April 19, 2024, 11:35:16 AM

Author Topic: SIA Shocker  (Read 69635 times)

Re: SIA Shocker
« Reply #150 on: January 25, 2011, 01:27:28 AM »
As Sec, of State Powell has his OWN intelligence team called thr INR, subsequent reports suggest that he KNEW full well that there were no WMD's and his own INR made reports to the  Senate Intelligence Committee's report on WMD intelligence.

Powell also made up so called intercepted Iraqi communications and was thusly implicated the Bush admin lies.

The INR also stated their concerns about the fallacy of what he was going to report to the UN on the tubes they said Hussein was going to weaponize, as he reported they were cpmparable to similar missle tubes on the US MArk 66 misslie systems.

Also if you read Bob Woodward's book Plan of Attack you wills ee that in recorded converstaions, even Powell had his reservations in private about WMD's.

The INR also alerted Powell to several other statemenst in his prepared speech to the UN as "weak" and "ithout merit"

He still persisited.

http://www.globalsecurity.org/intell/library/congress/2004_rpt/iraq-wmd-intell_appendix-a.htm

My bad... I should have paid close attention to Powell's signature at the bottom of this document authenticating it as having come from his hand.

Offline Die_Hard

« Reply #151 on: January 25, 2011, 01:44:03 AM »
ok so we agree to disagree, but it is widely accepted that he towed the party line even when he KNEW he was speaking less than the truth.

As for the link I posted that is all over the internet as released files garnered from freedom of information act.

Powell's own staffers have said eh knew he was chosen to sell the awar becasue he ahd much more credibility than the others on the staff.

I am not trying to say that Powell was a shawkish as the rest, as it is well documented that he was sometimes the single voice of dissent in the White House during W's Presidency, but he appears culpable making false statements to the UN and the world regarding Iraq

« Reply #152 on: January 25, 2011, 03:25:07 AM »
I wonder if this could be the straw that break the camel back .

no way. people on the ground and streets doh really study this issue that much nah. by next week they forget this if they even know. kamla and jack propaganda have the population locked. they rel know how to take care of the trini 10-day mentality. it would have to take a calder hart type issue to bring down the PP. they real strong in controlling opinions.

« Reply #153 on: January 25, 2011, 05:36:25 AM »
Oh boy. He's probably the only one that raise his concerns about it and he getting the flack. Den again..how come the heads of the protective services didnt say anything?

I finding that real hard to swallow....dat dem hard back men in the military (Police, Army, Coast Guard) goh sit down and take dat just so, just so.......nah man.

Can the PM override everybody else on the National Security Council and appoint who de hell she want or is a matter of the majority votes win or what?? 
I didn't even realise Prakash Ramadhar open he mouth in Parliament on this.....well dais it.  The COP has lost whatever little bit of credibility they had left with me......

« Reply #154 on: January 25, 2011, 06:29:33 AM »
ok so we agree to disagree, but it is widely accepted that he towed the party line even when he KNEW he was speaking less than the truth.

As for the link I posted that is all over the internet as released files garnered from freedom of information act.

Powell's own staffers have said eh knew he was chosen to sell the awar becasue he ahd much more credibility than the others on the staff.

I am not trying to say that Powell was a shawkish as the rest, as it is well documented that he was sometimes the single voice of dissent in the White House during W's Presidency, but he appears culpable making false statements to the UN and the world regarding Iraq

"Widely accepted" by whom?  Now you just making up shit because it is "widely accepted" by most critics of the failed OIF/OEF that Powell was misled.  Everyone knows his credibility in the UN was the currency used to buy support for the war and nobody is disputing the fact that he is "culpable for making false statements"... he got up there in the UN and sold a lie.  The issue is whether he knew that what he was saying was a lie or not.  Outside of people making extreme calls to indict every manjack, you's the first man I ever hear say that Powell was in on the lie.  The vast majority, from policital commentators, intelligence analysts and sundry 'talking heads' have always concluded that he was misled, and that is the single reason why he's since been estranged from Bush directly, and the Republican party indirectly.

« Reply #155 on: January 25, 2011, 07:11:30 AM »
Oh boy. He's probably the only one that raise his concerns about it and he getting the flack. Den again..how come the heads of the protective services didnt say anything?

I finding that real hard to swallow....dat dem hard back men in the military (Police, Army, Coast Guard) goh sit down and take dat just so, just so.......nah man.

Can the PM override everybody else on the National Security Council and appoint who de hell she want or is a matter of the majority votes win or what?? 
I didn't even realise Prakash Ramadhar open he mouth in Parliament on this.....well dais it.  The COP has lost whatever little bit of credibility they had left with me......

Yes, that is not out of the ordinary.

I really thought Prakash Ramadhar was better than that too. I honestly didn't expect that one.

« Reply #156 on: January 25, 2011, 07:31:51 AM »

He raise concern but stand up and support d gyul. I guess it is call collective responsibility but he LIABLE and what ever credibility he had just went. So d best ting he should do is give Kamla back she wuk. 
A serious Minister would have resigned if he had objections.

« Reply #157 on: January 25, 2011, 08:28:39 AM »

Yes, that is not out of the ordinary.

I really thought Prakash Ramadhar was better than that too. I honestly didn't expect that one.

Yeah boy.  They replayed the 3 clips from Parliament's session on Friday - Sandy, Rambachan and Ramdhar - defending the BS on I95.5 fm this morning.  I expected Sandy and the other country bookie Rambachan but Prakash came out of left field.....ah eh goh lie, ah disappointed at that one......

Offline Die_Hard

« Reply #158 on: January 25, 2011, 10:55:27 AM »

"Widely accepted" by whom?  Now you just making up shit because it is "widely accepted" by most critics of the failed OIF/OEF that Powell was misled.  Everyone knows his credibility in the UN was the currency used to buy support for the war and nobody is disputing the fact that he is "culpable for making false statements"... he got up there in the UN and sold a lie.  The issue is whether he knew that what he was saying was a lie or not.  Outside of people making extreme calls to indict every manjack, you's the first man I ever hear say that Powell was in on the lie.  The vast majority, from policital commentators, intelligence analysts and sundry 'talking heads' have always concluded that he was misled, and that is the single reason why he's since been estranged from Bush directly, and the Republican party indirectly.

No one is making shit up.  Powell was part of the inner most of inner circles.  he was a powerful man, in a very powerful positiona nd in with Bush each step, even if he was against the war, and was the voice of reason in teh administartion, you are saying that Bush Cheney , Rumsfeld all kep him in the dark about the lies?

Makes little to no sense.

Many analysts that worked in the admin stated that THEY knew it was false, but Powell who was right there ias a top advisor did not know? In fact some have said, well many have said that he knew.

Hard to fathom!

Please read this CBS 60 minutes report.

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2003/10/14/60II/main577975.shtml

« Reply #159 on: January 25, 2011, 12:18:31 PM »
Yuh eh see d movie Green Zone or wha?
Powell innocent!!!

« Reply #160 on: January 25, 2011, 12:53:49 PM »
I wonder if this could be the straw that break the camel back .

no way. people on the ground and streets doh really study this issue that much nah. by next week they forget this if they even know. kamla and jack propaganda have the population locked. they rel know how to take care of the trini 10-day mentality. it would have to take a calder hart type issue to bring down the PP. they real strong in controlling opinions.

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNN

« Reply #161 on: January 25, 2011, 03:37:57 PM »
These people just lying jus so.....bolsface and nobody eh care. Nah, that cyah be right.

Please give we back the PNM, please. I goh deal with the seer oman and the church (isn't a a church a  positive?).  Please, at least the country was doing something, thing was happening. Maybe they was wasting money and such, but yo could have seen and felt that things were on going. Education was being pushed big time, youth projects being emphasized,etc.

The crime was a sore spot, ut then off late they had kinda slow down the kidnapping.

Right now it seems the country in a free fall kinda state. That is not a good feeling. Nothing happening.

« Reply #162 on: January 25, 2011, 05:10:55 PM »
Prakash say he sorry about Reshmi and Sandy say he he know who hire she and it was a mistake.

« Reply #163 on: January 25, 2011, 05:44:41 PM »
Prakash say he sorry about Reshmi and Sandy say he he know who hire she and it was a mistake.

he also confirmed that he never check she qualification, and doesn't know if she was interviewed for the job.

« Reply #164 on: January 25, 2011, 06:10:27 PM »

he also confirmed that he never check she qualification, and doesn't know if she was interviewed for the job.

which more or less confirms to me that her bein hired was a 'friend' scene.

bullshit

« Reply #165 on: January 25, 2011, 06:50:51 PM »
all over facbook have pics ah she and gopeesingh liming.

« Reply #166 on: January 25, 2011, 08:13:52 PM »

Yeah Sasha and Gopeesingh related. And she and sasha "very close"

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #167 on: January 25, 2011, 09:41:34 PM »

« Reply #168 on: January 25, 2011, 10:08:35 PM »

Post ah link nah, I searching but cyah find none.

« Reply #169 on: January 25, 2011, 10:16:45 PM »
RESHMI DID NOTHING WRONG
By CAROL MATROO Wednesday, January 26 2011

“PLEASE, leave my daughter alone,” pleaded the mother of Reshmi Usha Ramnarine.

The woman wept non-stop as she spoke with Newsday outside her Coal Mine Road, Sangre Grande home, yesterday.

As any mother would, she defended her 31-year-old daughter who had been appointed director of the Strategic Security Agency (SSA) just over a week ago but resigned last Saturday amid outrage and accusations that she was not suited for the position.

Conflicting reports about Reshmi’s qualifications, compounded by varying statements from Government ministers leading Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley to declare plans to file a matter of privilege against National Security Minister Brigadier John Sandy continue to fuel the controversy. There has even been confusion over whether Reshmi was appointed as SSA director, or director of the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA), the latter which Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar exposed last November for spying on her, politicians, journalists and even the Head of State, President George Maxwell Richards, under the previous PNM regime.

The furore over Reshmi deeply upsets her mother, Mrs Ramnarine (she did not want to give her first name) who simply wants her daughter to be left alone.

“I didn’t go to work for the past two days because I can’t handle it. I am very upset because everybody just lambasting my daughter. My child is a dedicated, hard-working child and she did nothing wrong. She was offered a position in which she was working in long before now. Nobody said anything about it.”

Mrs Ramnarine lashed out at the Opposition PNM saying the previous SSA and SIA director Nigel Clement, who was fired by Government, had never been so highly publicised as her daughter.

“Nobody ever published (Nigel) Clement’s picture in the papers. Nobody ever knew who was Clement, but Rowley was only waiting to see the child being in a position to let out everything. He jumping up and bawling all kinds of stupidness,” said Mrs Ramnarine, who also felt hurt that her daughter was being maligned and pressured from all quarters.

Mrs Ramnarine said her daughter was suitably qualified since she had her degree in information technology (IT) and was now in her third year of pursuing a degree in criminology.

However, Mrs Ramnarine denied reports that her daughter attended the University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine, saying Reshmi earned her IT degree at a private institute, which she declined to name.

In Parliament last Friday, Sandy told the House of Representatives Reshmi was a UWI graduate, and Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan said she had a Bachelor of Science (BSc) degree in information technology (IT) and is presently studying for a BSc degree in psychology.

Mrs Ramnarine says the scrutiny of her daughter “is very unfair”.

“The child is fully qualified. She is a good honest, diligent, hard-working person and what they are doing to her is very, very unfair. We grew up in this place. My father was a good honest person. We never thief money from anybody, we never did anything to anybody. I have been working in the Public Service for 38 years as a Clerk I. I took loans to send my children to school and for them to be doing this to my child, I can’t handle it and I want it stopped.”

Mrs Ramnarine says Persad-Bissessar is “a good, honest person”.

“Madame Prime Minister was kind enough to offer the child the position because she thought she was suited for the position. These people are out of place.”

She claimed the Opposition feared her daughter would reveal all their secrets of alleged corruption.

Mrs Ramnarine said she was one of 12 siblings, all of whom held top positions in their fields.

“My entire family – I have nine sisters and three brothers – they are principals, public servants, specialised nurses, doctors, accountants, engineers and designers and nobody ever heard anything about us.”

The family has been staunch UNC supporters going far back as 1988.

“We have worked on the ground with the UNC not now, but since Club 88. I came out of the line-up because of this same politics and the unfairness. I was very involved in politics, but I cannot handle the dishonesty about politics because I am an honest person,” she insisted.

Mrs Ramnarine said she has been the treasurer of the Women’s Federation, Sangre Grande/St Andrews District since 1998, a position she still holds today. She is also the assistant secretary of the head office branch and the treasurer of the Network of Rural Women.

“I run depots for where I work. Cheques used to come on my name, 50, 60, 100,000 dollars which I used to have to change to make purchases and I never thief a cent of their money, so for them to come and treat my child like this, I cannot stand for it.”

She says Reshmi has tried to get her to not speak out on the issue.

“All the time she is telling me ‘Mummy, don’t say anything,’ mummy don’t say anything, but mummy belly turning all how and mummy belly can’t take it any more,” she wept piteously.

Mrs Ramnarine also said she was upset by Sandy’s statement that he did not approve the appointment.

“How come he didn’t approve the appointment and he is the minister under whom she is working? You don’t see people want to make things look real bad for the child?” the upset woman asked.

Mrs Ramnarine said her daughter still feared for her safety because her photograph, her address and signature were now being bandied about in newspapers.

“She was getting death threats over the phone and she had to cancel her Facebook because they were sending all sorts of things on it. Why are they doing honest people these things and the people who are thiefing, they’re doing them nothing? Why is it that they are hounding down an honest person who got a job to work?”

Mrs Ramnarine said her daughter was afraid for herself and her family and begged that it be known that she had her family’s support.

“The family is upset and distraught. I want my child to see that somebody is there defending her. Nobody is standing up for the child and I want her to know that somebody is standing up for her,” she said as she continued to weep.

« Reply #170 on: January 25, 2011, 10:18:46 PM »
Sandy: I feel set up
By NALINEE SEELAL and LARA PICKFORD-GORDON Wednesday, January 26 2011

Embarrassed by being kept in the dark over the appointment of Reshmi Usha Ramnarine to the post of director of the Strategic Security Agency (SSA), and also being forced to read a statement in Parliament on Friday that Ramnarine was the holder of a university degree, an angry Minister of National Security Brigadier John Sandy met on Monday afternoon with Attorney General Anand Ramlogan to vent his concerns over the appointment and the questions being asked over his integrity.

The meeting between Sandy and the Attorney General (AG) took place in a committee room of the Parliament at about 1 pm on Monday, following a parliamentary sub-committee meeting.

Sources revealed that during the meeting Sandy expressed outrage over not being told of Ramnarine’s appointment, and felt embarrassed that he was only informed after reading the appointment in the press.

It was Sandy who had objected to Ramnarine’s appointment during a National Security Council meeting chaired by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar earlier this month.

Newsday understands Sandy pointed out to the Attorney General that he felt “set up” after being given a statement to read on Ramnarine’s appointment while on his feet during a presentation in the Lower House last Friday.

The prepared speech was reportedly given to Sandy by Government Chief Whip Dr Roodal Moonilal.

But while Sandy in Parliament and in a press release claimed Ramnarine was appointed to the SSA as an acting director, this was contradicted by an official press release from the Office of the President on Friday.

As the Opposition called for Ramnarine to be fired, Sandy told MPs that Ramnarine was appointed to act in the post for six months as part of a process of streamlining3 the SSA with the controversial Security Intelligence Agency (SIA).

Without naming Ramnarine, he said, “the appointed officer was installed to act for a period of six months in the Office of Director of the SSA. The officer was not appointed to head the SIA. The appointment was made to assist in the rationalisation, streamlining an amalgamation of the SIA into the SSA. The merger has been ongoing for some time.”

A press release issued by the Ministry of National Security’s corporate communications unit mirrored Sandy’s statement in the House on Friday.

But an official release from the Office of the President, issued at about the same time that Sandy spoke in Parliament on Friday, made no mention of an acting appointment and also said the new appointee would head the SIA, not the SSA, as claimed by Sandy.

“In the absence from the country of His Excellency Professor George Maxwell Richards, His Excellency Senator Timothy Hamel-Smith, Acting President of the Republic, issued the instrument of appointment to the new SIA director on Friday January 14, 2011,” the release said.

Questioned by Newsday on the issue outside one of the committee rooms at the Parliament on Friday, Sandy said the decision was taken the week before. He was, however, reluctant to comment further. Asked if he thought Ramnarine was a suitable person to helm the SSA, Sandy said, “I am not going there. I am not going there.”

Newsday understands that one day after telling the Parliament that Ramnarine had a university degree, a very uncomfortable Sandy was later informed that Ramnarine did not have a university degree, and this caused his integrity to be questioned.

During the meeting on Monday, the minister also pointed out to the AG that he was again asked to issue a press release on Saturday afternoon indicating Ramnarine had tendered her resignation to him and he also expressed concern over that, since it was not him who had appointed Ramnarine to the post.

According to reports, Sandy told the AG that the last few days were a great source of embarrassment to him, and he wanted to know why he was put in such a situation.

Sandy also asked the AG for advice on how to respond should the PNM bring about a motion of privilege against him for misleading the Lower House.

SANDY from Page 5A

Newsday understands the AG listened to what Sandy had to say and promised to discuss the matter with the appropriate parties. The AG yesterday declined to comment on whether he met with Sandy over the issue this week. Sources close to Sandy said he will be contemplating his next move due to the series of events over the last couple of days. Sandy again distanced himself from the selection of Ramnarine yesterday when questioned by reporters at the Hyatt Regency, Port-of-Spain where he attended the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association seminar for parliamentarians.

An uneasy-looking Sandy said he did not interview Ramnarine and did not know who interviewed or recommended her.

In his statement last Friday, Sandy said a deputy director of the SSA had recommended Ramnarine, which the Prime Minister reiterated when questioned on the issue last Saturday. There are two deputy directors at SSA–Julie Brown and Keron Ganpat.

Sandy also said yesterday he was misinformed regarding Ramnarine’s qualifications for the post. “I was advised she was qualified that is why I made the statement, and I am advised now she is not,” he told reporters adding he had not seen her qualifications.

Asked why Ramnarine’s qualifications were not scrutinised instead of accepting a recommendation, Sandy said, “everyone is entitled to their considerations in that respect, I’d rather not comment on it.”

A new director for the SSA was now being pursued but Sandy could not say when someone would be hired. “We hope it will be as soon as possible. Under the circumstances we must recognise there will be certain procedures which must take place with respect to that,” he said. Sandy said the SSA is the legal entity while the SIA was not. Responding to a question on the possibility the Opposition would seek to have him referred to the Privileges Committee, Sandy said some may feel there were grounds, others may feel there were none. He preferred not to comment.

Giving his personal view, Sandy said it was unfortunate the way in which the issue has erupted and he would not venture to say more. He did not think anyone in the People’s Partnership has lied. “I would say it was misinformation,” he said.

Asked if Ramnarine’s qualifications and experience did not become an issue would the Government proceed with the appointment, Sandy referred reporters to the head of the National Security Council— the Prime Minister.

Questioned about talk that Ramnarine’s appointment was linked to “pay back” for supporting the Partnership, Sandy said he was not part of the election campaign and did not know.

Persad-Bissessar yesterday said it was time to move on from the issue since Ramnarine had resigned. “She has now resigned, let us move forward,” Persad-Bissessar told reporters after the sod- turning ceremony for the construction of a highway from Golconda, San Fernando to Point Fortin. She said Sandy, being a member of Cabinet and the National Security Council, was aware of Ramnarine’s appointment.

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley and deputy political leader of the Congress of the People Prakash Ramadhar, who also attended yesterday’s seminar for parliamentarians, gave varying responses when questioned on the issue.

Asked by a reporter about Sandy saying it may have been an error on the part of government and a recommendation was accepted and Ramnarine was not interviewed for the post, Rowley replied, “A minister of Government says it is an error they appointed somebody without the necessary basic information to head a security agency and they took a recommendation from a subordinate person and what am I supposed to do? Not understand that, accept it and excuse it?”

Moonilal said, “the matter has been dealt with, the resignation has been tendered. I imagine there will be another recommendation and we will deal with it.”

Ramadhar said he did not know Ramnarine and “would not have made any statement I believed to be false.” In his contribution to the Lower House last Friday, he said Ramnarine was a UWI graduate.

He apologised to the nation if his statements conveyed anything other than what he honestly believed to be true.

« Reply #171 on: January 25, 2011, 10:33:18 PM »
Laughable at best.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Die_Hard

« Reply #172 on: January 25, 2011, 11:07:24 PM »
Laughable?  Not at all.  It shows a level of colusion and deception.  Prepared statements, lies, more lies and denials.

This is Sandygate.

« Reply #173 on: January 25, 2011, 11:18:47 PM »

No one is making shit up.  Powell was part of the inner most of inner circles.  he was a powerful man, in a very powerful positiona nd in with Bush each step, even if he was against the war, and was the voice of reason in teh administartion, you are saying that Bush Cheney , Rumsfeld all kep him in the dark about the lies?

Makes little to no sense.

Many analysts that worked in the admin stated that THEY knew it was false, but Powell who was right there ias a top advisor did not know? In fact some have said, well many have said that he knew.

Hard to fathom!

Please read this CBS 60 minutes report.

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2003/10/14/60II/main577975.shtml

Powell show moral cowardice early on in Vietnam. That's why he make JCoS and man like Taquaba and Shinseki get run out fass fass. They know he willfully blind to what going on. Didn't matter whether he knew or not because he gorn do what he told to do.

« Reply #174 on: January 25, 2011, 11:31:09 PM »
Sandy say setup i say disrespectful , the Project Manager although the news is out she still lying .

Offline Die_Hard

What they said last week about the matter:
« Reply #175 on: January 26, 2011, 12:33:51 AM »
What they said last week about the matter:
Story Created: Jan 25, 2011 at 11:56 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Jan 25, 2011 at 11:56 PM ECT )

"What is really the objection to the appointment of this director (to) the SSA (Strategic Services Agency)? Is it because she is 31-years-old? Is it because she is an academically qualified woman with nearly a decade of experience within what was then the SIA?

"It is absurd that Dr Keith Rowley, who now leads the very political organisation that was in government when the SIA illegally and immorally tapped into the private conversations of politicians, judges, journalists, private citizens, even the President, can have the temerity today to ask whether this appointment was designed to perpetuate the very practices carried out under the very PNM administration of which he was a part.

"She was recommended by the deputy director of the SSA. The council of ministers of the National Security Council received that recommendation and considered it. I had no personal friendship or relationship with the director."

—Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (Radio interview outside NAPA on Saturday).

"The Minister of National Security is a member of the National Security Council. The council deliberated on the matter and decided to accept the recommendation as presented. The incumbent has nine years experience in the organisation and is a graduate of the University of the West Indies. The appointed director was done so as to act for a period of six months in the Office of Director of the SSA. The appointed director was not done so as to help the SIA as claimed in the article. That appointment was to assist in the rationalisation, streamlining and amalgamation of the SIA into the SSA. The merger has been ongoing for some time now. The decision of the National Security Council was subsequently approved by the Cabinet."

—Minister of National Security

John Sandy (in Parliament last Friday)

"I do not know the young lady who has been chosen, but I understand she is qualified. She has a degree in IT and is completing a degree in psychology.

"Why are we afraid of the young? Why are we afraid of the creativity of the mind of the young? Certainly the Member for San Fernando East used the young in the opposite way, by creating a robotic troop that will mouth and parrot things that have no relevance to reality or to the truth. We are here, as I repeat almost every time I take my legs, to deal with the responsibility that has been given to this Government, this Administration, to fix things that have gone so wrong, for so long."

—Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar (in Parliament last Friday)

"Mr Deputy Speaker, they talked here today about the person who has been appointed as director of the SIA. It is very unfortunate that discussion took place here in this House. It is very unfortunate.

"For one thing, I just want to reiterate for the benefit of the national population that is just not anybody that has been chosen. We must not have anything against young people. We must not equate youth with intelligence. We must say necessary that the youth are not mature.

"There are far more youth sometimes more mature than people who are well above their age in this country. We must talk about ability and competence.

"Mr Deputy Speaker, the person they speak about has a BSc in Information Technology; is completing a BA in psychology; has international experience—has been there nine years.

"What they have failed to recognise is that the fight against crime is driven by intelligence and by information, and this person has the ability to deal with information but, more than that, not only collect information, but translate information into a manner in which it can be used to develop action plans in order to deal with criminals in this country."

—Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan (in Parliament last Friday)

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #176 on: January 26, 2011, 04:03:13 AM »

How close, you have photos?   :devil:
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #177 on: January 26, 2011, 05:51:12 AM »
RESHMI DID NOTHING WRONG
By CAROL MATROO Wednesday, January 26 2011

“PLEASE, leave my daughter alone,” pleaded the mother of Reshmi Usha Ramnarine.

Miss lady, tell yuh pickney nah play with fire and she nah goh get burned......

« Reply #178 on: January 26, 2011, 07:21:53 AM »
It was an error

National Security Minister John Sandy and Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar have admitted that the appointment of Reshmi Ramnarine to the post of director of the Strategic Services Agency was "an error". However, Minister in the Ministry of National Security, Subhas Panday, says it was not.

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr Suruj Rambachan, meanwhile said, "We are reviewing what has happened and by Friday we would be able to clarify whether there had been any problems."

Sandy, Ramadhar, Panday, Rambachan and Minister of Housing Dr Roodal Moonilal spoke with reporters yesterday during a break in the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association seminar for local Members of Parliament at the Hyatt Regency hotel, Port of Spain.

Asked whether the appointment might have been an error, Sandy said, "Yes. I would say that ... misinformation."

He said "it's unfortunate" the issue erupted in the manner it has.

Clarifying the difference between the SSA and the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA), Sandy said, "The SSA is the legal entity. The SIA isn't."

Asked whether he had objected to Ramnarine's appointment, he said the recommendation was discussed at National Security Council but he was not at liberty to discuss it. He said he did not know who recommended Ramnarine for the job, but was advised that she was qualified.

"I'm advised that she's not," he said in reference to an Express exclusive yesterday which highlighted the fact that Ramnarine did not have a UWI degree.

Asked whether she was interviewed for the post, Sandy said, "Not by me."

He said a suitable replacement was being sought, but "there must be certain procedures that must take place".

Ramadhar, who had supported Ramnarine's appointment, said, "I want to apologise to the nation if in any way I would have said anything that led anyone to believe that which I honestly held based on the information I was given."

He said he did not know Ramnarine, but understood she had a degree in Information Technology and was in the process of completing another in psychology. "I would not have made any statement that I believe to have been false," he said.

The incident, Ramadhar said, was an opportunity for the People's Partnership to ensure that "these errors do not recur. In life things happen. We do make mistakes and once we learn from them, we must never to repeat them".

He added, "We have to be a bit more cautious about matters and that we proceed not to take information on the face of it."

Stating that he did not support her nomination, he said, "It was extremely unfortunate and I wish it never had occurred."

Commenting on the situation, Panday said, "The PNM just making confusion. When the Penn State University had recommended Stephen Williams, a well qualified man, to be the Commissioner of Police, why did they shoot him down in the parliament and put somebody who was unqualified. Hypocrisy on the part of the PNM, and the press peddling the hypocrisy of the PNM."

Asked why Ramnarine was not interviewed instead of just accepting the recommendation, Panday said, "Ask Mr Sandy. That's not for me to answer."

Asked whether the Government made an error in the appointment of Ramnarine, Panday said, "No. Not at all."

In his comments to the media on who recommended Ramnarine to Cabinet and why her credentials were not viewed, Moonilal said, "Surely we can't divulge information about matters that were discussed in the Cabinet."

He directed questions of national security to Sandy and Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

Responding to why it was that all the ministers interviewed would not comment on who recommended Ramnarine to Cabinet, Moonilal said, "I prefer not to comment on your question of why all the ministers don't know." See Page 5

Lets move on

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday appeared reluctant to address the appointment and resignation of Reshmi Usha Ramnarine as director of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA).

"She has now resigned, now let us move forward," Persad-Bissessar told members of the media after speaking at the sod-turning ceremony at Golconda to begin construction of the San Fernando to Point Fortin highway.

Persad-Bissessar said the recommendation to appoint Ramnarine was made by the National Security Council and taken to Cabinet.

Persad-Bissessar, who chairs the National Security Council, said, "Persons who are members of the Cabinet, if they had read their Cabinet notes, it was a Cabinet decision. From National Security Council and then to the Cabinet. So if members were not at the Cabinet meeting or are not members of the Cabinet they would not have had that information."

She said National Security Minister John Sandy was aware of the decision as he is a member of the National Security Council and Cabinet.

Asked whether former journalist Sasha Mohammed was an adviser in the matter, Persad-Bissessar, responded: "No."

On Saturday, one week after being given the instrument of appointment to head the SSA, Ramnarine tendered her resignation, stating she feared for her personal safety in the wake of an Express exclusive which highlighted the fact that she had been appointed over two other senior employees although she was not qualified for the job.

« Reply #179 on: January 26, 2011, 07:49:22 AM »
I get this in a BBM

Reshmi are you readdyyyyyy?
Yeaaaaaaaah U make d SIA Swankaaaaay Yeaaaah
So Kamla went and hire this young ting to watch we but we push she out
 ah say we push she out
She salary went from buying mauby to building house but we push she out
 ah say we push she out 
 wha she do?   

wine and resign, wine and resign,
wine to d, wine to d, wine to d,  wine to d, wine to d, wine to d,
wine and resign

Kamla in front, Sandy behind, these ppl like dey mad and blind
wine and resign 
 She only thirty and have 2 a levels and certificate from John D But she qualified
, dey say she qualified
 She does macco good dey say, and blow whistle all day
So she could spy, ah say she could spy   
wha she do?   
wine and resign, wine and resign, wine to d, wine to d, wine to d,  wine to d, wine to d, wine to d,
wine and resign
Kamla in front, Sandy behind, these ppl like dey mad and blind wine and resign