April 28, 2024, 02:53:05 AM

Author Topic: Criminalizing the Society  (Read 3873 times)

Re: Criminalizing the Society
« Reply #30 on: December 22, 2010, 09:10:26 AM »
Tucked away somewhere in Ramlogan’s rationale is the proposition that all citizens are not equal in the eyes of the law.

sad to say, but this is true of not just ramlogan but anyone else that yuh could find to put in power. thaiz basically a definition of power. cudjoe write like one of dem maoist in asia.  ::)

Come on man ribbit, you cant be serious?

Your point makes Cudjoe's position even stronger.

It is absolutely imperative that we have an independant judiciary as well as sound laws to protect us from such tyranny as you described.

So becasue he wrote his opinion about Ramlogan (who is the AG NOW and who is in power NOW) his message is somehow wrong?

Should he write to people in New Zealand?  the man is a trini and is writing about issues that he sees.

steups.

is not de correctness of what cudjoe write that ah taking issue with but de utility. he have a responsibility to direct attention to a way forward, not trot out de same tired analyses (e.g. race, class) that lead nowhere.

Re: Criminalizing the Society
« Reply #31 on: December 23, 2010, 04:06:29 PM »
Cudjoe ain't saying nothing new, at least to me. I have heard all that kinde of talk in the 70's with Daaga and them. Unfortunately almost 40 yrs have past and black people in the same calaboose. The issue is with black people themselves. No set of gov't programs go save them. Blackmen have to uplift himself and his own. Cudjoe have to come with something more concrete than spilling out all them rhetoric. He have to come with ideas and MONEY for them to run they own business and not depend on handouts.