April 27, 2024, 03:14:37 PM

Author Topic: Phillips: No need for knee-jerk reaction over Latapy.  (Read 8373 times)

Phillips: No need for knee-jerk reaction over Latapy.
« on: November 30, 2010, 06:12:53 AM »
Phillips: No need for knee-jerk reaction over Latapy.
By Kern De Freitas (T&T Express).

FUTURE UNCERTAIN

Speculation has already begun over the future of Russell Latapy as Trinidad and Tobago senior coach after the national team exited the Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals on Sunday in Martinique.

Fans and pundits alike have been expressing their views, many not pleased with the team's performance and Latapy's selections for the tournament, after T&T crashed out of the competition with losses to Cuba and Grenada.

Cuba won 2-0, while Grenada edged T&T 1-0 to end their campaign at the group stage.

Trinidad and Tobago, who are yet to score in Group H, play their final match today (8.30 p.m.) against hosts Martinique looking for a consolation win.

San Juan Jabloteh coach Terry Fenwick has also been reported as questioning T&T's commitment and tactics. Yesterday, newly re-elected T&T Football Federation president Oliver Camps refused to comment on T&T's results, but did say a post-mortem of the failed campaign will be conducted soon after their return from Martinique.

Since taking up a two-year contract as T&T head coach at the beginning of March, Latapy has been under pressure following a string of average results, including a 1-1 draw away to Guyana, a 3-0 beating at the hands of Panama, and a 0-0 draw with Belize.

Before the current tournament, Minister of Sport Anil Roberts stated that Latapy should be replaced if he is unable to take T&T to the Digicel Cup final.

But TTFF technical director Lincoln "Tiger" Phillips told the Express there was no need for "knee-jerk decisions" despite T&T's second successive failure to reach the final four of the Caribbean Cup and qualify for next year's CONCACAF Gold Cup.

"We need to look at the issues and not make any knee-jerk decision. We are not the only country (who has footballing issues)", Phillips said yesterday.

The former national goalkeeper felt the T&T players did not properly fulfill their roles.

"You cannot get four chances in front of goal (and not score them)," Phillips reasoned. "That shows that whatever preparation (issues) we had, that means we were good enough to win. But at the end of the day, you have to execute and if you fail to execute, you have to live with (the results)."

Phillips revealed that T&T did not play a friendly match during the last FIFA international date on November 17, like a number of other countries in the Digicel Cup did, because the TTFF could not afford it.

T&T's failure to qualify for the Gold Cup also provides them with another big problem.

"Obviously it's not good. (If) we qualify for the Gold Cup, it give you more games, more opportunities to play, to see players play against other teams and so on. When that is taken away it does not augur well for our team.

"In every situation there's a lesson to be learned. If you look hard and long enough we can see where the issues are."

Former national player Ron La Forest described T&T's results as a "great setback to the nation" and felt Latapy "needs" coaching "help".

"What I said was one of Latas' faults in the beginning," La Forest told CCN TV6 yesterday, "is that I think he needed more senior heads around him. I felt that like normally Trinidad coaches want to do it on their own.

"We have experienced coaches here. I think that's one of his mistakes when he got the job, he should have brought in senior people to help him go forward."

La Forest suggested Latapy should have had a stronger squad for the tournament, with teams like Jamaica "bringing back their full-fledged pros".

"We wanted to go forward," the former Olympic team coach said. "I think that we should have been full strength. You don't take tournaments for granted."

Still, La Forest is not quick to call for Latapy's resignation as national coach.

"I won't say for him to step down, but he needs a lot of help elsewhere."

Re: Phillips: No need for knee-jerk reaction over Latapy.
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 06:14:13 AM »
He right when u kickin somebody 2 d curb u doh use yuh knee.

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 06:23:28 AM »
my knee jerking bad, hard luck

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2010, 06:32:03 AM »
Somebody should spray Lincoln Phillips with a bottle of pepper spray, he eye need to open.

LATAPY NEED HELP !!!!!!

Lincoln need to go !!!!!! I fed up hear his lame stories.

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2010, 07:33:46 AM »
I think Lincoln is really a nut !!

No honestly, this man like he train to say one thing, he is a typical yes man.

Not even a constructive argument does come out he mouth, its always some long boaring story that leads away from the point.

I feel if Panday or Manning was coaching T&T Lincoln mighta support them blindly too.

Jah !!!! this man cant be good for our football.

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2010, 07:50:02 AM »

Phillips revealed that T&T did not play a friendly match during the last FIFA international date on November 17, like a number of other countries in the Digicel Cup did, because the TTFF could not afford it.

??? ???
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2010, 08:12:03 AM »
The TTFF is really an old boys club yes!

Regardless of failure men defending each other as no one wants to get fired!

Thank you LP, ah understand now, RL & you in the same boat so yuh have to defend him!

What could be any clearer than this? >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Latapy get eliminated by another local coach from Barataria with more experience!

What does that tell you about Latapy's experience as a coach?

It says that he's not yet ready for top level international coaching on his own and at least need the help & guidance under a more experienced coach so he can learn from them and learn his trade properly!

Time for Latapy to accept that he's not ready yet to be our head coach at international level but might be okay as an assistant to someone who he respects and is not going to try to undermind but instead learn from!
« Last Edit: November 30, 2010, 08:15:19 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2010, 08:22:16 AM »
This is Madness is this the twilight f**king zone or a rejected episode of one,these guys are obviously trying to save their jobs plain and simple,this is shitt, look right at this moment I willing to pump some money into whatever organisation that have the balls to stop these ungrateful money sucking rejects.

Imagine these people have the audacity to say the ttff don't have the money,what about public transparency in the past or public disclosure about where the monies are being spent but yet you want me to believe this shitttt.

I'm so tired of this BS,THE STENCH FROM THE BENCH STINKS MAKES ME SICK... 

Offline trinipepper

• addin fire to the flame ...izatrini
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2010, 08:23:27 AM »
Actually I think when they let Latas go .. they need to let Phillps go to cause Trinidad and Tobago football been going down the drain since his appointment... Latas whosoever helping you with the coaching sense need some football sense...

« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2010, 08:23:45 AM »
Lincoln have to go too.... total waste

He hates the idea of a Foreign coach ... he defended Bertille till the death and will do the same with Latapy... If he really has T&T best interests in mind then He will know that Latapy is not good enough a coach and he would have to take a look at himself as the Technical Director

Both of them could buy their tickets and get out of here.... Latapy not ready and Lincoln is not good enough either...

we need a Foreign big time coaching staff and a foreign big time technical director If we have any chance.... and they need to be like Leo and tell Jack to f**k off

and Muhammed have to go too... bring back Bruce Anansen  

« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2010, 08:25:33 AM »
Phillips,why dont you STFU bout no"knee jerk re-action",you mussy willing to give the idiot Latapy more time,RL shudda been given the boot after all dem failures that he had.RL proves beyond any doubt that he is incapable of coaching and ah wont even trust de man with we Under 12s.

« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2010, 08:30:59 AM »
How can this be classified as knee-jerk? Loss against Cuba ok, but knocked out by Grenada? Come on grow a pair.

« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2010, 08:59:53 AM »
nobody cyah say nothing bout fire Latapy before Jack talk...

yuh ent see Camps bawl, "no comment"

Puppets!

« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2010, 09:14:48 AM »
the real issue here is what journalist worth his salt would ask Camps for a comment ? :rotfl:?
 even describing him  as " newly elected President " not as the more than 20 years President ...you tink dem fellas and dem easy ?
..but who pays the piper calls the tune ...so you just have to look for the piper and the line of hungry rats willing to do his bidding ..not far behind.

« Reply #14 on: November 30, 2010, 09:20:31 AM »
Yesterday, newly re-elected T&T Football Federation president Oliver Camps refused to comment on T&T's results, but did say a post-mortem of the failed campaign will be conducted soon after their return from Martinique.

Dis man is just de absolute worst. Yet he is continually rewarded. >:(

« Reply #15 on: November 30, 2010, 09:23:52 AM »
Yesterday, newly re-elected T&T Football Federation president Oliver Camps refused to comment on T&T's results, but did say a post-mortem of the failed campaign will be conducted soon after their return from Martinique.

Dis man is just de absolute worst. Yet he is continually rewarded. >:(

Abject failures, can never understand how mediocrity (and even that is a stretch) continues to flourish.  Wish I could see some vids of folks protesting in front of TTFF office back in de day per Coops comment on another thread, at the end of the day you have to stand for something or you will follow for much less!! 

« Reply #16 on: November 30, 2010, 09:26:59 AM »
 :devil: add d ttff too

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZTkbYurvVlA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZTkbYurvVlA</a>

Latapy’s days numbered?
« Reply #17 on: November 30, 2010, 09:42:29 AM »
Latapy’s days numbered?
By Vidia Ramphal (ctntworld.com)

A former national captain, Sedley Joseph, says Trinidad and Tobago’s exit from the Digicel Caribbean cup should end Russell Latapy's reign as national coach.

He says T&T now needs to look for a foreign coach. After losses to Cuba and Grenada put Trinidad and Tobago out of the Digicel Caribbean Cup, Sedley Joseph says this spells the end for head coach Russell Latapy.

Joseph questioned the mentality of the current team and their commitment to playing for the national team. In particular, the former maple star says Latapy is partly to blame for this.

If Latapy is dismissed, Joseph is grudgingly in support of a foreign coach.

Trinidad and Tobago plays hosts Martinique tomorrow, which in the eyes of many is Latapy's last hurrah as national coach.

« Reply #18 on: November 30, 2010, 09:55:35 AM »

Offline tempo

« Reply #19 on: November 30, 2010, 10:01:37 AM »
Where in the article does LP defend Latapy? It sounds like he is saying serious thought that includes the coach AND beyond has to be put into the next move. There is nothing in his quotes that say Latapy should be retained. It would be helpful if LP releases his reports to the public so people know where he stands on the Latapy era.

Also, I reading Fenwick's analysis but he is not saying anything new that people don't already know. Where was his analysis after the Digicel games back home? Cryuff can hand out good pong because he had his teams playing the brand he was preachin'. Can anyone say Jabloteh play anything like what Terry preachin'?

There are factions in T&T football who have varying degrees of influence with JW. Each faction would do various things to see the one who has the reins of the national team fail. By not paying the players or Latapy and staff for the year nor getting the adequate funding to field games against substantive teams on FIFA dates, the real decision makers had every intention to set Latapy up for failure. No one of significance is really pounding down our door to coach us. It is those folks we should focus anger on, not the ones who are making an honest effort with little to no support.

« Reply #20 on: November 30, 2010, 10:09:21 AM »
Lincoln (Just like Latas, Jack and Camps) should do the honourable thing and step down from their posts. T&T demise in recent years is at the fault of not just the coaches but also the administration (including Lincoln)

« Reply #21 on: November 30, 2010, 10:56:55 AM »
We need a good coach ...whether he be from local or foreign shores. I say this to distinguish between what has been passed off on us before ...any coach from foreign is a foreign coach right ? well we eh want dat ! We want to see that you have done it before as a coach ....more than once preferably ... no try out coach ting again ...put de locals to work with someone with experience ..

...and let us get away from this " foreign" ting .... not because he from foreign he must be the one ...but because he is good and happen to be from foreign ...if that is the case ...will make him the one.

Most  trinidadians kyah beat pan ...but most good panmen are trinidadians ! So if yuh bringing ah brazilian , dutch, argentinian, spanish or jew ...make sure he has demonstrated previous success ..but what I really saying this for ...is de TTFF who making decisions ???? I too serious yes !

« Reply #22 on: November 30, 2010, 11:35:32 AM »
Lincoln Phillips is collecting a BIG PAY CHECK, do you think he will jeopardized that to prove something to the fans. He is sitting pretty decent, he hates foreigners (except Beenhakker) and will support you once you black in tick or tin.

My take is, we should evaluate and support a person becasue what they can do or offer and not support them because of their skin color.

Russell Latapy salary is $248,000 a month.

Lincoln Phillip salary is $75,000 monthly.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=51272.msg696701#msg696701

« Reply #23 on: November 30, 2010, 12:02:00 PM »
Where in the article does LP defend Latapy? It sounds like he is saying serious thought that includes the coach AND beyond has to be put into the next move. There is nothing in his quotes that say Latapy should be retained. It would be helpful if LP releases his reports to the public so people know where he stands on the Latapy era.

Also, I reading Fenwick's analysis but he is not saying anything new that people don't already know. Where was his analysis after the Digicel games back home? Cryuff can hand out good pong because he had his teams playing the brand he was preachin'. Can anyone say Jabloteh play anything like what Terry preachin'?

There are factions in T&T football who have varying degrees of influence with JW. Each faction would do various things to see the one who has the reins of the national team fail. By not paying the players or Latapy and staff for the year nor getting the adequate funding to field games against substantive teams on FIFA dates, the real decision makers had every intention to set Latapy up for failure. No one of significance is really pounding down our door to coach us. It is those folks we should focus anger on, not the ones who are making an honest effort with little to no support.

Wait, the TTFF could pay...

RUSSELL LATAPY = $248,000 - a month
LINCOLN PHILLIPS = $75,000 - a month
MICHAEL MAURICE = $120,000 - a month
ROSS RUSSELL = $120,000 - a month

Plus de players pay, de physiotherapist, de trainer, de managers, de equipment manager, de team doctor ... etc etc.....

And they cant afford a friendly game  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now that presious !!!!!
« Last Edit: November 30, 2010, 12:08:05 PM by Sam »

Offline tempo

« Reply #24 on: November 30, 2010, 12:22:32 PM »
Sam,hosting a friendly match can cost $150,000 US. Flying one player overseas player costs, on the average, around $1200 and paying decent teams to play is not cheap. It is not an inexpensive venture.

LP is not on TTFF payroll,but Latapy and the others are and they haven't been paid. What you listed is what they are supposed to be paid. So there seems to be truth in what he is saying about there being a money issue.  There is a lot going on that has not been disclosed that would put a lot of things into perspective. If there is anyone who knows the players, you can probably get some insight. LP's role is to advise the National coach, create a coaches association, and develop and manage a national goalkeeping program. Latapy can take or not take advise given, the coaches association is about to name their board of directors and announce a series of D through A level coaching courses, and the goalkeepers continue to be the strongest part of the national programs. I think folks are focusing their anger on the wrong people, in part, because nothing can be done about JW and Camps. The hard truth is that TTFF is a private organization and they are not accountable to anyone.

Offline Coach

« Reply #25 on: November 30, 2010, 12:29:40 PM »

He hates the idea of a Foreign coach ... he defended Bertille till the death and will do the same with Latapy... If he really has T&T best interests in mind then He will know that Latapy is not good enough a coach and he would have to take a look at himself as the Technical Director

Both of them could buy their tickets and get out of here.... Latapy not ready and Lincoln is not good enough either...

we need a Foreign big time coaching staff and a foreign big time technical director If we have any chance.... and they need to be like Leo and tell Jack to f**k off

THE ENTIRE TTFF ORGANIZATION SHOULD BE REMOVED!!! WE HAD ENOUGH!!! LP MAKING EXCUSES FOR LOSING TO GRENADA...GRENADA MAN...COME ON.

Nothing against Grenada but Trinidad and Tobago losing to Grenada in a tournament that we had time to prepare for is unacceptable. If what is going on with our football was happening in other parts of the world the people who are in charge would have to run and hide.

« Reply #26 on: November 30, 2010, 12:43:52 PM »
Sam,hosting a friendly match can cost $150,000 US. Flying one player overseas player costs, on the average, around $1200 and paying decent teams to play is not cheap. It is not an inexpensive venture.

LP is not on TTFF payroll,but Latapy and the others are and they haven't been paid. What you listed is what they are supposed to be paid. So there seems to be truth in what he is saying about there being a money issue.  There is a lot going on that has not been disclosed that would put a lot of things into perspective. If there is anyone who knows the players, you can probably get some insight. LP's role is to advise the National coach, create a coaches association, and develop and manage a national goalkeeping program. Latapy can take or not take advise given, the coaches association is about to name their board of directors and announce a series of D through A level coaching courses, and the goalkeepers continue to be the strongest part of the national programs. I think folks are focusing their anger on the wrong people, in part, because nothing can be done about JW and Camps. The hard truth is that TTFF is a private organization and they are not accountable to anyone.

I doubt anyone of the caribbean teams would have charged so much.

And I am sure we could have gotten a sweat with some club team in Martinique.

I am sure we could have played W Connection and Jabloteh if push come to shove.

Where there is a will there is a way.

Nobody forcing Latapy to take the job.

He accepted it under the DEVIL and under his terms and now he must bear the pain and stop making excuses.

If you work for Satan, then you evil to.... because he accept his terms and law.....

Latapy of all people should know how the TTFF does operate, he was an employer for over 2 decades....

Offline tempo

« Reply #27 on: November 30, 2010, 12:44:56 PM »

THE ENTIRE TTFF ORGANIZATION SHOULD BE REMOVED!!! WE HAD ENOUGH!!! LP MAKING EXCUSES FOR LOSING TO GRENADA...GRENADA MAN...COME ON.

Nothing against Grenada but Trinidad and Tobago losing to Grenada in a tournament that we had time to prepare for is unacceptable. If what is going on with our football was happening in other parts of the world the people who are in charge would have to run and hide.

Sam, for a full international it does cost that much. But I agree, Latapy knew what he was getting into and where there is a will there is a way. Also, too many errors were made by him. But I ask again, what excuses LP is making? What I am seeing from the crowd is that if LP does not focus solely on Latapy's mistakes, then he is defending him? Come on. Also small mag, what you said about LP not wanting a foreign coach is not true. He just does not believe that a being European or South American automatically qualifies one as a good coach. He found and pushed for Beenhakker, supported Wim to be hired, wanted Randy Waldrum to coach the U17 women's team and Pellerud coach the senior team, and is the one who advised the federation to go the Dutch route. Hardly moves from a person who doesn't like foreigners.

The truth is that after the last World Cup cycle and because of the blacklist no so-called big time coach was willing to coach T&T. Nor could the TTFF afford such a coach. The TTFF essentially settled for Latapy. Now with the new government, this may change because money has been budgeted. I sense that JW will come back from Zurich with shiny new big name coach and somehow Anton will be back in the mix.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2010, 12:48:47 PM by tempo »

« Reply #28 on: November 30, 2010, 01:00:28 PM »

Latapy of all people should know how the TTFF does operate, he was an employer for over 2 decades....
Correction:
He was an employee for over 2 decades! Jack is the employer & controller for over the last 2 decades!!
« Last Edit: November 30, 2010, 01:07:10 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #29 on: November 30, 2010, 05:14:36 PM »
Lincoln Phillips is collecting a BIG PAY CHECK, do you think he will jeopardized that to prove something to the fans. He is sitting pretty decent, he hates foreigners (except Beenhakker) and will support you once you black in tick or tin.

My take is, we should evaluate and support a person becasue what they can do or offer and not support them because of their skin color.

Russell Latapy salary is $248,000 a month.

Lincoln Phillip salary is $75,000 monthly.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=51272.msg696701#msg696701

I take exception to some of the things all yuh saying about Lincoln. Not that I agree with him on Latapy.  Okay disagree with him on his views about Latas. That is perfectly okay. But from what I have been told, lincoln do not work for the TTFF. He is employed thru the gov't and he renders his opinions whenever it is requested. To say that Lincoln only like local coaches is misleading. He was among others who recommended Beenie-man, after Jack's choice of Atkinson was rejected by Dwight, as we only know. Yes Bennie-man selection was probablly one of the biggest flukes in TT football.

Go and look up the list of the many foreign coaches we have hired. There are many. hiring foreign is nothing new to TT.  If you putting the WC as a barometer for success, only Beenie is a success. Then for near success you could throw in Kevin Verity(74 WC) and Gally. Other successful coaches are Conrad Braithwaithe(67 PANAM games) and Edgar Vidale(74 CAC games). Then we have the Copa caribe coaches and the WC youth coaches. Most of them have been locals as you can see.

Now this day and age most local coaches are out of their depths(sorry if I am using the wrong terminology). They probably need to take more courses etc,etc. Go abroad and get some short intership with a foreign clubs. Actually there are quite a few people in TT who has these credential. But then there is a big f---king CAVEAT.   JACK. Imagine you go abroad and get all your credential and then come back to deal with that vampire. You know wha, It easy to be on the outside looking in. I would really like to see all yuh work with Jack.