March 28, 2024, 03:35:23 AM

Author Topic: Rest In Peace - Sir Ellis Clarke  (Read 7349 times)

Rest In Peace - Sir Ellis Clarke
« on: December 30, 2010, 07:18:50 PM »
Just heard he passed away this afternoon (Thursday 30th December 2010)

Re: Rest In Peace - Sir Ellis Clarke
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2010, 07:20:06 PM »
R.I.P Sir Ellis Clarke!!
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2010, 07:37:13 PM »
He was at that age I suppose, but still for many of us it's the end of an era.  One of only three Presidents in our history... and very much one of our own 'Founding Fathers" (the original drafter of our Constitution).  His legacy as a lawyer and a statesman will live on.

« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2010, 07:43:22 PM »
he made it to 93...R.I.P

« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2010, 07:48:50 PM »
Correction Bakes...is 4 President we had

« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2010, 08:09:05 PM »

« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2010, 08:19:00 PM »

Oh yeah... nearly fuhget about Max dey.  Noor still alive... anybody?

« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2010, 08:22:30 PM »

Noor died more about 4 years now..I was happy he made it out his Presidency alive

« Reply #8 on: December 30, 2010, 09:06:44 PM »
Didn't know much about this fella, his politics and so forth was ah total mystery. what i did know about him was that he loved horse racing and had ah couple of top horses back in the day, like clown prince and madness. every race day ellis and his son peter was present @ the races up in owners and trainers livin it up.

they also called him the cocktail president BC every week he was in the papers in some social event holding ah glass, he also went on like ah black aristocrat, and it was rumored that he own prime real estate in london's upscale westminister. anyway, that fella had ah great life, and lived to ah ripe old age. lucky bastard. :devil:
http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Biography/bio_EllisClarke.html#top
« Last Edit: December 30, 2010, 09:27:31 PM by just cool »

« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2010, 09:23:15 PM »
Wow I learnt this here at dis hr wow. Nobody eh call meh

« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2010, 09:30:20 PM »

girl, yuh know news does buss here fuss sometimes

RIP

« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2010, 09:32:59 PM »

girl, yuh know news does buss here fuss sometimes

RIP

ENTTTTTTTT

« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2010, 09:35:13 PM »

Noor died more about 4 years now..I was happy he made it out his Presidency alive

I seem to recall dat but wasn't sure... I guess I coulda google.

« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2010, 10:15:00 PM »

Basdeo Panday and Patrick Manning response to Sir Ellis death..

http://video.ctntworld.com/view/582/tts-first-president-sir-ellis-clarke-is-dead/
« Last Edit: December 30, 2010, 10:28:41 PM by AirMan »

« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2010, 10:23:56 PM »
Didn't know much about this fella, his politics and so forth was ah total mystery. what i did know about him was that he loved horse racing and had ah couple of top horses back in the day, like clown prince and madness. every race day ellis and his son peter was present @ the races up in owners and trainers livin it up.

they also called him the cocktail president BC every week he was in the papers in some social event holding ah glass, he also went on like ah black aristocrat, and it was rumored that he own prime real estate in london's upscale westminister. anyway, that fella had ah great life, and lived to ah ripe old age. lucky bastard. :devil:
http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Biography/bio_EllisClarke.html#top
Listen to what Basdeo said about him.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2010, 10:34:58 PM by Quags »

« Reply #15 on: December 31, 2010, 04:21:19 AM »
Talk about leaving a legacy.....the 1st Constitution of a newly minted Independent Nation.....RIP sir.

Didn't he celebrate a birthday recently??  A could google it but ah kinda like getting the answers from mih extended family on here.... ;D

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #16 on: December 31, 2010, 04:28:27 AM »
RIP Sir.
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #17 on: December 31, 2010, 05:00:58 AM »
Browning he celebrated his birthday 3 days ago.

« Reply #18 on: December 31, 2010, 05:06:45 AM »

Thanks ah thought so.....see ah eh even reach by google yet and ah get de answer.  Dis forum is de best!!!  ;D

« Reply #19 on: December 31, 2010, 07:05:53 AM »
RIP Sir Ellis!!!!

« Reply #20 on: December 31, 2010, 11:58:50 AM »

Thanks ah thought so.....see ah eh even reach by google yet and ah get de answer.  Dis forum is de best!!!  ;D

Ent I does get my news right here.

« Reply #21 on: December 31, 2010, 05:03:41 PM »

Selwyn Ryan, Ken Gordon and Kamalludin Mohammed speak on Sir Ellis Clarke contribution to T&T.

http://video.ctntworld.com/view/583/friends-remember-sir-ellis-clarke-on-first-up/

« Reply #22 on: January 06, 2011, 02:18:18 PM »
'Clarke deserves national holiday'

Jack pays tribute to Sir Ellis

A national holiday should be named in honour of the former first President of Trinidad and Tobago, the late Sir Ellis Clarke.

Minister of Works and Transport, Jack Warner, made the suggestion after paying his respects to Sir Ellis at the rotunda of the Red House yesterday.

"I have said that there should be something in his honour, nothing of course that can be forgotten in two or three years and as such I would advocate some kind of public holiday," Warner said.

"But no additional holiday, take of the one of the existing ones and call it Sir Ellis Clarke Day," he added...Continue .. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_Clarke_deserves_national_holiday_-112982989.html

« Reply #23 on: January 06, 2011, 02:45:26 PM »
'Clarke deserves national holiday'

Jack pays tribute to Sir Ellis

A national holiday should be named in honour of the former first President of Trinidad and Tobago, the late Sir Ellis Clarke.

Minister of Works and Transport, Jack Warner, made the suggestion after paying his respects to Sir Ellis at the rotunda of the Red House yesterday.

"I have said that there should be something in his honour, nothing of course that can be forgotten in two or three years and as such I would advocate some kind of public holiday," Warner said.

"But no additional holiday, take of the one of the existing ones and call it Sir Ellis Clarke Day," he added...Continue .. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_Clarke_deserves_national_holiday_-112982989.html

U know people hear dat and say 2mor is a Public Holiday. We sweet 2 bad.

« Reply #24 on: January 06, 2011, 07:25:41 PM »
RIP, Sir Ellis. Even while you laid to rest this mad man want to throw your name in bachanal. A national holiday in honour of Sir Ellis????!!!!!!!  ??? ??? ??? boy oh boy!!!!

« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, 08:24:44 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #25 on: January 06, 2011, 08:19:32 PM »
Wow...As someone says..The end of an era.  Rest in peace Sir Ellis.

« Reply #26 on: January 06, 2011, 10:02:42 PM »
RIP, Sir Ellis. Even while you laid to rest this mad man want to throw your name in bachanal. A national holiday in honour of Sir Ellis????!!!!!!!  ??? ??? ??? boy oh boy!!!!

This from d people who remove Republic Day as a holiday.

« Reply #27 on: January 06, 2011, 11:36:40 PM »

As long as the Privy Council is the final court, I really don't see the need for republic day. Sorry you miss the day to stay home!!!!

« Reply #28 on: January 07, 2011, 12:16:20 AM »

As long as the Privy Council is the final court, I really don't see the need for republic day. Sorry you miss the day to stay home!!!!
Agreed

« Reply #29 on: January 07, 2011, 12:35:49 AM »

People disagree with the role of the Privy Council because of the taint of the attendant taint of colonialism, real or imagined.  The reality though it that it serve a much greater good than people give it credit for.