March 29, 2024, 07:44:42 AM

Author Topic: Smokey McKenzie....  (Read 1778 times)

Smokey McKenzie....
« on: December 21, 2010, 09:19:39 PM »
of Smokey and Bunty, passed away today.
From what I heard, he was ailing for some time.

Had the pleasure of meeting him a couple of times during my visits at his establishment.
Humble fella!

RIP Smokes :(

Re: Smokey McKenzie....
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2010, 10:14:59 PM »
Whoa. RIP. Is that the one who used to play for D'Romans.

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2010, 05:12:40 AM »
http://www.guardian.co.tt/beta/news/2010/12/22/smokey-dies-miami-hospital

Popular St James businessman, “Smokey” (Ricardo McKenzie), of Smokey and Bunty’s, died yesterday afternoon at Jackson Memorial Hospital, Miami, where he was hospitalised for the past five months.
Relatives are still awaiting his doctor’s report stating the cause of death, his brother, bandleader Ian McKenzie, said yesterday. He would have turned 57 on December 30,

A sorrowful McKenzie, who spoke shortly after he heard the news, said: “He died with two of his daughters and his wife at his bedside.” McKenzie said his brother had two operations for cancer at Westshore Medical and St Clair Nursing Home in T&T before he went to Jackson Memorial. He added: “He had one in September last year and one in June this year. After the two operations in T&T, he was exercising and running. All the cancer was gone.

“When he died nothing was wrong with any of his organs.” McKenzie said his brother started Smokey and Bunty’s, an established drinking spot in St James at the corner of Dengue Street and Western Main Road, from scratch some 20-plus years ago. “Smokey”, the second to last in a family of 17 children was born in Belmont. He spent the rest of his life in Diego Martin and St James. He has three daughters and a grandson.
His longstanding business partner “Bunty” (Renaldo Munroe) could not be contacted.

« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2010, 05:33:08 AM »
Now this is what yuh call leaving a legacy behind....RIP Mr. Smokey....

Smokey of St James passes on
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2010, 05:55:47 AM »
Smokey of St James passes on

Wednesday, December 22 2010
click on pic to zoom in
Ricardo McKenzie, known by many as Smokey of Smokey and Bunty fame....

Ricardo McKenzie also known as Smokey, co-owner of the legendary St James bar Smokey and Bunty has died.

He died yesterday at 3 pm at a Miami Hospital after suffering from extensive radiation damage, treatment he needed for brain cancer.

On August 23, 2009 Smokey collapsed at the bar and was rushed to the West Shore Medical Centre, Cocorite. Doctors told him there was a tumor in his brain that needed to be removed immediately, it was later found to be a Grade 2 tumour which was curable.

His brother, bandleader, Ian McKenzie said he passed away with his wife, Lisa and his two children by his bedside. “He left five months ago to get treatment, and ended up having four major operations on his head, but it is over now, he has no more suffering, he is in no more pain,” he said. He complained he wrote letters to Health Minister Therese Baptiste-Cornelis and Finance Minister, Winston Dookeran to get financial aid but no one responded.

“We tried to get help from them, we wrote so many letters but we got no response,” he said.

McKenzie said the family is currently making arrangements to get the body back to Trinidad for the funeral. Although he was not sure when the service would be, he said it will take place at St Finbar’s RC Church in Diego Martin.

Even as family and close friends mourned the loss of Smokey, the famous bar remained open yesterday.

Re: Smokey of St James passes on
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2010, 06:24:55 AM »

‘Smokey’ dies in Miami hospital
Published: Wed, 2010-12-22 22:27
Yvonne Baboolal

Popular St James businessman, “Smokey” (Ricardo McKenzie), of Smokey and Bunty’s, died yesterday afternoon at Jackson Memorial Hospital, Miami, where he was hospitalised for the past five months.
Relatives are still awaiting his doctor’s report stating the cause of death, his brother, bandleader Ian McKenzie, said yesterday. He would have turned 57 on December 30,

A sorrowful McKenzie, who spoke shortly after he heard the news, said: “He died with two of his daughters and his wife at his bedside.” McKenzie said his brother had two operations for cancer at Westshore Medical and St Clair Nursing Home in T&T before he went to Jackson Memorial. He added: “He had one in September last year and one in June this year. After the two operations in T&T, he was exercising and running. All the cancer was gone.

“When he died nothing was wrong with any of his organs.” McKenzie said his brother started Smokey and Bunty’s, an established drinking spot in St James at the corner of Dengue Street and Western Main Road, from scratch some 20-plus years ago. “Smokey”, the second to last in a family of 17 children was born in Belmont. He spent the rest of his life in Diego Martin and St James. He has three daughters and a grandson.
His longstanding business partner “Bunty” (Renaldo Munroe) could not be contacted.

« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2010, 09:36:35 AM »
Published: Wed, 2010-12-22 22:27
By Yvonne Baboolal

« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2010, 06:17:19 PM »
Whoa. RIP. Is that the one who used to play for D'Romans.
Samba dancers many years ago St James Infirmary league as far back as I can remember maybe a different team later on

Cultural send-off for ‘Smokey’
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2010, 11:08:56 AM »
By Yvonne Baboolal (T&T Guardian)

Ricardo “Smokey” McKenzie, who died last week Tuesday, will have a grand send-off tomorrow morning, complete with police escort, pan music and calypsonians moving through the streets of St James and Diego Martin. Smokey’s body was flown back home from Miami yesterday afternoon. His brother, Carnival bandleader Ian McKenzie, who was at the funeral home with his wife, said: “He will be escorted by the police to the St Finbar’s Church in Morne Coco, Diego Martin. “Renegades will play at the church and Superblue will sing The Lord Is My Shepherd and You Don’t Know What It’s Like To Love Somebody by Phil Collins,” he said. “Denyse Plummer will sing Wind Beneath My Wings and Young King Quesi Jeffers will sing You’ll Be In My Heart.”

McKenzie said from there the procession will stop by Smokey & Bunty’s for a little while until a pan side finishes performing and then move on to his home and finally to the Lapeyrouse Cemetery for 3 pm. “Smokey touched many hearts and a lot of people will want to pay their respects,” he said. “We’re getting condolences from all over the world—Canada, London, Miami, the Caribbean. “He was also a happy, fun-loving person, the party type. He loved pan, calypso and sports and wouldn’t want too much crying at his funeral.” Asked about the doctor’s report, which said Smokey died from over exposure to radiation, McKenze said: “I think we’ll deal with that after the funeral...Right now we just want to get over this.” An emotional McKenzie added: “I loved my brother. I miss him. We were very close. But life goes on.”

Re: Cultural send-off for ‘Smokey’
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2010, 11:46:19 AM »
Police escort... really?? scheups...

By Yvonne Baboolal (T&T Guardian)

Ricardo “Smokey” McKenzie, who died last week Tuesday, will have a grand send-off tomorrow morning, complete with police escort, pan music and calypsonians moving through the streets of St James and Diego Martin. Smokey’s body was flown back home from Miami yesterday afternoon. His brother, Carnival bandleader Ian McKenzie, who was at the funeral home with his wife, said: “He will be escorted by the police to the St Finbar’s Church in Morne Coco, Diego Martin. “Renegades will play at the church and Superblue will sing The Lord Is My Shepherd and You Don’t Know What It’s Like To Love Somebody by Phil Collins,” he said. “Denyse Plummer will sing Wind Beneath My Wings and Young King Quesi Jeffers will sing You’ll Be In My Heart.”

McKenzie said from there the procession will stop by Smokey & Bunty’s for a little while until a pan side finishes performing and then move on to his home and finally to the Lapeyrouse Cemetery for 3 pm. “Smokey touched many hearts and a lot of people will want to pay their respects,” he said. “We’re getting condolences from all over the world—Canada, London, Miami, the Caribbean. “He was also a happy, fun-loving person, the party type. He loved pan, calypso and sports and wouldn’t want too much crying at his funeral.” Asked about the doctor’s report, which said Smokey died from over exposure to radiation, McKenze said: “I think we’ll deal with that after the funeral...Right now we just want to get over this.” An emotional McKenzie added: “I loved my brother. I miss him. We were very close. But life goes on.”

Anyways... ironic since I'm just now reading this article, not sure if there's any relation...

A Pinpoint Beam Strays Invisibly, Harming Instead of Healing

By WALT BOGDANICH and KRISTINA REBELO

The initial accident report offered few details, except to say that an unidentified hospital had administered radiation overdoses to three patients during identical medical procedures.

It was not until many months later that the full import of what had happened in the hospital last year began to surface in urgent nationwide warnings, which advised doctors to be extra vigilant when using a particular device that delivers high-intensity, pinpoint radiation to vulnerable parts of the body. (Continued)