April 29, 2024, 03:38:40 AM

Author Topic: TTFF eyeing Tigana, Gullit as ‘Warriors’ coach.  (Read 15593 times)

Re: TTFF eyeing Tigana, Gullit as ‘Warriors’ coach.
« Reply #90 on: December 08, 2010, 08:37:57 AM »
This is why I say Jack does make mas with TnT fans. After the Grenada loss we have a big thread about how to change TnT football, get rid of Jack, break down the system and start over.

Jack leak some shit story about Tigana vs Gullit to the press and now we get caught up in the debate about coach. Qualifiers will start, the foreign-based will come back and we will start planning how we qualifying for the WC in 2 years time when realistically that should be a 15-20 year goal for a country like TnT. Everybody will get caught up in the immediacy of the next match until qualifiers done and we start to complain about why we didn't qualify and long term planning etc.

It really don't matter what coach come in no football success will be sustainable without a coach or coaching system that is in place for more than a 2 year cycle. No improvement will last longer than that without a real long term, sustainable plan for developing local coaching, and by extension players. The most a new coach will do is plaster over a sore but the football fall so far that even that not taking us to a WC.

Is like a sex starved man getting excited because a man Jacking them off every now and then.

« Reply #91 on: December 08, 2010, 08:41:53 AM »
Agree, Frank did a decent job at Barca.....we could gain something from Rijkaard.......too bad he will not come here though.

Decent?

The man won two league titles and a champions league...

That's more than decent. 

« Reply #92 on: December 08, 2010, 09:03:16 AM »
This is why I say Jack does make mas with TnT fans. After the Grenada loss we have a big thread about how to change TnT football, get rid of Jack, break down the system and start over.

Jack leak some shit story about Tigana vs Gullit to the press and now we get caught up in the debate about coach. Qualifiers will start, the foreign-based will come back and we will start planning how we qualifying for the WC in 2 years time when realistically that should be a 15-20 year goal for a country like TnT. Everybody will get caught up in the immediacy of the next match until qualifiers done and we start to complain about why we didn't qualify and long term planning etc.

It really don't matter what coach come in no football success will be sustainable without a coach or coaching system that is in place for more than a 2 year cycle. No improvement will last longer than that without a real long term, sustainable plan for developing local coaching, and by extension players. The most a new coach will do is plaster over a sore but the football fall so far that even that not taking us to a WC.

Is like a sex starved man getting excited because a man Jacking them off every now and then.

All man kind want is 2 go 2 d big dance if d 2yr cycle could do it they good  wit dat.

« Reply #93 on: December 08, 2010, 12:00:53 PM »
Agree, Frank did a decent job at Barca.....we could gain something from Rijkaard.......too bad he will not come here though.

Decent?

The man won two league titles and a champions league...

That's more than decent. 

i was now about to say something about that, but you beat me to it, frank is a boss, gullit did not do too bad either, he coached chelsea to a fa cup in 97' and newcastle to the final of the FA the first year he was there as well.

« Reply #94 on: December 08, 2010, 12:07:26 PM »

many good points but we all know the ttff aren't interested in development, so the supporters have no choice but to see the short term. we all know what needs to be done but in reality it will not be done with this admin, so the supporters want to see a coach that can make an impact in the short term over 4 years and get us to the world cup bc development is not what the ttff is interested in regardless of how much we preach and post for a better structure.

« Reply #95 on: December 08, 2010, 12:40:06 PM »
 TNT don't need a coach.. We need to start supporting another team.

« Reply #96 on: December 08, 2010, 01:03:32 PM »

I say u did gone DEEP country or sumting since Barca DESTROY Real Madrid

Glad to see yuh takin a little peep on de board and have de courage to make a post.

Hope yuh did enjoy yuh "retreat"  :devil:

« Reply #97 on: December 08, 2010, 02:05:42 PM »
Chris Hughton please

« Reply #98 on: December 08, 2010, 02:06:05 PM »

Well said

Offline TTvibes

« Reply #99 on: December 08, 2010, 02:39:37 PM »
Keep Gullit far away. He has no pedigree as a coach except bad player relations at every job.

Agreed;
Most new coaches doesn't know the players and will usually resort to using local base players Just like what Latas did. I don't see a foreigner doing better than Maturana...

I advocate for a local T&T coach they know the players best...

« Reply #100 on: December 08, 2010, 03:42:24 PM »

Glad to see yuh takin a little peep on de board and have de courage to make a post.

Palos, I think he is ah Inter fan...not Madrid...but that statement still valid though since Inter looks like they in ah retreat themselves  :devil:

« Reply #101 on: December 08, 2010, 03:47:51 PM »

Well said

please don't insult our intelligence. As long as there, wehave  no other means of getting rid of jack we have to go with the flow. Of course people have to speculate about the coach. What if he choose Tigana? If you feel you could personally go and influence jack to do the right thing, go right ahead. As long as jack hide behide his fifa coatails we just have to play his game. But we ain't go forget the shit he does do.  Maybe all yuh side tracked by the coaching business, most of us ain't.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2010, 03:56:51 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #102 on: December 08, 2010, 03:55:06 PM »
I thought the humble sports Minister Anil Roberts said the Nicki Minaj concert was for people to buy every thing local so that we money would stay in the country, so i am asking a local coach is not including in that statement oh wah ?

The concert dubbed “Localize Itt

« Last Edit: December 08, 2010, 04:00:49 PM by zuluwarrior »

« Reply #103 on: December 08, 2010, 04:10:24 PM »

Well said

please don't insult our intelligence. As long as there, wehave  no other means of getting rid of jack we have to go with the flow. Of course people have to speculate about the coach. What if he choose Tigana? If you feel you could personally go and influence jack to do the right thing, go right ahead. As long as jack hide behide his fifa coatails we just have to play his game. But we ain't go forget the shit he does do.  Maybe all yuh side tracked by the coaching business, most of us ain't.

well said breds  :beermug:

it seems some men feel people stupid on this board. they could bray night and day but it won't change the leadership, going with the flow is the right use of words to describe the situation fans face.

hoping for the best coach is the answer to the problem considering the situation our football is in bc it ain't changing soon irregardless and jdb and co need to understand that.

unless they have some financiers and are going to make a deal with jack or try to overpower him and his alignments with the highest in fifa, they better get use to the situation and realize a better coach means success for us right now bc of the situation we face as fans.

« Reply #104 on: December 08, 2010, 06:27:48 PM »

Palos, I think he is ah Inter fan...not Madrid...but that statement still valid though since Inter looks like they in ah retreat themselves  :devil:

Shotta is a Barca HATER extraordinaire  ;D ;D

« Reply #105 on: December 08, 2010, 06:37:31 PM »

Well said

it seems some men feel people stupid on this board. they could bray night and day but it won't change the leadership, going with the flow is the right use of words to describe the situation fans face.

hoping for the best coach is the answer to the problem considering the situation our football is in bc it ain't changing soon irregardless and jdb and co need to understand that.

unless they have some financiers and are going to make a deal with jack or try to overpower him and his alignments with the highest in fifa, they better get use to the situation and realize a better coach means success for us right now bc of the situation we face as fans.

Men tired pointing out to you that we had a better coach in 2005, and look where we reach now.

« Reply #106 on: December 08, 2010, 07:46:32 PM »

Well said

Men tired pointing out to you that we had a better coach in 2005, and look where we reach now.

so we should be able to go with any coach and do well? allyuh men lost in space, how do you plan to change the program?

give the answers to the problem , bc none of allyuh know it all have any answers to get rid of the ttff admin.

since thats the case, live with us getting a better coach bc latas ain't no world class coach.

« Reply #107 on: December 08, 2010, 08:15:33 PM »

so we should be able to go with any coach and do well? allyuh men lost in space, how do you plan to change the program?

give the answers to the problem , bc none of allyuh know it all have any answers to get rid of the ttff admin.

since thats the case, live with us getting a better coach bc latas ain't no world class coach.
[/quote]

Thank God the WC players don't think that way, or else the TTFF would not be under pressure. Trust me, the program is being changed as we speak, but slowly. But its typical of we to always look for the 'right now'. I all for a brand new coach and all, but you implying that a new coach=WC=success. A new coach does not address any root problems in the technical deficiencies of young footballers, does not address poor administrative practices, nor should it divert our eyes from the prize..which is a more transparent, accountable and professionally run organization.

« Reply #108 on: December 08, 2010, 09:49:27 PM »

Thank God the WC players don't think that way, or else the TTFF would not be under pressure. Trust me, the program is being changed as we speak, but slowly. But its typical of we to always look for the 'right now'. I all for a brand new coach and all, but you implying that a new coach=WC=success. A new coach does not address any root problems in the technical deficiencies of young footballers, does not address poor administrative practices, nor should it divert our eyes from the prize..which is a more transparent, accountable and professionally run organization.

[/quote]

all these things have been repeated by us since 99' breds, thats going on 12 years now. the same thing was said about our players in 2004-2005 that they had technical deficiencies but we qualified for the wc under a world class coaching staff and had a credible performance.

in fact i would go on to say we have more locals currently who are better skilled and technically they are fine, when you have a coach who is out of his dept, you will tend to blame the players. especially when they weren't paid for the longest while and the coach bringing 2 women on tour with him and have money to spend.

in no way am i saying our players are the best in the world and i do agree we need the system to refine our talent, but guess what, that has been said donkey years now, and we know that.

TELL ME SOMETHING WE DON'T KNOW

i deal with reality and reality is, nobody coming forward to take over local football, so hope for the best coach to coach the best prepared players we have to brazil 2014

« Reply #109 on: December 09, 2010, 04:56:51 AM »
Tigana tops T&TFF wish list
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Former French international and team-mate of UEFA president Michel Platini, Jean Tigana is said to be a clear favourite among the T&T Football Federation (TTFF) top officials to replace Soca Warriors’ coach Russell Latapy.

The decision on the coaching role is set to be made after a meeting among T&TFF president, Oliver Camps, his executive committee inclusive of General Secretary Richard Groden, Special Advisor and Fifa vice-president Jack Warner, Technical Advisor Keith Look Loy and Technical Director Lincoln “Tiger” Phillips on Saturday.

While the meeting is still two days away it is rumoured the 55-year-old Tigana is the clear favourite ahead of Holland’s Ruud Gullit, two other un-named Dutch coaches and Yugoslav-born Bora Mulitinovic, who is considered an outsider for the job.

The current coach of China, Mulitinovic has coached four different World Cup teams (Mexico - 1986, Costa Rica - 1990, USA -1994 and Nigeria - 1998) and is no stranger to Concacaf football.

Speculation over the sacking of Latapy also increased following statements by Warner on Tuesday that in international football, results were the main factor in determining the future of coaches.

The 55-year-old Tigana, who won a European Championship in 1984 with France is currently the coach of French League 1 club, Girondins Bordeaux and will warrant a huge salary should the T&TFF manage to acquire his services from the French club.

Tigana, a World Cup semifinalist in 1982 and 1986 also won a French League title with Bordeaux as a player in 1984 followed by two other triumphs with Olympique Marseille, in 1990 and 1991. He has also coached at two other French League winners’, Lyon and Monaco as well as English Premiership club, Fulham.

His salary at Bordeaux is rumoured to be around, US$50,000 per month and according to sources the T&TFF with the support of the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs and the Sport Company of T&T the TTFF will be willing to match that figure or even go a bit higher.

Gullit, meanwhile is a former European (1987) and World (1989) “Player of the Year” winner and starred for Italian giants, AC Milan during the height of his playing career and is currently without a coaching job.

Gullit, who was in T&T earlier this year as part of a joint Belgium/Holland World Cup bid team also played at Italy’s Sampdoria and coached at Chelsea and LA Galaxy. Tigana was rumoured to be a target for the T&TFF after the resigning of Colombian Francisco Maturana in April following the Soca Warriors dismal start to the 2010 Fifa World Cup Concacaf Final Round campaign.

But in the end Latapy was hired on a short-term basis to complete the qualifying soon after before he was given a two-year deal a month later. Some of the goals set out by the T&TFF in the contract was qualification for the Concacaf Gold Cup in the USA next year.

But following the team’s early Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals exit and failure to qualify for the Gold Cup it seems the end is near for Latapy.

In Martinique, the Soca Warriors were beaten in their first two matches at the DCC Finals by Cuba (2-0) and Grenada (1-0) before ending group play with a 1-0 win over the hosts.

Overall, Latapy’s record since taking over from Colombia Francisco Maturana during the second round of the Concacaf Final World Cup Qualifiers for South Africa 2010 World Cup has seen the former Porto start and national captain win nine of 23 matches, with 11 defeats and three draws.

Prior to the Digicel Caribbean Cup Second Round matches and Finals, Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Anil Roberts stated that should T&T fail to at least reach the semifinal and qualify for the Gold Cup Latapy’s position as coach should be reviewed.

Roberts’ views were supported by Camps, but last week after the win over Martinique the T&TFF boss softened his stance and said it maybe too premature to call for the sacking of the coach before having discussions with the staff and players.

Roberts, meanwhile did not make any further comments, only adding on Tuesday that he had spoken his view already. Meanwhile Latapy, who has a good rapport with his players contrary to media reports has stated his desire to stay on as coach.

But having failed to achieve immediate goals set out by the T&TFF its more than likely his stint as Soca Warriors coach may well be over on Saturday.

It has also been felt in many circles that even before Latapy and his staff left for Martinique his position as coach of the team was already determined by the T&TFF after a run of mixed results against Caribbean and Central American opponents.

« Reply #110 on: December 09, 2010, 11:49:41 AM »
Tigana tops T&TFF wish list
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Former French international and team-mate of UEFA president Michel Platini, Jean Tigana is said to be a clear favourite among the T&T Football Federation (TTFF) top officials to replace Soca Warriors’ coach Russell Latapy.

The decision on the coaching role is set to be made after a meeting among T&TFF president, Oliver Camps, his executive committee inclusive of General Secretary Richard Groden, Special Advisor and Fifa vice-president Jack Warner, Technical Advisor Keith Look Loy and Technical Director Lincoln “Tiger” Phillips on Saturday.

While the meeting is still two days away it is rumoured the 55-year-old Tigana is the clear favourite ahead of Holland’s Ruud Gullit, two other un-named Dutch coaches and Yugoslav-born Bora Mulitinovic, who is considered an outsider for the job.

The current coach of China, Mulitinovic has coached four different World Cup teams (Mexico - 1986, Costa Rica - 1990, USA -1994 and Nigeria - 1998) and is no stranger to Concacaf football.

Speculation over the sacking of Latapy also increased following statements by Warner on Tuesday that in international football, results were the main factor in determining the future of coaches.

The 55-year-old Tigana, who won a European Championship in 1984 with France is currently the coach of French League 1 club, Girondins Bordeaux and will warrant a huge salary should the T&TFF manage to acquire his services from the French club.

Tigana, a World Cup semifinalist in 1982 and 1986 also won a French League title with Bordeaux as a player in 1984 followed by two other triumphs with Olympique Marseille, in 1990 and 1991. He has also coached at two other French League winners’, Lyon and Monaco as well as English Premiership club, Fulham.

His salary at Bordeaux is rumoured to be around, US$50,000 per month and according to sources the T&TFF with the support of the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs and the Sport Company of T&T the TTFF will be willing to match that figure or even go a bit higher.

Gullit, meanwhile is a former European (1987) and World (1989) “Player of the Year” winner and starred for Italian giants, AC Milan during the height of his playing career and is currently without a coaching job.

Gullit, who was in T&T earlier this year as part of a joint Belgium/Holland World Cup bid team also played at Italy’s Sampdoria and coached at Chelsea and LA Galaxy. Tigana was rumoured to be a target for the T&TFF after the resigning of Colombian Francisco Maturana in April following the Soca Warriors dismal start to the 2010 Fifa World Cup Concacaf Final Round campaign.

But in the end Latapy was hired on a short-term basis to complete the qualifying soon after before he was given a two-year deal a month later. Some of the goals set out by the T&TFF in the contract was qualification for the Concacaf Gold Cup in the USA next year.

But following the team’s early Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals exit and failure to qualify for the Gold Cup it seems the end is near for Latapy.

In Martinique, the Soca Warriors were beaten in their first two matches at the DCC Finals by Cuba (2-0) and Grenada (1-0) before ending group play with a 1-0 win over the hosts.

Overall, Latapy’s record since taking over from Colombia Francisco Maturana during the second round of the Concacaf Final World Cup Qualifiers for South Africa 2010 World Cup has seen the former Porto start and national captain win nine of 23 matches, with 11 defeats and three draws.

Prior to the Digicel Caribbean Cup Second Round matches and Finals, Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Anil Roberts stated that should T&T fail to at least reach the semifinal and qualify for the Gold Cup Latapy’s position as coach should be reviewed.

Roberts’ views were supported by Camps, but last week after the win over Martinique the T&TFF boss softened his stance and said it maybe too premature to call for the sacking of the coach before having discussions with the staff and players.

Roberts, meanwhile did not make any further comments, only adding on Tuesday that he had spoken his view already. Meanwhile Latapy, who has a good rapport with his players contrary to media reports has stated his desire to stay on as coach.

But having failed to achieve immediate goals set out by the T&TFF its more than likely his stint as Soca Warriors coach may well be over on Saturday.

It has also been felt in many circles that even before Latapy and his staff left for Martinique his position as coach of the team was already determined by the T&TFF after a run of mixed results against Caribbean and Central American opponents.

bora, gullit and to other dutch coaches, wonder which coaches those are. interesting that they are hungry for tigana. they should find out who the other coaches are from holland.

« Reply #111 on: December 09, 2010, 12:34:54 PM »
Why Trini like brands so?  We keep running down all these famous coaches.
There are many good coaches out there who are not celebrities,who will look at the T&T job as a chance to prove their worth, and can do the job well.  Someone who will be passionate about trying to get our team into the World Cup.  Coaches who have gone to the world cup before may not be so passionate about it.  If we get a less experienced but competent coach, they would have great motivation besides money to make our team a success.
For the members who will point out the fact that we need an experienced coach like Beenhakker, remember we were willing to go with Latapy who has no coaching pedigree. 
A coach with some success in a good league should be able to do better, and be willing to stick around for a while.

Until JW facks it up of course.

« Reply #112 on: December 09, 2010, 12:44:58 PM »
Why Trini like brands so?  We keep running down all these famous coaches.
There are many good coaches out there who are not celebrities,who will look at the T&T job as a chance to prove their worth, and can do the job well.  Someone who will be passionate about trying to get our team into the World Cup.  Coaches who have gone to the world cup before may not be so passionate about it.  If we get a less experienced but competent coach, they would have great motivation besides money to make our team a success.
For the members who will point out the fact that we need an experienced coach like Beenhakker, remember we were willing to go with Latapy who has no coaching pedigree. 
A coach with some success in a good league should be able to do better, and be willing to stick around for a while.

Until JW facks it up of course.

i don't think we have a problem with that breds, however the ttff not looking for that, they looking for the big boy. i am sure there are experienced tt coaches that can take us to the next level but will not get the chance

« Reply #113 on: December 09, 2010, 12:50:18 PM »
Bora?  ??? When I think of Bora I can't help but remember Ocho Rios....as in de 8 Jamaica got from Iran.

My preference:Bruce Arena, Terry Fenwick or Frank Rijkaard.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2010, 01:17:06 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #114 on: December 09, 2010, 06:03:28 PM »
Bora?  ??? When I think of Bora I can't help but remember Ocho Rios....as in de 8 Jamaica got from Iran.

So u done forget the work he did with USA, Costa Rica, Mexico and Nigeria in getting them into the 2nd round of the world cup as well as qualifying China for the world cup in 2006??

« Reply #115 on: December 09, 2010, 06:57:30 PM »
people does still talk bout Gullit as a coach?..dat man is level tata..steups

So we just looking for a coach to get us to the next World Cup I take it..then the process repeats itself.

Why not hire a group of "Academy" coaches from Germany, Holland, South America and England to start working on developing we U-12's?..so by the time they get to U-16 level they have the basics (diet,ball control,fitness,kick a ball properly, etc) instilled in them to be able to be professional.

« Reply #116 on: December 09, 2010, 07:05:25 PM »

So u done forget the work he did with USA, Costa Rica, Mexico and Nigeria in getting them into the 2nd round of the world cup as well as qualifying China for the world cup in 2006??

Nah I eh forget, but if yuh look at those teams he coached to a WC they have better infrastructure and commitment to the sport than we do... Also, like Maturana and Latapy I think he has a very laid back disposition and I think our players need a no-nonsense disciplinarian at the helm, hence my choice of Arena and Fenwick.  I chose Rijkaard because he is an accomplished coach as well and I think we played some bess ball under the 2 Dutch coaches we had. Ah also just love de dutch brand  ;D

BTW China actually qualified for the 2002 WC.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2010, 09:25:19 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #117 on: December 09, 2010, 11:16:35 PM »
Lets get Dave Chapelle

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #118 on: December 09, 2010, 11:40:11 PM »
Lets get Dave Chapelle

haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa haa...yeah..that will be cool.   "Its a celebration Bitches!"

« Reply #119 on: December 09, 2010, 11:49:15 PM »
Lets get Dave Chapelle

Good one LOL

But yuh ent find is enough comedy as it is