April 29, 2024, 01:58:17 AM

Author Topic: Rules for the play-offs  (Read 3599 times)

Rules for the play-offs
« on: October 13, 2005, 02:27:24 PM »
Only 2 games left before we know who goes to the world cup between T&T and Bahrain.

Play-offs and away goals
In addition to the European play-offs, the team finishing fifth in Asia will play off against the team coming fourth in the North, Central American and Caribbean zone, and the winner of the Oceania preliminary competition will play off against the fifth-placed team from South America for a place in Germany.

For these matches, the knock-out (cup) system will apply (as per Art. 7.9 of the Regulations). This means that for the home and away matches, the team having scored most goals in both games will qualify.

If both teams score the same number of goals in both matches, the goals scored away will be counted as double. If the same number of goals is scored away or both matches end without any goals being scored, two 15-minute periods of extra time shall be played after the second match. If the score is level after extra time, penalty kicks shall be taken to determine the winner.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2005, 03:12:22 PM by Tallman »

Re: FIFA'S CRITERIA TO QUALIFY
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2005, 05:23:03 PM »
everyone please read this carefully and dont wait till next month to ask these intelligent questions :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2005, 07:29:47 PM »
i agree  whole heartedly ah dont want to hav to retype the same ting for allyuh nun readers

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2005, 07:39:01 PM »
Thanx... You need to send that to i95.5... Them fellas head real hard..

« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2005, 07:56:04 PM »
Even that wouldn't help. The whole "away goals" thing will cause them men head to explode.

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2005, 09:57:01 PM »
Thanx... You need to send that to i95.5... Them fellas head real hard..

Hard head is a complement

« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2005, 10:09:38 PM »
Babalawo,
U only wasting yuh time ;D...there will be about 10 different topics asking the same question the week of the game.

« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2005, 11:50:04 PM »
well this rule go come in if we play like uzbekistan.

but we go WWWWWIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!

« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2005, 08:46:32 AM »
THE QUESTIOO IS....DO YELLOW CARDS GET WIPED OFF FOR THIS 2 LEG AFFAIR??....DOES EVERYONE START CLEAN ??

« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2005, 07:15:10 PM »
we should make this post a 'sticky' then  ;D

« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2005, 07:59:06 PM »
 I sure somebody must ask about that...I sure

« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2005, 08:08:53 PM »
THE QUESTIOO IS....DO YELLOW CARDS GET WIPED OFF FOR THIS 2 LEG AFFAIR??....DOES EVERYONE START CLEAN ??

well if it is i hearing that cards from qualifying carrying over to de world cup then it would seem pretty obvious that it would carry over to these play-off games too

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
HOW THIS PLAYOFF TING DOES GO?
« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2005, 03:04:50 PM »
ah not to sure how this playoff ting go work out
What de Warroirs need againt Bahrain to make it
they  could draw at home on the 12th? What will determine who makes it? What are the rules?

tanx!!! ???
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

Re: HOW THIS PLAYOFF TING DOES GO?
« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2005, 03:08:37 PM »
ah not to sure how this playoff ting go work out
What de Warroirs need againt Bahrain to make it
they  could draw at home on the 12th? What will determine who makes it? What are the rules?

tanx!!! ???

Are you new to football?

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
Re: Rules for the play-offs
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2005, 03:13:51 PM »
SORRY AH POST MEH MESSAGE BEFORE AH READ
TANX!!!
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #15 on: October 19, 2005, 04:52:43 PM »
Why allyuh does even bother ............ the week leading up to the game ....all kinda thread gonna start with this very same topic. And is argument about who doh read again.

Same thing happen with the Guat situation and the head to head matche up.

« Reply #16 on: October 19, 2005, 04:56:08 PM »
well if it is i hearing that cards from qualifying carrying over to de world cup then it would seem pretty obvious that it would carry over to these play-off games too

Cards don't carry over to the WC but suspensions do.

Yuh right though I suspect that cards will not be wiped out for th eplayoffs. There was another thread where they said that Mr. Warner was going to find out and brief the team soon.

« Reply #17 on: October 19, 2005, 05:07:56 PM »
think ref ramdin claimed dat d cards staying till world cup

but sve ur fingers this entire conversation will be re had by the 10th

« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2005, 08:57:20 PM »
SORRY AH POST MEH MESSAGE BEFORE AH READ
TANX!!!

Ohgodohhhh !!!!  :rotfl:

Eh alyuh go weaken me bladder oui . 
« Last Edit: October 19, 2005, 09:01:02 PM by Tallman »

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #19 on: October 19, 2005, 10:03:18 PM »
wha you laffin at
first of all, I post this as meh own topic, don't even know how it end up in this thread
« Last Edit: October 19, 2005, 10:05:11 PM by CAPITANO »
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #20 on: October 19, 2005, 10:05:32 PM »
wha you laffin at
first of all, I post this as meh own message, don't even know how it end up in this thread

they laffin because (read the second post on this tread) :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: October 20, 2005, 08:28:59 AM »
So,

if I understand the away goal rule...then...

if we draw 1-1 in TT

and 2-2 in Bahrain.....

With away goals being double...TT would have five goals and Bahrain four...and TT would go through. Yes? :o

« Reply #22 on: October 20, 2005, 01:30:00 PM »
So,

if I understand the away goal rule...then...

if we draw 1-1 in TT

and 2-2 in Bahrain.....

With away goals being double...TT would have five goals and Bahrain four...and TT would go through. Yes? :o

YES! That is correct my man  ;D

« Reply #23 on: October 20, 2005, 01:33:59 PM »
win at home, draw on de road, dese rules cant fail us :beermug:

« Reply #24 on: October 20, 2005, 02:11:23 PM »
win at home, draw on de road, dese rules cant fail us :beermug:

exactly. i think a win is what will decide this. i don't see bahrain beating anyone - the best they achieving in manama is draws. they hoping to draw their way (like uzbekistan) through because they know they can't win a game.

win at home, draw or better on the road.

« Reply #25 on: October 20, 2005, 02:15:26 PM »
win at home, draw or better on the road.

If I recall, that was the gameplan for the Hex  ;D