April 30, 2024, 01:55:24 PM

Author Topic: Jones for TTFF player of the year…get real!  (Read 9176 times)

Jones for TTFF player of the year…get real!
« on: January 07, 2011, 04:45:16 PM »
Jones for TTFF player of the year…get real!
By: Inshan Mohammed.

The Soca Warriors Online (SWO) will like to take this opportunity to thank our readers and loyal supporters for their continued support.  We would like to wish all of you a prosperous New Year and we also hope to see a better 2011 as far as T&T football is concerned.

Now regarding the matter at hand, one cannot help but notice the path the Trinidad and Tobago football administrators continue to take.

When it comes to T&T football, some may say the more things change, the more they remain the same, and despite who says it they are correct.

In a January 4th T&T Express feature it was reported that the president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF),  Mr. Oliver Camps stated in his end of the year speech that it's  time to get the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation's (TTFF) house in order in 2011.

In his speech Mr. Camps acknowledged that there are a lot of issues to be sorted out before T&T football, particularly senior men's football, can begin to see improvements.

In spite of Mr. Camps’ epiphany, two days later the TTFF made a trademark decision that indicated that T&T football is heading for yet another controversial season. Stoke City striker Kenwyne Jones was named Trinidad and Tobago’s Player of the Year, a decision that raised many eyebrows and made many ask what the criteria was for earning such a prestigious award.

No offence to the former Southampton hit man, but since 2005 Jones has only scored 4 goals in 45 games for T&T. The last time Jones scored a goal for his country was against Cuba in a 3-0 win at the Hasley Crawford Stadium on the 19th of November 2008.

Interestingly, all four of his goals were scored at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Three goals were from friendly encounters and one was a World Cup qualifier. This was slightly bettered by his exploits in the English Premier League where he scored 26 goals in 94 appearances from 2007-2010 for his former club Sunderland and he currently leads his team Stoke City with 5 EPL goals to his name.

To make matters more intriguing, Jones has not even played for Trinidad and Tobago in 2010! The last time the big striker suited up for his country was on the 14th of October 2009 against Mexico in a 2-2 tie, where he entered the game in the 77th minute for Devon Jorsling.

Speaking of which, Jorsling on the other hand has scored an overall 13 international goals in 25 matches, with 9 goals in 7 games during the 2010 season. Though the Defence Force target man has never scored against an opponent outside of the Caribbean region, he did managed to save T&T many times last year from embarrassing draws and defeats against weaker teams in the Caribbean such as Antigua and Guyana.

But in all fairness to him, Jorsling has never gotten the opportunity to start against opposition other than Caribbean teams, so we are still to see what he can offer at a higher level.

2009 Pro League Player of the Year, Kerry Baptiste scored 46 goals in all competitions at club level that year, but could only muffle up 3 goals in 7 games for T&T in 2010. However, it must be noted that despite a lean 2010 he did have an impressive 2009 at club level, winning the Pro League Golden Boot, Pro League Player and Striker of the Year, TTOC Sports Personality of the Year, Pro League Championship medal, Big Six medal, FA Trophy medal, Pro Bowl medal and Toyota Classic medal.

Then at international level he scored goals against St Kitts, one against Honduras and a double against Mexico during the 2009 World Cup qualifiers. After such an outstanding year the TTFF were strangely reluctant in naming Baptiste 2009 Player of the Year.

The award went to then Swansea City striker Jason Scotland, who scored 24 goals for his Club and a hattrick for T&T against Dominican Republic in a friendly game on October 8th 2008 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. This seemed to be enough for the striker to cop the TTFF’s top medal. Prior to his hattrick though, Scotland had not scored for T&T since 2004.

In 1999 there was another similarity in the TTFF’s decision making when Arnold Dwarika was named Player of the year. The talented midfielder scored a whopping 45 goals in the Pro League, but could not compare to what Dwight Yorke had accomplished that same year.

Dwight Yorke was joint-top scorer in the English Premiership League (EPL), won the treble with Manchester United, came 10th in FIFA's World Player of the Year, named Carling Cup Player of the Year, was Runner-up PFA Player of the Year, named to the PFA Team of the Year and finally was awarded a Chaconia Gold Medal by the T&T government.

In my estimation and I am sure many would agree, Defence Force striker Devon Jorsling should have been awarded 2010 Player of the Year. He was T&T's 2010 top goal scorer and currently leads the Pro League chart with 14 goals and 21 in all competitions thus far.

His accomplishments did not go unnoticed as it was recently reported that the big striker signed a contact with US Soccer League team, Orlando City Austin Aztex and is due to fly out in February 2011 to join his new teammates.

Maybe there is a reason Devon Jorsling was overlooked. Is this another indication of a blacklist? Will this be the end of Jorsling and his teammates who represented T&T in 2010, as the players are currently locked in a salary battle with the TTFF and former TTFF enemy Minister of Sports Anil Roberts? Both of whom came up short in paying the T&T players and left them feeling angry and unsettled during the Christmas holiday season.

In any case as far as “Player of the Year” goes, the fans at Soca Warriors Online (SWO) would like to question the criteria for bestowing such award and are hoping that the TTFF could come clean in subsequent decisions.

It’s a new year and if you want to make a change for the better "Mr. President" then it’s important to start doing things the right way and set a path for professionalism and respect.

It’s not too late to turn things around and with eleven months remaining in the year it’s enough time to recap, refocus and make a positive change to T&T football once and for all.

Mr. Camps it’s time to take your own advice and get your house in order! Either you step up to the challenge the stability of our football demands or step down and bring in someone with fresh and modern ideas to finally set T&T on the right path.

We have been haunted by negativity for far too long! Together we aspire, together we achieve (remember that?), now let’s finally do this together and recapture the glory our football, our fans and our nation deserve.

All the best to our players, our Federation, and all stakeholders of T&T football, we at the SWO are hoping to see a bright 2011 and beyond!

2014, we coming!
« Last Edit: January 08, 2011, 07:38:54 PM by Flex »

Re: Jones for TTFF player of the year…get real!
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 04:55:49 PM »
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2011, 05:06:57 PM »
Niceness!! We have swallowed the dotish decisions by the TTFF for long enough!!
The gloves are now off!! Plain truth and bad manners! 

Ah love it!! ;)

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2011, 05:38:41 PM »
Steups.

Ah know everybody love a underdog, but come nah.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2011, 05:50:51 PM »
Mix feelings from me cause them guys couldn't even beat Cuba and grenada steups Congrats to Jones...

« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2011, 06:17:32 PM »
Look ting!!!  Flex, yuh eh fraid Jack shut down SW.net/WN boy??!!   :o   :nailbiting:  ;D

« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2011, 06:17:35 PM »
Congrats to Jones

« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2011, 06:21:22 PM »
what is the criteria for selecting the footballer of the year?  probable it changes as the wind blows Dwight couldn't win it in '99 but Kenwyn can in 2010 

« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2011, 06:30:31 PM »

« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2011, 07:20:39 PM »
WOW !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...................................

Well said and totally agreed Flex.

Nice piece...

« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2011, 07:25:43 PM »
Congrats to Jones

::)

Well he is the footballer of the year. Congrats to KJ. Ah mean, doh matter what, anyone of us would have like to be named player of the year in whatever sport. NO offense to KJ. But Flex article is right on time.

« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2011, 08:13:17 PM »
I want to mount an argument in favor of KJ but ah really can't... de way Flex research and buss he stats there really isn't anything yuh could really argue with.  Nonetheless, congrats to KJ, hope it helps inspire him out of the professional and personal doldrums he currently navigating.

« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2011, 08:17:48 PM »
Look ting!!!  Flex, yuh eh fraid Jack shut down SW.net/WN boy??!!   :o   :nailbiting:  ;D

Nah he busy wit Feb 17th.
Niceness!! We have swallowed the dotish decisions by the TTFF for long enough!!
The gloves are now off!! Plain truth and bad manners! 

Ah love it!! ;)

CO-SIGNNNNNNNN

« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2011, 12:06:36 AM »
KJ plays at the highest level in the game.  He has achieved alot even if not directly impacting Trinidad and Tobago's senior team football.  As far as flying the T&T flag in global football he is currently a lone ranger... He came back from what could have been a career damaging injury and barely missed a beat....Carlos couldn't make it at the highest level, Scotty neither...Yorkie come and gone...Latas come and gone...How many have gone on trials (for spots in lesser leagues) and had a one way ticket back to T&T? What KJ doing week in week out under harsh conditions, intense media and pressure filled scrutiny cannot be underestimated...In the land of T&T footballers KJ is king...A big congrats to him.

« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 08:47:35 AM by kicker »

« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2011, 01:14:04 AM »
KJ plays at the highest level in the game.  He has achieved alot even if not directly impacting Trinidad and Tobago's senior team football.  As far as flying the T&T flag in global football he is currently a lone ranger... He came back from what could have been a career damaging injury and barely didn't miss a beat....Carlos couldn't make it at the highest level, Scotty neither...Yorkie come and gone...Latas come and gone...How many have gone on trials (for spots in lesser leagues) and had a one way ticket back to T&T? What KJ doing week in week out under harsh conditions, intense media and pressure filled scrutiny cannot be underestimated...In the land of T&T footballers KJ is king...A big congrats to him.

I second this

« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2011, 01:35:38 AM »
      Look ting!!!  Flex, yuh eh fraid Jack shut down SW.net/WN boy??!!  

Brownsugar if jack could of shut down this website  he would of done it a long time ago ,
We know Jack hands can stretch in  places, far places, but this website is beyond his faxking reaches
and I thank God for that.

« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2011, 06:12:39 AM »
Bull them hard Flex !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kenwyne cant even control, pass or shoot a ball but he is player of de year !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! in 18 months he eh play for T&T but he is player of de year !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He big and strong and could jump high, maybe he should start playing basketball for T&T or maybe he could consider being a keeper !!!!

« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2011, 08:01:11 AM »
people...this is NOT about KJ... is deeper than that

« Reply #18 on: January 08, 2011, 08:32:56 AM »
people...this is NOT about KJ... is deeper than that
        I've tried to keep away from responding to the two Footballer of the Year post but when i saw this response it made so much sense that i thought i might as well add my two cents,thanks Big Mag i thought it was only i that some time to reason this.
        When you look at it really our Footballers have underachieved yet another year,it's very difficult to single out anyone that stands our in relation to the rest,we have resorted to looking at our foreign based players for our Footballers of the year because our mentality is the local guys are no good,not ready,up to standard etc but these are the guys who we depend on daily to keep our flag flying,what incentive does a local player have when he knows he does not have a chance or he is just being used or being taken for granted,players moral must be low on our national teams because they don't seem to be able to please the powers that be or the public, imagine how you will feel playing under that kind of pressure.
        When this first came out i wanted to respond but said to myself wait Coop's lets see what's going to happen here,i'm not against who anyone selects but my selections would have been Josling and Liana Hinds.       

« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2011, 10:24:08 AM »
Some of you missing the point here and as Flex pointed out in his article and BM had a good point to, nothing personal as far as KJ goes, its the way the TTFF does things.

But stats dont lie and by the stats there alone you can see KJ cannot be player of the year because he keeps T&T flag flying in the UK. I am not sure 5 goals a season is even an accomplishment to earn that award. Yes, I respect the guy, but he is no Yorke and Yorke did more and was over looked be the TTFF for Dwarika (as Flex mention also), So guys, get the point, its the TTFF.

The question is, what is the criteria for earning the award !

Who voted for KJ, shouldn't the fans have a say ? This is not the TTFF election where they vote among themselves !!

No wonder their is some much separation in the T&T teams, local vs foreign. Imagine you sweat for T&T the entire year, get no pay, scored 9 goals in 7 games and got overlooked for a man who has not played for T&T in 16 months.

Amzaing. !!!!!

« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2011, 10:41:32 AM »
TTFF alyuh real jokey, i thought Jones was blacklisted ?

« Reply #21 on: January 08, 2011, 11:42:25 AM »
Congrats Kenwyne!

To fork wit anybody else who vex.

NOBODY and ah mean NOBODY in Trinidad & Tobago could shine yuh boots.

You doin yuh ting at de highest level of club football

De ress gettin trial wit forkane USL teams....not even a forkane MLS team interested but dey flappin dey collective beak

Kenwyne Jones T&T footballer of de year!  WELL DESERVED!

« Reply #22 on: January 08, 2011, 12:04:52 PM »
Congrats Kenwyne!

To fork wit anybody else who vex.

NOBODY and ah mean NOBODY in Trinidad & Tobago could shine yuh boots.

You doin yuh ting at de highest level of club football

De ress gettin trial wit forkane USL teams....not even a forkane MLS team interested but dey flappin dey collective beak

Kenwyne Jones T&T footballer of de year!  WELL DESERVED!

Now coming to the say de same ting

« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2011, 12:16:48 PM »
Big Mag, Sando and Coops have it correct... allyuh cool allyuh self nah... its not to bring down kenwyne!

also Flex, I cyah remember if ah say before... but your writing is moving forward in leaps and bounds!
keep it up.. well done.  :beermug:

« Reply #24 on: January 08, 2011, 12:37:18 PM »
Why not Kenwyne? 

He is at the highest level and whether we like it or not, he is representing Trinidad and Tobago

Stephen Ames doh play for Trinidad in our Hoerman Cup, but he does get Sportsman awards too.

« Reply #25 on: January 08, 2011, 01:08:01 PM »
Why not Kenwyne? 

He is at the highest level and whether we like it or not, he is representing Trinidad and Tobago

Stephen Ames doh play for Trinidad in our Hoerman Cup, but he does get Sportsman awards too.

Food for thought. How come Yorke never win de award while he was at his peak? Bussing net regular, regular for Villa, ManU, and even for de season at Blackburn, winning all kinda awards, and nutten from de TTFF.

« Reply #26 on: January 08, 2011, 01:10:50 PM »
Why not Kenwyne? 

Does Stephen Ames even consider himself trini anymore?? lol

« Reply #27 on: January 08, 2011, 01:11:03 PM »
I am inclined to throw in my hat with Palos' comments and reasoning on the one hand but also see the point of Flex's article.

Therefore the real issue here is the lack of transparency of TTFF. We are unaware of the criteria for selecting the player of the year. And this makes it debatable as to who deserves the honor.

So all we can do is call for more transparency and congratulate the recipient.

Congratulations to Kenwyne Jones!

« Reply #28 on: January 08, 2011, 02:08:09 PM »
Big Mag, Sando and Coops have it correct... allyuh cool allyuh self nah... its not to bring down kenwyne!

also Flex, I cyah remember if ah say before... but your writing is moving forward in leaps and bounds!
keep it up.. well done.  :beermug:

Great points... indeed the article is an indictment of the standards set and criteria used by the TTFF in determining Player of the Year, not an opportunity to knock KJ.

I also second your sentiments on Flex' writing... I was going to mention something about it but didn't want to come off patronising.  I like to convince mihself that ah know something about writing so when ah see Flex buss de "epiphany" and used it on perfect context... when yuh look at the level of detail he put into the research... I was really impressed.  When he first started yuh could see one or two articles where yuh could say "arrite Flex trying a thing"... but over the course of the past two years he's really been honing his craft.  Keep it up Flex.

« Reply #29 on: January 08, 2011, 02:30:38 PM »
Now some of you will understand why I posted this a few days ago in response to Fitzinho!

And here I thought all u had to do was be an active Trini playing football to be nominated. I guess when Yorke won it in 05/06 was because he was top scoring for us huh.

Because TTFF love to mamaguy the general T&T public to detract from their shortcomings in producing decent performances from our national team doesn't mean we have to continuously fall for that mamaguysim!!

I support KJ as a T&T born player and follow his career in the EPL like most of us here but what has KJ done in T&T colours in 2010?! Nada, Zero, Zip!!!

Please we need to look inward and change the criteria of how we select T&T football player of the year!!
Time to move forward and for us to start to respect what our players in T&T colours have been doing especially when they haven’t been paid for 13 games and then get short-changed by the TTFF when the money is finally coughed up!

I personally don't care who wins the T&T Footballer of the year provided that person played for us for the year in question in the national T&T colours and helped our national team to a bit of success alongside their club endeavours whether it’s a local or a foreign club!