June 04, 2024, 08:42:07 PM

Author Topic: CARIFTA 2011  (Read 6272 times)

CARIFTA 2011
« on: December 27, 2010, 08:15:38 AM »
Anybody know if they decide on a venue yet?

Re: CARIFTA 2011
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 02:02:12 PM »
Merry Xmas, Weary, did you over-eat? I am not sure. But I am almost sure it not in TT.

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2010, 09:00:56 PM »
Merry Xmas, Weary, did you over-eat? I am not sure. But I am almost sure it not in TT.

No I did and I also sure it eh TNT. Nobody like deh want 2 host d ting.

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2011, 04:23:04 PM »
no venue as yet, the rumor is that bahamas may host it but according to a few articles i read, no one has approached bahamas as yet.
i wouldnt be surprised if tnt end up hosting it otherwise there may be no games this year.

« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2011, 04:25:28 PM »
I predict T&T will come to the rescue if no one else capable of hosting it this year

« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2011, 09:51:59 PM »
I predict T&T will come to the rescue if no one else capable of hosting it this year

Ent Jamaica is the T&F capital of the world. why they don't come forward to save these games?

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2011, 11:01:17 PM »

Ent Jamaica is the T&F capital of the world. why they don't come forward to save these games?

it was suggested, but Jamaica schedule is too pack. the stadium track is been relaid. and a lot of meet from high school track and field, Jamaica invitation, Milo relays , Gibson relays etc. it would not work. and they can't use the west either cause every region has their championship.

Jamaica, too, declined to host, citing scheduling problems. The Jamaica Amateur Athletics Association (JAAA) said that with the CARIFTA Games scheduled for next year’s Easter weekend, the proximity to the hosting of the Jamaica International Invitational (JII), an IAAF Area Permit Meet, was more than the JAAA
could handle

http://www.thestkittsnevisobserver.com/2010/09/24/decline-carifta.html

is better Trinidad host it.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2011, 11:03:02 PM by jahkingdom »
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2011, 12:48:16 AM »

it was suggested, but Jamaica schedule is too pack. the stadium track is been relaid. and a lot of meet from high school track and field, Jamaica invitation, Milo relays , Gibson relays etc. it would not work. and they can't use the west either cause every region has their championship.

Jamaica, too, declined to host, citing scheduling problems. The Jamaica Amateur Athletics Association (JAAA) said that with the CARIFTA Games scheduled for next year’s Easter weekend, the proximity to the hosting of the Jamaica International Invitational (JII), an IAAF Area Permit Meet, was more than the JAAA
could handle

http://www.thestkittsnevisobserver.com/2010/09/24/decline-carifta.html

is better Trinidad host it.

Sure it have some fete schedule 4 HCS, I guess DY might b an option

« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2011, 01:45:03 AM »
doh worry T&T will come to the rescue again

Offline STMB

« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2011, 10:08:36 AM »

Looks like Bahamas will be hosting the 2011 Carifta Games:
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20110107/sports/sports3.html

« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2011, 03:40:20 PM »
Great. Couldn't possibly get any closer to me.

« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2011, 04:46:48 PM »
Good News.

« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2011, 10:27:25 PM »

Looks like Bahamas will be hosting the 2011 Carifta Games:
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20110107/sports/sports3.html

So dey finally agree 2 take it.

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2011, 07:34:22 AM »
i guess Jamaica will host it at the new venue

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=26192
Hard work is the key to success

Offline Swima

« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2011, 11:07:15 AM »

Suspected all along that it would go there. Makes sense. Just the logistics of either the extra flight or ground transportation from Kingston to figure out.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2011, 08:15:29 PM »

Suspected all along that it would go there. Makes sense. Just the logistics of either the extra flight or ground transportation from Kingston to figure out.

Long time d BWEE BUS use 2 go Sangster b4 Norman Manley.

Offline Swima

« Reply #16 on: February 03, 2011, 08:27:18 PM »

Da's reeeeeal long time.

« Reply #17 on: February 03, 2011, 08:50:44 PM »

Da's reeeeeal long time.

Yep up 2 1992 4 sure eh know bout after dat.

Offline willi

« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2011, 10:52:32 AM »

Carib Air doesnt fly to MoBay?

« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2011, 10:55:16 AM »

Who is dat?

« Reply #20 on: February 07, 2011, 06:04:26 PM »

Who is dat?

CAL????????????????????????????????????????????????????

« Reply #21 on: February 07, 2011, 11:04:11 PM »

Who is dat?

CAL????????????????????????????????????????????????????

OH HOR well Air J use 2 go so 4 Carifta dey betta drop some peeps Sangster b4 dey go Kingston.

Offline Swima

« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2011, 06:29:38 AM »

The Caribbean Airlines/Air Jamaica network has no direct link between the eastern caribbean and Mobay. However, it would be an easy facility to link through Kingston as they are now one airline. Just like when Tobago hosted 6 years ago. The only islands with direct access besides Trinidad were Grenada and Barbados. Everyone else had to come through Piarco, clear and connect. Small ting.

« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2011, 01:13:14 PM »

The Caribbean Airlines/Air Jamaica network has no direct link between the eastern caribbean and Mobay. However, it would be an easy facility to link through Kingston as they are now one airline. Just like when Tobago hosted 6 years ago. The only islands with direct access besides Trinidad were Grenada and Barbados. Everyone else had to come through Piarco, clear and connect. Small ting.

We hope. U eh have 2 fret Craifta Swimming in Bim.

Offline Swima

« Reply #24 on: February 08, 2011, 08:16:32 PM »
Yeah we safe with that. Plenty options daily. Next year though, is Nassau.

« Reply #25 on: February 10, 2011, 10:07:51 PM »
Yeah we safe with that. Plenty options daily. Next year though, is Nassau.

Pressure u betta check d visa thread on GD page.

Offline willi

« Reply #26 on: February 11, 2011, 06:32:20 AM »

Thanks Swima.

However, I am not sure if most here are aware that MoBay is the BIGGER airport and is the main Hub on the island. Thus it is a better potential link from say the E. Carib to Nth America/Central America and Europe.

Offline Swima

« Reply #27 on: February 11, 2011, 09:48:18 AM »
Yeah I am aware, however, in the event of having to go through North America, you still have to look for visa for everyone etc. Through Kingston you simply need to get there.