April 29, 2024, 04:45:25 AM

Author Topic: Lincoln Phillips blames simple errors for losses.  (Read 3733 times)

Lincoln Phillips blames simple errors for losses.
« on: December 03, 2010, 06:27:54 AM »
Phillips blames simple errors for losses.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Technical Director of T&T Football Lincoln Phillips, said yesterday that simple errors and glaring issues contributed to the surprising elimination of the Soca Warriors from the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup.

The team returned home from Martinique on Wednesday where Phillips was part of the team’s technical staff. “I would not say it was complacency that caused our demise, but rather our inability to possess the ball, coupled with our poor finishing in front of goal.

“These are serious deficiencies we must correct if we expect to improve our game,” Phillips said. “It is my humble opinion that, in spite of our three wins in Trinidad against weak opponents, our performances still had a few gaps.

Of course we played well enough to have scored 12 goals and conceded only three so congratulations must go out to coach Latapy and the technical staff as well as the players.

“However, the fact is three weak opponents were allowed several easy chances to score on us when we were commanding sizeable leads.

So playing the same way against better competition in the second round did not yield the same results.” The former national goalkeeper believed T&T had every right to come away with ties against Cuba and Grenada.

“We played a better quality team in Cuba, who spent at least one week in Martinique training after their last Digicel encounter in November. However, we still should have come out with at least a tie after failing to convert several easy chances.

“As for Grenada, we were by far the better team on the field, but when you fail to capitalize on four sitters in front of the goal, then we have no one else to blame but ourselves.

“Grenada got off one serious shot from a very difficult angle and scored a wonder goal....that's the nature of the game.” When questioned as to what the next step will be, Phillips said Latapy had specific deliverables which were not met.

“So it's up to the authorities to evaluate the situation and make their final decisions on his future. “However, if we are honest in taking the game forward, we must pay close attention to some glaring issues which were responsible for the team's poor performances.

The most serious issue is, indeed, the conveyor belt that is responsible for bringing the players to the national teams. This needs to be adhered to as soon as possible. It is senseless to have our youth teams playing direct football (kick and run) during their period of development.

“They must be allowed to play the game properly, developing their technical/tactical skills rather than focusing on a result which renders then ineffective when they move on to the senior level.”

Phillips said T&T must now look at its strengths and build on them through continuous, rigorous training regimen and international competition.”

Re: Lincoln Phillips blames simple errors for losses.
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2010, 06:49:12 AM »
When ever we lose, the TTFF always looking for players quick, quick to add to the team, and when they get the players they not interested, they perfer stay local, play some small teams, get a decent results and feel they ready.

We have heard these stories before LP, time to put it to work and stop with de talk.

We have to many players abroad to be ignored.

Flex told me personally, that players e-mail him everyday for trial with the T&T team and the TTFF just pass on the info to somebody else and you dont hear nothing more, players who willing to PAY THEIR OWN WAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2010, 07:55:49 AM »
LP was on Andre yday he begin 2 rival Scamps 4 stupidity.

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2010, 08:16:22 AM »
Full respect to Mr Phillips, but... Another one who needs to disappear.

« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2010, 08:18:55 AM »
HAD Full respect to Mr Phillips, but... Another one who needs to disappear.

Fix it 4 u

« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2010, 08:19:07 AM »
I think this man losing he mind. Seriously. He listening to what to what he saying, truly listening?

Again from the other thread, LP is the TD but can only do so much in the build up to the tournament because he is not on the staff or not getting paid by the TTFF. Now after the tournament and the shyte that happened you talking to every reporter you see. Which is it? Are you or are you not involved seriously with the TTFF? If you are just there to offer your advice and they can or cannot take it, then after the fact be quiet. Just offer your advice like you did before the tournament to the TTFF.

Kinda fed up of all these people coming out the wood work to talk shyte and try to cover up for the TTFF and the mess they doing.

« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2010, 08:56:11 AM »
Simple error= they put a man who clearly in over he head, in charge of the national team.

Glaring issues= Jack Warner and Oliver Camps still running football in TnT.

Unless we fix these then it really doesn't matter what anyone else do or say.

Offline tempo

« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2010, 09:53:19 AM »
Don't see anything that is wrong in the statements by LP. He's been saying for years the country needs an academy or some kind of serious development program in order to improve. He can't do it by himself and is often undermined by short term thinking and simple bad mindedness, but folks here seem to think it's his fault. Under the current set up of the federation, he is not a decision maker, only a consultant who the press seems to go to. When the Federation follows his advice, things seem to work out.

Some siding with Fenwick et al, but seriously, are those teams playing anywhere close to skillful and flowing football? The answer is no. What we see with the national team is the same boring, lazy football we see in the Pro League. But no one is saying fire Skeene, Romany, and the coaches.

The federation compounds the problems facing our football by poor planning and being guided by people who have no track record of success over those who have accomplished something. I heard on the program last night that LP wasn't even asked to intervene on the matter involving Birchall not being released. Knowing he coached with and Bruce Arena, you would think this would be done. I don't think the federation has utilized LP and he cannot impose himself. Hopefully they will get a top foreign coach and get LP to design a full academy and coaching staff that could develop our youth into modern footballers and loan them to top clubs.  Then the football can move forward.

« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2010, 09:55:35 AM »

Some siding with Fenwick et al, but seriously, are those teams playing anywhere close to skillful and flowing football? The answer is no. What we see with the national team is the same boring, lazy football we see in the Pro League. But no one is saying fire Skeene, Romany, and the coaches.

Everyday people saying that on here

ah man even make a thread saying to disband de whole pro league.. so don't talk sh!t

« Reply #9 on: December 03, 2010, 10:09:32 AM »
Don't see anything that is wrong in the statements by LP. He's been saying for years the country needs an academy or some kind of serious development program in order to improve. He can't do it by himself and is often undermined by short term thinking and simple bad mindedness, but folks here seem to think it's his fault. Under the current set up of the federation, he is not a decision maker, only a consultant who the press seems to go to. When the Federation follows his advice, things seem to work out.

The federation compounds the problems facing our football by poor planning and being guided by people who have no track record of success over those who have accomplished something. I heard on the program last night that LP wasn't even asked to intervene on the matter involving Birchall not being released. Knowing he coached with and Bruce Arena, you would think this would be done. I don't think the federation has utilized LP and he cannot impose himself. Hopefully they will get a top foreign coach and get LP to design a full academy and coaching staff that could develop our youth into modern footballers and loan them to top clubs.  Then the football can move forward.

LP is a good dude, he just work in de wrong federation, his quality/work is not being shown.

Offline tempo

« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2010, 10:18:07 AM »

ah man even make a thread saying to disband de whole pro league.. so don't talk sh!t

You are the one talking mess. Out of that entire post, that is the passage you would comment on? OK then. People want to get rid of Skeene and dem mostly for bad marketing and planning not player development shortcomings.  So "everybody" has not been saying that. The federation has it fair amount of licks to get, but, far too many are jumping on the federation about player quality without recognizing that it is the clubs who are in the business to "develop" the players not the federation. So, Skeene must bear more responsibility than others for the poor quality of our local players.

« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2010, 10:24:07 AM »
Simple error= they put a man who clearly in over he head, in charge of the national team.

Another Glaring Issue = A Technical Director absent when it matters; present when it doesn't matter.

« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2010, 10:25:28 AM »

You are the one talking mess. Out of that entire post, that is the passage you would comment on? OK then. People want to get rid of Skeene and dem mostly for bad marketing and planning not player development shortcomings.  So "everybody" has not been saying that. The federation has it fair amount of licks to get, but, far too many are jumping on the federation about player quality without recognizing that it is the clubs who are in the business to "develop" the players not the federation. So, Skeene must bear more responsibility than others for the poor quality of our local players.

I could agree with some of that... but if you say the clubs responsible to develop the players, how you could then say Skeene responsible...

how could it be Skeene's mandate to develop players? should he tell the clubs how to operate... should he do the hiring and firing of coaches... scouting? i think that is nonsense

Offline tempo

« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2010, 10:58:22 AM »
As head of the pro league, Skeene should at least share a vision of how he plans to improve the quality of play in the league. He can call a task force of selected PFL coaches, initiate player development clinics, or require PFL coaches to have a certain level of credentials in order to coach teams. LP managed to get the Ministry to pass regulations that SSFL coaches have to posses at least a D license. I don't understand why Skeene can't step in to at least address these problems. My main point though is we shouldn't direct our anger toward LP because he is not the source of the problem but rather someone who seems to fighting a battle by himself against some very powerful interests who don't want to relinquish anything.

« Reply #14 on: December 03, 2010, 11:51:54 AM »

I could agree with some of that... but if you say the clubs responsible to develop the players, how you could then say Skeene responsible...

how could it be Skeene's mandate to develop players? should he tell the clubs how to operate... should he do the hiring and firing of coaches... scouting? i think that is nonsense

skeene has no damn vision, he don;t even have the ideas to take the league forward. its not only him but also the coaches and owners of the team. most of them are not serious.

you have men in the super league that play football part time and have another 1 or 2 jobs, how could we develop a league for relegation when the players not even paid enough and are part time.

« Reply #15 on: December 03, 2010, 12:32:04 PM »
Simple
 Fire LP and bring Lookloy
 Fire Latapy and Bring WIM
 Dont forget also to fire The manager
 The manager reminds me of Christopher Columbus
 Good old Chris Did not know where he was going - Arrived did not know where he was and Left did not know where he had been.

Offline tempo

« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2010, 12:56:20 PM »
What has Lookloy done? What success can you point to in T&T football that is linked to Look Loy? What successful winning program has he developed.  Also, if Wim was such a good coach, where is he now? Leo controlled everything and didnt let Wim even talk. Wim's marginal results were largely due to the residual of Leo's work. His record is not much better than Latapy or Maturana.

Since Look Loy took over from LP's portfolio, the football has suffered. This is hard to dispute.  He is on every committee and is the one who paired with Shabazz and pushed for Pellerud to replace Randy Waldrum to guide the u17 program. What was the end result? The u17 girls failed to advance or even play decent football despite all of the money thrown at the program. LP supported bringing Pellerud to coach the senior girls and retain Waldrum. That way, our girls could at least benefit from having a major US college coach channeling them to US schools where they will truly develop.

There others who blame LP for Wim's dismissal despite the fact that Wim's history of violence, bursting into the man's office and physically threatening LP. Do you all think if Brian Williams or Derek King did that in England or the US their fate would have been different than Wim's?

We need to push the federation to let LP do his work and develop an academy. Plain and simple.

« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2010, 03:13:22 PM »
What has Lookloy done? What success can you point to in T&T football that is linked to Look Loy? What successful winning program has he developed.  Also, if Wim was such a good coach, where is he now? Leo controlled everything and didnt let Wim even talk. Wim's marginal results were largely due to the residual of Leo's work. His record is not much better than Latapy or Maturana.

Since Look Loy took over from LP's portfolio, the football has suffered. This is hard to dispute.  He is on every committee and is the one who paired with Shabazz and pushed for Pellerud to replace Randy Waldrum to guide the u17 program. What was the end result? The u17 girls failed to advance or even play decent football despite all of the money thrown at the program. LP supported bringing Pellerud to coach the senior girls and retain Waldrum. That way, our girls could at least benefit from having a major US college coach channeling them to US schools where they will truly develop.

There others who blame LP for Wim's dismissal despite the fact that Wim's history of violence, bursting into the man's office and physically threatening LP. Do you all think if Brian Williams or Derek King did that in England or the US their fate would have been different than Wim's?

We need to push the federation to let LP do his work and develop an academy. Plain and simple.

Retain Waldrum? For what?

Offline tempo

« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2010, 04:17:01 PM »
He did no worse than Pellerud, cost less, provided the girls a path to US scholarships, and was the first to actually use the foreign based Trinis that many were against at first but came to understand was the way to go. Pellerud ended up using more foreign based.

« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2010, 04:36:08 PM »
He did no worse than Pellerud, cost less, provided the girls a path to US scholarships, and was the first to actually use the foreign based Trinis that many were against at first but came to understand was the way to go. Pellerud ended up using more foreign based.

does LP as technical director have any input if latapy stays or goes? ....

Offline tempo

« Reply #20 on: December 03, 2010, 05:12:31 PM »
Yes. It sounds like his view is to get a legitimate outside coach and place Latapy in an understudy role working with the youth teams.

« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2010, 05:13:01 PM »

He team just make the finals.

Only one other coach had we female players as fit as Pellerud and that was Dexter and Colin Skeene and Joel Hyacinth. In terms of playing no one really ever get our girls playing.

« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2010, 05:22:54 PM »

He team just make the finals.

Only one other coach had we female players as fit as Pellerud and that was Dexter and Colin Skeene and Joel Hyacinth. In terms of playing no one really ever get our girls playing.

Although i would argue that Trinidad's best game was against Chile many people never saw that game, it was the best i ever see our women play, 100 times better than the senior team, It was nice ball passing. But most saw the other 2, When they face Nigeria and N.korea they were out matched as expected. That long ball play came in the last 2 games. It was like Jekyll and Hyde , its as though the passing game was used for Chile and the long for the next two
« Last Edit: December 03, 2010, 05:26:45 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2010, 05:24:55 PM »

ditto co-sign & ent

« Reply #24 on: December 03, 2010, 05:40:30 PM »
Don't see anything that is wrong in the statements by LP.
The highest level of football is international. It doesn't get higher than that. If he as TD can not find ways to implement a program then he shouldn't be there. The inability to possess the ball is both a technical and tactical deficiency ...so what is the role of the Technical Director again????

He's been saying for years the country needs an academy or some kind of serious development program in order to improve. He can't do it by himself and is often undermined by short term thinking and simple bad mindedness, but folks here seem to think it's his fault.

If you eh part of the solution then yuh is part of de problem.

Under the current set up of the federation, he is not a decision maker, only a consultant who the press seems to go to. When the Federation follows his advice, things seem to work out.
So yuh sayin he jes day for de money then?

The issue is with the TD of the national teams not the pro league or other coaches

Yuh contradicting yourself here you just said when the Federeation has gone to him things have worked well now you're saying he is not utilized...

« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2010, 05:45:09 PM »

Retain Waldrum? For what?
Well Notre Dame in the NCAA final

« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2010, 05:46:47 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/VluTVe3_5oo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/VluTVe3_5oo</a>

« Reply #27 on: December 03, 2010, 06:39:27 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/VluTVe3_5oo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/VluTVe3_5oo</a>

Doh see nothing wrong with what LP say in that short interview even though I know it was not the whole thing!

Just maybe we are being too harsh & judgmental regards some of LP's remarks?

Would like to hear him say Camps needs to go doh but guest he doh want to rock the boat too much with Jack!  :-\

« Reply #28 on: December 03, 2010, 07:03:46 PM »
When ever we lose, the TTFF always looking for players quick, quick to add to the team, and when they get the players they not interested, they perfer stay local, play some small teams, get a decent results and feel they ready.

We have heard these stories before LP, time to put it to work and stop with de talk.

We have to many players abroad to be ignored.

Flex told me personally, that players e-mail him everyday for trial with the T&T team and the TTFF just pass on the info to somebody else and you dont hear nothing more, players who willing to PAY THEIR OWN WAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I think we does be givin the TTFF too much credit. them men are oblivious as to what is taking place in world of football. today i had hands on experience on that, these men cannot and will not help our football develope, that's BC they simply don't know how too, and that's how jack like them, clueless and out for lunch!

« Reply #29 on: December 03, 2010, 07:31:48 PM »
Both Jamaica and Grenada  using foreign based players but Latapy feel that our home based players could compete with them.The thing is he had nuff bad results to show him that it was not possible to compete.RL is trying to prove Wim to be an idiot coz he always said that the home players were not good enough although he was capable of taking them to the GC and also getting the runners up in the Digicel.