevin Jones, Lester Peltier and Clyde Leon who were carrying injuries in the latter part of Group F action, are on the road to full recovery in time for the upcoming slate of matches in Martinque.

T&T will open on November 26, they then face Martinique on November 28 and Grenada on November 30. The four finalists will qualify for the 2011 Concacaf Gold Cup while the two finalists will battle on December 5 for a first prize of USD120,000.

LA Galaxy midfielder Chris Birchall has not confirmed his availability, having been invited to join the squad for the Digicel Cup Finals. The same goes for European-based duo Khaleem Hyland and Darryl Roberts.

“It appears that Chris Birchall may not  be available but we are not yet counting him out as of now and Khaleem and Darryl have  indicated to us that they are definitely not available as their seasons are in full swing and the tournament does not fall within the FIFA calendar,” team manager David Muhammad told TTFF Media.

Birchall’s La Galaxy plays Dallas in the MLS Cup on Sunday for the right to contest the Final on November 21 in Toronto.

“But we are confident in the ability of the current squad of players. We saw for ourselves that they are capable of producing the goods and delivering results as was the case in the recent three matches. The final 20-man squad for the tournament will be announced next week prior to the team’s departure for Martinique,” Muhammad added.

In related news, Digicel currently have Sunderland academy coaches in Antigua and Barbuda conducting coaching clinics and taking in the Digicel Cup action. And  Sunderland Academy assistant manager Kevin Ball coach lamented the fact that Caribbean players are finding it hard to become seasoned Premier League players and as such should T&T duo Dwight Yorke and Kenwyne Jones should be emulated by regional players.

"Any player in the region could always look up to the likes of Kenwyne (Jones), who I have worked with at the club, to say to themselves that if Kenwyne can do it I can do it. We had Dwight Yorke at the club as well and he is a fantastic ambassador for football in general,’ said Ball.

Ball pointed out. "One thing that we have noticed over the days is how much they (the youngsters and coaches) want to become good footballers and become good coaches. They are prepared to listen and to learn from other persons, which is vitally important."
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 05:15:42 AM by Flex »

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #46 on: November 14, 2010, 06:05:10 PM »
San Jose now get knock out. No Sealy in d call up  ???

« Reply #47 on: November 14, 2010, 07:07:40 PM »
Doh need he ? just the other fella who couldn't play due to injury cause if wasn't for he injury, he woulda make the bench....mighta even get a run out and all now San Jose woulda be in.. ::)

when is the deadline again ? Stern, Dwight and Dog might be ready...2 weeks, plenty time man.....2006 reunite minus Jack & Sanch, dem dun listed ahready anyway.. :rotfl:

« Reply #48 on: November 14, 2010, 07:33:27 PM »

Well let's see now....he's an excellent addition to boost the depth of our squad and he's not on any blacklist.

« Reply #49 on: November 14, 2010, 07:58:02 PM »

Well let's see now....he's an excellent addition to boost the depth of our squad and he's not on any blacklist.

Because he could not make d make d grade in 2006 but he does get betta wit age.

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #50 on: November 14, 2010, 08:06:56 PM »
Doh need he ? just the other fella who couldn't play due to injury cause if wasn't for he injury, he woulda make the bench....mighta even get a run out and all now San Jose woulda be in.. ::)

when is the deadline again ? Stern, Dwight and Dog might be ready...2 weeks, plenty time man.....2006 reunite minus Jack & Sanch, dem dun listed ahready anyway.. :rotfl:

Ah sure u aint see d man sweat.

« Reply #51 on: November 14, 2010, 08:13:55 PM »

Glad you realize that the persecution complex you have been harboring and pushing over and over and over as it related to Darryl Roberts was ........................................

........probably just in yuh head padnah. The truth is coming out now.
What truth?? stuueeepppsssss, you like tuh fool yuh self eh, the fact iz latas ignored good players in the last campaign and paid the price for his stubbornness!

after his 2nd appointment he started the wid the same BS and continued on his losing streak, it's only when he saw that his paper was in jeopardy and the men whom he swore by was ah waste only letting him down every time he gambled on them, suddenly had an epiphany to play the players that he refused to look @, for what reason him and god knows.

now he realize the error of his ways decide to use men who will get the job done. i glad the fella came to his senses, now he only have tuh rid the team of laborer # one clyde leon, who cayr kick a shot on goal to save his life.

i doh know what you talking bout, BC even the dim of sight could see that hyland and roberts is ah huge asset to the team instead of some of the bums he insisted on! this is just plain ole common sense.

« Reply #52 on: November 14, 2010, 08:34:05 PM »

:rotfl: allyuh have real bad mind sah

« Reply #53 on: November 14, 2010, 09:25:36 PM »

:rotfl: allyuh have real bad mind sah

No dey understand d game.

« Reply #54 on: November 14, 2010, 09:40:09 PM »
I making an assumption, but based on some past conversations I have had with Sealy, I may not be surprised if it may be for personal reasons why Latas may have left him out! I will not say more on this matter!  As for Spann; I never was really impressed with his fitball.  Never ah clean trap from him, and his confidence has been lacking for a few goos years now.  He remember him being descent on the dead balls, but this was 2 years ago.  I would like to get a recent dead ball update on him.  I am sure there is not much to pull from.  Anyways, I still wish him all the best and hopefully he might be able to bring some more ummpphh to the team.  (I would use him as a right or left back, providing we playing with 4 in d back)

« Reply #55 on: November 14, 2010, 09:55:12 PM »
i eh even waiting for de game to finish...Galaxy out, Birchall available, leh we mother c*&t see if dey call him up.

« Reply #56 on: November 14, 2010, 10:00:47 PM »
i eh even waiting for de game to finish...Galaxy out, Birchall available, leh we mother c*&t see if dey call him up.

They say he aint contact them yet. So leh we see what happen now. If he aint get call up, i say its Bullshit

Offline jimmel14

« Reply #57 on: November 14, 2010, 10:12:18 PM »
Well since LA just lost lets see what happens.

« Reply #58 on: November 14, 2010, 10:22:58 PM »
Heeeeeerrrrrrreeeee's Birchall!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #59 on: November 14, 2010, 10:38:37 PM »
Galaxy just lost to Dallas so they out and Chirs should be available....let see what is Lata excused for not calling him back