12 (15.8%)
Anil Roberts
59 (77.6%)
Roger Boynes
5 (6.6%)
Other
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 74

Author Topic: De Minister of Sport doing everything but Sports !!!!  (Read 91422 times)

Re: De Minister of Sport doing everything but Sports !!!!
« Reply #150 on: November 11, 2011, 08:21:19 PM »
All de big plans for Brazil he had....bussing up he mouth all over he place but wouldn't deal with the real issue......steups!!! Jokers!!!

« Reply #151 on: November 11, 2011, 08:30:01 PM »
All de big plans for Brazil he had....bussing up he mouth all over he place but wouldn't deal with the real issue......steups!!! Jokers!!!

This is about the worst year for T&T Sports that I could ever remember in living memory!!  :-[

« Reply #152 on: November 11, 2011, 08:35:05 PM »

This is about the worst year for T&T Sports that I could ever remember in living memory!!  :-[

Well good because ah spending meh hard earn money 2 head 2 d olympics. Ah only have tickets for preliminaries but ah go c some Trinis run. So 2012 betta b a good yr.

« Reply #153 on: November 11, 2011, 08:38:40 PM »

Well good because ah spending meh hard earn money 2 head 2 d olympics. Ah only have tickets for preliminaries but ah go c some Trinis run. So 2012 betta b a good yr.

Doh think next year could be worst!!!

« Reply #154 on: November 11, 2011, 08:43:27 PM »

Doh think next year could be worst!!!

gr8

« Reply #155 on: November 14, 2011, 07:11:16 AM »
@MinSportTT The Honourable Anil Roberts, Minister of Sport to speak to media Monday at 2pm about the failed World Cup campaign and the way forward for Trinidad & Tobago football.

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #156 on: November 14, 2011, 07:35:56 AM »
Well we will hear from him by Wednesday or Thursday for the latest or else we will have to believe he has lost his tongue and hope he is getting a transplant soon!

« Reply #157 on: November 14, 2011, 08:36:01 AM »
@MinSportTT The Honourable Anil Roberts, Minister of Sport to speak to media Monday at 2pm about the failed World Cup campaign and the way forward for Trinidad & Tobago football.

I CAN HARDLY WAIT

« Reply #158 on: November 14, 2011, 08:47:19 AM »

:yawning: :yawning:

« Reply #159 on: November 14, 2011, 10:27:12 AM »
Ask Anil T-SHIRTS

Is being sold at I-95 on thursday between 4:00 and 6:15 p.m. When I learn d cost I will let d MB know.

« Reply #160 on: November 14, 2011, 01:13:43 PM »
95 TT 4 d T-shirts

« Reply #161 on: November 14, 2011, 01:44:25 PM »
I just watch the poll results again. smh. Spalk is a spectacular waste.

« Reply #162 on: November 14, 2011, 10:20:56 PM »
Scounting for talent
2014 World Cup campaign over, Roberts starts...
By Garth Wattley

The failed 2014 Brazil World Cup campaign officially comes to an end for Trinidad and Tobago today. But the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs has already gone into development mode.

Yesterday, Sport and Youth Affairs Minister Anil Roberts unveiled a comprehensive plan aimed at identifying male and female football talent at Under-15 level. But the Ministry's plans do not include funding a high-priced national coach.

The programme will involve the hiring of 41 coaches across 41 regions of the country, along with 41 assistant coaches--subject to the availability of funds--to identify and screen groups of 25 players.

Roberts said there would then be an ongoing series of competitions at which "other coaches...higher level technical directors will be able to observe these young players and we will liaise with the TTFF (Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation), the T&T Pro League, the Super League, Secondary Schools and ensure that these players are seen by the widest range of coaches possible".

At a news conference at the Ministry's head office, the Minister said advertisements for coaches will appear in the newspapers this week and he expects to see the first round of competitions between the various regions by the end of January.

Roberts said the programme would be funded from the approximately $43 million left unused from the $45 million budget allocated for the 2014 qualifying campaign.

He also said the national Under-23 Olympic team would also now receive increased funding coming out of that sum.

The announcement of a programme for talent identification comes four days after the Soca Warriors were eliminated from CONCACAF qualifying via a 2-1 defeat to Guyana in Guyana.

T&T play their now meaningless final group game against the Guyanese from five o'clock this afternoon at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

While expressing disappointment at Friday's result, Roberts offered "congratulations to the people of Guyana, to President Jagdeo, to all the football fans of Guyana for their historic achievement and most importantly to Trinbagonian coach Jamaal Shabazz...I wish Guyana all the best as they go on to play Mexico, Costa Rica and El Salvador".

The Minister also admitted that Trinidad and Tobago's early failure was not entirely unexpected since "mistakes" had been made some time back in preparing for the campaign and that yesterday's announcement of the talent identification programme was the Ministry's response to the eventuality of an early World Cup exit.

However, Minister Roberts stressed that his Ministry's plans were not an attempt to run local football.

"We will not usurp the role of the TTFF, the Secondary Schools Football League, the Primary Schools Football League, the Pro League, the Super League and so on," he said.

"The Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs cannot dictate to the TTFF who should remain as administrators, who should administer their football. We are facilitators, so we have made the decision that we have control over, which is providing through the national sport policy, total participation in football and that's where we are going to go--downstairs--the young ones, and start to prepare the table for 2018, '22, '26 and onwards."

However, asked whether he thought national senior team coach, German Otto Pfister, should stay on, Roberts said "no".

And he added that his Ministry would not continue to pay any head coach's salary of US$50,000.

"As far as we are concerned, Brazil 2014 is over," Roberts said. "We have some arrears for the coach, that will be handled. But, going forward, the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs cannot undertake to pay that exorbitant salary when we are not going for elite performance. We have been knocked out of the elite level football, therefore we cannot justify paying an elite level coach. That was only for World Cup qualification.

"We are moving now into rebuilding and development. We will be paying development salaries."

As part of the Ministry's plans for football, Roberts also announced that a national consultation on football will be held on November 28 at the Cascadia Hotel from 9 a.m.

"Anybody who has ideas on the way forward for football in Trinidad and Tobago will be invited to present their ideas," Roberts said.

He urged those interested to send their written proposals to the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, c/o Natasha Nunez, communication specialist, so that briefs will be received before the consultation.

The Minister said participants at the consultation will also be given five minutes to speak at the event.

The Ministry of Sport will then collate the proposals and put forward recommendations to the relevant football agencies.

« Reply #163 on: November 14, 2011, 10:36:08 PM »
will like to recommend dat de honorable minister find a way to include foreign base nationals in his consultations.

« Reply #164 on: November 14, 2011, 11:04:01 PM »
As part of the Ministry's plans for football, Roberts also announced that a national consultation on football will be held on November 28 at the Cascadia Hotel from 9 a.m.

Brownsugar, Big Mag, small Mag, all the locals will be there!..............................RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????

« Reply #165 on: November 14, 2011, 11:18:39 PM »
Locals, you guys can reiterate the same points every 5 mins at the consultation and hopefully they get the message.

The 28th is also a Monday and some members I'm sure will have to work.

« Reply #166 on: November 14, 2011, 11:49:12 PM »
Hiring 41 coaches and asst coaches and having a symposium IS NOT A PLAN.

« Reply #167 on: November 15, 2011, 04:34:02 AM »
Roberts unveils football development programme.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (Newsday).

Minister of Sport, Anil Roberts revealed that Trinidad and Tobago football has to be rebuilt from the foundation in order to attain full potential from players and coaches on the local and international level. Roberts made the revelation at a press conference held at the Ministry’s headquarters on Abercromy Street, Port-of-Spain yesterday.

The meeting was also attended by Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sport, Ashwin Creed and their Communications Specialist, Natasha Nunez.

Roberts focussed on the “Soca Warriors” abrupt exit from the Brazil 2014 World Cup after an embarrassing 2-1 defeat to Guyana on Friday.

He admitted that the 2014 World Cup dream was now gone but stated that the Ministry would soon be implementing programmes geared towards football development in Trinidad and Tobago and reiterated the importance of a well-rounded coach for local football.

“We intend to go into every constituency and probably get 41 coaches and 41 assistant coaches to go through those areas, find the best talent, put them together and bring them to train at least three times per week.

Furthermore, these coaches will also go through the scientific analysis and training that is lacking in our coaches. We have many people who understand the game and its tactics, but many of our coaches do not understand how to physically prepare athletes to perform at the highest level,” stated Roberts.

The Minister continued, “We will also have specialists who will be assigned to these 41 constituencies and they shall be taught the rudiments of proper scientific planning, micro and macro-cycling, psychological and physical preparation, monitoring to ensure that our athletes are ready to prepare. This is first, separate and apart from the actual playing of football.”

Roberts explained that due to abrupt exit of the “Soca Warriors” in their World Cup bid, the monies that were allocated toward this would now go toward the overall football development.

“Approximately $45 million was approved for the World Cup 2014 campaign. Let me average that maybe $1.5 million would have been spent on expenses thus far, and so we could more or less use the remaining $43 million over the next three years, to move in the development of football across Trinidad and Tobago,” added the former swim coach.

He also intended that some of the monies go toward enhancement of the national Under-15 and Under-23 teams. Roberts admitted that these were the forthcoming players of the national squad, and investing in them should be a priority for local football elevation.

“There will be some funding that will be made available and we intend to pump it all into the development of football across Trinidad and Tobago.

The Minister then revealed that there will be a national consultation on the way forward for local football on November 28 at the Cascadia Hotel, St Ann’s, from 9am to 3pm. It is an open invitation to interested parties to submit in writing their ideas about the structure and philosophy that should be adopted in order to improve and advance the game locally.

« Reply #168 on: November 15, 2011, 04:44:34 AM »

Brownsugar, will be there!..............................RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????

uuuuuuummm no.  I have to work and I cyar take nutten Anil involved in seriously.  I eh have time to waste.....

« Reply #169 on: November 15, 2011, 07:59:50 AM »

Brownsugar, will be there!..............................RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????

uuuuuuummm no.  I have to work and I cyar take nutten Anil involved in seriously.  I eh have time to waste.....

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN. Patriot u will go wit d banners.

« Reply #170 on: November 15, 2011, 08:55:10 AM »
Maybe i'm misunderstanding, however I think some ppl here want blood from stone...let's be practical..this loss is the best thing could happen for TT football (was hoping for it, even before 2006)...the Minister of Sport is not responsible for the result or direction of football, however can determine the measure of assistance the ppl of TT can give to the body responsible for that direction, planning and eventual results. The Ministry of sport is responsible for everyone in TT, not the National Team program. Thus the Minister is responsible to everybody, all sports on a National scale i.e. the physical activity level and to some extent the Health of the Nation, not any particular  WC, Olympic or Gold Cup National team in any individual sport. If the Minister of Sport think of operating otherwise, the Nation will suffer, even if we attain a WC etc. showing, just like before.

« Reply #171 on: November 15, 2011, 09:04:31 AM »
The emphasis on development is good, but Minister Roberts, why proceed before ANY kind of reflection or structural change has occured. Seems that in spite of everything you still doling out taxpayers money to the same people for the same cause.

As for this symposium....giving people two weeks to come up a plan to distill in 5 minutes is a sad, pathetic attempt at 'democracy'. Sancho, Marlon Moriss, Look Loy and others... you have a long, hard, hellish fight on your hands before these devils will concede an inch.

Jack Warner way of doing things=Systemic failure. Nothing long lasting and meaningful will ever be built until that culture is washed away. Rock bottom is still miles and miles away.

« Reply #172 on: November 15, 2011, 09:20:58 AM »
Scounting for talent

"Anybody who has ideas on the way forward for football in Trinidad and Tobago will be invited to present their ideas," Roberts said.

He urged those interested to send their written proposals to the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, c/o Natasha Nunez, communication specialist, so that briefs will be received before the consultation.

The Minister said participants at the consultation will also be given five minutes to speak at the event.

The Ministry of Sport will then collate the proposals and put forward recommendations to the relevant football agencies.

What we should do is have a thread just to collate people raw ideas on this then have a local rep/reps be the messengers at the conference.
This is the exact thing when men like Flex and Feliziano et al was putting together the framework for the supporters club in 2006 was making provisions for. We complain they dont want to hear the wisdom in this forum, this is the chance to at least get some air-time.
It sound like before you get your 5 mins in the sun, you hadda submit your proposals in writing to Nunes before hand.
Can a moderator start the pinned thread?

« Reply #173 on: November 15, 2011, 09:33:44 AM »
Scounting for talent

What we should do is have a thread just to collate people raw ideas on this then have a local rep/reps be the messengers at the conference.
This is the exact thing when men like Flex and Feliziano et al was putting together the framework for the supporters club in 2006 was making provisions for. We complain they dont want to hear the wisdom in this forum, this is the chance to at least get some air-time.
It sound like before you get your 5 mins in the sun, you hadda submit your proposals in writing to Nunes before hand.
Can a moderator start the pinned thread?
Thats actually a good idea  :beermug:

« Reply #174 on: November 15, 2011, 09:56:39 AM »
elite meh mudder c#nt elite... if yuh see de "elite" hotel de team stay in Guyana...

« Reply #175 on: November 09, 2012, 05:05:12 PM »

« Reply #176 on: March 20, 2013, 05:09:48 AM »
Anil faces DPP probe
Published: Wednesday, March 20, 2013
By Anika Gumbs-Sandiford (Guardian)

Sport Minister Anil Roberts, his permanent secretary, Ashwin Creed, and special adviser to the T&T Boxing Board of Control (TTBBC), Boxu Potts, may have a case to answer as allegations of misbehaviour in public office against the trio have been referred to the Director of Public Prosecutions. The move by the Integrity Commission comes a year after sacked board member Ricardo Phillip filed a complaint against the three, alleging misconduct and misbehaviour in public office.

In a letter dated March 14, Integrity Commission Registrar Martin Farrell wrote to Phillip saying the matter had been referred to DPP Roger Gaspard. The letter, headed “Investigation by the Integrity Commission into complaint against the TTBBC,” said the commission had completed its probe of the complaint.

“In keeping with the requirements of Section 31 (1) of the Integrity in Public Act, Chpt 22.01, the Commission has referred this matter to the DPP,” it added. Phillip had written to the commission on December 3, 2011, calling for an investigation into the alleged misappropriation of funds at the TTBBC relating to several events. In addition, Phillip also raised issue with a $1.9 million boxing card that was applied for by Potts’ son Giovanni, who is also a  boxing promoter, citing an apparent conflict of interest.

In his letter, Phillip complained he was sacked because he did not support the funding of the $1.9 million card for the Boxing Day 2011 event, which was scheduled for Jean Pierre Complex, Port-of-Spain. Phillip wrote: “This letter represents my complaints to members of the board with regard to the minister, the permanent secretary (Mr Creed) and Boxu Potts.

“It was sent to my fellow members two days after my refusal to support a boxing card for Mr Potts and his son. My position is in keeping with the laws of T&T and specifically the Integrity in Public Life Act Chpt 22.01.” Telephone calls and messages to Roberts and Creed went unanswered yesterday.

However, Potts, when contacted told T&T Guardian he had not yet been informed the matter had been referred to the DPP. He said: “I am not aware of it and I am not at liberty to talk about it. If that has happened I will let it take its legal course. “I have no feeling. I really do not know what to expect. They chips will have to fall where they have to fall. I really do not have any expectation of anything. I have nothing more to say.”

Contacted for comment yesterday, Phillip told the T&T Guardian he felt vindicated by the Integrity Commission’s move to refer the matter to the DPP. “All the facts are going to come out and the public will realise what we are saying all along,” he said. “The allegations were not vague or malicious. They are based on painful experiences of what we have seen and stood against. There are those who tried to discredit because we were interfering with things that did not concern us, but we believed in God and country first.”

Phillip said the move must send a message to both existing and aspiring politicians that there are those who refuse to stand by and turn a blind eye to corruption. “The Prime Minister did not act even though we sent information, but what in the dark always comes to the light,” he said. “The Prime Minister has reneged on the promise to citizens of T&T to ensure transparent and a corruption-free type of governance.

“I will like to commend the Integrity Commission for completing this matter, because many thought they had no teeth to investigate. They have showed a certain degree of fearlessness in the execution of their duties.” Only last week, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar wrote to former President George Maxwell Richards, advising him that President Anthony Carmona should be the one allowed to appoint a new Integrity Commission.

Boxu on the boxing card

In an interview with the Sunday Guardian on December 10, 2011, Potts confirmed his son Giovanni had applied for the boxing card. Potts said then: “My son is a boxing promoter. There are five promoters in T&T and my son is free to apply for whatever card he wants in this country. It is not an allegation, my son has the right to apply for a boxing card.

“When a promoter applies for a boxing card they have to submit a budget. The boxing board would make a decision to recommend to the Ministry of Sports for funding. “A person can apply for $100 million, but it is the boxing board to recommend how much money they would give.” In a letter dated November 15, 2011, Giovanni, of Unified Promoters Boxing Association, wrote to former deputy chairman Yaqub Abdul-Haqq asking for funding for the card.

Days later, Phillip, Abdul-Haqq and board members Janet Dennis and Mala Nasib were all sacked. The board members were axed after they reportedly butted heads with Potts over several directives with which they failed to comply.

« Reply #177 on: March 20, 2013, 05:42:43 AM »
WWWWWWWHHHHHHAAATTTT?? ??!!!

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Anil to sue media houses, COP chairman
« Reply #178 on: March 21, 2013, 09:58:59 PM »
Anil to sue media houses, COP chairman

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Anil-to-sue-media-houses-COP-chairman--199461931.html

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Mar 21, 2013 at 9:35 PM ECT

Armed with proof—a letter from the Integrity Commission which stated he was not under probe—Sport Minister Anil Roberts yesterday said he will be seeking justice in court against Guardian Media Ltd for false reports, as well as Congress of the People (COP) chairman Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan.
The Guardian reported on Wednesday that the Integrity Commission last week referred Roberts to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), in relation to a complaint of alleged misappropriation of funds at the Trinidad and Tobago Boxing Board of Control.
Yesterday, the Guardian reported further that Roberts was summoned to a meeting by the COP on this issue and that Seepersad-Bachan, as well as former head of the Public Service Reggie Dumas, had indicated he should demit office pending the DPP probe.
Political analyst Bishnu Ragoonath had also commented on the matter in the Guardian report.
Roberts was the lone minister at the post-Cabinet news conference at the Office of the Prime Minister in St Clair yesterday.
He came to clear the air that he was under no investigation, and as a result, he will be taking legal action against a number of persons.
In addition to Guardian Media Ltd and Seepersad-Bachan, Roberts said he also intends to sue Dumas, Ragoonath, COP general secretary Clyde Weatherhead and Ricardo Phillip, former boxing board member, who filed the complaint with the Integrity Commission in 2011.
Other media facing a lawsuit include i95FM and the Trinidad Express.
The minister said he was willing to forgive Dumas and Ragoonath, should they apologise, as he claimed they were “duped” by Guardian reporter Anika Gumbs-Sandiford.
Roberts said following the Guardian report on Wednesday, his brother Shastri Roberts, an attorney, wrote to the Integrity Commission on his behalf, seeking answers.
The minister said on that same day, at 3.15 p.m., his brother received an e-mail from the commission, from the legal counsel of investigations and compliance, indicating he (Roberts) had not been referred to the DPP for investigation. The commission, by letter dated March 21, also stated same.
Roberts said he shared the e-mail with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, who was relieved, and with fellow-ministers who were concerned and, also, Seepersad-Bachan.
“...When I showed that letter to Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan, she was the only one who requested to read it twice; she questioned the veracity of the document and went on to mumble and mutter, ‘But they told me’...at that time, I said, ‘Ma’am, I hope you did not make a statement on something that you failed to get the facts on’.”
Roberts pointed out that Seepersad-Bachan had instructed Weatherhead to call him to a meeting—and this was done after she had already commented on the issue.
While he intends to engage in legal battle with Seepersad-Bachan, Roberts commended COP political leader Prakash Ramadhar for being a “gentleman”.
Ramadhar, he said, discussed the issue with him via phone and did not “rush to judgment”.
Roberts, in response to questions, said he remains in the COP despite his issues with some of the party’s executive members as the COP membership supported him and were happy with his performance.
Roberts also made grave allegations against the Guardian reporter, claiming she never spoke to him yet quoted him in a report.
The minister said he never spoke to Gumbs-Sandiford and challenged her to produce phone records proving otherwise.
He said a pre-action protocol letter was already sent to Guardian editor-in-chief Judy Raymond and Gumbs-Sandiford.
Roberts also disclosed he had inside information on what was going on at the Guardian.
“To Ms Judy Raymond, who congratulated at 10.02 a.m. on Thursday, who congratulated, on the second floor of Guardian Media Ltd, Anika Gumbs-Sandiford for her lead story and told her she is now mandated to get a comment from the minister, who gave no such comment, but Anika Gumbs-Sandiford created, fabricated and published a quote purported to come from me.”
Roberts said he also intends to write Norman Sabga and Jerry Brooks of the Ansa McAl group on the issue.
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #179 on: March 22, 2013, 04:36:02 AM »
MINISTER CALL STORIES LIES
By ANDRE BAGOO Friday, March 22 2013

cMINISTER of Sport Anil Roberts yesterday described as lies a series of articles which appeared this week in the Trinidad Guardian newspaper which stated allegations of misbehavior in public office against Roberts had been referred by the Integrity Commission to the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

As a result, Roberts said, he would issue more than a dozen pre-action protocol letters, calling for a retraction, apologies and requesting payment of unspecified monetary sums as damages for defamation.

“At no point in time was I, as Minister of Sport or as Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, ever the subject of any investigation by the Integrity Commission or any charges laid towards my feet as Minister of Sports,” Roberts declared.

The minister quoted from a letter from Integrity Commission Registrar Martin Farrell to his (Roberts) attorney and brother Shastri Roberts, which stated that Roberts, “has not been referred to the DPP by the Office of the Integrity Commission in any such form or manner or at all as was described in the stated article.”

The Congress of the People (COP) MP gave an account of the last two days as he appeared on his own at yesterday’s weekly post-Cabinet briefing at the Office of the Prime Minister in St Clair.

“On Wednesday March 20, with great shock and horror, I woke up, my two children – teenagers – woke up and read this on the front page of the Guardian: ‘Anil faces DPP probe’, an article by Anika Gumbs-Sandiford,” he said. “Immediately, I began to take action.”

In addition to not being subject to the matters quoted in the Guardian story, Roberts said he never gave comments which were attributed to him by the reporter.

Roberts said he told a witness, “I will never make a statement to perpetuate the lies that were being told by Anika Gumbs-Sandiford. In fact, I used the quote that, ‘that and God face she will not see’, because I know how media works having worked in the media...because she was told to get a quote from me. She did not get such. She chose to fabricate.”

He continued, “I have not made one single comment except what I am saying right here, right now to Trinidad and Tobago.”

Roberts said as a result, his attorneys have sent letters to Guardian Media Limited, publisher of the Trinidad Guardian; the author of the stories Anika Gumbs-Sandiford and that newspaper’s editor-in-chief Judy Raymond.

“What is immediately required is an immediate retraction and apology in the same vein as the damage that was done and monetary compensation is an issue,” he said. “Failing to do with immediate effect, will mean they will find themselves in court and I have lots of lovely court suits. I think I will wear this one on the first day of High Court.”

Also to get letters are political commentators who were quoted in one of the two Guardian stories, namely former head of the public service Reginald Dumas and political lecturer Bishnu Ragoonath.

Of these two men, Roberts stated, “It must be noted here that an aplology will suffice with these two gentlemen because they were duped by Anika Gumbs-Sandiford and the Guardian who perpetuated a falsehood for them. Being men of integrity, it will suffice for me to know that they admit that they were misled and they humbly apologise. And the issue will be done with those two gentlemen.”

Commentators in the media were also warned that they would be served, including: i95.5FM radio station hosts Darian Marcelle and Errol Baptiste, who “shall receive their pre-action protocol letters if not this week early next week.” Roberts said Trinidad Express and its reporter Ian Prescott had also entered the fray and will also get letters.

Ricardo Phillip, a former member of the Boxing Board of Control, Roberts said, is also to be served.

Even his own party was not spared from Roberts’ legal actions as he said COP chairman Caroyln Seepersad-Bachan will be served a pre-action protocol letter over her comments as reported by the Guardian. COP acting general secretary Clyde Weatherhead will also get a letter, Roberts said.

The D’Abadie/O’Meara MP further stated he would pen letters of complaint to Gerry Brooks, chief operating officer of ANSA McAl, the conglomerate of which Guardian Media Limited is a part of. Roberts said he would also write A Norman Sabga, chairman and chief executive of ANSA McAl.

“I am writing to Mr Gerry Brooks of the Ansa McAl Group and Mr Sabga and asking them if this is the way their journalists operate and if this is the ethics that journalists of the Trinidad and Tobago Guardian perpetrate on the nation,” Roberts said.

In addition to the letter to Roberts, the Integrity Commission issued a media-release yesterday afternoon stating, “The Integrity Commission of Trinidad and Tobago has noted an article in the Trinidad Guardian of March 20, 2013 that states that the Integrity Commission has referred a matter concerning a Minister of Government and two other persons to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

“The Office of the Integrity Commission wishes to categorically state that no allegations of misbehaviour in public office against Hon Anil Roberts, Minister of Sport, Permanent Secretary, Mr Ashwin Creed or Special Adviser to the TT Boxing Board of Control, Mr Boxu Potts have been referred to the DPP by the Office of the Integrity Commission. Further the said persons were not referred to the DPP by the Office of the Integrity Commission.”

The release noted a person subject to investigation has a right to be heard in the face of an adverse report under Section 38 of the Integrity in Public Life Act.

Roberts said he saw no fallout in terms of his place in the COP because of Seepersad-Bachan’s comments, which had suggested that a person under probe should step aside from their ministerial portfolio. But he made it clear that he has no qualms in holding her accountable for statements made against him. “Of course COP chairman Caroyln Seepersad-Bachan shall receive hers (protocol letter) too, because unfortunately, she failed to call her colleague, her COP member, unlike some of her colleagues, who I thank,” Roberts said.

“The honourable Attorney General called me at 6.45 on Wednesday morning and I told him ‘stay calm everything is okay’. The honourable Roodal Moonilal, Leader of Government Business, he called and I told him ‘stay calm, everything is under control’.

“The Honourable Jack Warner called at 9.30 pm, the honourable Fazal Karim called, the Honourable Tim Gopeesingh called...all of these ministers called to find out. My chairman, Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan did not call.”

“In fact, when I received the initial e-mail from the legal counsel...when I showed that letter to Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan, she was the only one who requested to read it twice. She questioned the veracity of the document and went on to mumble and mutter, ‘that is what they told me.’

“At that time I said, ‘ma’am, I hope you did not make a statement on something you failed to get the facts on. Please tell me that you did not do that.’ But she obviously could not tell me,” Roberts said.

Saying he would not leave the COP, Roberts also said he would not be attending today’s monthly COP Executive Council meeting, stating he would focus on Parliament’s sitting. He said he has not been in the habit of attending these meetings, in any event, due to an ongoing COP dispute.

Roberts said the Guardian stories had set off, “a firestorm of discussion throughout Trinidad and Tobago on 17 different radio stations on Wednesday.” However, he advised, checks should be done on any story. “Any journalist worth their salt or any Standard 5 student writing a paper will know that if you have information, at least make a call to the Integrity Commission, ask one question,” he said. “Nobody is asking you to do an indepth analysis and go to Miami and jump into a man’s apartment, nobody is asking you to do that.

All we are asking is that you call the Integrity Commission before putting front-page story to scuttle, to attempt to besmirch the character of a sitting minister and someone who believes in his country and is here to serve.

“One phonecall is all it would have taken to ensure that all this pain and suffering would not have taken place, that the entire country would not have bene discussing something that is not factual that it is a total falsehood, that is a blatant untruth,” he said.

He said the Guardian stories were designed, “to defame and hurt. To embarrass, to ridicule, to bring odium on myself, my office, my party, my Government, my country, my family and my children and I do not find that funny!”

He issued this call: “To Ms Judy Raymond, who congratulated at 10.02 am on Thursday...who congratulated on the second floor of Guardian Media Limited, Anika Gumbs-Sandiford, for her lead story and told her that she is now mandated to get a comment from the minister, who gave no such comment, but Anika Gumbs-Sandiford created, fabricated and placed and published a quote purported to come from me,

“I now ask Anika Gumbs-Sandiford to produce a recording, to produce her phone-logs to show where and when she got a quotation from me, Anil Roberts. I have my phone logs. I am writing to Bmobile to ensure.” Roberts then ended, “As they say in Trinidad and Tobago, you can’t play mas and fraid powder.”