April 27, 2024, 06:14:21 AM

Author Topic: Jabloteh beat Ma Pau in North derby  (Read 1292 times)

Jabloteh beat Ma Pau in North derby
« on: January 08, 2011, 08:07:05 AM »
Jabloteh beat Ma Pau in North derby.
ttproleague.com

San Juan Jabloteh earned bragging rights on Friday night after a 1-0 win over Ma Pau SC boosting it's chances mathematically for a top two finish this season.

Prior to Friday’s Round Two Match Day Five Super Friday clash, Jabloteh head coach Terry Fenwick said he wanted to prove that his side is better than the Michael McComie coached Ma Pau SC, and he did that thanks to a superb strike by Hector Sam early into the second period.

It was the fourth meeting by both sides this season with Jabloteh winning two. Ma Pau enjoyed a 1-0 win over the San Juan club in Round One and in the quarterfinal round of the First Citizens Cup received a win on a technicality after a clash of uniforms forced a no-play.

Sam broke the deadlock with a wonderful header beating Alejandro Figueroa in the 58th minute when he was picked out by a brilliant cross by Jason Marcano from the right to give Jabloteh a 1-0 advantage.

McComie responded with a double change six minutes later replacing Mekeil Williams and Dwayne James with Lester Peltier and Kerry Noray in search for the equalizing item, which unfortunately didn’t come for the Woodbrook side.

In the 66th minute Jabloteh goalkeeper Cleon John survived a couple scares when he first had to push behind Rennie Britto’s effort from outside the area and from the resulting corner he allowed the ball to bounce carelessly before it was played out by his defence.

Cleon had to spring into action again in the 70th minute when former teammate and current Ma Pau midfielder Lester Peltier evaded Marcano with a couple step-overs before unleashing a low shot on target.

Cleon’s uprights were again under threat when five minutes later Seon Power muscled his way inside the area only to volley over.

And again in the 84th Cleon had to brilliantly guide Lyndon Andrews’ freekick out for a corner.

Jabloteh were a fraction off doubling their lead five minutes from time when substitute Elijah Manners whipped in a cross finding another substitute Willis Plaza who headed onto the crossbar.

Despite earning maximum points Jabloteh remains in seventh with 22 points, behind W Connection by goals difference, while Ma Pau remained fourth with 23 points.

Ma Pau SC 0—1 San Juan Jabloteh
;  Hector Sam 58’

Ma Pau SC—Alejandro Figueroa, Lyndon Andrews (capt.), Coneal Thomas, Rennie Britto, Mekeil Williams (Lester Peltier 64th), Shane Calderon, Seon Power (Yellow), Trevin Caesar, Dwayne James (Kerry Noray 64th), Cyd Gray (Yellow), Aquil Selby.

Coach—Michael McComie.

San Juan Jabloteh—Cleon John, Marvin Oliver (capt.), Christian Thomas, Anton Hutchinson, Ataullah Guerra (Elijah Manners 83rd) (Yellow), Jason Marcano, Kennedy Hinkson, Hector Sam (Willis Plaza 69th), Joel Russell, Sheldon Bateau, Jerrel Britto (Mikhil Awai 77th).

Coach—Terry Fenwick.

« Last Edit: January 08, 2011, 09:08:09 AM by Flex »

Re: Jabloteh beat Ma Pau in North derby
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2011, 08:22:34 AM »
great

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2011, 08:46:13 AM »
Ah North derby, and look where it play.

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2011, 09:41:27 AM »
nah tallman the double headers make much more sense dan fighting up to get the games in the hasely

and marvin lee is in d north

imho

« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2011, 10:24:04 AM »
nah tallman the double headers make much more sense dan fighting up to get the games in the hasely

and marvin lee is in d north

imho

I hear wha yuh saying, but it seem kinda jokey when yuh have two sides playing ah league match and none ah dem based in de area.

« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2011, 10:28:17 AM »
Ah mean we does get the scores,schedules etc of these games and must say i appreciate that if it's the best we can do but does anyone attend these games to give us a little update on potential good players/Coaches,teams improving,bottom of the table teams ? we almost in the middle of January and the league eh finish yet it seems by the time it finish the new season ready to start,when will the Pro league have it's end of year presentation?it will be interesting to see who is the POY/MVP etc  

Fenwick: Jabloteh outplayed Ma Pau
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2011, 01:42:52 PM »
Fenwick: Jabloteh outplayed Ma Pau
http://www.ttproleague.com

San Juan Jabloteh head coach Terry Fenwick was in a joyous mood on Friday night after his side defeated Ma Pau SC 1-0 in their Round Two Match Day Five encounter at the Marvin Lee Stadium.

“It’s a great feeling,” said Fenwick boasting a huge smile.

“I did say before the game that we are winning this one. And with three or four misses and even hitting the crossbar, I think we were good for a 2 nil or 3 nil win.

Hector Sam headed in the Jabloteh winner 58 minutes into the match after meeting a perfect Jason Marcano cross from the right.

“It was a night that we wanted to win, with more determination, more ability and more structure,” added Fenwick.

“We prove that we have a good team, outplaying the opposition(Ma Pau), creating all the best chances and winning.”

It was the fourth meeting by both teams this season with Jabloteh winning on two occasions(Lucozade Sport Goal Shield quarterfinal round and Round Two of the Digicel Pro League), while Ma Pau defeated the San Juan club in Round One and picked up a technical win in the quarterfinal round of the First Citizens Cup.

“They were what we expected …nothing different. And of course they had seven players in their line-up that used to be with me at Jabloteh. So we recognized the good development that we have done for them,” continued Fenwick with a proud smile.

Midfielder Marcano boasted the better team won saying, “It was a good effort by both teams, but the better team won.

“We have a great team, young and strong with skillful players like Marvin Oliver and Ataulla Guerra.

“It was really nice to come out win. I can say that we handled them the way they deserve,” he ended.

Coach Fenwick is now looking forward to Wednesday’s FA clash against Caledonia AIA at the Marvin Lee Stadium adding, “We are a competitive Jabloteh and we’ve got a semifinal on Wednesday night and we’ll be ready to go again.”

2010-2011 Digicel Pro League Championship
Round Two Match Day Five results
Friday 07 January 2011
Joe Public 0—2 Caledonia AIA
;  Akim Armstrong 53’, Abdallah Phillips 90’+1

Ma Pau SC 0—1 San Juan Jabloteh
;  Hector Sam 58’

Saturday 08 January 2011
Police FC 0—5 W Connection
;  Andrei Pacheco 35’, 75’ Silvio Spann 37’, Kern Cupid 62’, Shahdon Winchester 84’

FC SouthEnd 0—4 Defence Force
; Jerwyn Balthazar 21’, 90’+4, Devorn Jorsling 33’, 90’

North East Stars 2—0 St. Ann’s Rangers
Jeromie Williams 35’, Gary Glasgow 57’