April 25, 2024, 02:12:08 PM

Author Topic: TT Premier Football League (TTPFL) Thread.  (Read 13450 times)

Re: TT Premier Football League (TTPFL) Thread.
« Reply #120 on: June 19, 2023, 03:17:01 PM »
 Yuh doh have to be a member of the TTPS to play for Police.

All my life playing and following football, that was never the case for the protective services teams. Never. You had to be employed. I more believe Trinidad Sports Reality on this one.

I have to take that back. I was just told on a chat that the TTPS has amended their rules several years ago to allow non-officers to rep. them. I definitely did not know that.

« Reply #121 on: June 19, 2023, 04:50:12 PM »
AC Port of Spain a point away from TTPFL title
By Sheldon Pierre (T&T Newsday)

AC Port of Spain are one point away from lifting the inaugural T&T Premier Football League title setting up an exciting showdown against the second-placed Defence Force on the final matchday of the season.

Defence Force are on 53 points from their 21 matches whilst AC PoS are on 55 points from the same number of matches. Therefore, Army will need a victory whereas a draw will be sufficient for a maiden league trophy for AC PoS.

The “Town Boys” routed Prison Services FC 6-0 in a rescheduled match at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar on Saturday. AC attacking maestro Che Benny opened the scoring in the sixth minute with an easy tap in goal. Then, captain Duane Muckette extended the lead to 2-0 from the penalty spot in the 15th minute and that scoreline stood until the halftime interval.

Benny scored his second goal of the match with a ferocious left-footed strike that bulged the back of the net before goalkeeper Evon Bourne could react in the 52nd minute for the 3-0 advantage. The floodgates were opened because seven minutes later John Paul Rochford calmly slid home his team`s fourth goal.

In the 72nd, Jomoul Francois ran onto a well-weighted through ball to finish past a diving goalie Bourne at the far post making it 5-0. Jean- Heim Mc Fee rounded off the scoring for the match when he collected and slapped home against a helpless Bourne for the 6-0 victory.

In another match, Morvant Caledonia United defeated Cunupia FC 2-1 at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium. Shade Louis scored a double for Caledonia whilst Ricardo Williams was the lone scorer for Cunupia FC who remain at the bottom of the table.

« Reply #122 on: June 19, 2023, 05:31:36 PM »
So Police has a team in Div2 also. So if the Police was to win Div. 2, will there be two Police team in Div. 1

« Reply #123 on: June 21, 2023, 07:38:06 AM »
AC PoS not playing for a draw vs Defence Force
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday)

DESPITE needing a draw to seal the T&T Premier Football League title, head coach of leaders AC Port of Spain Walt Noriega said his team will be gunning for three points against runners-up Defence Force, in the final round on Saturday.

The teams will square off at the Arima Velodrome at 4 pm with everything at stake.

AC Port of Spain lead the standings with 55 points, two points ahead of Defence Force.

Noriega said his team will not be conservative.

“We will take the game as we take every other game. We go out to try to win the game,” Noriega said.

If the match is not going to plan, the strategy will change, Noriega said. “Worst-case scenario, if things not looking good we will settle for the draw, but we will go out to try to win the game.”

Many of AC Port of Spain’s players have been overlooked for the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup and as a result the team will benefit this weekend with a near full-strength team. Only goalkeeper Marvin Phillip will be missing in action.

AC Port of Spain midfielders Michel Poon Angeron, captain Duane Muckette, John-Paul Rochford and Che Benny have all seen playing time with the Soca Warriors over the past year, but were not selected for the Gold Cup, which kicks off on Saturday.

Muckette, Rochford and Benny have led the attack for AC Port of Spain this season providing goals and assists. Angeron plays as a busy holding midfielder.

Defence Force have quality of their own and will be fancying their chances. Attacking midfielder Reon Moore, who also missed out on national selection, will be a key player for the Army men.

The imposing figure of forward Brent Sam also stands in the way of AC Port of Spain winning the title. Justin Sadoo in midfield has also provided a number of assists to the Defence Force cause.

Noriega expects a tougher contest than their 3-0 victory over the "Teteron Boys" earlier this season.

“Defence Force also started off slow and as the season progressed they picked up form. Defence Force have the experience, they know about winning these titles and they are a quality team.

"It will be a good game, it will a challenging game. We are not taking them lightly. We know their strengths as well as we know some of their weaknesses, and we hope to capitalise on those weaknesses and execute on the day.”

In the absence of Phillip, goalie Jadel Poon-Lewis has delivered when called upon for AC Port of Spain. He has the trust of his coach and his teammates.

“We have a dependable second-choice goalkeeper in Jadel Poon. We will be all right,” Noriega said.

The AC PoS coach said he is proud of his players' execution of the team tactics. “The boys settled in well. They started to understand what we want from them…Game to game we got stronger with the understanding of how we want to play and how we want to win back the football. It augurs well for us going into this last game.”

Noriega has patterned his coaching style after English team Arsenal, which includes possession football and keeping the ball on the ground.

There has been stiff competition for places within the squad and Noriega believes this has kept his players sharp.

“They know that we have some quality players and they would have to fight for their position…I keep telling them not because you coming training guarantee you a pick on the team, but when you do get the chance you have to show that you can match with the boys.”

« Reply #124 on: June 21, 2023, 06:29:59 PM »
From #ttsportsdiary.

The downside of sport in general and football in particular. Joumal Francois of AC POS has broken his leg in a training session tonight. They are to play Defence Force this Saturday for the TTPFL league. Last game I believe. So sad. Blessings and quick recovery.

« Reply #125 on: June 24, 2023, 07:58:22 AM »
Army ready for AC PoS: 'We know how to finish'

DEFENCE Force coach Hutson Charles has said keeping composure in front of goal of late has led the team to the brink of the T&T Premier Football League crown.

A win for second-placed Defence Force on Saturday over leaders AC Port of Spain at Arima Velodrome from 6.15 pm will see the Army men lift the inaugural TTPFL crown.

AC Port of Spain are hanging on to a two-point lead with 55 points and a draw will be enough for them to be crowned champions.

After match day one, many may have thought Defence Force would not be title-contenders heading into the final day after being crushed by AC Port of Spain 3-0.

But the records of AC Port of Spain and Defence Force are similar. AC Port of Spain have 18 wins, two losses and one draw, and the Army men have 17 wins, two losses and two draws.

Both teams have been in impressive form of late, winning four of their last five matches.

Looking ahead to today’s match, Charles said, “I am feeling confident, not just me, but the players too. We have been putting in the work this week, and as I say, we are confident that we can win the title tomorrow.”

Addressing the team’s slow start, Charles said the players took some time to understand the philosophy of the coaches.

“We had a plan in terms of how we wanted to go about the season. Yes, we started slow, but with the training and getting to understand what the staff wanted out of the players, I think we built a nice little momentum…we keep going from strength to strength, and hopefully tomorrow we can come away with the championship.”

Being clinical in front of goal has contributed to the turnaround by Defence Force.

“I think the players having that confidence that they could go out there and perform well at the highest level (has been the difference). We started to put away our chances.

"In most of the games we have been lacking that final touch. I think for the last couple of games the guys have been spot-on in terms of putting away their chances.”

Charles said in terms of attacking, many players have been delivering.

“Not surprising (to see the players perform), because being around these guys a lot, we know their ability. The last couple games (striker) Reon Moore has been getting back to himself. That made him get called up to the national team. Dwight Quintero is one that has stepped up, and of course Brent Sam is Brent Sam.”

Sam, who is a tall striker, is the leading goal-scorer for Defence Force this season, with 11 goals.

Charles said Kevon Goddard and defender Justin Garcia are among the other players who have shown their quality this season. Midfielder Justin Sadoo is another integral member of the squad.

Charles said Defence Force will not adjust their plans much for today’s match because they need three points.

“We just have to be disciplined tomorrow and put away our chances. As long as we do that, we will win.”

In other matches today, Police FC will play Terminix La Horquetta Rangers at 4 pm at Arima Velodrome and at Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Tiger Tanks Club Sando will face Pt Fortin Civic FC at 4 pm.

« Reply #126 on: June 24, 2023, 07:49:48 PM »
DF won 2-1.  Entertaining game.  Congrats to them. Congrats to AC for their consistent performance throughout the season. Unless this league get a massive infusion of money, I don’t know where our football is heading. 

« Reply #127 on: June 24, 2023, 08:28:33 PM »
Army snatches dramatic $125,000 title in Arima.
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian).

T&T Defence Force claimed a dramatic 2-1 win over AC Port-of-Spain in a winner-take-all T&T Premier Football League Tier decider watched by a crowd of more than 2,000 spectators at the Arima Municipal Stadium, Arima on Saturday night.

With the win, the “Teteron Men” took home the $125,000 title with 56 points from 22 matches, while AC Port-of-Spain who started the match with a two-point advantage and just needed a draw, had to settle for the $75,000 runner-up cheque after leading the 22 rounds of football for most of the season, ended with 55 points.

The Defence Force was last crowned champions in 2019 of the defunct T&T Pro League.

Needing to win against AC PoS, Defence Force was on the front foot from the onset and took the match to the slow-starting AC Port-of-Spain with goalkeeper Jadel Poon-Lewis being called up to make numerous saves to keep the league leaders in the contest.

However, despite their early dominance and chances created Defence Force had nothing to show at the half-time whistle as both teams went into the break still goalless and all to play for.

On the resumption, Defence Force led by coach Lloyd Andrews started the better of both teams with Reon Moore seeing a side-footed effort from close range skim the bottom of the left-sided post from a Darius Ollivierra right-sided cross in the 52nd minute.

Six minutes later at the other end, Che Benny had AC PoS’s best chance, a header which crashed off the crossbar after he was picked up by Duane Muckette’s flighted ball in the 58th.

However, the breakthrough finally came for 20th domestic league champions Defence Force when lanky defender Justin Garcia headed home a deep right-sided corner, his seventh of the season, from Justin Sadoo at the far post for a deserved 1-0 lead in the 65th.

Two minutes, Defence Force moved a step closer to clinching the title when mid-season transfer Kaihim Thomas connected with a right-sided centre from Kendell Hitlal, on the right-footed volley, while falling back to put the ball out of the reach of Poon-Lewis for a 2-0 cushion and within sight of the $125,000 winner’s prize.

With nine minutes left in the contest Thomas almost got a second goal on the night, and his team’s third when he unleashed a stinging right footer from at the top of the 18-yard box, however, he was denied by the crossbar, with the ball ricocheting back into play, and off the back of a sprawling Poon-Lewis away for a corner.

There was still a chance for AC Port-of-Spain to get into the match as substitute Haile Beckles, did his best to lift his team, with a long-range strike slamming into the bottom of the left post, with Defence Force goalkeeper Christopher Biggette beaten.

Three minutes into time added on, AC PoS finally pulled a goal back when a left-sided freekick from John-Paul Rochford was re-directed back across the goal mouth by Maurice Ford for Muckette to guide over the line just ahead of a challenge from Biggette.

In the end, Defence Force survived a few nervous moments to secure the win and lift the title.

Down at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella, Tiger Tanks Club Sando ended the season on a high with a 2-0 win over Heritage Point Fortin Civic thanks to strikes from Nathaniel James, his league-best 15th of the season, as early as the eighth minute, and Isaiah Thompson, in the 89th.

With the win, Club Sando, who like Defence Force and AC Port-of-Spain will now focus on Concacaf Club competitions in August, ended with 48 points from their 22 matches, ten adrift of the league champions, and five behind the runners-up for the third spot and $50.000.

In the opening match at Arima, Police dashed any chances of Terminix La Horquetta Rangers ending in the third spot with a 1-0 result via a Kadeem Hutchinson 21st-minute goal to cement the fifth spot with 39 points. The focus now shifts to the knockout competition which will involve the Tier II clubs as well.

Yesterday’s Results

Defence Force 2 (Justin Garcia 63rd, Kaihim Thomas 66th) vs AC Port-of-Spain 1 (Duane Muckette 90+3)

Police FC 1 (Kadeem Hutchinson 21st) vs La Horquetta Rangers 0

Club Sando 2 (Nathaniel James 8th, Isiaiah Thompsomn 89th) vs Point Fortin Civic 0

FINAL 2023 LEAGUE STANDING

Pos Team P W D L F A Pts
1. Defence Force 22 18 2 2 53 16 56
2. AC PoS 22 18 1 3 63 18 55
3. Club Sando 22 15 3 4 43 22 48
4. LH Rangers 22 14 1 7 62 31 43
5. Police 22 12 3 7 43 32 39
6. Central FC 22 11 1 10 38 41 34
7. Point Fortin Civic 22 7 4 11 21 27 25
8. W Connection 22 6 4 12 19 36 22
9. Jabloteh 22 6 4 12 35 46 22
10. Morvant Caledonia 22 5 2 15 24 50 17
11. Prisons Service 22 3 3 16 16 61 12
12. Cunupia FC 22 2 2 18 13 50 8

« Reply #128 on: June 26, 2023, 05:12:37 PM »
Andrews credits ‘Teteron Men’ fitness for title win
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Lloyd “Sonoltee” Andrews, coach of the Defence Force has credited their fitness level and entire support staff for his team’s capture of the inaugural T&T Premier Football League title on saturday, the record-extending 24th in the team’s history.

The 60-year-old coach Andrews also led Defence Force to its fourth and final T&T Pro League in the competition’s 20-year history in the 2019/2020 campaign, his debut season as coach, and the first for the team since 2012/2013.

The Army/Coast Guard, a dominant force in local and Concacaf football back in the day, previously won the national league crowns from 1974 to 1995.

They missed out on titles in 1986, 1991 and 1994. The team celebrated as Semi-Professional League champions in 1996 and 1997 and captured the inaugural T&T Pro title in 1999, and then in 2010/2011.

The team’s success in the 2019/2020 season came after the league competition was cut-short with three matches left for each club in the 11-team Pro League season due to the worldwide coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Defence Force was Concacaf champions in 1978 and 1987.

However, a decision was then taken by the then competition organisers to declare the ‘Teteron Men’ as league champions with three matches left to complete the season.

After no local competition was held for the past two seasons for various reasons, the T&TPFL under the supervision of Chief Executive Officer Colin Wharfe took kicked off in mid-March, and going into Saturday’s final match day of the 12-club competition which consisted of two rounds of matches, the ‘Teteron Men’ with 53 points, trailed the Walt Noreiga-coached AC Port-of-Spain (55 points), and needed nothing less than a win to snatch the title.

At the end of a pulsating contest watched by 2,000-plus spectators at the Arima Municipal Stadium, Arima, goals from national defender Justin Garcia and Kaihim Thomas were enough to get the Army/Coast-Guard combination over the line in a 2-1 win over AC PoS, who had captain Duane Muckette on target late on.

Speaking after the win Andrews said his team’s triumph could not be accomplished without the tremendous support behind the scenes as well.

“I will like to thank Chief of Defence Staff, Major Thompson, Col. Charles, Lt Dookie, and Lt Ottley who have all been very supportive to us, working hard and giving their full backing in the background.”

He added: “My assistant coaches Devin Elcock, and Hutson “Barber’ Charles, chairman Keston Charles and team manager Basil Thompson, and most importantly, the players and all other supporting personnel.

“Because this is a result of us all working together with the same vision and goal, and in the end, we were able to come away with the league title, stated Andrews.

The “Teteron Boys” also won the Ascension Football Invitational Tournament, which was hosted by businessman Richard Ferguson, owner of Terminix La Horquetta before the start of the 2019/2020 Pro League season when local football resumed after the pandemic.

However, last year the “Teteron Men” had to settle for the runner-up spot behind the Rangers in the second edition of the Ascension Tournament.

When the inaugural season of the T&T Premier Football League kicked off in March, the perennial kings of domestic football were eager to be among the title contenders but suffered a shock 3-0 loss at AC Port-of-Spain at the Arima Municipal Stadium, on March 11, 2023. According to Andrews, that defeat ignited his team into the machine they ended the league campaign in, winning their last five matches to claim the $125,000 winners’ prize.

He said: “At the beginning of the competition we lost our first match, and it was a matter of us being unable to prepare for the start of the tournament in the way we wanted to, and to be honest it served as a wake-up call for us, in terms of our lack of intensity and physical preparation.

“What worked in our favour as well was that our next match against Rangers had to be postponed due to them being out of the country on a Caribbean tour and we didn’t play for about two weeks, and during that time we worked on our physical fitness level and intensity because it is unheard of that a Defence Force team will go into any competition, not in top physical shape, and that’s what happened with us.”

“And when we got up to speed it was evident that a lot of the things which were affecting us was mainly due to our lack of fitness, and after the next two matches against Pt Fortin Civic (2-1 win), and Police (2-0 win) you could have seen the work we managed to get in during the break for us helped us to correct a lot of our weak points.

Andrews also credited the depth of his squad and being able to give players a break as key to his team’s run to the title.

He noted: “During the campaign we had a few players going out on national duty like Justin Sadoo, Justin Garcia, Kevon Goddard, Reon Moore, Jelani Felix, Kaihim Thomas, and Curtis Gonzales.

“And losing these players to national duty didn’t create a problem, as we were able to create a strong core whereby if one man was missing it was the next man up, and players like Cassim Kellar, captain Jamali Garcia (captain), Darius Ollivierra, Kendell Hitlal Hashim Arcia, Dwight Quintero, Brent Sam and Lashawn Roberts all stepped up and played key roles throughout the season.

“In the end, we had to chop and change the team due to the international matches for the national team, but having created that pool of players I think it helped us to finish strong, as we were always there in the hunt waiting for the teams around us to slip up, and in the end, we got the chance to claim the title, and we took it on the final day.”

Despite claiming the league crown, his second in as many outings in charge, Andrew admitted that it was not his team’s first target.

“Our first target was to qualify for the Concacaf Club competitions, and to do so, we needed to be among the top three clubs by a certain stage of the competition. And we said to ourselves, once we are there in the top three, we are in with a chance to win the title.

With the T&TPFL knockout competition and the Concacaf competition to come, Andrews said much more focus will be put towards the international tournament.

He added: “We will not be putting much attention on the knockout because we want to make a major impact in the Concacaf competition. So, while we want to keep the players’ energy levels up and focus, we will be making a few changes to the team as we have made our choice as to which tournament to put more focus on.

“For the knockout, we will still be putting out a strong team, but at the same time, if we fail to win that competition, it must not in any way affect our preparations for the Concacaf tournament.

In the Concacaf Caribbean Cup Defence Force and AC PoS will compete in Group A with Cavalier FC (Jamaica), Moca FC (Dominican Republic), and the Caribbean Club Shield runner-up.

Group B comprises Cibao FC and CA Pantoja, both of the Dominican Republic, Harbour View FC (Jamaica), Dunbeholden FC (Jamaica), and the Caribbean Club Shield champion.

At the end of the two round-robin groups, the top two teams will qualify for the semifinals, and then the final, with the tournament serving as the qualifier for the new-look 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup, which will feature 27 clubs from the competition.

T&T’s Tiger Tanks Club Sando will contest Group D of the Concacaf Caribbean Shield with SV Dakota (Aruba), Solidarité Scolaire (Guadeloupe), SWA Sharks FC (Turks and Caicos Islands), and at the end of the four groups the group winners will qualify to the semifinals with the finalist advancing to the Concacaf Caribbean Cup, as well.

« Reply #129 on: June 27, 2023, 01:34:33 PM »
TTPFL Knockout Cup Kicks Off.
TTFA Media.

The TT Premier Football League (TTPFL) will launch the PFL Knockout Cup which begins with a Prelim Round on 28 June 2023 and concludes with a Final on 15 July 2023.

This competition will involve Clubs from the TTPFL Tier 1 and Tier 2 which means that teams from the top divisions in local football, from communities across Trinidad and Tobago, will face off against each other to be crowned Cup champion.

« Reply #130 on: June 27, 2023, 02:25:05 PM »
The FA trophy is the tournament for that.

« Reply #131 on: June 28, 2023, 01:13:17 AM »
Premier League Knock-out Cup kicks off
T&T Newsday Reports.

THE TT Premier Football League (TTPFL) will launch the Knock-out Cup which begins with a preliminary round on Wednesday and concludes with the final on July 15.

The competition will involve clubs from the TTPFL tier one and tier two.

Five matches will be played in the preliminary round involving the five lowest ranked tier one clubs versus the five lowest ranked tier two clubs as per TTPFL standings last Monday.

The five winners of the preliminary round will join the five highest ranked tier one clubs and the six highest ranked tier two clubs as per the TTPFL standings last Monday. Those teams will be entered into the round of 16 random draw which will be held on Thursday. The Round of 16 matches will be played on Saturday.

The quarter-finals and semi-finals will be held on July 4 and 7 respectively.

Wednesday Preliminary Round Fixtures:

San Juan Jabloteh vs TT Defence Force FC II, La Horquetta Recreation Ground, 5 pm

Central FC vs Guaya United, La Horquetta Recreation Ground, 7 pm

Heritage Petroleum Pt Fortin Civic vs Petit Valley Diego Martin Utd, Mahaica Sports Complex, Pt Fortin, 6 pm

Prison Service FC vs Matura Reunited, YTC Grounds, Arouca, 5 pm

Cunupia FC vs Bethel United SC, To be determined

« Reply #132 on: June 30, 2023, 01:26:31 AM »
Central, Point Fortin Civic book round-of-16 spots.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Central FC and Heritage Petroleum Point Fortin Civic joined fellow T&T Premier Football League (TTPFL) Tier I clubs Prisons FC and San Juan Jabloteh in the round of 16 in the TTPFL Knockout competition with wins in their preliminary round matches on Wednesday night.

At the Phase II Recreation Ground, La Horquetta, Gary Griffith III netted on the stroke of half-time to put Central FC 1-0 ahead against Guaya United before Ricardo John made it 2-0, five minutes after the restart. This was followed by Anslem Jackson’s 66th-minute effort for a 3-0 lead before Keston Frontin pulled a goal back for the Southerners in the 73rd, but it was too little too late.

At the Mahaica Sporting Complex, host Point Fortin Civic got a brace from Shackiel Henry in the 20th and 89th while Shivaughn Best also netted in the 90th in their 3-0 defeat of visitors Petit Valley/Diego Martin United.

In Wednesday’s early matches, San Juan Jabloteh and Prisons Service registered contrasting victories over Defence Force II FC and Matura Re-United at the YTC Ground in Arouca and La Horquetta, respectively.

Bottom of the 12-team standings in Tier I, Jabloteh signalled their intention to make amends for a less-than-expected finish by edging Defence Force 2-1 at Phase II recreation ground, while Prisons Services FC was more convincing in their victory, hammering Matura Re-United 4-0.

Kevon "Showtime" Woodley seemed to have regained his goal-scoring touch since leaving Cunupia FC earlier this season, with the opening goal in Jabloteh's triumph. The other goal came courtesy of an own goal by Tevin Latapy of the Defence Force which handed the San Juan men an easy passage through to the round of 16.

The lone Defence Force goal, on the other hand, was scored by Jerwyn Balthazar.

At the YTC ground in Arouca, the home team produced a menacing performance to cruise into the round of 16. Jordan Devonish propelled them into the lead with a 27th-minute item, which was one of three goals scored before the half-time interval.

Akeem Bibi-Bailey then handed the prison officers a two-goal advantage in the 35th minute, before Anthony Parris sent them to the break comfortably with a three-goal lead with a 44th-minute strike.

Josiah Joseph then sealed the win in the 85th minute with his goal.

The round-of-16 kicks off tomorrow (on Saturday), with newly crowned Tier I champions Defence Force facing Prisons Service to kick off their bid for a double crown and Police FC meeting Jabloteh in the two all-Tier I encounters following the draw at the Diego Martin Sporting Complex, on Thursday morning.

Results:

San Juan Jabloteh 2 (Kevon Woodley, Own Goal Tevin Latapy) vs Defence Force II 1 (Jerwyn Balthazar)

Prisons Services 4 (Jordan Devonish 27th, Akeem Bibi-Bailey 35th, Anthony Parris 44th, Josiah Joseph 85th) vs Matura Re-United- 0

Central FC 3 (Gary Griffith III 45th, Ricardo John 50th, Anslem Jackson 66th) vs Guaya United 1 (Keston Kadeem Frontin 73rd)

Point Fortin Civic 3 (Shackiel Henry 20th, 89th, Shivaughn Best 90+3) vs Petit Valley/Diego Martin 0

Round-of-16 matches: - Tomorrow Saturday, July 1:

Defence Force vs Prisons Service

Harlem Strikers vs AC Port-of-Spain

Police FC vs San Juan Jabloteh

Phoenix FC vs Point Fortin Civic

UTT vs Central FC

La Horquetta Rangers vs Police (Tier II)

San Fernando Giants vs QPCC

Remaining preliminary match:

Cunupia FC vs Bethel FC

Remaining round-of-16 match:

Club Sando vs Cunupia FC/Bethel FC winner

« Last Edit: June 30, 2023, 01:37:36 AM by Flex »

« Reply #133 on: July 03, 2023, 07:44:40 PM »
Brent Sam hat-trick puts Defence Force in quarter-finals

DEFENCE Force made a convincing start in their effort to win another title this season when the Army men destroyed Prisons Service FC 5-1 in the round of 16 of the TT Premier Football League Knock-out Cup at Arima Velodrome on Saturday.

Brent Sam, who scored more than ten goals during the league campaign, continued his prolific form netting a hat-trick. What was even more impressive is that he only needed 20 minutes to do so.

Sam opened the scoring as early as the tenth minute, before finding the net again in the 12th and 20th minutes of play to give Defence Force a comfortable 3-0 lead.

Shaquille Holder took over for Defence Force in the second half with a goal in the 50th minute followed by another in the 61st minute.

Prisons FC grabbed a consolation goal through a 78th minute item from Kemuel Rivers.

AC Port of Spain defeated Harlem Strikers II at the Diego Martin Sporting Complex 2-0 with goals from Moses Jaikaran and Sedale McLean to advance to the quarter-finals. AC Port of Spain will be eager to win the knock-out cup after losing out on the league title in the final round against Defence Force.

Police I also recorded a resounding victory on Saturday with a 5-2 win over San Juan Jabloteh at La Horquetta Recreation Grounds.

The goals were shared among the Police players as Jabari Mitchell (23rd minute), Kadeem Hutchinson (56th), Kern Roberts (60th), Anthony Wolfe (65th) and Kidane Lewis (79th) were all on target.

Finding the back of the net for Jabloteh were Elijah Seecharan (74th) and Dwight Jordan (89th).

In other results, Central FC edged University of TT Patriots 2-1, Terminix La Horquetta Rangers recorded a 2-1 win over Police II, Heritage Petroleum Pt Fortin Civic grabbed a narrow 2-1 win over Phoenix FC and QPCC II defeated San Fernando Giants II 2-1.

« Reply #134 on: July 03, 2023, 07:53:54 PM »
AC POS joins Army in knock-out quarters
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

AC Port-of-Spain, joined their rivals Defence Force in the quarterfinal round of the T&T Premier Football League Knock-Out Competition after they defeated central outfit Harlem Strikers 2-0 at the Diego Martin Sporting Complex on Saturday night.

The capital city men, playing their first game since their heart-wrenching 2-1 loss to the Defence Force at the Arima Velodrome on June 24, took just 16 minutes to take the advantage in the encounter, coming from the boot of Maleek Moses.

Strikers, who were fourth on the Tier 2 standings only due to an inferior goal difference to Queen’s Park and San Fernando Giants, were hoping to produce an upset after the Giants went down to the Parkites 2-1 in the opening match of the Diego Martin venue at 5 pm, but it was always going to be an improbable task.

And as expected, they defended for most of the 90 minutes, until they were worn down, and Sedale Mc Clean sealed the win for the capital city men with a 79th-minute goal to send them into the quarters.

AC Port-of-Spain may be eager to have another crack at the Army Coast-Guard Combination, but there are other teams hoping to lift the knock-out title as well.

In the running, Police FC defeated San Juan Jabloteh 5-2 in an all-tier 1-contest at the La Horquetta Recreation Ground in Phase II La Horquetta. Playing in the first game of the doubleheader at La Horquetta on Saturday, the Lawmen, boosted by a five-game unbeaten streak, took the advantage after just the first minute of play from Anthony Wolfe.

Jabari Mitchell then fired them to a 2-0 lead in the 23rd minute, which they took to the halfway break.

Soon after the interval, Police, who finished the tier 1 League in the fifth position with 39 points, then raced to a 3-0 advantage when Kadeem Hutchinson found the nets in the 56th minute. Four minutes later, they increased their advantage with a Kern Roberts item in the 60th minute.

Jabloteh, forced to defend for long periods, then pulled a goal back in the 74th minute from Elijah Seechan 4-1, reducing the deficit to three.

However, it only seemed to have angered the Lawmen who responded almost immediately, in the 79th minute from Kidane Lewis for a 5-1 lead.

Jabloteh though, had the last say in the encounter, as Dwight Jordan found the nets a minute before the end of regulation time, in the 89th minute, for a result that send them packing out of the knock-out play-offs.

Meanwhile, Central FC, another of the Tier 1 teams in action on the day, got a double strike from Ricardo John in the 10th and 39th for maximum points over the University of T&T 2-1, as well as passage to the quarterfinal round of the knock-out.

In another game, Terminix La Horquetta Rangers prevailed over Police FC, the Tier 2 team 2-1.

Jamal Creighton fired the Easterners ahead in the 55th minute before an own goal by Ricky Morris gave them a 2-0 advantage. The Police goal came from J’deem Parris in the 90+5 minutes.

RESULTS AT THE WEEKEND

AC PoS- 2 (Maleek Moses 16th, Sedale Mc Clean 79th) vs Harlem Strikers- 0
Defence Force- 5 (Brent Sam 6th, 12th, 20th minute (pen), Shaquille Holder 50th, 61st) vs Prison Service- 1 (Kemuel Rivers 78th)

Heritage Petroleum Point Fortin Civic- 2 (Rondel Phillip 24th, 90+3) vs 1976 Phoenix- 1 (Jariel Arthur 37th)

Police FC- 5 (Anthony Wolfe 1st, Jabari Mitchell 23rd, Kadeem Hutchinson 56th, Kern Roberts 60th, Kidane Lewis 79th) vs San Juan Jabloteh- 2 (Elijah Seechan 74th, Dwight Jordan 89th)

Central FC- 2 ( Ricardo John 10th, 39th) vs UTT Tier 2- 1 (Warren Chase 85th)

Terminix La Horquetta Rangers- 2 (Jamal Creighton 55th, Ricky Morris own goal 88th minute) vs Police FC Tier 2- 1 (J’deem Parris 90+5)

QPCC- 2 (Sean De Silva 20th, Jose Parra 38th minute) vs San Fernando Giants- 1 (Denton Headley 62nd)

« Reply #135 on: July 05, 2023, 08:52:58 AM »
So Police has a team in Div2 also. So if the Police was to win Div. 2, will there be two Police team in Div. 1

TTFA statutes prevent this I think... Most FIFA nations have stipulations that teams can't be from the same club, or indeed the same ownership. A couple Caribbean nations do allow though - hell the Turks and Caicos had three academy teams (Academy Jaguars, Cougars, and Falcons, and confusingly whether they were the first, second, or third team changed depending on the year...).

« Reply #136 on: July 07, 2023, 03:18:12 PM »
Brent Sam, Justin Garcia keep Defence Force rolling

A BRACE each from Brent Sam and Justin Garcia kept Defence Force’s dream alive of doing the doubles this year after crushing Queen’s Park 6-1 in the quarter-finals of the T&T Premier Football League Knock-Out tournament at Arima Velodrome on Tuesday night.

Defence Force are in the hunt for more silverware after winning the tier one league crown less than two weeks ago.

The knock-out tournament is featuring both tier one and tier two teams.

Queen’s Park, who are playing in tier two this season, were no match for the Army men.

National striker Reon Moore opened the scoring for Defence Force in the 22nd minute, before Sam notched his first goal of the match with a 29th minute item. Defence Force did not let up as Garcia netted his first of the match with a 34th minute goal.

Former national player Sean De Silva gave Queen’s Park a glimmer of hope with a goal in the 44th minute, but the Parkites still had a mountain to climb trailing 3-1 at half-time.

Any chances of a Queen’s Park comeback was put to bed as Sam scored his second goal in the 47th minute, before Garcia completed his double in the 61st minute.

Rivaldo Coryat, not known for his goal scoring, rounded off the scoring in the 69th minute.

In the second match of the double-header, Terminix La Horquetta Rangers defeated AC Port of Spain 2-1 to book a spot in the semi-finals.

Tyrone Charles converted in the 17th minute and Ross Russell Jnr made it 2-0 in the 73rd minute. Sedale Mclean got a consolation item in stoppage time for AC Port of Spain.

At the Diego Martin Sporting Complex, Police FC progressed in the tournament with a 2-1 victory over Central FC.

Anthony Wolfe and Kadeem Hutchinson scored for Police and finding the back of the net for Central FC was Ricardo John.

On Wednesday, a rescheduled round of 16 match between Tiger Tanks Club Sando and Cunupia FC was held. Club Sando won 1-0 through a 75th minute goal from Nicholas Dillon. Club Sando will now face Heritage Petroleum Pt Fortin Civic in the quarter-finals.

« Reply #137 on: July 07, 2023, 04:39:03 PM »
Anthony Wolfe  the score sheet ?? oh gosh ??? ???

« Reply #138 on: July 08, 2023, 01:30:31 PM »
Club Sando, Point Fortin battle for final Knock-Out semis spot
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

Heritage Petroleum Point Fortin Civic will on Saturday attempt to join three other teams in the semifinal of the T&T Premier Football League (TTPFL) Knockout playoffs when they take on Tiger Tanks Club Sando FC from 4 pm at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella.

Club Sando, the TTPFL qualifier for the CONCACAF Caribbean Shield next month, edged Cunupia FC 1-0 in a revised round of 16 fixture on Wednesday at the same venue.

Their win came courtesy of a Nicholas Dillon strike that put them on a collision course with the Point Fortin team that has been waiting since they defeated Tobago team 1976 Phoenix 2-1 at the Arima Velodrome on July 1.

To date, the truncated League winner Defence Force has booked a spot into the semifinals, alongside Police FC and Terminix La Horquetta Rangers, who shocked AC Port-of-Spain 2-1 at the Velodrome on the weekend.

The winner of today's encounter will face the Defence Force on Tuesday at the first match of a doubleheader at the Diego Martin Sporting Complex, while the Lawmen and Rangers will tangle in the other semifinal.

Club Sando will have the services of their new signing, striker Kadeem Corbin who has just returned from T&T's humiliating 6-0 loss to the United States in Group A of the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the USA. With that loss, the Soca Warriors were booted out of the tournament.

Yesterday, Club Sando manager Eddison Dean said his team will not be at full strength for the match as defender Josiah Trimmingham is currently away on trials in the USA. However, he said he is not a believer in taking any team for granted as football is played and decided on the day.

"It will no doubt be a competitive match. I do not think any team will have the advantage because in a match anything can happen. We will wait until later to see what happens," Dean said.

« Reply #139 on: July 09, 2023, 09:51:20 AM »
Angus Eve, what was that?
T&T Express

What’s the point of giving local players the opportunity to impress if they aren’t selected at major tournaments?

Is it that locals are for friendlies and the overseas players are for the competitive matches?

This isn’t about our local league compared to overseas either.

Local players in national colours who played under Angus Eve, impressed and won football games (Jamaica, Guatemala) should have been rewarded with selection at the Gold Cup. Not being told hard luck and next time.

It doesn’t matter that they were friendlies, those opponents were full strength, and our players have a psychological edge of knowing that they can turn them over.

What were Joevin Jones and Kevin Molino doing on that team? Not because they have a load of caps means they’re guaranteed a position. Is it a Carenage thing?

They were clearly not fit and nowhere near up to speed.

Joevin Jones’ primary position is left back, so he should be playing left back! Triston Hodge couldn’t cross the halfway line, far less cross the ball.

Who are Leland Archer and Malcolm Shaw anyway and why are they making their debuts at such a major tournament?

Andre Rampersad refusing to track back when he gave away the ball, and centre backs Bateau and Moses could barely play out from the back or get goal side!

I looked at the games against Jamaica and USA, and we looked lazy, stiff, and stagnant. There was no movement, there were no shapes, no tracking back, no running with the ball, and no exploitation of space or gaps.

Players looked like they were just going through the motions, waiting for something to happen, not even calling for the ball or making themselves available.

I saw the opposing managers marching up and down the touchline, barking out orders, while our manager is having a laugh with his staff.

John-Paul Rochford in the No 10, Justin Sadoo pulling the strings from box to box, Justin Garcia pinging it from the back, Ross Russel Jr as an industrious full back, Reon Moore or Nathaniel James leading the line would’ve battered Jamaica and the USA.

I saw caution and fear in that team, and the players whom Angus Eve selected are the ones who let him down.

Whenever we showed some fight and intent like Auvray, Gill and Levi, or took a damn shot like Gomez, was when we looked dangerous.

Not everything white is right, players should be selected based on performance, and performance must be rewarded, regardless of who is overseas.

It’s not that we are behind Concacaf giants, problems with football administration, or the colour of our skin, squad selection let us down, because at the end of the day, it’s the football on the pitch that matters.

Kendell Karan

Chaguanas

« Reply #140 on: July 11, 2023, 01:10:10 AM »
Club Sando, Point Fortin battle for final Knock-Out semis spot.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Heritage Petroleum Point Fortin Civic will on Saturday attempt to join three other teams in the semifinal of the T&T Premier Football League (TTPFL) Knockout playoffs when they take on Tiger Tanks Club Sando FC from 4 pm at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella.

Club Sando, the TTPFL qualifier for the CONCACAF Caribbean Shield next month, edged Cunupia FC 1-0 in a revised round of 16 fixture on Wednesday at the same venue.

Their win came courtesy of a Nicholas Dillon strike that put them on a collision course with the Point Fortin team that has been waiting since they defeated Tobago team 1976 Phoenix 2-1 at the Arima Velodrome on July 1.

To date, the truncated League winner Defence Force has booked a spot into the semifinals, alongside Police FC and Terminix La Horquetta Rangers, who shocked AC Port-of-Spain 2-1 at the Velodrome on the weekend.

The winner of today's encounter will face the Defence Force on Tuesday at the first match of a doubleheader at the Diego Martin Sporting Complex, while the Lawmen and Rangers will tangle in the other semifinal.

Club Sando will have the services of their new signing, striker Kadeem Corbin who has just returned from T&T's humiliating 6-0 loss to the United States in Group A of the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the USA. With that loss, the Soca Warriors were booted out of the tournament.

Yesterday, Club Sando manager Eddison Dean said his team will not be at full strength for the match as defender Josiah Trimmingham is currently away on trials in the USA. However, he said he is not a believer in taking any team for granted as football is played and decided on the day.

"It will no doubt be a competitive match. I do not think any team will have the advantage because in a match anything can happen. We will wait until later to see what happens," Dean said

« Reply #141 on: July 12, 2023, 01:13:24 AM »
Army one win away from Premier League double.
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

DEFENCE Force stayed in contention to complete the double this season with a 3-2 win over Heritage Petroleum Pt Fortin Civic in semi-final one of the TT Premier Football League Knock-out competition at Diego Martin Sporting Complex on Tuesday night.

The Army men won the league crown on the final matchday with a victory over AC Port of Spain last month and are now one win away from another title.

Defence Force opened the scoring in the 14th minute with a header. Defender Justin Garcia has a knack for scoring in important matches as he found the back of the net when he got on the end of a Justin Sadoo corner.

In the last round of the league competition against AC Port of Spain, Garcia scored a header which helped Army clinch the league title.

Shortly after Garcia's opener, Pt Fortin Civic striker Marcus Joseph had the chance to level the match from the penalty spot, but he could not convert.

In the 35th minute, Joseph made amends as he got a second chance to equalise from the penalty spot and he did not disappoint on this occasion.

Defence Force dominated possession in the closing minutes of the first half, but the teams remained locked at 1-1.

Defence Force had 57 per cent possession in the first half, but Pt Fortin had seven shots compared to Defence Force's four attempts.

Thirty seconds into the second half, Reon Moore put Defence Force up 2-1. After a cross from the right side was deflected twice the ball fell to Moore near the penalty spot and he slotted home.

Seconds later Garcia almost scored his second goal of the match, but this time in his own net. In attempting to make a clearance the ball sliced off his foot and struck the post. Defence Force goalkeeper Christopher Biggette in an attempt to clear the ball slammed into the post and injured himself which led to a long delay.

Pt Fortin then went in search of the equaliser creating a few chances.

In the 60th minute, Moore attempted a curling shot from just outside the box but it did not trouble Civic goal-keeper Terrence Lewis

In the 63rd minute, prolific goalscorer Brent Sam made it 3-1 to Defence Force. Pt Fortin left Sam wide open on the far post who accepted the gift and converted the header.

Civic kept on fighting and in the 68th minute pulled a goal back when captain Hughton Hector controlled the ball with his thigh and in one motion turned and volleyed past Biggette eight yards from goal.

In the 78th minute, Defence Force had a chance to take a two-goal lead. Dwight Quintero and Kaihim Thomas combined well and the latter had a golden chance to score but could not find the back of the net and Lewis made the save.

Civic continued to attack the Defence Force goal in search of the equaliser. Substitute Ackeel Jacob got all his power behind a free kick and Biggette made a meal out of it as in attempting to hold the ball he could only push it onto the post. Defence Force survived as Civic could not score the rebound.

Despite eight minutes of stoppage time, Civic could not find the equaliser as Defence Force advanced.

The second semi-final between Police FC and Terminix La Horquetta Rangers ended after press time on Tuesday at the same venue.

« Last Edit: July 12, 2023, 01:15:36 AM by Flex »

« Reply #142 on: July 16, 2023, 01:01:48 PM »
Defence Force complete Premier League double with 5-3 win over Rangers.
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (T&T Newsday).

Defence Force captured the TT Premier Football League (TTPFL) double after battling to an intense 5-3, extra-time victory over Terminix La Horquetta Rangers in the Knockout Cup final at Diego Martin Sporting Complex, Diego Martin, on Saturday.

A hat-trick from veteran Brent Sam and a goal each from Kaihim Thomas and man of the match Reon Moore saw off Rangers, who started well with the opening goal from in-form striker Tyrone Charles in the 15th minute.

In muddy conditions, Defence Force equalised nine minutes later as Moore placed a neat through-ball to a surging Thomas who made no mistake to beat Rangers custodian Jabari Brice.

Moore continued to pester the Rangers' defence and earned a penalty in the 32nd minute. However, Sam’s shot sent Price the wrong way but the ball deflected off the left post and out.

The score remained level at the half but Defence Force came right back into it eight minutes in, as Sam slotted home from close range and then headed past Price, courtesy of a Jelani Felix cross, to make it 3-1 in the 58th minute.

The army’s two-goal cushion was soon cut in half as Tyrone Charles’ smart free-kick ricocheted off the bar and into the path of Ross Russell Jr, who scored past Defence Force goalie Christopher Bigette in the 68th.

Moore, Thomas and Sam continued to pester Rangers’ backline and should have regained Defence Force’s two-goal lead before the final whistle. But five minutes from regulation time, Rangers won a penalty courtesy of a Jules Lee handball, to which Charles rifled home to level the contest at 3-3.

Into the first period of extra time, Moore continued to cause problems up front and chipped the ball onto the cross bar which fell to Sam’s feet, for his first Cup hat-trick.

Sam’s goal sent them 4-3 up and reignited Defence Force. Rangers though, began to press harder looking for another possible equaliser. But it was not to be, as Moore, who played provider for the entire game, shared a nice one-two with Thomas in the final minute (120’) of extra time to get on the scoresheet and affirm Cup victory.

For his valiant efforts, Moore was adjudged man of the match.

The win for Defence Force saw them cap off the nation’s first season of domestic pro football, post-pandemic, with two titles; league and knockout cup.

They now shift focus to the Concacaf Club Championship in August.

« Reply #143 on: August 27, 2023, 07:13:24 AM »
https://twitter.com/RikElfrink/status/1680657174983331843?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1680657174983331843%7Ctwgr%5Efe13cf9d5e60dbbdbbe81fbf9b362ac3aad2072b%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.redditmedia.com%2Fmediaembed%2F151f8it%2F%3Fresponsive%3Dtrueis_nightmode%3Dfalse

PSV ziet middenvelder Dante Gilbert uit Trinidad en Tobago (18) als een mogelijke versterking. Hij heeft een goede indruk gemaakt in twee weken. Het vervolg is nog onbekend. De Egyptische keeper Nader en verdediger Cissé Faroukou komen niet terug. PSV gaat niet door met hen.

https://www.ed.nl/psv/psv-gelooft-in-middenvelder-uit-trinidad-en-tobago-en-haalt-hem-naar-eindhoven~ab2d59f5/?
referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.ca%2F

PSV believes in midfielder from Trinidad and Tobago and brings him to Eindhoven
PSV has decided to permanently recruit 18-year-old midfielder Dantaye Gilbert. If everything works out, and it looks like it at the moment, he will soon come over from San Juan Jabloteh from Trinidad and Tobago. That club previously gave permission for an internship in Eindhoven. Gilbert did well in this and that is why PSV was interested in adding him to their own training.

« Reply #144 on: September 27, 2023, 04:30:03 PM »
When does  the TTPL   tier 1 season  kick off /