April 24, 2024, 03:32:31 AM

Author Topic: Sedley Joseph Thread  (Read 5794 times)

Sedley Joseph Thread
« on: January 06, 2011, 05:33:51 AM »
Former T&T captain Sedley supports foreign coach.
T&T Guardian Reports.

If there’s no coach in T&T who fits the bill then bring in a foreign coach. That’s the view of former national football captain Sedley Joseph.

However, the former Maple standout firmly believes that a good local coach should be part of the technical set up of the Soca Warriors team staff as it attempts to qualify for Brazil 2014.

Among his wishes for 2011 is seeing the standard of play lifted in the T&T Pro League. On the issue of current coach Russell Latapy, Joseph said: “The unfortunate thing about Russell is that he didn’t have much experience as a coach to come into the position of a national team coach.

“He would have been better served if he had a more experienced coach alongside him with whom he could work hand in hand, maybe even serving as an assistant to that person and then eventually that would have allowed him to get the experience and take over the job,” Joseph said on Tuesday.

“Russell may have come up short in some ways but there may be other reasons also why the team didn’t perform well at the Digicel Caribbean Cup.”

And on the likelihood of a foreigner coming to take over at the helm, Joseph added: “If we have a good coach in T&T then I would go for hiring a local coach, but I don’t know much about the coaches here in the Pro League except for a few like Stuart Charles-Fevrier, Terry Fenwick and Derek King.

“But as I said, if you don’t have a good enough coach here then I would go for a foreign coach because then also the players would be more disciplined and more attentive to the foreign coach than the local one.

“And I’m not sure how good our coaches are tactically. Tactics are an extremely integral part of coaching a team for matches today,” added Joseph who received the Fifa centennial order of merit in 2004 and was named T&T Player of the Year in 1967.

The former T&T captain is hopeful that there could be some adjustments to the selection process for the national team other than simply selecting players based on their performances in the Pro League.
“I am hoping that standard of the Pro League is a bit higher than it has been.

I have not been looking at too many of the games except for parts… and the standard does not appear to be high and that’s never good because that is where you are getting your national team players.

“In the past we used to have three North/South Leagues and clashes as well as other Leagues, so every weekend the top players would play against each other and with the best in the north against the best in the south and from there most of them would go on to represent the country.

Now with the Pro league, all the players are just coming out of there and the best players are supposedly playing in that league with one or two in the zones.

“That standard doesn’t seem to be too good and that was evident with the performance in the Digicel Cup. We need to have the top players playing against each other regularly and this could work with the zone format and there needs to be a reformation on how the selection process goes for the national team.

“I keep hearing that the gap is closing between us and the other Caribbean teams but I think the gap should always be there because if we used to be so far ahead of them in years gone by and now they are improving and coming up to our level, then what is going on with us…then we are not improving also?” Joseph added.

“Players make mistakes but when you constantly see a player making bad passes or shooting or heading badly then it means that the players don’t have that pride in themselves to work on it on their own. Footballers are being paid to do this now. It’s not like long ago. Everything now should be second nature to them,” he ended.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2020, 09:45:27 PM by Tallman »

Re: Former T&T captain Sedley supports foreign coach.
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2011, 12:58:24 PM »
I support a foreign coach too

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2011, 01:01:08 PM »

lets hope he can pick his own team

« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2011, 01:04:39 PM »

lets hope whatever team he has, he does a better job than previous coaches

« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2011, 02:20:05 PM »

he will, theres no doubt about that, but he will probably demand to pick his team unlike previous coaches, bc if hes a big name like the ttff say, he wont tolerate others choosing for him

« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2011, 02:23:46 PM »

he will, theres no doubt about that, but he will probably demand to pick his team unlike previous coaches, bc if hes a big name like the ttff say, he wont tolerate others choosing for him

Will his name be bigger than "Jack Warner"

« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2011, 02:35:49 PM »

Will his name be bigger than "Jack Warner"

That's the problem right there!

Jack will not pay the big money (rubles) and tolerate not having a say!!
« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, 04:39:17 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2011, 02:41:58 PM »
Wasn't Maturana a big name foreign coach too?

« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2011, 02:44:55 PM »
Is latapy considered a foreign coach or a local coach?

is it where you learn to coach or where you born that counts?

« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2011, 04:00:17 PM »
If it pleases everyone that a foreign coach will solve we problem, then alyuh have that right. But a foreign coach can't resolve our problem until we get our local league in order.  How will this system work. If Jabloteh has the most players on the team will they have to cancel their PFL games. How much time will the coach get to train the team. Will he have them for an unlimited amount of time? Will the PFL be put on hold while the national team is preparing. Them what about the foreign legion. Will the coach use them if the come just 3 days before the game. What if a team don't want to release players on time? Why is that good for the foreigners and not the local clubs(Fenwick)?

« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2011, 04:43:00 PM »
Is latapy considered a foreign coach or a local coach?

is it where you learn to coach or where you born that counts?

Do you consider yourself a Trini or a foreigner KND?

Your answer to that will also answer your own question regards Latapy being a local or foreign coach!  ;)

« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2011, 04:57:35 PM »

Big name yuh say ?  :-[

« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2011, 09:59:40 PM »

Big name yuh say ?  :-[

Of course d man qualify Colombia so he big. Plus he fro was big

Offline tempo

« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2011, 10:13:17 PM »
Maturana is a good coach who was both undermined by Latapy and a bad fit for T&T. If we brought down Del Bosque, he would fail as well because he doesn't speak English. For all the Maturana detractors, you should watch the ESPN documentary "The Two Escobars". Maturana features prominently and you really get a sense that he is a very wise individual who dealt with Pablo Escobar and the chaos of narco-terrorism. Even though the directors took some artistic license in not mentioning Colombia's successful 1990 world cup run, it is good piece. Maturana is even wearing a TTFF polo shirt throughout the interview.

« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2011, 10:38:10 PM »
Maturana is a good coach who was both undermined by Latapy and a bad fit for T&T. If we brought down Del Bosque, he would fail as well because he doesn't speak English. For all the Maturana detractors, you should watch the ESPN documentary "The Two Escobars". Maturana features prominently and you really get a sense that he is a very wise individual who dealt with Pablo Escobar and the chaos of narco-terrorism. Even though the directors took some artistic license in not mentioning Colombia's successful 1990 world cup run, it is good piece. Maturana is even wearing a TTFF polo shirt throughout the interview.
He did have knowledge no doubt ,but did he mentioned he lost to Bermuda ?
« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, 10:47:51 PM by Quags »

« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2011, 10:43:08 PM »

Not the 1st time TT have lost to Bermuda. There 2 other occasions.

« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2011, 10:51:16 PM »
Would not doubt it ,am sure we lost atleast once to all teams we played on multiple times lol .
But that particular game vs Burmuda was a big game ,the first on our quest to Brazil ,Mats was finished from the start in my books .

« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2011, 11:31:46 PM »
Would not doubt it ,am sure we lost atleast once to all teams we played on multiple times lol .
But that particular game vs Burmuda was a big game ,the first on our quest to Brazil ,Mats was finished from the start in my books .

You jumped the gun dey, Bro. Brazil??!!!

« Reply #18 on: January 08, 2011, 12:06:10 PM »

You serious? U still talking about how he lost to Bermuda? Manutd lost to Leeds in the 3rd of the FA Cup last year, so they shoulda fire Fergie?

We beat Bermuda over two legs! Full stop!!

Why dont u talk about who was in charge when we beat USA? Or when we played Guatemala in Guatemala with 10 men and still drew 0-0? Or when we went to El Salvador and were cruisin 2-0 until the Yorke-John show underminded the man?

Or when we went to Cuba and beat them 3-1?  At least we were still head and shoulders over or Caribbean opposition.

Its true that we didnt qualify under maturana for the Gold Cup, but in those games, we lost to Grenada 2-1 after totally dominating and outplaying them for the whole match, we then won our 2nd game and then drew with Jamaica 1-1 in Jamaica.

I always say that firing Maturana was a mistake.

« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2011, 01:21:32 PM »

You serious? U still talking about how he lost to Bermuda? Manutd lost to Leeds in the 3rd of the FA Cup last year, so they shoulda fire Fergie?

Why dont u talk about who was in charge when we beat USA? Or when we played Guatemala in Guatemala with 10 men and still drew 0-0? Or when we went to El Salvador and were cruisin 2-0 until the Yorke-John show underminded the man?

Or when we went to Cuba and beat them 3-1?  At least we were still head and shoulders over or Caribbean opposition.

Its true that we didnt qualify under maturana for the Gold Cup, but in those games, we lost to Grenada 2-1 after totally dominating and outplaying them for the whole match, we then won our 2nd game and then drew with Jamaica 1-1 in Jamaica.

tell them family, tell them  :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2011, 01:25:16 PM »
We need a coach with vast experience (preferably World Cup) and could speak English fluently.

At this point those are minimum requirements.

« Reply #21 on: January 08, 2011, 02:50:57 PM »

Hind sight is 20 20 ,you just using all the info we found out after the fact to make a case .But you cant change the fact that the loss to Bermuda ,had ppl regretting his hiring .We never found out about latapy undermining till way later .

« Reply #22 on: January 08, 2011, 03:11:09 PM »

tell them family, tell them  :beermug:
Yeah ok ,I never called for Whims head ,thats the man we should have kept .

« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2011, 11:18:22 PM »

If firing Mats was a mistake firing Wim was a beefstake.

« Reply #24 on: March 17, 2020, 08:44:29 AM »
WATCH: We go back in time with former Trinidad and Tobago captain and Maple standout Sedley Joseph. "Skipper" takes us on a journey of his career before the Grand Stand

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BKXnp9mThSc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BKXnp9mThSc</a>

A conversation with Sedley Joseph
« Reply #25 on: April 19, 2020, 08:34:06 AM »
A conversation with Sedley Joseph
By Shaun Fuentes (T&T Guardian)

It is said that sports have an advantage over literature, song or cinema — it does not need words. The free flow of a Brian Lara cover drive is appreciated as much in Barrackpore as in Brisbane (Australia), the clever feints of Russell Lately look as artistic in Port-of-Spain as it did in Porto (Portugal).

Which is why when we watch the truly great in sports, what we are admiring and taking pride in is not just the achievement of a Trinbagonian or a West Indian, but the heights to which man’s consciousness can rise.

I took the opportunity recently to have a sit down with former national captain Sedley Joseph at his home in Valsayn. Now 81 and undergoing dialysis treatment, Sedley was a standout for Maple in the 1960s, leading them to 28 trophies in nine years and was named T&T’s captain of the century.

He recalled his journey in an extensive interview that can be viewed on TTFA's Youtube page but what stood out for me was his recollection of what football was like during the 1950s, 60s and 70s.

We have all heard it said before, "that sport is like religion and more so football in some countries". According to Sedley, it was in fact so in the years gone by and he wants to see a return of those times. The annual cycle of major football events such as the North/South Classic and the Port-of-Spain League mimics the yearly sequence of rituals by which traditional religions transform “profane” time and space into “sacred” moments and places. These were the scenes at the Queen’s Park Savannah back then, according to Sedley who guided T&T to a bronze medal at the 1967 CAC (Central American and Caribbean) Games.

"The ground was not the best in the world. In front of the Grand Stand particularly when it rained on the left side, going west was difficult to play on. But it was what we had and we made use of it. All the teams had grounds on the Savannah. So you had Maple ground on the north, Malvern ground on the west, Dynamos up the road, Colts on the East. People used to go to see teams practice as if it were a match," he said.

"The supporters would come to you after practice and say 'Hear nah Skip, this player should play and this one should be on the bench,' such was the interest that they had in supporting their teams. It was really good in those days.

"I imagine there are still talented players in the teams now. I don’t know if the rivalry we had then, still happens now. You had Malvern coming with most of the players from Woodbrook, the Woodbrook Glamour Boys, Colts from Belmont, Shamrock with their clubhouse at Queen’s Park East and Casuals by the corner heading towards QRC (Queen's Royal College). The tension was there.

"I could recall riding my bicycle heading to games from my home at Observatory Street, East Dry River. If we were playing Colts that evening, you would have the Colts fans telling me on the way 'Sedley we go beat all ya this evening'. Spectators didn’t make joke in those days. The support was strong. When you reached the Savannah you knew you weren’t playing just for your club but also for your supporters.

“I grew up on the Savannah looking at the elders play. I grew up in that football atmosphere so it wasn’t difficult for me to move on from being a youngster looking on from behind the goal post to being in front of the goal post when I grew older," said Joseph, recalling the assistance he received from his three brothers and sister, particularly his brother Alan who skippered Maple in the 1950s and would take him to training or matches on his bicycle.

“I don’t know but I think the camaraderie we had in the 60s and 70s is what we need to get back. I can’t say for sure because I am not that close enough to the teams these days. Although we played against each other in the league on a weekend, we became friends when we had to play for North or South, or on the national team. The camaraderie that we had was strong. We enjoyed each other’s company.

"Matter of fact, people wondered how Carlton Franco and myself were so close, Carlton was captain of Malvern and I was captain of Maple. The closeness was always there and there was no question of animosity. Of course, it was different in the actual games."

Clearly, most team sports elicit a sanctity between the players and their fans. Is sport a ritual activity? I believe so. Sport can increase spiritual awareness in so far as persons embracing the tension between success and failure from moment to moment. In these times of tension, sport no doubt is a far greater option for us whether as a fan or a participant. Well, once the lock down is over.

« Reply #26 on: April 20, 2020, 05:46:12 PM »
T&T to a bronze medal at the 1967 CAC (Central American and Caribbean) Games.

TT won bronze medal in the 67 PanAm games and silver at the 1974 CAC games in DR.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2020, 06:55:26 AM by Deeks »

T&T football icon Sedley Joseph has died
« Reply #27 on: June 08, 2020, 03:03:52 PM »
T&T football icon Sedley Joseph has died
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

FORMER national football captain Sedley Joseph, 80, has died. The T&T Sports Hall of Famer and former midfielder died earlier today. Joseph, who was a football commentator after his playing days, represented the national team in the 1960s among the likes of Alvin Corneal and Gally Cummings.

Joseph earned the T&T Hummingbird Medal Gold for his service to sport in 2005 and was inducted into T&T's Sports Hall of Fame in 1985.

Speaking about his former teammate on Monday, Corneal said Joseph was always calm and was the best football captain this country ever had. Apart from sharing the field, Corneal said he and Joseph shared a close relationship and Joseph was his best man at his wedding.

« Reply #28 on: June 08, 2020, 05:28:35 PM »
little known fact -  although Sedley Joseph went to CIC and captained one of the great T&T teams in '67 he never played first 11 football for CIC.
RIP Sedley Joseph, thank you for your contributions on and off the field.       

« Reply #29 on: June 08, 2020, 05:28:50 PM »
past articles about him:
https://ttfootballhistory.com/taxonomy/term/228

1963 Maple

1963 FA Champions
Back Row: Ronnie Woods, Dick Rodriguez, Sedley Joseph, Lincoln Phillips, Kelvin Hoford, Eddie Aleong
Front Row: Andy Aleong, Alvin Corneal, David McDeegan, Joey Donaldson, Rawle Boland.