March 28, 2024, 04:02:18 AM

Author Topic: The TT Catholic Church presents Genesis 1 Mas Band  (Read 6590 times)

The TT Catholic Church presents Genesis 1 Mas Band
« on: January 04, 2011, 05:24:31 PM »
Forumites,

I was just looking at the news and the Catholic Church in TT has reversed their views on playing mas and have come out with a band...yes a mas band.

The costumes are minshallesque and all masqueraders will be fully clothed. They will be going up for competition as the prize money is 2 million and will be crossing the stage like everyone else....no alcohol or lewd music will be offered and if there is any wining or lewd behaviour you will be escorted out the band by marshalls.

They want to show that Mas does not have to be beads and feathers and they want to take back mas and show its creativity...costumes not cheap they are 2500 each.

I think this is a real good and wonderful idea.

Of course there are those who are opposed but I think its a bold step by Archbishop Gilbert and Monsignor Jason et al.

Maybe they take the idea from RAS MAS by Explainer.

Will post the newspaper article when it is published. 

Re: The TT Catholic Church presents Genesis 1 Mas Band
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2011, 05:47:58 PM »
Yeah boy I nearly fall out mih chair.....is not dem who did condemn David Rudder's song (High Mas I think it was  :-\)

Interesting.....and dey planning an All Inclusive too....well yes.....

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2011, 06:32:51 PM »
hypocrites whats new

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2011, 06:58:11 PM »
hmmmm fight fire with fire.........

would be a sight to see.....

« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2011, 07:16:09 PM »
What is de name of de band? Midnite Mas?  :devil:

« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2011, 07:21:16 PM »
What is de name of de band? Midnite Mas?  :devil:

Would be interesting to hear Sunday sermons in the weeks leading up to Carnival

« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2011, 07:59:31 PM »
In the mid 60's, I remember and Anglican priest(Englishman, I think) use to play mas. Cypher made a calypso"I the priest could play who is me... I from D'Abadie.."

« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2011, 09:04:27 PM »
hypocrites whats new

Why you say that..........yuh eh go jump up in de band and hug up TC and JC in de Cain and Abel section?
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2011, 09:36:10 PM »
Yeah boy I nearly fall out mih chair.....is not dem who did condemn David Rudder's song (High Mas I think it was  :-\)

Interesting.....and dey planning an All Inclusive too....well yes.....

Rudder's "High Mas" will be the perfect theme song for this Catholic Mas band!

Hope they have the sense and decency to ask Rudder for forgiveness for condemning his beautiful song and then give him some work singing it live on their music truck!  ;)

« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2011, 09:58:08 PM »
they losing members every generation. plus Hollywood putting a stigma that all dem priest are pedophiles... not surprise of their scheme to  get back popular with the population.

Offline Die_Hard

« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2011, 02:58:20 AM »
they losing members every generation. plus Hollywood putting a stigma that all dem priest are pedophiles... not surprise of their scheme to  get back popular with the population.

Hollywood?  Not the fact that they have been at their paedophile best for the last two hundred years?

Catholics to bring out mas band
« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2011, 06:36:42 AM »
Catholics to bring out mas band
T&T Guardian

The first mas band produced by the Roman Catholic Church in Trinidad and Tobago will hit the streets of Port-of-Spain come Carnival Monday and Tuesday. Genesis 1—Creation is being presented by The Word and Associates, a new mas entity made up primarily of parishioners from St Anthony’s RC Church in Petit Valley. Committee members include Derek Walcott, Felix Edinborough, veteran masman Raoul Garib and Carnival bandleader Rosalind Gabriel. The band’s designer is Lisa Bhajan and veteran mas designer Wayne Berkeley is giving guidance on design quality and production.

The band was officially launched yesterday at the Queen’s Park Cricket Club (QPCC) Banquet Hall at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain, with Roman Catholic priests Fr Jason Gordon and Fr Joe Harris among those expressing support for the project. Organisers said the band would provide an opportunity for masqueraders to enjoy Carnival without the vulgarity. It is aimed at people who have “matured beyond the need to be high on alcohol to enjoy Carnival and life.” The band will feature 12 sections with a maximum of 100 masqueraders per section.

There will also be a King and Queen. Costumes will range between $1,200 and $2,500. On the road music will be provided by DJ Rene, Simple Sounds and Valley Harps. There are two mas camps for the band—one located at Stevens Road, Long Circular, obliquely opposite the Church of the Assumption in Maraval for payment and distribution of costumes, and at the production site in Belmont. Registration will take place at the mas camp as well as online.

Roman Catholic priest Fr Joe Harris takes a chip with Katrina Laydoo, left, Sophie Walcott,
right, and Daniella Walcott as they model costumes from the Carnival band, Genesis 1—Creation.

Photo: Karla Ramoo

« Reply #12 on: January 05, 2011, 06:49:14 AM »
Trinidad Express

No wine or wining in 2011 Catholic mas band

By Rhea-Simone Auguste

CLEAN CARNIVAL: Fr Joe Harris poses with models in costumes from The Word and Associates Carnival 2011 presentation Genesis 1—Creation following the launch yesterday at Queen's Park Cricket Club Banquet Hall, Tragarete Road, Port of Spain. From left are Katrina Laydoo (Volt of Heaven), Sophie Walcott (Light in the Filament), Daniella Walcott (Water) and Daniel Lezama (Birds). —Photo: CURTIS CHASE

A Roman Catholic organisation launched its 2011 mas band Genesis 1 —Creation yesterday at the Queen's Park Cricket Centre, Port of Spain.

The Word and Associates chairman, Derek Walcott, said while the move is expected to raise eyebrows and spark debate, the aim is to erase the vulgarity associated with Carnival and replace it with creativity and family.

"While an essence of culture still remains in the 'ole mas', Carnival has become a parade of beads and bikinis. The calypso that once meant something to those who heard it on the streets has been replaced by 'wine and jam' tunes that rise and fall with Carnival… The focus of this band is enjoyment of life without the stereotypical inebriation that goes with Carnival. The Word realises that as Trinbagonians we cannot escape the Carnival atmosphere and we want to enjoy it in a safe environment conducive to fun," noted a release from the organisation.

Monsignor Jason Gordon, speaking on behalf of Archbishop Edward Joseph Gilbert, said at the event: "The thought of a Carnival band launched by the Catholic Church must be boggling the minds of a few people because I'm sure your thoughts might be that we would be in anything but Carnival and you would find us in many other places but not in this terrain…"

Gordon said the Catholic Church fully supports the launch of the band which is planned as an all-inclusive, alcohol-free, decent-dancing, family-friendly venture. "We are about evangelising the culture and that means announcing the good news of Christ through the culture and Carnival is at the very heart of the culture. Genesis 1 is an announcement of the good news, that there can be culture and innocence, there can be culture and the gospel…These things, we knew them at one time to be together and again they will be together in Genesis 1," he explained.

He said the Catholic Church has always been a custodian, patron and supporter of the arts. "This initiative is in the best of the Catholic traditions – it is about the evangelisation of culture," Gordon reiterated.

Costumes for the band were designed by Lisa Bhajan, Tara Bhajan, Mariella Navarro and veteran children's mas band designer Rosalind Gabriel with Wayne Berkeley on board as a mentor. Costumes cost between $1,000 and $2,500 with the band setting a goal to start with at least 1,200 masqueraders spread over 12 sections.

« Reply #13 on: January 05, 2011, 06:56:19 AM »
Holy mas

Trinidad Newsday

By LEISELLE MARAJ Wednesday, January 5 2011

CLEAN MAS: Masqueraders display costumes as the launch yesterday of The Word and Associates' (a Roman Catholic organisation) Carnival mas band 'Genesi...

THE Word and Associates, a Roman Catholic organisation, yesterday launched its mas band for the upcoming Parade of the Bands, named Genesis 1 — Creation. The band is sanctioned by the head of the local Roman Catholic Church, Archbishop Edward Gilbert.

According to the Word and Associates chairman Derek Walcott, the band’s intention is to bring God and creativity back into Carnival.

Monsignor Jason Gordon, who represented Archbishop Gilbert at the band launch at the Queen’s Park Cricket Club said: “There was a time when Carnival was blessed with creativity and we want to go back to this time. We want to show we can take part in Carnival without alcohol and excess.”

Walcott explained that the band will also cater to children and they intend on crossing the stage at the Queens Park Savannah on Carnival Monday and Tuesday. “The Word realises that as Trinbagonians, we cannot escape the Carnival atmosphere and want to enjoy it in a safe environment conducive to fun,” Walcott said.

Parish priest at St Anthony’s RC Church, Petit Valley Father Joe Harris is the inspiration behind the band. Twelve sections will be portrayed using a maximum of 1,200 masqueraders. Costumes will be priced between $1,000 and $2,500 and the all inclusive band will not be serving alcoholic drinks.

The Word was assisted by several veteran mas makers in producing the band including Rosalind Gabriel whose children’s band has won band of the year several years including last year. Wayne Berkeley created the queen of the band, “Eve” while a renowned but unnamed mas maker, will create the King, “Adam”. Walcott said as part of the drive to bring back creativity the band’s music will be provided by three steelbands; Valley Harps, Simple Song of Arima and the Archdiocesan steel band, a rhythm section and one DJ but dependant on the size of the band, they may include more DJs.

Harris will be deciding the playlist for the band which will include calypsos from over the years. He hinted at songs sung by David Rudder and last year’s Road March and Soca Monarch champions, JW and Blaze with their hit, Palance. Some of the designs were paraded for media at the launch but the Word will be hosting an all inclusive fete on February 20th where they will make a full presentation of the band.
spacer

« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2011, 09:33:26 AM »
Aye Allyuh, leave we crazy Catholics alone. The concept of doing away with the flesh was formed under Catholicism. Carnival has always been a kinder of love hate relationship. Ironically I think it is an integral part of Catholicism. Where there is pre-Lenten Carnival, there is the Catholic Church. Although Carnival was "criticized" by the church, they never asked for it to be banned. Why?  After Carnival the masses go to church for ashes and repent and fast and do away with sex( :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:) until Easter. Married Priests, Women Priests????? Next!!!!

« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2011, 10:02:39 AM »

de all inclusive price does include food? fish and barley loaves whole day or wha?

« Reply #16 on: January 05, 2011, 10:17:48 AM »

de all inclusive price does include food? fish and barley loaves whole day or wha?

Bread and Wine included.

« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2011, 12:31:06 PM »

Bread and Wine included.

« Reply #18 on: January 06, 2011, 12:12:50 PM »
Taken from Letters to the Editor...Trinidad Express

Outraged by Catholic band

Story Created: Jan 5, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 5, 2011 at 11:49 PM ECT

My dear Catholic people, I refer to the Express report of January 5 headlined, "No wine or wining in 2011 Catholic mas band''.

"We playin mas dis year in we own ban! No wining, no drinking, no smoking, no sexing up on de odder sex (forget dat — we en know man from 'oman anymore anyway!), no cussing — in other words, no vulgarity! Yuh lissening?! Yeah, we playing mas! Come Carnival Monday and Tuesday we hitting de streets of Port of Spain. We have music, we have pan. We have king and queen too! We eh easy nuh! We have best designers, best wire benders on we committee — we eh wanting fuh a ting nuh! We have two mas camps — we ready fuh all yuh good Catholics.

Bring yuh money and come down and play a mas wid we. We go pray fuh yuh. Is High Mas in yuh ras! We serving holy communion, we drinking only holy wine. Heaven jes around de corner. Doh worry bout dem devil ting and dem. Dah is part ah de carnival too. We ha holy water wid we. Yuh safe! We drinkin dat!

De church fadda, brudda and sistah and modah playing mas too. So yuh ha plenty good company. Ah tell yuh, jes follow de rules — no wining, no drinking, no smoking, no sexing up on de odder sex, no cussing, no vulgarity and yuh go be safe…yuh going to heaven!''

Well, We reach!

All I can say to my fellow Catholics is make the right decision. My personal feeling is one of outrage and disappointment. But I believe in prayers and I pray that the Catholic Church would come to its senses and realise that you cannot join in this festival and hope to remain free from the immorality that embodies it.

Deborah Daniel

via e-mail

« Reply #19 on: January 06, 2011, 01:54:54 PM »
^^ I know that is a letter from one national, but is her sentiments the general sentiments for the majority of Catholics in the country ?..or most Catholics in Trini doh care much about the issue ?

« Reply #20 on: January 07, 2011, 04:18:19 PM »
^^ I know that is a letter from one national, but is her sentiments the general sentiments for the majority of Catholics in the country ?..or most Catholics in Trini doh care much about the issue ?

Most Catholics, it appears, have more serious issues to deal with.

« Reply #21 on: January 07, 2011, 05:07:01 PM »
While recognizing both the element of hypocrisy and the inherent uneasy footing upon which the decision stands... I actually applaud this move.

« Reply #22 on: January 08, 2011, 12:56:20 PM »
Allyuh laugh.......dat band go have real woman  ;D
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2011, 01:55:08 PM »

To look at... yuh cyah wine on dem.

« Reply #24 on: January 08, 2011, 07:08:04 PM »

Dais wha you feel!

Yuh just have to be smart & offer dem some holy wine! Dem catholic women cyah refuse dat!!  :angel:

« Reply #25 on: January 08, 2011, 08:47:25 PM »
If I only see Fadda Ian Taylor in dat jump up.......hmmm  ;D
Better yet, ah young seminarian from dey mount!

« Reply #26 on: January 08, 2011, 09:26:51 PM »

All you have to do is pull them out of the band and wine tuh de side, wine tuh de side, wine tuh de, wine tuh de, wine tuh de side.....then say two Hail Mary's and an Our Father with yuh rosary go back the band and walk down de road. SIMPLE!

« Reply #27 on: January 08, 2011, 11:28:28 PM »
Lol... allyuh men on kicks, allyuh ent peep de kinda iron panty costume dem coming out with or what?  Besides, fadda and dem done come out and say "no wine or wining."