March 29, 2024, 09:29:21 AM

Author Topic: T&T international Baptiste training with Seattle  (Read 2426 times)

T&T international Baptiste training with Seattle
« on: February 02, 2011, 05:22:05 AM »
T&T international Baptiste training with Seattle
By Andrew Winner (MLSsoccer.com)

Trinidad and Tobago striker Kerry Baptiste has joined the Seattle Sounders at their Casa Grande, Ariz., preseason camp as a training invitee, the club announced. The 29-year-old is available on a free transfer after his contract with T&T club Joe Public expired.

A prolific goal-scorer, Baptiste notched an astonishing 35 goals in the 2009 Pro League season for Joe Public, where he played the past four seasons. Baptiste scored a goal on Santos Laguna in the group stage of the CONCACAF Champions League last fall; he also played in both matches against Columbus in the tournament.

According to reports out of his home nation, Baptiste has been trying to engineer a move to a larger league since last winter. Other MLS clubs are allegedly interested in the striker, according to the Trinidadian reports.

First capped in 2003, Baptiste has scored five goals in 39 games for the T&T national team, according to the Trinidadian federation. He was also part of the Trinidad team that participated in the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Seattle currently have five pedigreed strikers in the Arizona training camp. Designated players Fredy Montero (age 23) and Blaise Nkufo (35) are expected to lead the line, with Mike Fucito (24), O'Brian White (25) and Roger Levesque (30) also challenging. A sixth striker, Nate Jaqua (29), is currently in Seattle doing one-on-one work with a Sounders trainer as he attempts to recover from the hip injury that limited him in 2010.

General manager Adrian Hanauer has noted that Seattle is extremely cap-constrained, so it would be likely that a roster move would be necessary to add Baptiste.

Notebook
Five players are no longer training with Seattle: Alex Caskey, supplemental pick Sean Morris and invitees Edouard Kabamba, Cole Peverley and Jesus Gonzalez.

« Last Edit: February 02, 2011, 05:24:48 AM by Tallman »

Re: T&T international Baptiste training with Seattle
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2011, 11:39:20 AM »
good luck kerry

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2011, 11:41:23 AM »
All the best  :beermug:

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2011, 02:57:51 PM »
All d best big man

Blazin' Baptiste
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2011, 06:35:55 AM »
Blazin' Baptiste

Asked about his first impressions of 29-year-old trialist Kerry Baptiste, Schmid said, "He's got a ton of speed. He's very, very quick."

The forward from Trinidad and Tobago was a prolific goal-scorer for his former club Joe Public FC, but Schmid said it's too early to make any final judgments on the new arrival. General manager Adrian Hanauer told the league website that Seattle would likely have to release someone before being able to sign Baptiste in order to fit under the salary cap.

http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/sounders/2014113200_sounders03.html

« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2011, 05:46:39 AM »
Training Notes 2-3
After missing the morning session because of fatigue, trialist Kerry Baptiste scored twice in the evening session and Prieto added another goal.

« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2011, 05:54:10 AM »
Nuff respect Kerry,
If yuh reading this after yuh training sessions, we are so proud of you. You is one Socawarrior who do make joke and I knew you were up to something. Seattle posse,  ..... sign him now! He will literaly eat up the MLS and is an examplar baller. This is the big break Kerry. Keep bussin' the net.

« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2011, 07:31:49 AM »
Well Baptiste is doing what he has to do to get de wuk.
I hope the management picks him up.

But how he now reach and sufferin from fatigue? 
« Last Edit: February 04, 2011, 07:34:00 AM by Peong »

« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2011, 07:44:18 AM »

« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2011, 07:58:37 AM »
Well Baptiste is doing what he has to do to get de wuk.
I hope the management picks him up.

But how he now reach and sufferin from fatigue? 

When you go from a warm climate to a cooler one sometimes breathing is difficult for the first couple days.

« Reply #11 on: February 04, 2011, 09:46:55 AM »
jetlag!! Good luck!!!

« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2011, 06:56:42 AM »

http://www.sounderatheart.com/2011/2/2/1971740/early-returns-suggest-seattle-sounders-should-be-even-deeper-this-year

Early Returns Suggest Seattle Sounders Should Be Even Deeper This Year

While it may not have seemed like it, the Seattle Sounders were actually impressively deep last year. Injuries certainly challenged that depth, but winning the U.S. Open Cup while using more than 20 players should tell you something about the quality at the bottom end of the roster.

If coach Sigi Schmid is to be believed, it looks like the Sounders could be even deeper this year. Schmid saved some of his highest praise today for those players battling for the last few rosters spots.

Specifically, he had this to say about the rookies in camp: "They are doing well. In fact, we just spoke a little bit at lunch about the game today and I said to the group, ‘You guys are making it very hard for the coaches. It’s very competitive and our decisions are going to be very difficult.’ In talking to some of the older players, usually when you talk to them it’s always like, ‘Well, this guy or this guy or this guy aren’t at the level coach,’ but when we talk to the older players, they’re saying, ‘No, no, practice is good no matter who we are combined with everybody can play.’

"So I think that speaks to the depth of it. So it’s going to make it difficult for us in terms of making those choices. With time, everybody sort of weeds themselves out and some are going to be decisions based upon what we think of his ability and then it might come down to some final decisions just being positional and maybe even cap-related."

One of the non-rookies who recently joined the team is Kerry Baptiste, a Trinidad and Tobago international. Today, we learned a little more about him.

"He’s got a ton of speed," Schmid said. "He’s very, very quick. He scored a lot of goals back home. First couple of days I think he has been getting his feet wet and used to what’s going on. Today was probably unusually, bitterly cold for him. But he’s done all right. It’s too early to make a final analysis but he is a forward who plays high, likes to play off the shoulder of the left defender and he’s got good speed and quickness."

Schmid also made it clear that almost no player is guaranteed a spot, with several players still in the mix for starters minutes.

"O’Brian White and Erik Friberg are certainly making claims for, ‘Hey, you’ve got to pay attention here coach. I think I can play.’ So I think those guys are certainly pushing. When you’re looking at the rookies or some of the trialists beyond that I think they are pushing more to make the team than the starting 11. But guys who were reserves last year, the [Mike] Fucito’s and so forth are also certainly knocking on the door."

Baptiste cut from Sounders camp
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2011, 06:37:08 PM »
Baptiste, Attaway cut from Sounders camp
blog.seattlepi.com

Striker Kerry Baptiste and defender Corey Attaway are no longer training with the Sounders in Arizona, the team announced Monday.

Baptiste, a Trinidad and Tobago international, joined the Sounders last week, but was competing for a crowded position on the roster.

The Sounders have six potential strikers on the roster – Fredy Montero, Blaise Nkufo, Mike Fucito, O'Brian White, Roger Levesque and Nate Jaqua.

Baptiste, 29, is no longer under contract with Joe Public in Trinidad and Tobago, so he could land with another Major League Soccer club. He scored 69 goals in 92 appearances with Joe Public, including an impressive 35 in 2009.

He also has five goals in 39 games with the Trinidad and Tobago national team.

Attaway was the 29th overall pick in the supplemental draft.

He started 71 games in four years for UC Irvine and finished his senior season with five goals and three assists.

For more Sounders news see the front page of the Sounders blog.

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2011, 06:49:08 PM »
That was always gonna be tough for him. Did rel say that. All the best though and hope he gets picked up elsewhere. Good player.

« Reply #15 on: February 07, 2011, 06:50:48 PM »
Age maybe a factor!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2011, 06:53:23 PM »
Hmm.  Hopefully another club shows interest.  It kinda hard for late bloomers to get signed.

« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2011, 08:19:02 PM »
so it goes...dust off and play de fitball

« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2011, 08:26:12 PM »
so it goes...dust off and play de fitball

CO-SIGNNNNN